sohck

City Living

DSC_00240024-1.jpg

we were toying with the idea of a L-shaped layout for kitchen too, but its so narrow, we were worried the walking space would be compromised. also, our rubbish chute is on the side of the wall nearer to the wall opp the the window, so we can't build cabinets all the way there.

this kitchen....is the source of a lot of headaches. no wonder the ex-owners hacked the storeroom away to increase space

Main door (external view)

DSC_00160016-4.jpg

is this gg to be your main door, as in door to ur house? is it fire-rated? we also dislike the current door, but cos its fire-rated, and changing it will cost more than $1000. in the end, we're going to pay $120 to sand off the current designs on the door, and give it a fresh coat of paint/lacquer and change the lock.

Bedroom doors (partially blocked)

DSC_00140014-5.jpg

Even it is block but can see the doors are swee lo !

Ai seh ! Very nice leh !

The side cabinet at Kitchen. This is mainly to cover the ugly pipes as well as providing storage space for my cleaning equipments: broom, mop, vaccum cleaner and iRobot. Due to the award angle we have to have a door that looks like bi-fold.

DSC_00050005-5.jpg

your cabinet pattern is just like my storeroom in kitchen !

Same thing running out of space so the door space is kinda awkward lol !

Alamak ! our hse alot similarities leh ! :D

Main door (external view)

DSC_00160016-4.jpg

It looks differently from inside. Because the door was modified with laminate, we have the luxury of making it looks difference both side,

Wow, your main door look very special with the laminate. Does it mean you choose the look from the laminate catalog or its a special catalog for the doors?

Did you choose different laminates for the 2 sides? So the one in the picture, is it facing the inside / outside of the house?

We also chosen our main door last Sun. Didnt get to see any catalog, the contractor just told us that its fire-rated, flat front and gave us 3 colour to choose (all wood colour). ;)

we were toying with the idea of a L-shaped layout for kitchen too, but its so narrow, we were worried the walking space would be compromised. also, our rubbish chute is on the side of the wall nearer to the wall opp the the window, so we can't build cabinets all the way there.

this kitchen....is the source of a lot of headaches. no wonder the ex-owners hacked the storeroom away to increase space

We have the same challenge. The kitchen is so narrow so any L-shaped layout is definitely going to pose a space challenge. However, my wife wanted a breakfast counter so in order to have just enough space to put the basin and hob, we have to go for our current L-shaped layout.

Now that the structure is already there, we have a good feel of the space. Actually there is enough space to move around, after we have relocated the common toilet door.

is this gg to be your main door, as in door to ur house? is it fire-rated? we also dislike the current door, but cos its fire-rated, and changing it will cost more than $1000. in the end, we're going to pay $120 to sand off the current designs on the door, and give it a fresh coat of paint/lacquer and change the lock.

Yes, the door is fire-rated. In fact this is the original door that came with the flat some 26 years ago, supplied by HDB. What ID did was to "decorate" it with laminate. So the door is quite interesting, the outside is what you see in this picture; the inside looks different - it is consistent with the design of our console and feature wall.

Will try to snap a picture when it is installed.

your cabinet pattern is just like my storeroom in kitchen !

Same thing running out of space so the door space is kinda awkward lol !

Alamak ! our hse alot similarities leh ! :D

Ya lor, so many coincidents.

Wow, your main door look very special with the laminate. Does it mean you choose the look from the laminate catalog or its a special catalog for the doors?

Did you choose different laminates for the 2 sides? So the one in the picture, is it facing the inside / outside of the house?

We also chosen our main door last Sun. Didnt get to see any catalog, the contractor just told us that its fire-rated, flat front and gave us 3 colour to choose (all wood colour). ;)

We modified the original fire-rated door to save money. Basically we pick laminate (outside + inside [consistent with our console and feature wall]) from the laminate catalog and the carpenter modified the door for us. So it is difference both side.

The bedrooms are also done the same way, but we model it after the veneer door design from the door catalog.

Just dropped by the new flat this morning. Two days not there and there were lots of progress, especially on the carpentry.

- Cabinet at Study fully done.

- Wardrobe and cabinet at Bedroom 3 also fully done.

- Main door, doors for MBR, Study, Bedroom 3 and Storeroom are done.

- Shower screen done but wrong direction, getting ID to change it.

- TV console, feature wall, shoe cabinet and glass partition are done.

- All lights are done. Remote control also installed.

- Bed frame partially done. MBR wardrobe done.

The only major component missing is the raised platform for the balcony. ID needs to confirm that the new windows are water proof before starting work on the platform.