HSH21

Shanghai Tour

yaya..the 'gei wo yi tian ,huan ni qian nian' stage performance is very great!! now i think back my hairs all stand leh...hahha

i did not take the photos also...not allowed to take.

6 motocycles running inside a small steel cage..wow very amazing..:wub:!

i think ur itinery is same as mine leh...

haha...

i guess basically more or less is the same lor. hahaha. :P

yayayaya, so many motorcycles were running in a small steel cage! amazing! :D:good: guess what? one of them was actually a female motorist! :bleah: we heard the tour guide told us that these people were actually "ku er" lor. :(

Finally I booked the tour from CTC during the NATA fair on Sat...

http://www.ctc.com.sg/travelpkg_view.php?travelpkg_id=409

yeah..!

how much is ur package?

the last day is free and easy @ shanghai city.

U really need to plan where to go and wat to do ...

last day i went museum :dunno:..then 南京路商业步行街

then we went cheng huang miao to buy some cheap t shirts and some souvenier!...it's v tiring cos we need to walk and take bus by ourself..very difficult to get a taxi in shanghai..

i remember when we walked along behind the shopping street...there are many food stall selling local food..v cheap and delicious...got shanghai jian bao! i think it's one for 20 cents...

The package I booked is the cheapest among all companies that I asked.. 1st person $548 .. 2nd person $298... it is by Garuda Air...

I have friends that booked the shanghai tour with 5* and Jun Air.. hopefully mine is not too bad...

The taxi is a problem there... then I will have big problem too... can't walk too far because my mum is going...

Finally I booked the tour from CTC during the NATA fair on Sat...

http://www.ctc.com.sg/travelpkg_view.php?travelpkg_id=409

hope you can enjoy this trip! !! when is the departure date? !!

The package I booked is the cheapest among all companies that I asked.. 1st person $548 .. 2nd person $298... it is by Garuda Air...

I have friends that booked the shanghai tour with 5* and Jun Air.. hopefully mine is not too bad...

The taxi is a problem there... then I will have big problem too... can't walk too far because my mum is going...

the cheapest package probably is bcos of garuda air. we took SQ when we went shanghai so slightly expensive. :dunno:

our last day was also free and easy at shanghai. we shopped around the shopping mall and some roadside shops then took a cab back to the hotel. the cab driver drove us the wrong direction! i was so piss off and complaint then refused to pay the amount stated on the cab meter. we just paid him lesser than the cab meter amount. hack care. !! :good:

will you be taking the bullet train in shanghai? d-a-m-n shiok! :)

hope you can enjoy this trip! :bleah: when is the departure date? :bow:

the cheapest package probably is bcos of garuda air. we took SQ when we went shanghai so slightly expensive. ;)

our last day was also free and easy at shanghai. we shopped around the shopping mall and some roadside shops then took a cab back to the hotel. the cab driver drove us the wrong direction! i was so piss off and complaint then refused to pay the amount stated on the cab meter. we just paid him lesser than the cab meter amount. hack care. :good:8|

will you be taking the bullet train in shanghai? d-a-m-n shiok! :dribble:

I am going on 15 Dec....

SIA is at least $200 more ex than others... even their tax is $255...GA only $180... I think the taxi driver was all out to cheat...

Ya... bullet train is one of the item my HB said must have... the other is going up the pearl tower...

That day at the Nata fair... one company... better don't mention their name... told us that the bullet train got nothing to see one.. so they didn't include... the pearl tower also nothing to see one... they didn't include... in my heart ... I was thinking... everywhere also nothing to see... I go there for what... the worst thing is they charge 3% more if pay by VISA... others paid by VISA got free gift... I got the 20" laggage bag from OCBC and a back pack from VISA...

Edited by HSH21

I am going on 15 Dec....

SIA is at least $200 more ex than others... even their tax is $255...GA only $180... I think the taxi driver was all out to cheat...

Ya... bullet train is one of the item my HB said must have... the other is going up the pearl tower...

That day at the Nata fair... one company... better don't mention their name... told us that the bullet train got nothing to see one.. so they didn't include... the pearl tower also nothing to see one... they didn't include... in my heart ... I was thinking... everywhere also nothing to see... I go there for what... the worst thing is they charge 3% more if pay by VISA... others paid by VISA got free gift... I got the 20" laggage bag from OCBC and a back pack from VISA...

