ultimax

What To Expect From Id When Seeking Proposals?

Hello!

Am renovating my flat, have seen a couple of IDs. One of them took measurements and gave us 2D floorplan of their proposal. We've decided to not go with them as they charge a design fee that's separate from the contractor's fee. It originally sounded OK, but having thought about it a bit more, because our flat is so small, we feel it's not worth the fee. Would make sense if our flat was bigger and they had more room to play with. With 4 room flats, there's only so much you can do unless you hack the walls down.

Anyway, now they're not happy with me, saying they provided the floorplan in good faith because we were recommended by a former client, that that's not industry practice.

To be honest, I don't know what is "industry practice." I think it's reasonable for a client to expect to see something first, even if it's just a floor plan, before committing. They didn't even give us a contractor's quote, and how can one make a decision based on the portfolio and discussion about what can be done?

What can one expect from an ID in these early stages, before you pay anything? I want to be fair to IDs too ... I really don't want to take them for a ride, even if I don't mean it.

Hello!

Am renovating my flat, have seen a couple of IDs. One of them took measurements and gave us 2D floorplan of their proposal. We've decided to not go with them as they charge a design fee that's separate from the contractor's fee. It originally sounded OK, but having thought about it a bit more, because our flat is so small, we feel it's not worth the fee. Would make sense if our flat was bigger and they had more room to play with. With 4 room flats, there's only so much you can do unless you hack the walls down.

Anyway, now they're not happy with me, saying they provided the floorplan in good faith because we were recommended by a former client, that that's not industry practice.

To be honest, I don't know what is "industry practice." I think it's reasonable for a client to expect to see something first, even if it's just a floor plan, before committing. They didn't even give us a contractor's quote, and how can one make a decision based on the portfolio and discussion about what can be done?

What can one expect from an ID in these early stages, before you pay anything? I want to be fair to IDs too ... I really don't want to take them for a ride, even if I don't mean it.

No formal contract, nothing to worry.

oh. u posted here as well. yeah no worries lah, not like u're related to them. they are supposed to come out with space planning with some forms of drawings, if not how they propose or present to u.

i met many IDs, all proposed with 2D drawings/space planning.

When I present to my client, I must propose a furniture layout plan(space planning) with color. And my senior will shows her amazing previous project photos.

Im oways think about, if I were a customer, I need to visit 2-3 Id company, becos I want to compare with the price.If every company charge me a design fee, I haven start to do my reno(haven sign the contract), but I oledi spend so much money. And I think nobody dare to find a designer at the future.

Hello!

No worries, so long u dun sign the paper... ur option is opened... I suggest u skip this ID firm...

There is no industry practice... The ID even visited my house even i didnt committed w him... End up i oso dint sign up w him... Few things to note before u signed...

Firstly, check out the company review in renotalk first... skip those w bad reputation...

Secondly, look for about 5 to 6 company to compare pricing...

Third, if there is a company that provided super low pricing, beware... the company could be out to con u... It happened to my property agent's frd...

Lastly, dun rush, take ur time to decide... discuss w forum ppl here... it will help... I actually wanted to sign w U home til i saw their bad review here... Luckily i dint sign w them, if not i wont have a lonely house now...

Gd luck and enjoy the proceed... it can be a headache but it can be enjoyable too...

No worries, so long u dun sign the paper... ur option is opened... I suggest u skip this ID firm...

There is no industry practice... The ID even visited my house even i didnt committed w him... End up i oso dint sign up w him... Few things to note before u signed...

Firstly, check out the company review in renotalk first... skip those w bad reputation...

Secondly, look for about 5 to 6 company to compare pricing...

Third, if there is a company that provided super low pricing, beware... the company could be out to con u... It happened to my property agent's frd...

Lastly, dun rush, take ur time to decide... discuss w forum ppl here... it will help... I actually wanted to sign w U home til i saw their bad review here... Luckily i dint sign w them, if not i wont have a lonely house now...

Gd luck and enjoy the proceed... it can be a headache but it can be enjoyable too...

Hello!

I'm new in this....trying to find id to renovate our unit-(resale)

How can we choose a "creative" and "capable" id just by looking at their proposal? Even a layout plan can't tell much of his creativity and ideas ....Anyone have the same problem faced by me? OR...i'm just the odd one:( :unsure:

Once we we compared and shortlisted the proposal/id, can we negociate the price with them? If yes, what is the range or % of discount do ppl asked for? Most of them quoted in the range of 22-26K w/out gst....but I really want to get it done for 20K.

