csingeu

Our Lil Paradise

Will have chance to visit you one, since so near only... but maybe with others la... i pai seh to go alone...

eh... this sat, i'm having marriage prep course (part 2)... LOL...

yeah, we lazy to talk to more ppl le... since last Nov til now... almost 3 months liao... wife is sian le... and i don't think it can go any lower. even my uncle cannot quote me a vastly discounted price... now only think is to worry abt design and workmanship...

haven't booked wedding dinner package yet... but going down to Novotel this Sat morning to meet the coordinator and check out the ballroom...

look-see a few liao... likely to decide soon... short-listed ones included:

1. Amara Hotel

- near Tanjong Pagar MRT; and meaningful for us... coz can say that's one of the places we got to know each other better as friends....

2. Swiss Merchant Court

- near Clarke Quay MRT; my company usually has their corporate planning seminars there; until recently... think the ballroom quite ok.

3. Novotel

- got colleagues say not bad...

4. Grand Coptherne Waterfront

hey from my research and experience (hope it's still updated as my own wedding was just some 7 months back :P):

Amara: heard quite a lot of bad feedback leh, and i personally feel the shopping centre downstairs looks very run down... ever consider M Hotel? also near Tanjong Pagar MRT.

Merchant Court: pretty hotel, lovely ballroom, great service (colleague just got married there 3 mths back) but on the more ex side.

Novotel: overall quite okie, and more friendly on your pocket :lol:

GCW: been there many times and their food have always been very good :good: but think it's the most ex out of the 4 and personally feel the inconvenient location really doesn't justify the high price... one plus point is the bride can arrive to the hotel by a boat at the river behind... quite cute hahaha :P

I think preparing for wedding is more headache than reno. RSVP and seating arrangement almost killed me... The hotels u mentioned all quite good. Just put on your big smile that day and things will flow smoothly...

hahaha i think wedding prep is SO MUCH easier compared reno........ :wacko: at least seating arrangement etc is a one day or the most one week headache, and wedding is just an one day event... but reno, if you do anything wrongly, you gotta face it for a long time :bangwall:

Your purchase from Cellini does looks good!

i must say, the tv console from cellini indeed looks nice wor. very resort-feel too.

that's makes me tempted too..

Novotel will be a good choice de, i had mine there! ;)

Ohh. So which sets did u get from Cellini? Did you get their bed and bedframes?

I like the sofa set too. :) but it's 3.1m long. Think maybe not a lot of ppl would consider it, if the living Rm is not big enough. Might make the area looks smaller and more clumsy. I was looking at a 2.8m. But I think should still be able to squeeze in.

If i'm going to use the expedit shelf as tv console, I think it will be hard to hide the cables. Probably just simple cable management lor.

When placed horizontally, those items, too big to be placed on top of it, will then be placed in the shelves lor.

Yes. In the end, we psycho-ed ourselves. If wanted to get Ikea, should just get Ikea ones; if not just get the matching one lor. In fact, our original budget for sofa set ($1.5K), dining set ($1.5K), bed set ($2.5-3K) will be ard $6K total. So we'll still be within our budget if we get the tv console and coffee table @ $800.

In fact, I like the tv console. As for the coffee table, I'm neutral. It's too big and heavy for my liking. I envision myself having quite a bit of house parties, playing wii and stuff; the coffee table might get in the way.

No. I didn't get the free bean bag. :( Coz the limited promotion ended on Sat. But I'll get an option to purchase it at $69.90, but cannot choose colours.

Actually, we sort of rushed to buy, Coz the salesperson told us that if we confirm our order ytd, she could try to get us the bean bag free. In the end, the request was rejected by her manager, Coz a lot of ppl asking for it too!

I got the flow series. Flow series bed (i didn't take the mattress cos I'm going to move my existing Sealy over), Flow sofa, Flow side table, Manhatten Dining Set (inclusive of 4 chairs) and Amphibios Coffee Table. Paid for the bean bag too and also cannot choose colours... Yah, they are very strict with their pricing.. Cannot means cannot... I went over to Loyang to make my purchase.. No customer somemore and yet they don't really entertain bargaining...

hey from my research and experience (hope it's still updated as my own wedding was just some 7 months back :P):

hahaha i think wedding prep is SO MUCH easier compared reno........ :wacko: at least seating arrangement etc is a one day or the most one week headache, and wedding is just an one day event... but reno, if you do anything wrongly, you gotta face it for a long time :bangwall:

Both our families very 'man fan', this uncle cannot be seated with that auntie...hence resulting big headache when it comes to seating arrangement. My mummy is the no 14 in the family and my hubby also got big family... Then my ex-office also political type.. Certain colleagues cannot click so cannot put them together and all don't want to sit with big boss.. Frightening event for us.. At least for reno, we can make decision and need not ans to anyone else...

Maybe next weekend to visit marshmallow's place?? Since this weekend we are all "occupied". :)

I want to see the glass sliding door!!

Can I join the Jurong crowd??

