Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Hi Meepok,

My main bedroom ceiling directly above my bed also have a long crack line!!! But so far no leakage yet... Does it mean that my neighbour above also did the same thing?? :(

- if e unit above havnt lay e flooring, additional water on e raw concrete wil somehow find its way thru & dn e reinforce concrete slab.

- in meepok's case, there is already a crackline but not visable or mayb covered up oleady. It was only visable after e 'flooding' test was done by e neighbour above.

- if e unit above hav done or is doing e flooring, e moisture content in e cement & sand & water composition, wil somehow find a space 2 escape. Basic knowledge is water will flow dnwards.

- if there is a crackline in ur ceiling, then water droplets or watermark wil slowly appear at e cracked location.

- if there is no crackline in ur ceiling, then e floor tile's cement base of e above unit wil takes slighly longer a time 2 cure & harden.

base on my knowledge,

- for dry areas, e rectification is done by plastering e affected areas & paint over.

- for wet areas (toilets), rectification is done by means of P.U. injection. (inject chemical thru e cracks, once chemical dries up, it seal up e gaps).

- for resale flats, some units opt not 2 redo e waterproofing & relay e tiles as it is very expensive.

- e waterproofing cost is bear by both top & bottom unit.

- in our case, it is new flat which is stil within e 3yr restriction hacking period, watever water seepage/leakage, we do not hav 2 pay a cent. Unless e waterproofing membrane had been tampered with.

Edited by jaCKY777

Hi Hana79,

you have fully moved in already?

Talking about PSP.. I just started playing Patapon.. Very very cute and cool game.. :notti:

http://www.patapon-game.com/

Hi Redwyrm,

Nah, not moved in yet, tis mth v.busy so wil jus make snap visits on & off. But painful on da pocket cos gotta pay for both places.

I dunno HB play PS wat(gen). He's busy these days but can't ignore soccer when got kakis. We went w frens to Johore resort Sat mornin & evenin oredi playin PSP w his pal's teenage son, challengin ea other (1 a Liverpool fan, da other Man U, haha!) Teen ask HB to watch some game@ 2am but HB say no, too sleepyzz (Lucky other 3 fellas din go..these ppl waste hotel room$$. They told HB last time they used projector, flash onto wall & played compu games thru da nite!)

Know wat Hb did nxt aftnn? Aft declining 2follow us (mostly women) in few cars 2shoppin ctr, he played soccer (wat else!) w pals & some youths. So Hb got good dose of soccer electronically & physically :sport-smiley-003: Traffic jam caused us 2reach 1+am yest so, after several late nites (& uncles dun wanna lose out2 youths soccer), he KO early tdy : ) I better get beauty sleep too.

Hi Dracula,

I've called up a Mr Ng from HDB and he assured me that my ceiling won't collapse on me due to this stupid act... just that I got to keep a lookout should my L-boxes or false ceiling turns mouldy... what will leak has already leaked the other day... as long as the same act is not repeated, even after the tiles are laid, I should be alright. The flooring in the flat are not meant to be flooded this way, unless suay suay aircon got big leakage!

The owners were still very apologetic about the whole matter... just ignorant of the consequences... now they know better... I hope!

They've mentioned that they'll compensate for whatever damages to my flat due to this flooding incident. Will get them to sign a black & white as well... :bangwall:

Hi Meepok,

So sorry 2hear abt ur plight :( But gd foretot 2think of gettin B&W.

Hope damage will be min. I wud hv heart pain too if upstairs neigh did tat to me. Tks for sharing..

anyone knows how to effectively get rid of the stinking smell of the cabinets?

I tried lemon then i get lemon smell+stinking smell

I tried moth balls and then i get moth ball smell + stinking smell. :(

hee hee hee.

What about airing them as much as possible? Have you tried charcoal? They are supposed to be good absorbents. My mum places a cup of tea leaves in the cupboard for plates and that cupboard gives out a nice tea leaves smell whenever we open it.

