and the best way to plant them is not by watering daily, they will be overflooded and die fast as root will rot first. they like to be tie to charcoal with abit of clay pieces at the root areas and hang up. this is to ensure that the root is dry and there is sufficient water. any excess will be drain or wind off.

i think you should go nursery and ask for indoor plants. do not go to those at thomson, amk, bedok areas, etc. as they are more commercialise and whatever you ask, they also say can.

from wat i know, amk nursery got cheap pots that are suitable for orchid planting.

where do you suggest we can go to look for a good outlet that gives candid advise on these orchards ?

use the special pots for orchids, they've holes all round and at the bottom for drainage. can get them from the nursery.

secure the plant with rope to the clay pieces and lay it at the bottom of the pot, then cover it with charcoal (not the usual ones for bbq, they've salt in it... no good for orchids). also need some wires to secure the stems to guide them to grow in the desired direction.

orchids are hardy plants as they're supposed to grow in the wild. the plant needs to be starve of water, so no need to water them every day. about 2 times a week will be good... water them till the roots turn green (they're white if dry), and underneath the leaves, preferably at night. if the roots don't have a chance to get dry, they'll rot (it becomes brown) and the plant will die of over dosage!

the plant will flower about every 5-6 months. need to cut it after the bloom so you'll get a nice next bloom. one main mistake is that most can't bear to cut it. as a guide, the larger leaves orchids are easier to grow. a good place to get orchids is at mandai orchid.

if you're interested, there are courses on orchids.

Edited by GoalHome

use the special pots for orchids, they've holes all round and at the bottom for drainage. can get them from the nursery.

secure the plant with rope to the clay pieces and lay it at the bottom of the pot, then cover it with charcoal (not the usual ones for bbq, they've salt in it... no good for orchids). also need some wires to secure the stems to guide them to grow in the desired direction.

orchids are hardy plants as they're supposed to grow in the wild. the plant needs to be starve of water, so no need to water them every day. about 2 times a week will be good... water them till the roots turn green (they're white if dry), and underneath the leaves, preferably at night. if the roots don't have a chance to get dry, they'll rot (it becomes brown) and the plant will die of over dosage!

the plant will flower about every 5-6 months. need to cut it after the bloom so you'll get a nice next bloom. one main mistake is that most can't bear to cut it. as a guide, the larger leaves orchids are easier to grow. a good place to get orchids is at mandai orchid.

if you're interested, there are courses on orchids.

can use those cheap cheap clay type of pot will do. the holes are for drainage.

as for charcoal, you can buy bbq type or get from nursery, all the same. but for all charcoal, soak in water and wash it clean 1st, dry it under the sun thoroughly before putting for orchids.

the best type of orchid and easily survive with little water are those that are grown on small part of wood branch and being hang up (suspended in the air) type and those commonly see type, that is those small purple flower type and also those small red flower petal type with petals that look thin. you just need to use a spray bottle and spray a bit will do, just like sprizting on it. dun over wet it. and dependent on the area. if the area is windy, 2 times a week will do, as water evaporate faster. if area is not windy, 1 time a week will do.

dependent on what type of orchids. if those big leaves type of orchids, orchids flower petals that looks like twirling spider legs, big white/purple orchid flower petals that look japanese type, all these are hard to look after. these require air-coned green hse. meaning, the area must be cool but at the same time it must have sunlight but not too direct or much sunlight.

Many people think the orchid plant cannot be grown indoors. When grown in the wild, the orchid plant often forms a symbiotic relationship with other plants in order to get the nutrients that it needs. The orchid plant, like most other plants, must live in the proper conditions in order for it to bloom.

The three major conditions that must be controlled in order for the orchid plant to bloom are water, light, and temperature.

The orchid plant receives moisture through its roots like all other plants. Avoid planting the orchid in potting soil, because it does not like to be in standing water. The orchid thrives in bright, indirect sunlight. The orchid will continue to grow without this change, but it will not bloom.