It all depends on what u do in ur house. Actually by looking at ID work, u wont be able to tell if they are gd...

Alot of times, the work might not be done by them...

The best is u have a concept of what u want... And plan ur own setting base on ur floor plan... Then go to the ID...

See what ideas he can provide u more to make the house nicer...

Like for me, once i got my floor plan.... I designed it myself first... Once i satisfied, I go to the ID and tell him my idea... Ask him for comment... See if it is feasible anot and see if he can add more ideas into ur concept...

It hard to determine if the ID is gd anot base on communication... I see alot scary story in the forum...

Check out the company reputation before u sign.... No matter how well a ID talks, he could be a rotten apple too...Alot of them is sale talk... After u sign, everything cannot...

Rem u are paying for something expensive, talk ur time... Do more research...

I'm new in this....trying to find id to renovate our unit-(resale)

How can we choose a "creative" and "capable" id just by looking at their proposal? Even a layout plan can't tell much of his creativity and ideas ....Anyone have the same problem faced by me? OR...i'm just the odd one:( :unsure:

Once we we compared and shortlisted the proposal/id, can we negociate the price with them? If yes, what is the range or % of discount do ppl asked for? Most of them quoted in the range of 22-26K w/out gst....but I really want to get it done for 20K.

Hello!

Take your time to choose the ID. If can go down to his shop to discuss the quotataion and you can see whether is he really a ONE MAN SHOP( ID cum BOSS).

I got cheated by my previous ID. He always meet up at my place or elsewhere rather than his shop and after signing up the contract, then I know is a ONE MAN SHOP but he bluff me saying that he is expanding his business and will employ more staff to assist him but that's too late cos contract already signed with him. He won't answer calls, made empty promises and always chased me for payment(when it's not time for payment) during the reno.

U can view my mishap, go search for ID CLOSED SHOP AND JOB UNDONE and you will see how I got cheated and hope you will not fall under this scam.

Good luck to you.

Angrybirds.

At this point, I'm convinced the best way to choose an ID is to go with one already used by someone you trust. That way you know the guy's for real, what type of professional he is, and the quality of his/contractor's work.

We've decided to not hunt anymore, but go with the ID a friend recommended several weeks ago. He in turn was recommended by my friend's friend. So should have standard lah.

Should have seen him a long time ago. The main reason we didn't was we thought his so-called design style wasn't to our taste. Earlier on, we were searching for one who die die must have done a house exactly to our taste. I now realise good IDs should be quite flexible. After all, good IDs should be exposed to many different styles in order to develop their skill. He told me up front that although his portfolio all shows a particular type, that's because that's the trend now, and most of his clients ask for it. But that doesn't mean that's all he can do. From our discussion with him, it's clear he's good a good eye on design - lots of creative ideas.

Styling, on the other hand, I think you need to figure out yourself first. He can help you with colour schemes and so on, but for details, it's best you show him what you want. In that sense, you also need to do homework.

I also agree you should see the ID with a rough idea of what you want to do. Don't expect him to give you wonderful ideas at the first meeting. You need to help him help you.

So again, do your homework. Read the renovation blogs here to get an idea of what other people are doing. Remember, the ID is not you. Only you know what you want. He is only there to help you make it reality.

Finally, vibe is important. We got a good vibe from our friend's ID. Also got real shop. The others we met outside in public places or on-site. Didn't get a good vibe. I mean not like you right away feel they are bad people, but no chemistry and comfort lah.

Good luck!

At this point, I'm convinced the best way to choose an ID is to go with one already used by someone you trust. That way you know the guy's for real, what type of professional he is, and the quality of his/contractor's work.

We've decided to not hunt anymore, but go with the ID a friend recommended several weeks ago. He in turn was recommended by my friend's friend. So should have standard lah.

Should have seen him a long time ago. The main reason we didn't was we thought his so-called design style wasn't to our taste. Earlier on, we were searching for one who die die must have done a house exactly to our taste. I now realise good IDs should be quite flexible. After all, good IDs should be exposed to many different styles in order to develop their skill. He told me up front that although his portfolio all shows a particular type, that's because that's the trend now, and most of his clients ask for it. But that doesn't mean that's all he can do. From our discussion with him, it's clear he's good a good eye on design - lots of creative ideas.

