nurikonagano

Choosing Sanitary Wares

Besides the brand and the design, what should we look for in sanitary wares like the basin and wc?

I'm seeing similar designs with huge price differences and am totally lost at how I should choose. Is it just the brand and country of manufacture that affects the price? Or is there significant quality difference that I should look out for??? :help:

Besides the brand and the design, what should we look for in sanitary wares like the basin and wc?

I'm seeing similar designs with huge price differences and am totally lost at how I should choose. Is it just the brand and country of manufacture that affects the price? Or is there significant quality difference that I should look out for??? :help:

I'm certainly no expert but I would think you should consider:

1) sewage outlet size (6 or 12 inch)

2) "S" or "P" type outlet (some say "P" type may develope smells in time...no experience so can't comment)

3) length and width of bathroom space you have available so the user can sit comfortably (and not block other user if your modesty allows)

4) whether you wish to use a flushing system for which spare parts are commonly available in local hardware shops such as China sourced fittings or imports for which you will need to return to specialist suppliers.

5) flushing volume per flush (environmental vs standard, sure flush vs perhaps need for repeat flush to clear waste)

6) size and shape of the waste exit at the base of the bowl, narrow means possible blockages

7) One piece or two piece system. One piece may look nicer/sleeker vs need to replace the whole item incase of leaks/issues (unlikely but possible)

8) shape of seat (depending on your physical shape, a flatter contour may be more comfortable than a rounded contour or vice versa; a rounded seat may be more comfortable than a more oval shape or vice versa) is important and means you need to sit and try.

I'm sure others will have more considerations but this is food for thought to help you. Do note that I personally don't see why ceramics from China will be inferior for this type of use vs other sources. The flushing mechanism of China sourced cisterns might be less durable (see point 4) but easily replaced at low cost.

HTH

Edited by rmgthatsme

Thanks alot for the reply!

But am unaware of alot of terms used..... :huh:

I'm buying these stuff for a HDB flat. Will that make some of the things mentioned "standard"?

Went to Adamas recently to take a look at the sanitary items. Was only told to take note of the distance between wall and sewage pipe of the toilet bowl. So am totally not aware of what is "S" type and "P" type outlet....Care to explain a bit more?

For (6), do you mean the size and shape of the "hole" when i look into the bowl?

Din know we have to sit and try to know if the shape fits....kinda paiseh to try in the shop.... :unsure:

Thanks alot for the reply!

But am unaware of alot of terms used..... :huh:

I'm buying these stuff for a HDB flat. Will that make some of the things mentioned "standard"?

Went to Adamas recently to take a look at the sanitary items. Was only told to take note of the distance between wall and sewage pipe of the toilet bowl. So am totally not aware of what is "S" type and "P" type outlet....Care to explain a bit more?

For (6), do you mean the size and shape of the "hole" when i look into the bowl?

Din know we have to sit and try to know if the shape fits....kinda paiseh to try in the shop.... :unsure:

Hi, mine is HDB too and I do think you need to know the info I suggested. "S" type is generally the standard type so maybe you could go with this. You still need to know the outlet size but your ID should be able to tell you. for (6) yes correct. For sitting....well either sit now, enjoy later or don't sit now and regret at leisure ;) . My wife said she sat on so many variants until her behind was numb :jawdrop: but she was finally able to choose something she liked a lot.

HTH

Apart from the dimension between the wall to the centre of the pipe outlet (for channeling waste downwards when u flush), U will need to take note of the flushing mechanism for WCs.

If there r back-flow issues or inabilities to flush down the waste, or when water splutters out of the WCs when flushing; it'll be a headache for sure.

And U should try out all the WCs in sitting on the display sets in showrooms to make sure that U r comfortable in using the WCs.

As for basins, avoid those with a shallow depth or are too narrow. They are pretty to look at but aren't practical.

Anyone got suggestion on which brand WC to choose? ANy feedback for clayton or maclaie brands? Anyone tried china brands before like Verlin.

I will go for <link removed>

Good and recgonised quality, price is competitive, Design is great.

Most importantly their office is also base here in Sing

Check it in their showroom

<link removed>

great info. WCs are heavy duty & I think choosing a good 1 is v.impt. May I know which brand/model did u guys get eventually? Any pic 2share?

Am looking for 1 with 2 half & full flush, powerful enough to flush all waste down properly without residue @side. Have seen some at public toilets eg. Toto, Rigel but did not really see how well they flush, now it's time!

What are some good quality WC? which country isit from/made in? I have not started looking yet, budget is under $300,what brand can I get?

Thanks!!

Johnson suisse is well known for good price, great quality and awesome design. I have been selling Johnson suisse here in kl for the past 20 years and I have received no complaints.

My price to forum customers is on average around RM 400 to RM 450 depending on design. RM 400 - RM 450 onwards = SGD 163 ...

is SGD 163 a good price in singapore?

Edited by pamsie

Hi folks,

I created a thread for my newly installed POTEX WC from Lucky Khoon (Joo Chiat) with photographs & video clips illustrating its flushing system.

For those who are interested in my review of the WC, please visit the following link:

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=43923&st=0&p=669010&hl=potex&fromsearch=1entry669010

cheerios! :yamseng:

Edited by edenstrauss

Hi folks,

I created a thread for my newly installed POTEX WC from Lucky Khoon (Joo Chiat) with photographs & video clips illustrating its flushing system.

For those who are interested in my review of the WC, please visit the following link:

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=43923&st=0&p=669010&hl=potex&fromsearch=1entry669010

Wow...

Very detail and extremly informative...

Hi folks,

http://www.renotalk....=1

Wah! Really have a lot of stuff. Even the photos are annotated. Have video some more. Can be pro blogger liao. Great job bro!

Hi everyone,

thank you so much for your generous compliments & encouragement! :D

I'll continue to work harder in uploading new threads of our arduous journey in DIY-ing stuff for our existing flat. The photos I've taken are snowballing into a scary mountain of nightmare for editing...

Would be uploading photos of my hubby DIY-ing cabinet base using formica soon. And coming up with another thread on packaging materials & reno peripherals ("accessories" such as corrugated paper) from Favor International.

I even bought some "tissue papers" (strong resemblance to coloured tracing paper) for lining the interior of my shoe boxes, gift boxes, wine box & THANK-YOU stickers... but it'll take a while becox I need to obtain permission from the marketing personnel at Favor Int'l before launching photographs - wouldn't want to end up in court for copyright issues.

So stay tuned to my new threads if u guys are keen in learning more about the contents. :)

Gambatte! :jammin:

Edited by edenstrauss