wow, since you're going on 15 dec then will be very cold liao lor. we went in nov and was already very cold. i was so cold until i couldnt slept during the night. my hb even put on a pair of socks for me, thick sweater, long pant and then covered thick blanket for me; i still felt cold! :bow:;) that was the time when i missed spore tropical weather! :( we went korea in oct 2 years ago and the weather wasnt as cold as china; cooling weather lor. :bow: when i was in korea and i noticed my complexion was very good due to the weather. :bleah: but we went to china and most of us were quite sick when we were back to spore. :good:

bullet train and pearl tower are a must have when you're going to shanghai! whoever said isnt a must have then she/he must go and :dribble: . hahaha. who said nothing to see when in the bullet train. you can see the scenery outside lor then take a photo with the bullet train lor. in japan, they also have this bullet train. :)

we didnt try the "shanghai xiao long bao" although they offered us. until now, back to spore liao and i also no appetite to eat. :o if you go to suzhou then must buy their silk; 100% silk. :good: we bought quite a lot but not cheap. :help:

dsc00055ry8.jpg

a guy was making "ding ding tang"

dsc00056sg7.jpg

a row of shops

ya, i heard from chan brothers during natas will get freebies. 8| but usually, the price is standard lor. :deal: we took SQ was bcos we went with a group of 15 people (mostly my mum's friends) and they prefer SQ so my hb and i also anything lor. :)

to me.. I think the weather should be ok la... because my own family went to Korea during winter time... went to the skating center that was snowing... good experience... I went to China to see the ice crafting too...

Go on 15 Dec is to suit my HB schedule...

you can see the scenery outside lor then take a photo with the bullet train lor.

oh is it... the staff that served us said can't see anything ... so theire company think it will be better to bring us around by the bus... luckily never listen to her...

My girl likes to eat "xiao long bao" ... we must go there and compare the different....

Don't think I will go there and buy the silk... it should be expensive.... but my neighbour that just came back from there also tell me to buy silk lor...

I think most of the freebies given during the fair were from Master or VISA cards.... when I booked the tour other than the laggage bag and back pack... the freebies given were 5 x small bag (can put tooth bursh type) , 5 lucky draws (2 x laggage bag belt, 1 x cd bag, 1 x laggage bag tag, 1 x little bag for the make up)...

And the price is no different whether booked from fair or not...

i used to hv frequent stays at Shanghai, Suzhou, Hangzhou coz of work. Suzhou and Hangzhou got vy vy nice sceneries and gardens. and mind you, their so-call gardens are ultra big size. and if you dun want to go vy far, can go zhou zhuang (river village), etc. there are many there. and at these places, you can ride their 'sam pan' and tour the whole village by river. the best buy will be the pearls, cheap, nice and gd and also must bargain alot, eg. if they ask for 1000rmb, the most pay them 200rmb will do.

the train at Shanghai is magnetic train, not bullet train. its call Fu Ci meaning floating magnet (something like that).

during my stay, i eat at local foodstalls, you juz walk around and see those that hv alot of their local people eating stalls, that stall must be selling gd tasting food. i miss the beef noodle there. and unless you hv a strong stomache, dun anyhw try the road side stalls. and these road side stall owners are controlled by local thugs, that is for every (eg.) 1 stick of bbq sotong (juz like our local satay pattern here), they hv to give them certain % of $. and dun stare when these thugs take $ from these stall owners. I think i am there too frequent so i walk to these areas where local people hang out.

If go there, must eat Quan Ju De (the franchise of famous Beijing Roasted Duck). And it will be ultra ultra ultra crowded. so when eating there, be prepared to wait in queue for at least 20-30minutes, order food wait for 15minutes, wait for food to come is abt 30minutes (if lucky, there was once i waited 50minutes!:thumbs up:), eat food abt 1hr :sport-smiley-003: but you will not regret it coz vy nice and when you order, do remember to order more food coz once the waiter goes away, you want to add food, you hv to wait again, and your 1st lot of food will come and you will finish it and still waiting for your 2nd lot of food.

they hv vy gd massage and facial service there, cheap and gd. and they alot of vy gd tea houses serving gd tea, some teas are quite costly though. the tea itself can be more costly den eating a meal.

anyway, Shanghai is a vy safe place provided you dun go around doing silly things, and as if with all other countries.

but Shanghai is vy commercialised, too many people, can't feel relaxed there. go further from Shanghai and you will see more sceneries and cheaper items to buy also.

and along the bunk (Shanghai tan), those selling sovenirs are vy ex. if possible, and if you can buy from other places, dun buy from there. and if buy from there, must bargain vy hard.

Hi leen, thank you for your info... I will very much wanted to try the food that U recommented... but don't think I can affort to spent so much waiting time ... I only have one day free and easy... any places can recomment for cheap and good things...

u r definitely welcome, hope you enjoy your trip.

and also, the shanghainese there loves spicy hot fish soup, those fish soup in SG but only that they are cooked in spicy hot red oily chilli soup. these are nice to eat, vy hot, but dun take alot coz vy oily and we (Sporean) sure will kena stomache after that... :yamseng: i tried many to concur that but evertime ended up the same :(

and during colder times, they like to eat 'fire pot' aka steam boat :sport-smiley-004:

to me.. I think the weather should be ok la... because my own family went to Korea during winter time... went to the skating center that was snowing... good experience... I went to China to see the ice crafting too...