Styling, on the other hand, I think you need to figure out yourself first. He can help you with colour schemes and so on, but for details, it's best you show him what you want. In that sense, you also need to do homework.

I also agree you should see the ID with a rough idea of what you want to do. Don't expect him to give you wonderful ideas at the first meeting. You need to help him help you.

So again, do your homework. Read the renovation blogs here to get an idea of what other people are doing. Remember, the ID is not you. Only you know what you want. He is only there to help you make it reality.

Finally, vibe is important. We got a good vibe from our friend's ID. Also got real shop. The others we met outside in public places or on-site. Didn't get a good vibe. I mean not like you right away feel they are bad people, but no chemistry and comfort lah.

Good luck!

Agreed with you, referral is by far the best lead for any sales, be it renovation or other industry. Go with the person you are most comfortable with. See his ongoing sites/work.

I have been in sales in industrial products for many years. In that industry, it is probably not so complex as renovation where there are a lot of crooks around since there is very little barrier to enter the business and the money is big. I met a lawyer who told me that many profit sharing salesman or even ID, mostly small ones with no office or support staff ran away with clients money. The casino is probably a big draw for these contractors. You saw in the papers, contractors bosses asking their indian workers to go and gamble for them. if the salesman ran away and the ID is big, the company will most likely to cover the losses of the clients. For the small firm, it might sink them or the ID might want to start another one to avoid paying the losses of the clients. Bottom line is pay direct to the company by cheque, never pay cash to the salesman name even if he tells you all the stories that he need to draw the cash now to pay the contractors to start work immediately or give you a discount if you pay him directly. Cheques payment make a financial paper trail to support your case if something goes wrong and you have to go to court to cover your losses.

These dishonest salesmen, some of them very experience, usually end up in jail for CBT. Plenty of such cases said my lawyer friend. Don't forget, the salesmen or referral may have done a good job before, he can change with the casino around. Be safe is better than be sorry.

For me, the minimum for my contractor is that I must see an office or a showroom with support staff, designers, admin, better still factory, warehouse, etc. Referral with the above infrastructure, better still.

That is probably the reason why bigger firms like *, Darwin, Chew, so on is around year in and out. The smaller ones need some niche selling points or he has very strong referrals in place like insurance salesman who needs about 400 clients to stablised his referral leads.

We are newbies in the Renotalk community and are very happy to have found this site as a source for our ID hunt. Like many other newbies, we were approached by many IDs in renovating our 4A unit. Beside the complaints of ID (Oh Cheng Han), are there any other ID companies or IDs that we need to be aware of? We were approached by the IDs below. Anyone has any feedback on them? Please help!

1. SkyCreation - Aaron Tan

2. D'trenzo Interior - Ivan

3. 3D Innovative Design - Benny Tan

4. Ideal Design Interior - Terence

5. AddspaceDesign - Jane

6. Lamidoor - Simon Beh

Edited by kskc

We are newbies in the Renotalk community and are very happy to have found this site as a source for our ID hunt. Like many other newbies, we were approached by many IDs in renovating our 4A unit. Beside the complaints of ID (Oh Cheng Han), are there any other ID companies or IDs that we need to be aware of? We were approached by the IDs below. Anyone has any feedback on them? Please help!

1. SkyCreation - Aaron Tan

2. D'trenzo Interior - Ivan

3. 3D Innovative Design - Benny Tan

4. Ideal Design Interior - Terence

5. AddspaceDesign - Jane

6. Lamidoor - Simon Beh

i met with more than 10 different id and contractors. before u go, do your homework search renotalk and know the market rate for every item. e.g. solid top got china and lg, what is normal rate?some id can charge carpentry cheap but other items ex. get a few more quotes for same job u will be surprised how much difference it is. you can read the renoblog below, his quotes was between 30k to 97k.

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=39266&st=0&p=625173&hl=+blve%20+blue&fromsearch=1entry625173

read more renoblogs, see more quotations. before u decide, do a simple search on the company and ID on renotalk and google see if there are any bad reviews or feedback. :yamseng: