shutiao06

Jw St 64 - Common Defects Found

are u guys saying that the tiles need to have cement to lay it, with just adhesive, they will not last and will pop out and uneven soon?

Ah xiang offered a $2500 package to do homo tiles for my 3 rooms. Has anyone used him to lay tiles in rooms? Is the workmanship good?

I haven't really check out the market rate for tiling so not sure if 2.5k for 3 rooms is reasonable. My ID quoted 3.3k earlier.

At this stage, I don't think lodging a complaint is going to help since the flats are already built and HDB has opened it up for sale. But at least the contractor incharged of the project may get blacklisted :dunno:

it's not about the complaint but to let HDB and the home owners know that what they had done to the flooring. it is by no industiry standard in the way they lay the tiles. cement AND the cement adhesives has to be used. anyway, we have the right to ask them to redo the entire flooring if they had not used the proper ingredients or procedure since in no time, the flooring will warp without the cement.

you can live with it now, but once your tiles all pop up, you will know the hassle.

this is simply unacceptable as they just want to get over and done with. look ok on the surface, but inside all hollow.

it's not about the complaint but to let HDB and the home owners know that what they had done to the flooring. it is by no industiry standard in the way they lay the tiles. cement AND the cement adhesives has to be used. anyway, we have the right to ask them to redo the entire flooring if they had not used the proper ingredients or procedure since in no time, the flooring will warp without the cement.

you can live with it now, but once your tiles all pop up, you will know the hassle.

this is simply unacceptable as they just want to get over and done with. look ok on the surface, but inside all hollow.

Ok i understand your point. I hope HDB will give us owners a satisfactory answer regarding the flooring.

At this stage, I don't think lodging a complaint is going to help since the flats are already built and HDB has opened it up for sale. But at least the contractor incharged of the project may get blacklisted :dancingqueen:

Hi, was busy last week, today rather free, so login and see what's going on. Think whoever complain to HDB also no use. Cos back to square 1, HDB will always said they will lookout for it, but never do anything.

Their replacement of tiles workmanship is not nice, we find it very rough. Remember to check $2.5k is with GST or before GST hor. I changed my whole living rooms quoting me $2.3K+GST.

Hi, was busy last week, today rather free, so login and see what's going on. Think whoever complain to HDB also no use. Cos back to square 1, HDB will always said they will lookout for it, but never do anything.

Their replacement of tiles workmanship is not nice, we find it very rough. Remember to check $2.5k is with GST or before GST hor. I changed my whole living rooms quoting me $2.3K+GST.

huh? u mean u pay to change the tiles for ur whole living rooms?

Hi kiki. I had the same question as zen2008; u mean u paid them to re-tile your living room? :) IIRC, I read that u managed to get them to hack off all your living room tiles and I thought it was FOC.

after they change the lock, we collect the letterbox key from BSC rite?

need to produce any doc a not?

die lah, 2-3 weeks never open letter box liao. tmr must go and take

after they change the lock, we collect the letterbox key from BSC rite?

need to produce any doc a not?

die lah, 2-3 weeks never open letter box liao. tmr must go and take

juz proceed to BSC tell them your unit and take key will do~ no nid any document~

Hi kiki. I had the same question as zen2008; u mean u paid them to re-tile your living room? :rolleyes: IIRC, I read that u managed to get them to hack off all your living room tiles and I thought it was FOC.

They allow us to change to small 400x400 tiles FOC, but we find the color and size not nice, sinces they have already hacked it, we change to 600x600 tiles. Their quote is $2800+GST for whole living room and after negotiation, they charged us $2300+GST and my husband let them do the work. FYI, my contractor told us $2.3k is acceptable, if he do it for us, will charge us $3k+.

Ah xiang offered a $2500 package to do homo tiles for my 3 rooms. Has anyone used him to lay tiles in rooms? Is the workmanship good?

I haven't really check out the market rate for tiling so not sure if 2.5k for 3 rooms is reasonable. My ID quoted 3.3k earlier.