1. Most renovation work are more for restoration, not so much design; I'm keen on creating an outdoor feel with my balcony; wife thinks that no pt spending so much on the balcony, which we are not likely to spend a lot of time at...

3. Even after we sort of decided to go with one of the contractor, who seems to be able to capture most of our requirements well plus offering reasonable rates, we are now concerned abt the design, quality of materials provided, and worksmanship and also ability to respond and perform service recovery (unable to find out, until renovation starts...)

Hehe, bro, me too, I also did 1 simple spreadsheet on budget, quotations and estimated damage, so I can plan my miserable bank account properly (account will look worse after paying the COV :( ) as we do not intend to take up reno loans or anything... so really need to plan properly on the necessary things to do first.... I will follow your t-blog closely and if i'm able to find time for the jurong gathering, i'll join u guys....

yea sure! you all are most welcome to join~ :lol: but this Sat i got appointment in afternoon leh... how abt Sun afternoon? or next Sat?

bro i think you're lucky to have a such practical wife... haha :lol: anyway, for the contractor, maybe you can request to visit his recent project, so you can see the workmanship etc by yourself?

i also spent most of the reno $ on restoration... end up many of the nice design ideas get thrown out of the window cos need to channel my very limited $$ to more practical use :P

i started with one spreadsheet for reno, i ended up with at least 4 spreadsheets cos 1 is simply not enough :wacko:

yea sure! you all are most welcome to join~ :lol: but this Sat i got appointment in afternoon leh... how abt Sun afternoon? or next Sat?

i am ok for this sunday afternoon.... my service will end abt 1pm then lunch etc.... maybe abt 4-5pm?

If you have followed my t-blog earlier, I mentioned that I wanted to get IKEA furniture to save money, and it will probably cost me $3K+ to get the KIVIK sofa set, the dining set, book shelves, coffee table & tv bench. And maybe another 3K to get a Sealy mattress & bedframe.

And now, we're spending like $4.5K for the sofa set, dining set, mattress & bedframe. Seems to me a pretty gd offer.

I'm still pondering, whether I should get the MAX tv console and coffee table for another $800, to make the sofa, dining set, tv console, coffee table a complete set of the same theme. hmmm...

If i go for IKEA coffee table ($69)

expedit-coffee-table-brown-glass.jpg

Expedit Coffee Table

and IKEA Expedit shelf ($119), placed horizontally, as my tv bench,

expedit-shelving-unit-brown.jpg

Expedit Shelving Unit

I would be able to save more... :(

What would you do if you were me? :dunno:

Ohh. So which sets did u get from Cellini? Did you get their bed and bedframes?

If i'm going to use the expedit shelf as tv console, I think it will be hard to hide the cables. Probably just simple cable management lor.

When placed horizontally, those items, too big to be placed in the shelves , will then be placed on top of it lor.

In fact, I like the tv console. As for the coffee table, I'm neutral. It's too big and heavy for my liking. I envision myself having quite a bit of house parties, playing wii and stuff; the coffee table might get in the way.

hey i got myself a Cellini set too~ hahaha :lol: i'll say their quality and build is good... the package will end up cheaper than ikea and really worth the $$! ;)

if you wanna have the storage bed frame but don't like the coffee table, you can nego with the salesperson to use the coffee table in exchange of upgrading the bedframe to a storage bed frame. i did something like that last time :P

on the tv console, are you going to mount tv on the wall or place on the tv console? if you are going to place the tv on the console, i can help you strike out the Expedit option immediately cos Expedit is too short for this purpose (only 40cm in height) :lol:

If you have followed my t-blog earlier, I mentioned that I wanted to get IKEA furniture to save money, and it will probably cost me $3K+ to get the KIVIK sofa set, the dining set, book shelves, coffee table & tv bench. And maybe another 3K to get a Sealy mattress & bedframe.

And now, we're spending like $4.5K for the sofa set, dining set, mattress & bedframe. Seems to me a pretty gd offer.

I'm still pondering, whether I should get the MAX tv console and coffee table for another $800, to make the sofa, dining set, tv console, coffee table a complete set of the same theme. hmmm...

If i go for IKEA coffee table ($69)

expedit-coffee-table-brown-glass.jpg

Expedit Coffee Table

and IKEA Expedit shelf ($119), placed horizontally, as my tv bench,

expedit-shelving-unit-brown.jpg

Expedit Shelving Unit

I would be able to save more... :(

What would you do if you were me? :dunno:

if i am you, i will choose ikea coffee table.... like you, i think the one from cellini is very bulky... but for tv console, its nicer to get the one from cellini. i think ikea's book shelf as tv console might not be suitable

Bro Csingeu, wife n me was looking at the Elda sofa n other cellinin collections too... .. :dribble:

We are now finalising between the Calypso, Flow or Elda, and yes, we are also taking up the package for a King bed n mattress...

Only thing here is that there are not much reviews on the Nightingale Mattress, we tried it in the Loyang showroom, feel comfy enough.. ... :dribble:

hey, i love the sideboard that comes with the Elda sofa too! we are thinking to ask our carpenter to construct a similar one. and maybe a similar style for the TV console too.

when we bought the flow series sofa and bedframe, we were considering to buy the same dining table as you did too! haha

now we are sourcing for teakwood dining table. if we can't find one which we like we might just end up buying the same dining table as you.

