Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

- dat function rm shd b under e charge of Toa Payoh RC Zone 2.

Toa Payoh Central Zone '2' RC

Blk 179 Toa Payoh Central

#01-462 S(310179)

Tel 6254 6842

Fax 6354 4950

So coincidence, was also thinking of booking that function room but was sent all over by govt pple. Called TC, they said not under their care, asked me to call HDB branch office. Called branch off, they said it's under TC. Then TC said it's RC. Checked RC no. in the web and got the above no. Jacky listed. But when called, it's the TPY CC tel and they asked me to call another no. - 62590558 but have called for the past few nights and no one picks up my calls!! Arrgghhh! If any RC volunteers see this msg, can u kindly let us know what is the best way to contact u? Thanks in advance!

By the way, there is this monthly recycling event by Tzu Chi Foundation this Sunday 12 Apr 9am-12noon at The Pavilion Blk 78A. Since I know of their event, I've been collecting all the toilet paper rolls, milk powder tins, plastic bottles that I previously just chuck away :P Below are the items I've lifted from their pamplets :

Materials that they collect are:

mineral water bottles,

plastic and bottles (bottles of soft drinks, milk, yakult ,shampoo etc),

metal cans & tins (biscuit boxes, milk powder tins etc),

aluminium cans (soft drinks cans),

paper cartons (paper boxes, egg trays, toilet paper rolls etc),

paper (newspapers, mags, books, envelopes etc),

old clothes,electrical appliances, metallic items (metal and stainless steel items such as pots and pan etc), and

others (sch bags, leather, belts, shoes, soft toys, dry batteries, CD discs etc).

So, neighbours, let's do our little part in this recycling effort! :yamseng:

- ohh. Dunoe my info wrong or they neber update e tel no. :wacko:

- now can see how dis two organizations work! Transfer here & transfer there. Then 4.30pm stop ntertain u liao, ask u cal 2moro, if Fri, ask u cal nex wk... :bangwall:

- e notice board at our lift lobby, there is a notice which states e members name & contacts of TPY RC Zone 2.

- mayb u wana dial e tel instead, i gues it mus b up 2 date. :deal:

- can try look for Mr Frankie Tong. He's e chairman, very helpful. He olso surf Renotalk occasionally.

- if u gona cal RC tel no., i gues gota call after office hrs. Most members r volunteers wif their own daytime work.

- if u gona cal his hp, i gues anytime. :help:

- his hp. no, can try ask Mr Alister or Ms Hana79.

- sms mi if u wan their hp. no.

:idea:

- brief summary base on wat i noe ->

> function rm beside mscp, under TPY RC Zone 2.

> link-building behind 79A, open-space beside dusbin compound, under BTPY TC.

> foodcourt infront 79E, hdb's hawkers sectn. Hygiene matters can cal NEA.

> mscp, service driveway illegal parking, under hdb's carparks sectn.

> common corridor, landscaped area, playgrnd, fitness corner, linkway, under BTPY TC.

> water & electrical & gas, under SP Powergrid services.

> corridor lightings & lift black-out, under EMSU.

> internal flat matters, under hdb.

> neighbours dispute etc, under 999.

- but dunoe e function rm can b booked anot? so far i'd seen them used 4 meeting only.

- u wan 2 book e rm 4 wat? 4 ur garung guni collection or flea market? :lol::lol::lol:

- btw, i stil got many unwanted stuff 2 throw...

:rofl:

Edited by jaCKY777

- can try look for Mr Frankie Tong. He's e chairman, very helpful. He olso surf Renotalk occasionally.

- if u gona cal RC tel no., i gues gota call after office hrs. Most members r volunteers wif their own daytime work.

- but dunoe e function rm can b booked anot? so far i'd seen them used 4 meeting only.

- u wan 2 book e rm 4 wat? 4 ur garung guni collection or flea market? :lol::lol::lol:

Hi guys, mi hasn't come in for very long. If want Mr Frankie hp no., can PM me.

