hi karen77, my mum, sis and me are all orchid lovers.

my advise, for a start, buy those durable and easy to maintain ones so that ~

1stly, it will not take up too much of your time to care for them

2ndly, it will not die so easily and thus crushing your love for them or your confident in planting orchids

3rdly, it will not be costly to buy and maintain the plant

orchid growing can be classify into 4 levels ~

beginner's level - no knowledge or ever try growing orchid before

intermediate level - grown beginners' orchids before, know their diseases types, type of treatments etc.

higher level - experiment with those harder to grow orchids

expertise level - do lab orchid pores cross breeding and growing

and you need to look your house environment and condition before deciding on which orchid to plant or rather which orchid can survive in your home environment.

i hope you can provide me with more infor and i can den advise you on the different type of orchids base on my little knowledge i hv.

hi karen77, my mum, sis and me are all orchid lovers.

my advise, for a start, buy those durable and easy to maintain ones so that ~

1stly, it will not take up too much of your time to care for them

2ndly, it will not die so easily and thus crushing your love for them or your confident in planting orchids

3rdly, it will not be costly to buy and maintain the plant

orchid growing can be classify into 4 levels ~

beginner's level - no knowledge or ever try growing orchid before

intermediate level - grown beginners' orchids before, know their diseases types, type of treatments etc.

higher level - experiment with those harder to grow orchids

expertise level - do lab orchid pores cross breeding and growing

and you need to look your house environment and condition before deciding on which orchid to plant or rather which orchid can survive in your home environment.

i hope you can provide me with more infor and i can den advise you on the different type of orchids base on my little knowledge i hv.

wahsay!:(:sport-smiley-004::yamseng::fire:

not only contruction guru but horticulture guru also

5 body parts on the ground :P:rofl:8|

uncle mace, i in learning level only leh...

u den the ultimate guru in saving $$$$$ = vy rich person as did not any hw spend !!

i den 5 body parts roll on the ground .... eh.. not rite hor, say like that it mean the other way 'wu ma fen shi' ;)8|;):P:rofl:

Hahahahaha....very funny and interesting input from Mace and Leen...

Wah...Leen....expert sia, while Mace is FS expert!

I wanna put at quite a dark corner of the house....a corner from the main door...I not sure

whether I can put potted orchids there or not, still waiting for Mace's answer in the FS thread.... 8|

Hehehe....

If the environment is dark and no sunlight there, can orchids still "survive" in such a dry condition?

Please advise....TIA! :P:rofl:;);) !!

Btw I also Orchid lover.....just afraid tat in FS view, no good to put flowers at home...

orchid cannot go without sunlight.

most basic beginner type durable orchid must hv abt 50%-75% sun and 50%-25% shade. too much sun, the orchid will be burnt aka sunburnt like humans, den leaves will yellow with chao tar marks.

too little sun also cannot survive.

and dun anyhw go nursery or pasar malam buy those flowering plants that hv beautiful blooms coz most those plants mostly are from hilly areas where air is cool and if in SG, you need to air-con them at 15-18deg celsius, spray water sparsely at leaves (rite, at leaves and not at roots coz it will rot the roots) and give them the rite kind, amt and frequency of fertiliser (too much the plant will die) and type of insecticide to kill differnt type of bugs, slugs, pests, spiders, virus etc.

uncle mace, i in learning level only leh...

u den the ultimate guru in saving $$$$$ = vy rich person as did not any hw spend :jawdrop:

i den 5 body parts roll on the ground .... eh.. not rite hor, say like that it mean the other way 'wu ma fen shi' :o8|:P:rofl::rofl:

kong simi??? 24.gif

orchid cannot go without sunlight.

most basic beginner type durable orchid must hv abt 50%-75% sun and 50%-25% shade. too much sun, the orchid will be burnt aka sunburnt like humans, den leaves will yellow with chao tar marks.

too little sun also cannot survive.

and dun anyhw go nursery or pasar malam buy those flowering plants that hv beautiful blooms coz most those plants mostly are from hilly areas where air is cool and if in SG, you need to air-con them at 15-18deg celsius, spray water sparsely at leaves (rite, at leaves and not at roots coz it will rot the roots) and give them the rite kind, amt and frequency of fertiliser (too much the plant will die) and type of insecticide to kill differnt type of bugs, slugs, pests, spiders, virus etc.

Wah...seems difficult, too little or too much also cannot...I often c those nice orchids in Pasar Malam, so tempted to buy, bt scared need maintenance, so hold back...Then where shall we go buy the orchids leh?

most of the pasar malam stores' orchids are taken from Thailand moutain areas where the altitute is high and the temperature is cooling. in SG, they cannot make it.

you can check out yellow pages on those orchid nurseries at Lim Chu Kang. when you go there, ask the people there for questions related to planting (not only orchids, other plants also can). and do look at those not so nice looking orchids, eg. dendrobrium - purple type which is vy commonly seen selling in mkt etc., where they are put at. these are the most durable type of orchid. our Vanda Ms Joaquim also vy durable.

if they are put in open sunshine, those type need alot of sun. if they got netting or under roof type, these require more shade and lesser sunlight.

another way is look at the leaves. the broader and bigger the leaves, means it need alot of sunlight. the slimmer it is, it require lesser sunlight.

and the best way to plant them is not by watering daily, they will be overflooded and die fast as root will rot first. they like to be tie to charcoal with abit of clay pieces at the root areas and hang up. this is to ensure that the root is dry and there is sufficient water. any excess will be drain or wind off.

i think you should go nursery and ask for indoor plants. do not go to those at thomson, amk, bedok areas, etc. as they are more commercialise and whatever you ask, they also say can.

from wat i know, amk nursery got cheap pots that are suitable for orchid planting.

and also charcoal and clay must be soaked in water for a while before putting in the pot. and also orchids like clean environment. you can dust them with feather duster. dirty and dusty environment make them sick.

Hi Leen,

Thanks for your great information!:yamseng:! Orchid Expert. I will go lok out after my partition wall is up.

Thanks......

im no expert la, still learning leh... :lol:

hw abt asking your FS master whether can put fake ones or not? easy maintenance and lowest cost, and you can change type and color vy often :lol::blink:

im no expert la, still learning leh... :wub:

hw abt asking your FS master whether can put fake ones or not? easy maintenance and lowest cost, and you can change type and color vy often :notti::notti:

I tink basic FS dun really recommend fake or dry flowers ba...experts, please correct me if I am wrong..

strictly NO!

the only faked flowers acceptable in FS are : flowers in chinese paintings