Hi Csingeu,

What's your reno work for $57k?

For my EM, I was quoted $67k for the following:

1) Hack, dismantle and dispose work for living room, dining room, study room, Kitchen, balcony, staircase and 3 toilets

Living and Dining and study rooms

2) Lay homogeneous floor tiles for living room, dining room and study room

3) Suppy and install white power coat sliding grilles, windows with black tinted glass panel for living, dining and study room

4) Supply and install full height glass panel cabinet at study room (11 foot run)

5) Supply and install tempered glass sliding door and fixed panel glass at study room

6) Lay homogeneous floor tiles and wall tiles for kitchen (with water proofing)

7) Seal and reopen new kitchen entrance

8) Supply and install kitchen cabinet at wash basin and cooking stool area include granite work top (24 foot run)

9) Supply and install tempered glass sliding door at kitchen entrance

Balcony

10) Suppy and install white power coat sliding window grille for balcony

11) Supply and install bottom cabinet with post-form work top at balcony (4.5 foot long)

12) Replace new stainless steel dustbin at balcony

13) Supply and lay chengal wood strips at balcony floor

14) Supply and install power coat fold door with green glass panel at balcony to living room

Staircase

15) Supply and install timber strips for staircase

16) Supply and install wood railing with tempered glass panel

Toilets 1, 2 and 3

17) Lay full height ceramic wall tiles for toilet 1, 2 and 3

18) Lay homonogenous floor tiles for toilet 1, 2 and 3 (with water proofing)

19) Supply and install white power by-fold door with acyrlic panel for toilet 1, 2 and 3

20) Install bath tub and tempered glass shower panel for toilet 3

21) Supply and install tempered glass shower screen for toilet 2

22) Supply and install lourver windor for toilet 1,2 and 3

23) Supply and install vanity top with carbinet at toilet 2

3 bedrooms

24) Hack existing wardrobes bedframes and doors for all 3 bedrooms

25) To hack existing floor tiles for 3 bedrooms

26) To supply and install parquet flooring for 3 bedrooms and passageway

27) Supply and install build-in wardrobe for MBR

28) Suppy and install white power coat sliding window with black tinted glass panel for 3 bedrooms

29) Supply and install solid timber doors for 3 bedrooms

Others

30) To supply and install L-Box at dining, living, study and 3 bedrooms

31) To seal up staircase on top storeroom area

32) To partition new storeroom with timber door

33) Supply and install solid timber door for main door

34) Supply and install rod iron main gate

35) Supply and install stainless steel piping for whole house

36) To install a roller shuttle at balcony

Hi Csingeu,

Hi beachfox,

mind PM-ing your email? I send you my quotation instead la... :P

Edited by csingeu

Bro Csingeu, wife n me was looking at the Elda sofa n other cellinin collections too... .. :dribble:

We are now finalising between the Calypso, Flow or Elda, and yes, we are also taking up the package for a King bed n mattress...

Only thing here is that there are not much reviews on the Nightingale Mattress, we tried it in the Loyang showroom, feel comfy enough.. ... :dribble:

LOL, yea... the Elda sofa was a love at first sight for my hubby. Although the photo really doesn't do it justice. Looks much better in the shop.

We thought the mattress was ok too. Can't really tell the difference between that and the branded ones. Doesn't mean its not good though. Anyways, we thought it was a good deal, so buy lor.

hey, i love the sideboard that comes with the Elda sofa too! we are thinking to ask our carpenter to construct a similar one. and maybe a similar style for the TV console too.

when we bought the flow series sofa and bedframe, we were considering to buy the same dining table as you did too! haha

now we are sourcing for teakwood dining table. if we can't find one which we like we might just end up buying the same dining table as you.

I love the dining table!! You and your partner seem to like teak. Hubby and me went through the teak dining set phase. I thought teak dining set will make a good signature look for the house, esp when we were planning to get loads of ikea furniture. At least we will have 1 set of proper furniture (hopefully won't collapse on us, LOL) But after a tedious afternoon of hunting around, the price put us off.. Too ex liao!

Maybe that's why I like the current cellini one so much, cos it looks like teak!

If you really interested though, my hubby should have the updated list of furniture shops that specialise in teak furniture. Or did he write it down somewhere in this t-blog... Hmmm...

Hi Csingeu,

For my EM, I was quoted $67k for the following:

Hi Beach Fox, are u using 800 x 800 Homo tiles (ok i know tile the name sound a bit rude... :D )

LOL, yea... the Elda sofa was a love at first sight for my hubby. Although the photo really doesn't do it justice. Looks much better in the shop.

We thought the mattress was ok too. Can't really tell the difference between that and the branded ones. Doesn't mean its not good though. Anyways, we thought it was a good deal, so buy lor.

Hmmm, seems like I'm more or less settled for Cellini Mattress too, very nicely priced and looks like branded one like you've said :)