BTW, I wrote an email to RC to complain about the motorbike speeding noise late in the night. I suggest they build two humps on each end of the road to prevent speeding. They directed me to LTA. Has been about two weeks, still awaiting their response.

Anyone got the same noise problem as me ? I can hear very clearly everyday after 11pm at night.

Science question : does noise travel upwards. Yes ! Proven. Me can hear clearly at top floor.

BTW, I wrote an email to RC to complain about the motorbike speeding noise late in the night. I suggest they build two humps on each end of the road to prevent speeding. They directed me to LTA. Has been about two weeks, still awaiting their response.

Anyone got the same noise problem as me ? I can hear very clearly everyday after 11pm at night.

Science question : does noise travel upwards. Yes ! Proven. Me can hear clearly at top floor.

- aiyo, more rd humps along e service driveway?

- my brake-pads botak liao. :(

- i notice ther r a few small cc bike which parks in e mscp.

- their exhaust is xxxkin loud.

- mayb nex time i try 2 snap e bike pix then 4ward u. U can then attach it in e LTA/ROV email.

- yes. u r rite. Somehow, sound do travel upwards.

- i compared my frnds who stay at e <12sty & myself >30sty, i can hear e difference.

- at higher levels, e vehicle engine/exhaust/braking/honkin sound frm e surrounding rds can b heard.

- while at lower levels, esp <12sty , e same sound is being blocked by e buildings near to e rds.

- meaning e Tall Trees & Buildings between ur unit & e rd (sound source) r e Physical Buffer.

- olso e front & e back units, have slight different in noise level.

:o

base on my observation & experiment ->

- partially opened windows emit lesser noise frm outside s compare 2 fully opened windows.

- window curtains reduces noise frm outside.

- more furnishings in e bedrm absorb noise in e rm.

- timber flooring (timber strip/parquet/laminated flooring) absorb sound s compare 2 tile flooring.

- eg. a bedrm with homo tile finished, no furnishing yet, no curtains, fully opened window, e noise frm outside, esp e main rd, can b heard clearly & it wil somehow echo (bounce) in e rm. making it kinda loud.

- s compare 2 a bedrm wif parquet flooring, built in wardrobe, cabinets, bedhead & frame, thick mattress, day & nite curtains, half opened windows, e noise level frm e external is at e minimum.

:rolleyes:

- nebermind lah.

- ndure another 2 yrs. By then, we can sell e flat liao, rite?

- for e past half yr, TPY Lor1/2, Blk 150+, >30th sty units, floor area 85-91sqm, e highest resale transanction price is $588K

- hope wen our time cums, e market wld hav been better & e econ picked-up.

- mayb we can sell >$600 then. Hopefully, $618K. HUAT Ah!!!

:jawdrop::dancingqueen::jawdrop:

Edited by jaCKY777

- ohh. Dunoe my info wrong or they neber update e tel no. :wacko:

- now can see how dis two organizations work! Transfer here & transfer there. Then 4.30pm stop ntertain u liao, ask u cal 2moro, if Fri, ask u cal nex wk... :bangwall:

- e notice board at our lift lobby, there is a notice which states e members name & contacts of TPY RC Zone 2.

- mayb u wana dial e tel instead, i gues it mus b up 2 date. :deal:

- brief summary base on wat i noe ->

> function rm beside mscp, under TPY RC Zone 2.

> link-building behind 79A, open-space beside dusbin compound, under BTPY TC.

> foodcourt infront 79E, hdb's hawkers sectn. Hygiene matters can cal NEA.

> mscp, service driveway illegal parking, under hdb's carparks sectn.

> common corridor, landscaped area, playgrnd, fitness corner, linkway, under BTPY TC.

> water & electrical & gas, under SP Powergrid services.

> corridor lightings & lift black-out, under EMSU.