Go on 15 Dec is to suit my HB schedule...

you can see the scenery outside lor then take a photo with the bullet train lor.

oh is it... the staff that served us said can't see anything ... so theire company think it will be better to bring us around by the bus... luckily never listen to her...

My girl likes to eat "xiao long bao" ... we must go there and compare the different....

Don't think I will go there and buy the silk... it should be expensive.... but my neighbour that just came back from there also tell me to buy silk lor...

I think most of the freebies given during the fair were from Master or VISA cards.... when I booked the tour other than the laggage bag and back pack... the freebies given were 5 x small bag (can put tooth bursh type) , 5 lucky draws (2 x laggage bag belt, 1 x cd bag, 1 x laggage bag tag, 1 x little bag for the make up)...

And the price is no different whether booked from fair or not...

ya, the silk from suzhou is very expensive but i guess really worth the $$$ lor. we spent about S$1-2k just for buying silk alone. !! we visited the "zhi sha hu" (teapot to brew tea leaves) factory. we bought 2 sets of "zhi sha hu" bcos the design is very nice which cant find in spore. ;) we also bought "bi yan hu" (a very small glass bottle which they can do drawing inside). :P

btw, the food over there are very salty. probably, they love salty food. hahaha. ;)

ya, the silk from suzhou is very expensive but i guess really worth the $$$ lor. we spent about S$1-2k just for buying silk alone. ;) we visited the "zhi sha hu" (teapot to brew tea leaves) factory. we bought 2 sets of "zhi sha hu" bcos the design is very nice which cant find in spore. :) we also bought "bi yan hu" (a very small glass bottle which they can do drawing inside). :bow:

btw, the food over there are very salty. probably, they love salty food. hahaha. :P

ya, korea is rite, food vy salty and oily.

wat we usually do is tell the waiter, pls only put eg. 3 teaspoon (those use for stirring coffee) of salt and use half the usual qty of oil to cook (if for a table of 10 person meal, etc). tell them specifically hw many teaspoon or spoon so that they know, if you say pls put less salt/oil, they usually come back the same salty/oily food. must give them qty count, they are ... err... kinda 'smart'?? to Sporean taste :yamseng:

it took me sometime to get used to their food. either its too salty, oily, spicy (their spicy is different in SG where we use spices, they use pure red chilli or combine red and green chilli to cook!;)) or too sweet.

but if together with tour, you can tell your agent (every morning or night before you go back hotel) of wat you guz like for your meal. by telling so many times is to ensure they do it when they order the food before you guz go for your meal. and if you scare they forgot, remind them before every meal. get it ingraine in their brain... and talk in plain understandable Mandarin. SG Mandarin sometimes cannot make it.

eg. if we want to ask how long is the silk, we should use 'qing wen zhe si de chang du shi duo shao?' instead of 'qing wen zhe si duo chang?' they will not understand. we hv to describe to them of wat we want to know.

ya, korea is rite, food vy salty and oily.

wat we usually do is tell the waiter, pls only put eg. 3 teaspoon (those use for stirring coffee) of salt and use half the usual qty of oil to cook (if for a table of 10 person meal, etc). tell them specifically hw many teaspoon or spoon so that they know, if you say pls put less salt/oil, they usually come back the same salty/oily food. must give them qty count, they are ... err... kinda 'smart'?? to Sporean taste :P

it took me sometime to get used to their food. either its too salty, oily, spicy (their spicy is different in SG where we use spices, they use pure red chilli or combine red and green chilli to cook!:)) or too sweet.

but if together with tour, you can tell your agent (every morning or night before you go back hotel) of wat you guz like for your meal. by telling so many times is to ensure they do it when they order the food before you guz go for your meal. and if you scare they forgot, remind them before every meal. get it ingraine in their brain... and talk in plain understandable Mandarin. SG Mandarin sometimes cannot make it.

eg. if we want to ask how long is the silk, we should use 'qing wen zhe si de chang du shi duo shao?' instead of 'qing wen zhe si duo chang?' they will not understand. we hv to describe to them of wat we want to know.

hahaha. also, the fishes they served us had many bones! the fishes they eat are different from spore fishes. :) therefore, usually i would avoid eating the fishes when i was over there. :( there was one evening my hb and i dine in a restaurant and i told the waitress i wanted some slices red chilli (those with soya sauce), the waitress asked me are those type of red chilli that grew on the tree? :rofl: of course lah! aiyo! :dunno: i wanted to laugh out loudly, manz! :yamseng: