dbkungfu

Little Penguin Migration

Tux_s_familysvghi.png

Hi fellow renotalk

Decided to start my t-blog as I am getting my 5room re-sale flat keys in 3 weeks from now. I felt kan cheong now but wf still slow & steady .... aiyo, if igloo not ready when we arrive, where to stay ... old flat already sold, going to be kick out soon in mid july june :(

Here what happens so far,

Start searching for flat in end 2009, finally found it after 20-30 viewing, all the way from tampines, pasir ris, sengkang and punggol. Initially, wanted tampines only, but agent convince us to at least view 1-2 flat in punggol. Then I got caught by the place with condo look landscaping.

HDB appointment manage to reduce 1st appointing from 8 to 5 weeks via appealing and 2nd appointment from 6 to 5 weeks. Had to do this as I had sold my tampines flat at same timing ... so not going to appeal for my selling part, so that have time to reno. This meant I got around 1months for reno.

I guess, the first post is to include the layout. So here it is :)

layout.jpg

Reno plan, as the flat is very new (owner is staying overseas) :

1. No hacking

2. overhaul for toilets

3. kitchen/livingroom/dining/rooms floor no redo.

4. kitchen cabinet with blum system, granite countertop

5. grilles - iron wrought for living room, alu for rest of windows

6. wardrobe

7. study room (room3) with hung cabinet

8. L box and false ceiling for living/dining room & MBR

9. Feature wall - living room, bombshelter

10. shoe rack

11. book shelve for living room

est budget around $25-30k

Still sourcing for IDs, got some help from supersimon, ahweewee, elephanttan & skywire. thnx u

Following are my shortlist ID

1. CJ Ambience - Adrian

Meet up at one of his project in sengkang anchorvale.

Response & quotation is prompt.

Quotation exceed budget, did 2nd review at his shop. Result promising.

Easy to talk to.

Looks like hairdresser - hair stylist

2. ID Note - Henry

Sms & email him & reply will get back to me in 2 weeks time. I guess he is too busy.

finally emailed me on may13, but mentioned cant accept any more project at this moment - business super good

3. Impress21 - Henry

Sms & email him twice. Finally get back after 2nd sms

Quotation sent as per promise timeline - close to my budget

meetup with him today at shop to discuss on 1st quotation, show me a lot of sample.

Quite pleasant guy to talk to as well

Also looks like hairdresser - hair stylist

4. Ho Bee - Patrick

Sms him and email him - No news

5. Tau Interior - kelvin

Meetup at shop and show me 2 existing projects for worksmanship. Looks good & mentioned he had changed all his carpenter teams due to recent unpleasant report in renotalk.

Able to provide good suggestion on the fly

Easy to talk to & prompt in response.

6. Three-d conceptwerke - Terence (the one that appear as one of the judge in ch8 home makeover programme)

Introduce by buddy

Finally, we sign-up on May 03,2010. Will get 3D layout in a week time.

Wish me luck folks :) :)

Reno completed May21st, 2010 - Jul 2nd, 2010 (35days)

Day 1 (may/21 - friday) - common/mbr toilet hacking, kitchen dismantling

Day 2 (Saturday) - discussion on electrical points, air-con piping, solar-film

Day 5 (Thursday) - wet works & finalize on carpentry design

Day 10 (thursday) - electrical wiring, lbox, aircon piping, mbr tiling, kitchen base completion

Day 12 (Saturday) - common washroom pipe boxup, painting/plaster patching, citygas gas pipe installation

Day 14 (Tuesday) - low activities, waiting for fabrication of carpentry material & start on thursday

Day 19 (Saturday) - songcho delivery & onsite solar film measurement, veneer door, lighting installation (except dining light), kitchen pipe boxup

Day 20 (Sunday) - jb curtain maker on-site plus surprise wash

Day 22 (Tuesday) - carpentry works 40% completed

Day 23 (wednesday) - carpentry 80% & kdk ceiling fan installation

Day 25 (Friday) - aircon installation

Day 26 (Monday) - glass/mirror & carpentry work - 90%

Day 27 (Wednesday) - fixing vanity, downlight, kitchen boxup gap plus solar film installation