> internal flat matters, under hdb.

> neighbours dispute etc, under 999.

thanks Jacky, the tel tat i listed is correct. trying to book the function room for kids birthday party lah. anyway, finally got in touch with the RC volunteer. Their office is at Blk 179 void deck (opp Blk 79E, next to TPY library). The volunteer told me she wld be manning there twice a wk, Thurs n Sun (maybe tats why i cant reach anyone on the other days?). They may be converting the a/c function room to RC centre end of this month and thereafter will not be allowed for booking anymore.

ya, i still hv quite a bit of things to dispose, hvn't finished packing yet thou moved in few mths liao :P btw the next recycling day at 79A Pavilion is 3 May 9-12pm.

Hello all!

Just bought a unit at 79A during HDB's balloting excercise end of last year. Picked up the keys only this March. So nice to see so many forummers also living in the same block! I'm formerly from CCK while wifey is from Redhill so we're total aliens to TPY =p. So please guide us along ok? =)

Anyway me and the wifey were looking at space planning for our new house but really very headache. 75sqm 4-rm very hard to allocate space leh. Did any of you guys managed to fit in a queen-size bed and a suitably sized wardrobe into your MBR?? I was doing the footprints for those using masking tape on the floor and I can't figure out how leh.... :wacko:

Hello all!

Just bought a unit at 79A during HDB's balloting excercise end of last year. Picked up the keys only this March. So nice to see so many forummers also living in the same block! I'm formerly from CCK while wifey is from Redhill so we're total aliens to TPY =p. So please guide us along ok? =)

Anyway me and the wifey were looking at space planning for our new house but really very headache. 75sqm 4-rm very hard to allocate space leh. Did any of you guys managed to fit in a queen-size bed and a suitably sized wardrobe into your MBR?? I was doing the footprints for those using masking tape on the floor and I can't figure out how leh.... :wacko:

- 1 standard king/queen size bed w/o fanciful bedhead & frame.

- 1 built-in or ready-made wardrobe, width sufficient for H&W normal usage.

- possibly a small bedsize table (depends on layout).

- these can b done w/o hacking of adjacent bedrm 2 wall.

- a better configuration wld b combinin MBR & Bdrm 2.

- mbr wld then only hav a bed. bdrm 2 wld then b a walk-in walkrobe cum study rm.

- bdrm 3 parents/kids or future usage.

2nd ballot. Must be ex.

3rd B.E. more ex. :bleah:

Yah. Very. For only 75sqm some more. =S At least location is good.

- tot end of las yr suppose 2b 3rd Balloting Exercise? :wacko:

- 2nd B.E. was in Apr2008

- 1st B.E. was in Aug2005

- y dun wait 4 e recently launched : The Peak at TPY

- s compare 2 Central Horizon, more perks, more value for $$$ :jawdrop:

Hello all!

A queen or king size bed can fit in the MBR but definitely not with wardrobe of any size. The most you can fit in a side table or small cabinet (shoe rack size). You'll have to sacrifice one bedroom for your wardrobe.

Welcome to BLK79. We're of the same batch. But I've requested to get the keys earlier and am living in now.

- 1 standard king/queen size bed w/o fanciful bedhead & frame.

- 1 built-in or ready-made wardrobe, width sufficient for H&W normal usage.

- possibly a small bedsize table (depends on layout).

- these can b done w/o hacking of adjacent bedrm 2 wall.

- a better configuration wld b combinin MBR & Bdrm 2.

- mbr wld then only hav a bed. bdrm 2 wld then b a walk-in walkrobe cum study rm.

- bdrm 3 parents/kids or future usage.

3rd B.E. more ex. :bleah:

Actually, i don't know which no. BE i'm under. Don't care lah, the price like dat already. Not as if I can bargain with HDB. =)

That's what I thought too, to combine MBR with Bdrom 2 by knocking down the wall. But wifey complained," Where got z-shaped room 1??!!"