Orchids can be a difficult flower to grow indoors because they are usually found growing in nature. As long as you are familiar with the living conditions that orchids need to grow, then you can grow orchids indoors. Orchids should be grown in a similar way. If wholesale orchids are left in standing water, they will eventually die. Wholesale orchids also need to have the temperature variations of the plants that are grown in the wild. The leaf color of wholesale orchids will indicate whether or not the orchid is getting the right amount of light. Yellowish color leaves mean the plant is getting too much light.

you can sign up orchid growing courses at Singapore Botanic Garden (jointly organise with National Parks). check up these websites for infor.

a simple explanation of orchid and its characteristic:

http://www.premiumorchids.com.sg/orgrow.php

Singapore Botanic Garden (SBG)

http://www.sbg.org.sg/education/workshopadu.asp

National Parks (where when you click to register for the course at SBG website, it will direct you to this website)

http://www.nparks.gov.sg/services_adultind.aspx

and there are very good books on orchid growing selling at SBG. not cheap though. and also buy those books that are written by local asians authors or foreign authors (that wrote books base on orchids in tropical countries like Singapore & Malaysia) and publish for asia as these authors wrote their experience in growing orchids in tropical countries like ours, eg. meant for Singapore/Malaysia environment. Indonesia, Thailand and Taiwan environment will be different. as these places have high mountains where the beautiful orchids survive better.

and also because most foreign authors wrote orchids that are growing in a 4 season environment, it will not be relevant to us.

hope the above helps.

and forgot to add.. all plants should be watered at either early in the morning (from 5am to 7am) or at night (6pm to 8pm). reason is that all plants are very vulnerable to 'shock'.

you move house, change their plant locations, suddenly cool water drain on them after getting hot the whole day, will shock them. and eventually the plant will not grow well and they will die.

and also at these times, its more cooling and windy where water will evaporate faster and thus ensure that the plants will not be wet which will rot their roots. this rules apply to most plants.

Edited by leen

can use those cheap cheap clay type of pot will do. the holes are for drainage.

as for charcoal, you can buy bbq type or get from nursery, all the same. but for all charcoal, soak in water and wash it clean 1st, dry it under the sun thoroughly before putting for orchids.

the orchid pots are for drainage, ventilation and also allow space for the new roots to grow healthily. if you had noticed, the orchid roots will outgrow the pot very fast.

i was told that the bbq charcoal contain salt content and thus not suitable for plants.

the above was what i was told during the orchid class i attended at botanic gardens.

the orchid pots are for drainage, ventilation and also allow space for the new roots to grow healthily. if you had noticed, the orchid roots will outgrow the pot very fast.

i was told that the bbq charcoal contain salt content and thus not suitable for plants.

the above was what i was told during the orchid class i attended at botanic gardens.

same same class i go to. the ang mo orchid grower (think he is into those properganation (duno how to spell) and grow orchids for competition and cross breed them) told me the same. those pots you talking about are make of clay. u r rite, got holes is for ventilation and gd drainage of water becoz if orchid roots seep in water too long, they will rot.

as for the charcoal, he told us the other thing. but he say best is use a dry wood, tie the orchid to the wood and hang it.

same same class i go to. the ang mo orchid grower (think he is into those properganation (duno how to spell) and grow orchids for competition and cross breed them) told me the same. those pots you talking about are make of clay. u r rite, got holes is for ventilation and gd drainage of water becoz if orchid roots seep in water too long, they will rot.

as for the charcoal, he told us the other thing. but he say best is use a dry wood, tie the orchid to the wood and hang it.

according to the 'teacher' the best is to tie the orchid plant on a growing tree... wood is second choice... and of cos growing in pot is the only option left if we plant it indoors. i've also spoken to some orchid growers in china (at one point, i was so crazy that i make a special trip just to see the plants... china is known for its orchids), and they also specifically told me that not all charcoal can be used.

