pixie

Our First Quotation

We received this for our 5 Room resale flat, 132sqm.

This is our first quotation. Is it reasonable?

1 Dismentle off existing kitchen cabinet and wardrobe.$200

2 Hack off existing 02 toilet floor tiles.$200

3 Hack off existing 02 toilet wall tiles.$500

4 Hack off existing kitche floor tiles.$200

5 Hack off existing kitchen wall tiles.$450

6 Hack off existng living hall/dining hall/03 bedroom /storeroom and balcony floor tiles.$1400

7 Clear all debris off sites.$250

Total $3,000

WET WORKS:

1 To supply & lay 300mm x300mm homogeneoues floor tiles for 02 toilet c/w waterproofing.$800

2 To supply & lay 300mm x 600mm ceramic wall tiles up to ceiling high for 02 toilet. $2,400

3 To supply & lay 300mm x 300mm homogeneoues floor tiles for kitchen c/w waterproofing.$900

4 To supply & lay 300mm x 600mm ceramic wall tilesup to ceiling high for kitchen area.$2,400

5 To top up balcony level up with living hall using foam. $400

6 To supply & lay 600mm x 600mm homogeneoues floor tiles for living hall dinning ahll/balcony/storeromm and 03 bedroom c/w skirting. $5,800

7 To construct 50mm L design cabinet base.$300

8 To construct fridge base and washing machine base c/w tiles.$200

9 To supply & install new bin chute hopper.$200

Total $13,400

PLUMBING Works;

1 Whole unit change to stainless steel pipe.$580

2 To supply labour to install 02 nos. of toilet bowl.$170

3 To supply labour to install 02 nos. of washing basin/mixer tap. $140

4 To supply labour to install 02 nos. of instant heater. $70

5 To supply labour to install sink and connect sink. $85

6 To supply labour to install all outlet/inlet pipe. $FOC

7 To suppy labour to install whole unit acceressories. FOC

Total $1,045

DOORS WORKS:

1 To supply & install 02 nos of alum bi-fold pvc door for 02 toilet. $400

2 To supply & install 03 nos. of venner doors c/w lock set for 03 bedroom. $870

3 To supply & install 02 set of 10mm tampered glass shower screen. $1,100

( for 02 toilet)

Total $2,430

PAINTING WORKS:

1 Whole unit paint with ICI / Nippon emulsion paint (penatlite/vinilvex 5000) $1,250

ELECTRICAL WORKS:

1 Whole unit re-wiring: $2,400

change new wiring for whole unit.

2 x instant heater point.

1 x air - con point.

1 x tel point

4 x SCV cable point.

15 nos ot 2 x 13 amp power point.

5 nos. of 1 x 13 amp power point.

all swtich point.

Labour to install whole unit light.

(any cat 5 point will be $ 140 each )

Submission for power supply testing

CARPENTRY WORKS:

1 To supply & design laminated solid plywood kitchen top/botton cabinet c/w disctray/ alun foster glass doors and ABS trimming.$12ft) $2,640

2 To supply & design laminated solid plywood 10ft feature wall up to ceiling c/w t.v console .$2,200

3 To supply & design laminated solid plywood shoe cabinet up to ceiling high. (5ft) $1,100

4 To supply & install solid surface kitchen work top for new kitchen cabinet c/w skiritng. $840

Total $6,780

Grand Total $30,305

OPTIONAL ITERMS:

1 To supply & install 6" high plateform for livning hall area. $950

2 To supply & install 2" x 8" parquet wood floor for t.v room. $1,100

3 To supply & install 10mm tampered glass up to ceiling high for living hall.( c/w L design)and glass door.$3,800

4 To supply & install flase ceiling for new tv room. $450

Total $6,300

tiling hacking good deal..carpentary better go direct. u will save alot unless yr contractor give good material..me too 5 room but carpentary direct..regards

PLUMBING Works;

1 Whole unit change to stainless steel pipe.$580 ---> very hard to comment as it depends on your piping system.

2 To supply labour to install 02 nos. of toilet bowl.$170 ---> your toilet bowl's one piece or two-piece?

3 To supply labour to install 02 nos. of washing basin/mixer tap. $140 ----> if it's mixer, the cost of installing is slightly higher. depends how many mixer you plan of having.

4 To supply labour to install 02 nos. of instant heater. $70 ----> if exclude piping, it is around market rate.

5 To supply labour to install sink and connect sink. $85 ----> no idea

Total $1,045

PLUMBING Works;

1 Whole unit change to stainless steel pipe.$580 ---> very hard to comment as it depends on your piping system.

2 To supply labour to install 02 nos. of toilet bowl.$170 ---> your toilet bowl's one piece or two-piece?

3 To supply labour to install 02 nos. of washing basin/mixer tap. $140 ----> if it's mixer, the cost of installing is slightly higher. depends how many mixer you plan of having.

4 To supply labour to install 02 nos. of instant heater. $70 ----> if exclude piping, it is around market rate.

Total $1,045

is there difference in costs of installing one-piece or two-piece WC?

toilet bowl got two piece?

what is mixer?