She also say don't want to knock down wall cz after MOP may want to sell it off and upgrade to something bigger (hopefully within blk79 =p The location is **** good man...)

So think leave bdrm 2 as a study and wardrobe area bah. Our budget tight, maybe wont do build in wardrobes but buy ready made ones... But very weird right, imagine you working at the study table then your wife come in to change.... I have no idea how i'm going to remain focused on my work =p

Btw, did any of you guys do any thing to conceal the hsehold shelter door? I think it's very "outstanding" in a very bad way.... =S

A queen or king size bed can fit in the MBR but definitely not with wardrobe of any size. The most you can fit in a side table or small cabinet (shoe rack size). You'll have to sacrifice one bedroom for your wardrobe.

Welcome to BLK79. We're of the same batch. But I've requested to get the keys earlier and am living in now.

yup. Thinking of making a platform against the back wall of the MBR to put our queen sized bed. think the head of the bed put against the window and the feet towards the blank wall. think of doing a little feature wall on the blank wall and mount a TV there. Both me and wifey need to watch TV before we can sleep. Maybe can setup some sort of small dressing table beside the platform hmm...

BTW, those of you who live in the 75sqm one, how much your reno cost ah?

Thought I would like to share the reply from LTA regarding my suggestion....

Our Ref: LTA/TM/T44.020.146/2104/1Date : 20.04.09Tel : 63962308Fax : 63961163

Dear Mr Lau Resident Feedback-

Noise from the motorcycles along Toa Payoh Central Mainroad (C - Toa Payoh Central )FEEDBACK NUMBER: 812080

We refer to your feedback to Bishan-Toa Payoh Town Council which has been referred to us. We share your concern regarding the noise generated by speeding vehicles along Toa Payoh Central, especially late at night. However, providing roadhumps to reduce noise pollution may not be effective and may even aggravate the situation. Please allow us to explain further.

Vehicles plying along Toa Payoh Central will need to slow down and then pick-up speed when going over the humps. These actions will generate as much noise, especially for heavy vehicles/ buses as they will generate alot of noise when slowing down (engine braking) and when accelerating. For goods vehicles carrying loose cargo, the sound of rattling cargo will also be a nuisance. With road humps, every vehicle will create noises instead of the occassional speedsters.

In addition, Toa Payoh Central is a bus route. We do not recommend introducing road humps along bus routes as it can be uncomfortable for seated passengers and pose safety hazards for standing passengers. Hence, due to the above reasons, we do not recommend humps to be introduced along Toa Payoh Central.

Nevertheless, we will inform the Traffic Police to step up enforcement actions against speedsters at the said location. We thank you for writing in.

Yours sincerely

Hi stormcontrol,

Welcome to blk 79 :D

I am living in a 75sqm home, my reno cost is different as i did custom built for everything including the bed frame and wardrobe. Anyway for a nice and affordable cost, my guess is @$20,000 to S$25,000. If budget, can go all the way to S$15,000. Depends what flooring type you choose, ceiling, lights, any special bed you wanna buy, sofa cost, TV size, etc.

Regarding your household shelter question, I did a feature wall to conceal the whole door as I dislike the look of it.

My bed head is also facing the window while feet is facing the wall, but mine is hacked wall of MBR and rm 2. My bed is in Rm 2 while wardrobe is in MBR with the toilet.

Happy renovating.

Actually, i don't know which no. BE i'm under. Don't care lah, the price like dat already. Not as if I can bargain with HDB. =)

That's what I thought too, to combine MBR with Bdrom 2 by knocking down the wall. But wifey complained," Where got z-shaped room 1??!!"

She also say don't want to knock down wall cz after MOP may want to sell it off and upgrade to something bigger (hopefully within blk79 =p The location is **** good man...)

