bepgof

黄道十二宫/star Constellation Along Ecliptic Circle/horoscope

It needs one to have some imaginary power to understand what is "Ecliptic" or 黄道, thereafter can then comprehen “stars”.

We know that the earth’s axis tilted at 23deg and 26minute and self-rotates CCW. Self rotate 1 round takes 1day. The Earth at same time moves along the Earth Orbit around the sun. One round takes 1 year.

Celestic equator is an imaginary expanded(from centre of earth) version equator which is "parallel" to earth's equator. That is to say ecliptic plane is always "cut" with celestic equator at an angle of 230 and 26minutes. Ecliptic plane is "superimposed" or "parallel" (if look from sideway) to the earth's orbit.

See pictures below to have better understanding.

Some BC 5 years ago Babylonian astrologists(not BC 2000, remembered the figure wrongly in previous post) observed the existence of these constellations at different seasons and divided the ecliptic circle into 12 portions, each group of constellation occupies 30 degrees (do take note that some constellation slight bigger than 30 deg, some slightly smaller)

This 12 groups of constellation appear at ecliptic's +/- 4.5 degress, so ppl around whole whole all can see by naked eye, unlike those stars at northern and southern hemispheres. Like 北斗星 can be observed only at location 30 deg N latitude and above.

Now ,come the area of interest: angmor birthday & star constellation(horoscope)

- Say one borns in Feb 21, The "Aquarius" stars will apear over the sky during day time. So one cannot see this group because presence of the sunlight, however, in the opposite, at same period, at night, one can see the "Leo" constellation. So on and so for.

- So "questions" come: those born in this period(21/1 to 21/2), at DAY time is "Aquarius", at NIGHT time is "Leo". But we understand nowadays ppls adopt only "Aquarius", but not "Leo" during 21/1 , 21/2, then those horoscope's prediction, how huh? Chun bo? Take care only "day", no "night"?

Another question(a bit chim) is that, when earth self spinning, its rotation axis location is not fixed due to the lunisolar precession slowly shifting westwards over the ecliptic with a speed of 1° per 72 years. The 12 zodiac observed BC5 till now already some 2015 years, so 2015/72 =28 deg shifted, meaning that location of these 12 groups of stars, with respect to earth have been changed. In other word, the stars appear during day time in 21/2 no more Aquarius, has become “Pisces”, so on and so for. Why the angmors still follow the horoscope???

Axial precession is the movement of the rotational axis of an astronomical body, whereby the axis slowly traces out a cone. In the case of the Earth, this type of precession is also known as the precession of the equinoxes or precession of the equator. The Earth goes through one such complete precessional cycle in a period of approximately 25,920 years. (72year x 360 degree)

One needs "many reading" to understand above, hope I've summarised those essential portion with essential pictures.

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/7553/63649676.jpg

http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/1153/71408161.jpg

http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/9749/3eclipticpath.png

http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/4125/412zodiac.jpg

http://img341.imageshack.us/img341/2444/91714434.jpg

http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/905/71207509.jpg

wah very cheem leh.

difficult to understand.

After reading thru, I'm already seeing stars myself :wacko:

Where got cheem.

Similar to new moon(moon in between sun & earth)so no one can see moon even at night.

Full moon (earth in sun & moon) everybody can see a round-moon at night.

When "Aquarius" in between sun & earth, thought the stars are there, no one can see them in day & night.

However, at "night" location, half of earth blocks by sunlight, all ppls can see "Leo".

That is why I say one needs "imagination power".

Not that tough to understand.

According to bepgof's 4th link, imagine it is 21st Feb and you are looking up in the sky during broad daylight.

Of course you won't see stars but the Aquarius constellation is staring right at you.

On the same day when the Earth orbits 180 degrees to present the night, you will have the Leo constellation welcoming you in the sky.

So on one single day, when the earth completes its 360degrees rotation on its own axis, you will have witnessed two star constellations in fact.