Day 28 (Thursday) - window grille, switches, t5 lights, bathroom bi-fold doors, granite countertop

Day 29 (Friday) - bathroom wc, rainshower, taps, mixer, storage heater, towel racks, toilet paper holder, mbr vanity countertop installation

Day 31 (Monday) - mbr wc leakage fixed, 2nd wall painting, 2nd wash

Day 32 (Tuesday) - bronze tinted mirror fixed, 2nd painting, marble table delivery, dishrack installation, tv feature wall and study suspend cabling holes

Day 33 (Wednesday) - kitchen glass backsplash, lshape glass wall, mbr sink & tap installation, repaint main door & door grille

Move-in (Monday - Jul5th)

Life @ punggol Day 3

3d design vs real comparison - Living room

3d design vs real comparison - Dining Room

3d design vs real comparison - Kitchen

3d design vs real comparison - MBR washroom & wardrobe

Life @ punggol Day 5 - store rack installation

So as promise, once my reno is 100% completed, I will reveal my ID who Adrian of CJ Ambience

Edited by dbkungfu

Hi fellow renotalk

Decided to start my t-blog as I am getting my 5room edgedale re-sale flat keys in 3 weeks from now. I felt kan cheong now but wf still slow & steady .... aiyo, if igloo not ready when we arrive, where to stay ... old flat already sold, going to be kick out soon in mid july :(

Here what happens so far,

HDB appointment manage to reduce 1st appointing from 8 to 5 weeks via appealing and 2nd appointment from 6 to 5 weeks. Had to do this as I had sold my tampines flat at same timing ... so not going to appeal for my selling part, so that have time to reno. This meant I got around 1months for reno.

I guess, the first post is to include the layout. So here it is :)

layout.jpg

Reno plan, as the flat is very new (owner is staying overseas) :

1. No hacking

2. overhaul for toilets

3. kitchen/livingroom/dining/rooms floor no redo.

4. kitchen cabinet with blum system, granite countertop

5. grilles - iron wrought for living room, alu for rest of windows

6. wardrobe

7. study room (room3) with hung cabinet

8. L box and false ceiling for living/dining room & MBR

9. Feature wall - living room, bombshelter

10. shoe rack

11. book shelve for living room

est budget around $25-30k

Still sourcing for IDs, got some help from supersimon, ahweewee, elephanttan & skywire.

Following are my shortlist ID

1. CJ Ambience - Adrian

Meet up at one of his project in sengkang anchorvale.

Response & quotation is prompt.

Quotation exceed budget - need to review with him

Easy to talk to.

Looks like hairdresser - hair stylist

2. ID Note - Henry

Sms & email him & reply will get back to me in 2 weeks time. I guess he is too busy.

3. Impress21 - Henry

Sms & email him twice. Finally get back after 2nd sms

Quotation sent as per promise timeline - close to my budget

meetup with him today at shop to discuss on 1st quotation, show me a lot of sample.

Quite pleasant guy to talk to as well

Also looks like hairdresser - hair stylist

4. Ho Bee - Patrick

So will give up if still no reply by next week

5. Tau Interior - kelvin

Will meet up tomorrow

My strategy is to close ID selection by next week ... a bit kan cheong now.

Anyway, just posting to make sure I can get the photobucket to work. Will post more ... very busy research for lightning, wc, marble table either in sg or jb ...

Wish me luck folks :):)

Good luck on your search for a suitable id. :) i am new here. A question here. How do you post your layout plan? Wanted to post mine but dunno how.

Thanks in advance.

ha ... bro , june and july also can mistake ... lol

anyway welcome to RT-blog . Stay cool. need help just ask ard :)

thnx simon as usual ... that why I am not the CFO for this project. else pay wrongly also dun know .. :unsure:

Uploading 3d design I did myself ... cool free soft sweet home 3d :D :D

view from top

top.png

North-East

ne.png

South-East

se.png

Living room (close-up) with wall & window remove

livingroom-1.png

Using it to plan for item size that I am going to fabricate and buy, especially mattress, book shelve

Comment ? 1-5 star ? ...

u can download from here link

one more thing, it got a option to allow u to "walk" through your virtual home :D

Edited by dbkungfu

Uploading 3d design I did myself ... cool free soft sweet home 3d :D :D

Using it to plan for item size that I am going to fabricate and buy, especially mattress, book shelve

Comment ? 1-5 star ? ...

u can download from here link

one more thing, it got a option to allow u to "walk" through your virtual home :D

Nice! i have not seen this software before.