Hi Roseberry, did you check what type of homo tiles they giving u? If is 400x400 (same as those HDB gave in living room) than I find it abit ex for 3 bedrooms. FYI, I changed my living rooms tiles to 600x600 at $2.3k+GsT.

They allow us to change to small 400x400 tiles FOC, but we find the color and size not nice, sinces they have already hacked it, we change to 600x600 tiles. Their quote is $2800+GST for whole living room and after negotiation, they charged us $2300+GST and my husband let them do the work. FYI, my contractor told us $2.3k is acceptable, if he do it for us, will charge us $3k+.

Hi Roseberry, did you check what type of homo tiles they giving u? If is 400x400 (same as those HDB gave in living room) than I find it abit ex for 3 bedrooms. FYI, I changed my living rooms tiles to 600x600 at $2.3k+GsT.

Oh u actually 'upgraded' to 600x600.. so it made sense liao :~

It's the 400x400 tiles. Same as the living room ones but the colour isn't 100% same cos they said there's no more stock or similar stock of the living room tiles. The colour isn't that obvious. And he mentioned that skirting for entire living room will be $250.

But I'm rather upset and irritated cos Mr Tan only allowed 2 rooms of parquet to be hack off and replace with indonesian parquet. The thing is... whatever is in the house now is burmese parquet. Indo ones look totally different. So I will end up with MBR having burmese ones, and BR1 and BR2 having indo ones. Then I asked them if they can find burmese parquet, they said NO. This Mr tan is quite crappy lah.. he said in the market now only Indo parquet. WTH??? I've checked with some parqeut specialist leh.. Burmese ones still exist. Isn't this sorta like forcing me to pay do tiling in my rooms and they can save their cost on replacing the parquet???

This issue has been delayed for about 1 months.. since I gotten the key in March. This is so frustrating!!! I dunno when my reno works can start and 1st Aug is the start of the lunar 7th month already!

Edited by roseberry

Oh u actually 'upgraded' to 600x600.. so it made sense liao :D

Hahaha, maybe I din update in the forum I changed 600x600 tiles. Paisey Paisey....

It's the 400x400 tiles. Same as the living room ones but the colour isn't 100% same cos they said there's no more stock or similar stock of the living room tiles. The colour isn't that obvious. And he mentioned that skirting for entire living room will be $250.

But I'm rather upset and irritated cos Mr Tan only allowed 2 rooms of parquet to be hack off and replace with indonesian parquet. The thing is... whatever is in the house now is burmese parquet. Indo ones look totally different. So I will end up with MBR having burmese ones, and BR1 and BR2 having indo ones. Then I asked them if they can find burmese parquet, they said NO. This Mr tan is quite crappy lah.. he said in the market now only Indo parquet. WTH??? I've checked with some parqeut specialist leh.. Burmese ones still exist. Isn't this sorta like forcing me to pay do tiling in my rooms and they can save their cost on replacing the parquet???

This issue has been delayed for about 1 months.. since I gotten the key in March. This is so frustrating!:D I dunno when my reno works can start and 1st Aug is the start of the lunar 7th month already!

Hi Roseberry, $2500 including GST or excluding? FYI, Mine living rooms tiles prices cutted alot from $3k+ to $2.3k, cos after the finish hacking the whole living room tile and they going to replace the 400 tiles FOC, my husband asked him again at $2.3k to upgrade the tiles, if he cannot give this price, we will ask our ID to do it. And to our surprise, he said OK but with GST added and tile skirting.

You mean our parquet is Burmese type? Is Burmese better than Indo? FYI, Mr Tan is from HDB one. He is stationed at the site office (Heard frm HDB Officer). :D Mine also delayed for 1mth + and when we confirm we pay $ to redo, they did it very fast, 2 days after finishing job, call me to pass cheque to Ah Siang and I told him i need to check the flooring before passing cheque. :P