WC can come in 2 piece, first piece is the cistern aka water tank, and the second piece is the WC bowl. for those 1-piece design, basically the water tank is molded together with the bowl for a more nicer look.

mixer tap is to mix the hot and cold water lor.... :) if u have storage heater, the plumber will run both hot and cold pipes in parallel and connect to the mixer, so u can adjust the desired temperature of the water.

WC can come in 2 piece, first piece is the cistern aka water tank, and the second piece is the WC bowl. for those 1-piece design, basically the water tank is molded together with the bowl for a more nicer look.

mixer tap is to mix the hot and cold water lor.... :) if u have storage heater, the plumber will run both hot and cold pipes in parallel and connect to the mixer, so u can adjust the desired temperature of the water.

Aaaaaahhh so much to learn!

Hi pixie, good start to your reno research. i must say you have got a good quote. the hacking cost is really good. As for the other items, i will say they are very good priced towards the lower range in the market. Except for carpentry and the glass work (e.g. shower screen), they are a bit pricy. You may consider direct source.

What you can do is to hold on to this contractor /ID's quote and source ard using it as the baseline. Directly tell those IDs /contractors to match this quote. If they can, you will listen to them further. If not, then you can say bye bye to them and dun waste your time. =)

PLUMBING Works;

Total $1,045

I don't believe in FOC item, is a sale strategic to get you to sign with them, normally this is where hidden cost come from, i experienced so you better be aware carefully.

So long the agreed descriptions are there, I believe the contractor/id won't pull stunts…

if the quotation charges even for simple mounting, it simply means contractor/ID is really "ngeow", even additional small stainless steel screws oso must charge. this kind of item sure clients will ask them to absorb & provide FOC one, otherwise they will tell contractor/ID to go flykite. which is kinda self-defeating.

simple drilling and fixing of items usually contractors/ID will do it no questions asked. unless u specifically want special fixtures like hilti chemical bolts or anchor bolts, that will cost extra.

Edited by neubie

So long the agreed descriptions are there, I believe the contractor/id won't pull stunts…

if the quotation charges even for simple mounting, it simply means contractor/ID is really "ngeow", even additional small stainless steel screws oso must charge. this kind of item sure clients will ask them to absorb & provide FOC one, otherwise they will tell contractor/ID to go flykite. which is kinda self-defeating.

simple drilling and fixing of items usually contractors/ID will do it no questions asked. unless u specifically want special fixtures like hilti chemical bolts or anchor bolts, that will cost extra.

Thanks! yeap our first quote is really reasonable and now we are breaking the items apart to look @ the items we need ..

eg the doors, we are looking @ yontat. so not sure what kind he is providing

For the shower screen, we decided to go against it since so ex. Ikea shower screen can liaoz. =X

Thanks! yeap our first quote is really reasonable and now we are breaking the items apart to look @ the items we need ..

eg the doors, we are looking @ yontat. so not sure what kind he is providing

For the shower screen, we decided to go against it since so ex. Ikea shower screen can liaoz. =X

No need go ikea buy, hardware store sells those extendable aluminum roads that attached opposite wall ends and install shower curtains.

Oooh ...

For kitchen tops, he provide plywood, but i read that granite is better. How much is it right now for granite?

For the tiles, he gave a fixed amount, but how do i know how big he catered for?

Oooh ...

For kitchen tops, he provide plywood, but i read that granite is better. How much is it right now for granite?

For the tiles, he gave a fixed amount, but how do i know how big he catered for?

for kitchen tops, it's usually made of plywood, followed by measurement of worktop dimensions, then bring the template back to factory for molding.....few days later they will bring the molded worktop (it's very heavy) back and mount it on top of the plywood top, complete and sealed with silicon. u can refer to my t-blog for the details how it's done. whether it's acrylic or granite worktop, it's still using plywood as the underlayer (i stand corrected though)....

granite has its good and bad points, i can think of a few (the following is not exhaustive):

pros

- better resistant to heat (from boiling pots) than acrylic ones

- classier and nicer

cons

- more expensive

- there may be non-uniformity in color tones

- there may be joint-lines

- will get permanently stained if left uncleaned for too long

- may require periodic polishing to upkeep the look

- scratches can be very obvious against a dark surface

for acrylic-based worktops, their advantages and disadvantages is opposite of the list above.... think u can search in RT to find out the pros and cons of acrylic-based compared to natural-stone worktops....

read this thread for some fresh horror stories of granite top.... u are lucky to have popped the question :D..... not sure if this is representative of all granite worktops, but please be advised such things do happen.

tiles-wise, u can check with him. basically whatever is pasted on the walls/floors u pay, what is excess/leftover u dun pay. of cos, keep some as spares just in case if u drop/knock something heavy that caused cracks.

to save cost even more, decide on the top and bottom kitchen cabinets, and the wall behind these cabinets need not be tiled, since they can't be seen liao...

Edited by neubie

looks like i need to study more on the kitchen top. thanks for the info!

We are thinking of partitioning our balcong/livingroom/diningroom to have a TV room.

this partitioning was proposed having glass wall (glass so that the sunlight can come in). was quoted >3K on this glass wall + door.

anyone done that before?

Instead of glass wall, we are exploring sliding glass door instead. but cant seem to get a proper quote on this.