of coz the best is let orchid grow on tree but not everyone here got a tree to grow the orchids. why grow on tree is bcoz they are able to be grown in a simulated natural environment other then in forest, and also can take nutrients and shade from tree (but also have to study which direction the sun will be shining on the tree and one might want to avoid hanging it at that direction) and also the tree must be free from disease as well. to tie to wood and grow it is to let it be aired so that the roots will not be seep in water and rot. and when you put orchid in claypot, you not only put charcoal, you put a mixture of broken clays also. china environment is different from ours. even if they can achieve our temperature here in SG, they are not of same humidity level. broad leaf orchid are hard to look after. its those thin leaves type that are hardy. my boss sister use to operate orchid nursery before deciding to retire due to old age. they taught us plenty of logical and practical ways (at the cheapest cost) to grow orchids. and you cannot really neglect the orchids also, need to dust them clean and keep their environment clean so that they grow well. different orchids will bloom in different period of the year and also how well it responses to its environment, eg. percentage of rainy / hot seasons, wind, climate, temperature, amount of sunlight it can take, and is it morning sun, mid day sun or evening sun, etc. even the slightest like eg. orchids that grow on mountains (or high sea level) in Malaysia or Indonesia will not grow well in Singapore unless they are put in air-conditioned greenhouse.

so interesting, i didn't realise there was a topic on orchids.

ok, i have a question... i read above that we're suppose to cut the full-bloom before it withers away is it? now my orchid all botak already... all the flowers have bloomed and withered. i didn't cut it before. should i be cutting it at the stems now?? will this induce new flowers to grow again. its been a while liao, and nothing seems to be growing out. :sport-smiley-004: gone case already or not?

so interesting, i didn't realise there was a topic on orchids.

ok, i have a question... i read above that we're suppose to cut the full-bloom before it withers away is it? now my orchid all botak already... all the flowers have bloomed and withered. i didn't cut it before. should i be cutting it at the stems now?? will this induce new flowers to grow again. its been a while liao, and nothing seems to be growing out. :unsure: gone case already or not?

its gd if you can provide a pic of your orchid becoz different orchids are treated differently.

eg. for your easy understanding (hope im clear)

if you grow normal orchid (like those purple flower type), most people advise cut it when it bloom. from my experience, when it bloom, look at the flower stem. if its still green, you leave it. only trim the portion that had browned or withered away. finally cut at about 2inch from base of stem if it had withered away. new stem will try to grow but most orchids require time so you have to have patience.

if you are growing special orchids, eg. babycherry, the stem where the flowers bloom is always thick in size and green in color. flowers are constantly blooming. so do not cut away the stem.

you have to provide a pic in order to advise correctly.

p2204081657os4.jpg

hi! heres a picture of my botak orchid plant. i'm not sure what breed they are though, but yeah, the stem is quite thick and normal sissors very difficult to cut, i had to use a cutter. now the stems all look brown brown already, so i'm wondering if they're completely dead or not, and if flowers will ever grow out again. :horse: the flowers were dark red in colour, not those purple ones.

hi, sorry for the late reply, just came back from outstation.

you can trim the 'chocolated' branch where the flowers had previously bloomed at about 2 to 2.5 inch from its base. trim it at 45degree angle.

if the orchid are ever blooming type, the flower stems will have buds growing along it. when new flowers are blooming from new stems, the new stems will grow out just like the chocolate ones.

hi, sorry for the late reply, just came back from outstation.

you can trim the 'chocolated' branch where the flowers had previously bloomed at about 2 to 2.5 inch from its base. trim it at 45degree angle.

if the orchid are ever blooming type, the flower stems will have buds growing along it. when new flowers are blooming from new stems, the new stems will grow out just like the chocolate ones.

ok, thanks, i'd try to trim the stems shorter to 2.5 inches. i dun think they're the ever blooming types. probably they'd bloom twice a yr hopefully. so far still no sign of flowers though..but they're growing taller, i can see baby 'shoots' of new green leaves growing from the top. thats a good sign i guess, at least they're not totally dead!

yes, that's gd sign. in fact your orchid is quite healthy. but always remmeber to keep its environment clean. it like to live in clean environment. ;)