So think leave bdrm 2 as a study and wardrobe area bah. Our budget tight, maybe wont do build in wardrobes but buy ready made ones... But very weird right, imagine you working at the study table then your wife come in to change.... I have no idea how i'm going to remain focused on my work =p

Btw, did any of you guys do any thing to conceal the hsehold shelter door? I think it's very "outstanding" in a very bad way.... =S

yup. Thinking of making a platform against the back wall of the MBR to put our queen sized bed. think the head of the bed put against the window and the feet towards the blank wall. think of doing a little feature wall on the blank wall and mount a TV there. Both me and wifey need to watch TV before we can sleep. Maybe can setup some sort of small dressing table beside the platform hmm...

BTW, those of you who live in the 75sqm one, how much your reno cost ah?

Hi Alister,

Why dun you ask them to put speed regulating strips instead of humps? Put more strips both before and after the traffic light along Central ah.

Can give it another shot.

Thought I would like to share the reply from LTA regarding my suggestion....

Our Ref: LTA/TM/T44.020.146/2104/1Date : 20.04.09Tel : 63962308Fax : 63961163

Dear Mr Lau Resident Feedback-

Noise from the motorcycles along Toa Payoh Central Mainroad (C - Toa Payoh Central )FEEDBACK NUMBER: 812080

We refer to your feedback to Bishan-Toa Payoh Town Council which has been referred to us. We share your concern regarding the noise generated by speeding vehicles along Toa Payoh Central, especially late at night. However, providing roadhumps to reduce noise pollution may not be effective and may even aggravate the situation. Please allow us to explain further.

Vehicles plying along Toa Payoh Central will need to slow down and then pick-up speed when going over the humps. These actions will generate as much noise, especially for heavy vehicles/ buses as they will generate alot of noise when slowing down (engine braking) and when accelerating. For goods vehicles carrying loose cargo, the sound of rattling cargo will also be a nuisance. With road humps, every vehicle will create noises instead of the occassional speedsters.

In addition, Toa Payoh Central is a bus route. We do not recommend introducing road humps along bus routes as it can be uncomfortable for seated passengers and pose safety hazards for standing passengers. Hence, due to the above reasons, we do not recommend humps to be introduced along Toa Payoh Central.

Nevertheless, we will inform the Traffic Police to step up enforcement actions against speedsters at the said location. We thank you for writing in.

Yours sincerely

Hi Alister,

Why dun you ask them to put speed regulating strips instead of humps? Put more strips both before and after the traffic light along Central ah.

Can give it another shot.

I did think about it but I believe it will still be uncomfortable for bus and car passengers.

Sorry havent been logging in for the longest time due to bz-ness. Ya, as babymaro said, that bugger left a long, deep, windy scratch across more than 1/2 my bonnet. I suspect that fella parked beside me on the passenger's side cos the starting and ending points of the scratch coincided as if that bugger was on his way to get into his car beside mine. And that day it happened?

VALENTINE's DAY!!!

So u can imagine how freaking pissed I was. I parked at deck 2B the previous night facing away from the main road, about 3 cars away from the central stairs. Have made a police report but knew it was pretty futile. What to do? LL...suck thumb. Just wanna vent my frustration somewhere and hopefully to get their attention. :furious:

That Indian uncle who washes car? Initially he was 1 of my suspects cos I didnt let him wash my car....LOL. Kidding... :D

Keep your eyes peeled...

Hey guys... I think i am e first victim as i when i make a report at e police post.. e officer told me i was e only one kana mischief in Toa Payoh... My car was parked at level oneA jus next to e handicap lot fr ard 1130am-1730pm... after i made a police report, i went reccee to see other cars gt kana anot.. and i found tat afew silver colour cars kana oso.. so i thought e person aims only at silver cars.. but few days later i notice a blue car parked at e lot next to e handicap lot kana mischief.. then i started to notice tat quite of number of cars kana scratched and sprayed of paint as well... Hope tat e authorities can do something abt it.. and not jus e 'routine' patrolling car....