Think the reading corner is a great idea! I want to do something similar also in my spare room, hehe...

Are you placing a partition wall behind the sofa? Wouldn't it be better for the dining area to be able to watch tv also?

Nice! i have not seen this software before.

Think the reading corner is a great idea! I want to do something similar also in my spare room, hehe...

Are you placing a partition wall behind the sofa? Wouldn't it be better for the dining area to be able to watch tv also?

floor are all granite ... so decided not to replace. That why I willing to pay high COV :bangwall:

Initially, I wanna to do a low wall behind sofa but after discuss with my "heng-tai", they said can just stick rubber underneath the sofa. Imagine those rubber use to put your handphone on your car dashboard, so that it wont slip. Just cut & stick to the sofa leg will do. It work fine for one of my buddy carpet. Save $$$

ya cool software, did u see the reflection of the dining table on the wall mirror ? I drawn it exactly based on my layout. Now I can suggest to ID on how big is the wardrobe, dressing table I need :D

Edited by dbkungfu

Hi all

Does anybody know where to get cheap & reliable wc & rainshower ? Wf & me been to sim siang choon, uned bath station (hougang) .... not cheap lerrr. one wc around $400++. My budget around $1k for 2 x wc + 2x rainshower + 1 joven 15l storage heater. possible ?

I know joven is around $250. rainshower so far from forum ... sound very ex.

wc plan to buy marie claire ... will visit GR Link (jalan besar) to see see. thnx

Edited by dbkungfu

Hi all

Does anybody know where to get cheap & reliable wc & rainshower ? Wf & me been to sim siang choon, uned bath station (hougang) .... not cheap lerrr. one wc around $400++. My budget around $1k for 2 x wc + 2x rainshower + 1 joven 15l storage heater. possible ?

I know joven is around $250. rainshower so far from forum ... sound very ex.

wc plan to buy marie claire ... will visit GR Link (jalan besar) to see see. thnx

Just went to Econflo Systems at beach road this afternoon. There's a sale for Hansgroher stuff and other brands. They also have left over stock of bathroom sink, kitchen sink, toilet bowls from project works which are selling quite cheap. On the second floor, they also have their house brand mixers, toilet roll holder, towel rack etc going at a good price. Design looks modern. Was crowded when I went there and there were not enough sales persons. I suggest you go early. They open at 10am. I bought some stuff for my kids toilet and guest toilet. Might go again to get rainshower for master bathroom.

Photo time for existing condition ... taken during OTP. Nice owner, allow me to shoot photo and video.

Took it to show to ID in advance.

Living room (close up window), dont have far view

livingroom.jpg

Dining (see my boy dashing through .... almost heartattack 'cos whole house no grille) ... btw it is top floor :o

dining.jpg

kitchen.jpg

Common toilet (located in kitchen)

commontoilet.jpg

Edited by dbkungfu

Just went to Econflo Systems at beach road this afternoon. There's a sale for Hansgroher stuff and other brands. They also have left over stock of bathroom sink, kitchen sink, toilet bowls from project works which are selling quite cheap. On the second floor, they also have their house brand mixers, toilet roll holder, towel rack etc going at a good price. Design looks modern. Was crowded when I went there and there were not enough sales persons. I suggest you go early. They open at 10am. I bought some stuff for my kids toilet and guest toilet. Might go again to get rainshower for master bathroom.

thnx u :)

kitchen cabinet (problem 1), est around < 10ft length

part 1

P1030149.jpg

part 2

P1030148.jpg

Design not to my liking, going to replace everything with granite countertop.

As u can see it looks brand new & stainless steel ... so heart ache to throw away. Other than selling to kalang guni. Any lobang to sell at better price ? most ID I talked to, said cannot reused. Going to post a wts thread in renotalk, wish me luck !!

Edited by dbkungfu