So far for me, cos my fren bot a bodyshop aromatherapy thingy for me which i used it whenever I went over, the smell is not there anymore....u may want to give it a try

Yo Gui99,

You can try putting a toilet roll. If not, $2 charcoal from

daiso will also get the job done. :yamseng:

Btw, did u sign up for scv?

Hi Droplets,

Mine was after water seepage then the crack line appeared... before that no crack line...

Maybe u want to check with the Service Center? Your above unit occupied? :dunno:

Cos I believe if your upstairs did the same thing, water would have already came thru'...

Hi Meepok,

So sorry to hear about the incident..

On the brighter side, at least your neighbour

upstairs is honest and willing to pay for the damages..

I would also be pissed if this happens to my unit, esp when

we took pains to reno,decorate and clean up our house..

Hope rectification works will be smooth for you bro.

gui99,

u can use 1 piece of white bread or charcoal. :notti:

haha yah, I will sue the pants off all draculas & vampires! 8|:dancingqueen:

better to protect ourselves loh... got black & white at least can show sincerity mah... not say we don't trust their words but nowadays talk is very cheap and inflation very high!!

Boh pian also if come in this forum and see... just make sure don't repeat the same foolish act again loh... I also don't wish for major damages... $$ doesn't go into my pocket anyway... the less trouble the better for both parties!! Then can still be good neighbours after this mishap mah :sport-smiley-003:

My posting here is just to forewarn fellow neighbours who have yet to start their reno... like they say in Hokkien, "kiang du hoe, mai kay kiang" :bow::bow::bow:

Am sorry to hear about your plight. Hope everything's rectified & the damage stops there.

- if e unit above havnt lay e flooring, additional water on e raw concrete wil somehow find its way thru & dn e reinforce concrete slab.

- in meepok's case, there is already a crackline but not visable or mayb covered up oleady. It was only visable after e 'flooding' test was done by e neighbour above.

- if e unit above hav done or is doing e flooring, e moisture content in e cement & sand & water composition, wil somehow find a space 2 escape. Basic knowledge is water will flow dnwards.

- if there is a crackline in ur ceiling, then water droplets or watermark wil slowly appear at e cracked location.

- if there is no crackline in ur ceiling, then e floor tile's cement base of e above unit wil takes slighly longer a time 2 cure & harden.

base on my knowledge,

- for dry areas, e rectification is done by plastering e affected areas & paint over.

- for wet areas (toilets), rectification is done by means of P.U. injection. (inject chemical thru e cracks, once chemical dries up, it seal up e gaps).

- for resale flats, some units opt not 2 redo e waterproofing & relay e tiles as it is very expensive.

- e waterproofing cost is bear by both top & bottom unit.

- in our case, it is new flat which is stil within e 3yr restriction hacking period, watever water seepage/leakage, we do not hav 2 pay a cent. Unless e waterproofing membrane had been tampered with.

The HDB guy says crack line is very common as it appears in every single unit. And as long as no water mark or leakage than it's ok. :furious:

Mapleleaf & Yel, thanks for supporting Neopets. :yamseng: Thought it's dying. Was there to help the office closed. :( They pulled out from S'pore.

You are into Neo as well? If you are, Altador cup starts today. You may wish to participate. hee hee.

Try pandan leaves?? can prevent "xiao qiang" also heeheee

The $2 charcoal i think the Japan Home in tpy central also got sell...

Edited by howlupjac

The HDB guy says crack line is very common as it appears in every single unit. And as long as no water mark or leakage than it's ok. :furious:

Hi Droplets,

From my understanding, dun call them. Write in to HDB, they sure do something about it. Tell them you want it to be rectified immediately.

Hi all

Thanks for all the suggestions.

I will try out one by one

-Charcoal

-whitebread

-pandan leaf

-toilet roll

No use:

-Lemon

-moth balls

The smell is really choking and unbearable :(

Yo Yeoman

Nope i dun have scv. but the reception is blk B is really jia lat. I activate the signal thru starhub liao but i still see ghost images. :x

But the starhub broadband speed is good. i average a 1MB/s download everynight. Heehee