berry_surprise

Bought Resale Flat Along Bb Ave 4

Hi there

I like to share with you and appreciate your comments. We worked with this agent, our 2nd agent, and we OTP upon viewing the 3rd flat.

In a nutshell, this was the 9th flat we have viewed.

We viewed this 4 room standard corner flat with super high ceiling, more than 10 feet (3 meters) in the afternoon.

We were told the owner wanted 18k cov and the last offer was at 13.8k. It was a flat with no lift and the lift upgrading will be done before 2014.

So initially we offered our cov and later in the evening, we were told the owner is willing to close the deal at our offered cov,

so we asked for another viewing. Hence, the total price will come up to be 300k (which is not bad in this present moment).

anyway, our hle loan is much higher so are there any people taking 10 years or 15 years loan instead of the maximum 30 years?

In short, this flat is in a movable condition. We are willing to stay for 1 year and save up for renovation.

What sets me thinking is that...the seller's agent is on the lookout for 5 rooms flats in Bukit Panjang for the owner. Despite the high cov market transactions,

why would the owner be willing to lower his asking price?

we have some concerns and trying to sort it out before we exercise to purchase. We also have agreed an extension of 8 weeks for the owner after completion date.

do you have any comments? What do u think about the super high ceiling?

Appreciated :)

Edited by berry_surprise

Hi there

I like to share with you and appreciate your comments. We worked with this agent, our 2nd agent, and we OTP upon viewing the 3rd flat.

In a nutshell, this was the 9th flat we have viewed.

We viewed this 4 room standard corner flat with super high ceiling, more than 10 feet (3 meters) in the afternoon.

We were told the owner wanted 18k cov and the last offer was at 13.8k. It was a flat with no lift and the lift upgrading will be done before 2014.

So initially we offered our cov and later in the evening, we were told the owner is willing to close the deal at our offered cov,

so we asked for another viewing. Hence, the total price will come up to be 300k (which is not bad in this present moment).

anyway, our hle loan is much higher so are there any people taking 10 years or 15 years loan instead of the maximum 30 years?

In short, this flat is in a movable condition. We are willing to stay for 1 year and save up for renovation.

What sets me thinking is that...the seller's agent is on the lookout for 5 rooms flats in Bukit Panjang for the owner. Despite the high cov market transactions,

we have some concerns and trying to sort it out before we exercise to purchase. We also have agreed an extension of 8 weeks for the owner after completion date.

do you have any comments? What do u think about the super high ceiling?

Appreciated :)

"What sets me thinking is that...the seller's agent is on the lookout for 5 rooms flats in Bukit Panjang for the owner. Despite the high cov market transactions,

"

Hehe why not? A motivated, serious seller will be willing to lower the price so that he can close the deal asap. You are lucky to meet one such serious seller. :) I have seen sellers who are not serious to sell the house, just want to test the market and try their lucks to see if there's anyone offering super high cov.

I like high ceiling. It makes the house look bigger!

Super high ceiling??? Is that the top floor? Have you consider the waterproofing issue and how old is the flat.

I once view an unit in joo Seng area, top floor, house is big,price is right, but when I look at the ceiling....too many cut and paste lah.....I ask the agent how? He told me can get hdb to do the waterproofing if things get worst...you want to go thru all this?

Of course, if yours not a top floor than no worry lor.

I am a serious seller too, sold my tpy flat 10k above valuation, so don't worry too much, if you think the price is right and you like the place, then dun wait liao.

Hi there

Sometimes, when the owner sells at high price, we the buyer complain. But when they decided to sell at a lower price, we get paranoid.

When I was on my 1st viewing, I liked it immediately because

1) its high ceiling (top floor)

2) near to my current condo

3) coffeeshops, ntuc, shop&safe

4) primary n secondary schools (which is of no concern to me at this moment)

5) valuation was <300k

This bldg was built in the 80s and about 21 yo. I have already delegate all my worries to my agent before we proceed with the remaining deposit.

Besides, we are very accommodating with the owner asking for extension. Initially they asked for 6wks but we told them 6-8 wks will be no problem.

Furthermore, all of us are very accommodating with furniture arrangements (moving in early and leaving behind for us).

Indeed, the very high ceiling makes the house feels so much bigger although it is only a miserable 85sqm.

Do you have anything to share with me?

Hi there

Sometimes, when the owner sells at high price, we the buyer complain. But when they decided to sell at a lower price, we get paranoid.

5) valuation was <300k

This bldg was built in the 80s and about 21 yo. I have already delegate all my worries to my agent before we proceed with the remaining deposit.

Besides, we are very accommodating with the owner asking for extension. Initially they asked for 6wks but we told them 6-8 wks will be no problem.

Furthermore, all of us are very accommodating with furniture arrangements (moving in early and leaving behind for us).

Indeed, the very high ceiling makes the house feels so much bigger although it is only a miserable 85sqm.

having a high ceiling is a privilege, no worries at all. u own a condo or rent? If u own a condo, can u purchase a HDB flat be it resale or direct?

Hi black_car

Weeks ago, I saw your house pictures on your blog and your Buddha feature left an impression on me. I didn't it was you until I click on your nick.

In regards to whether a condo owner can buy HDB, the answer is YES, however it will have to be 30 mths later? I read it somewhere on HDB before.

In any case, the condo doesn't belong to me. We are leasing it from my father so we are first-timers when it comes to applying for HDB grant.

Heads up for the high ceiling :)

Hi there

5) valuation was <300k

Wow...sound like you had a good catch.... :good:

just curious, what does your agent done or how he assured you your worries will not be worried...especiallly on the waterproofing issues :huh:

Hi black_car

Weeks ago, I saw your house pictures on your blog and your Buddha feature left an impression on me. I didn't it was you until I click on your nick.

In regards to whether a condo owner can buy HDB, the answer is YES, however it will have to be 30 mths later? I read it somewhere on HDB before.

In any case, the condo doesn't belong to me. We are leasing it from my father so we are first-timers when it comes to applying for HDB grant.

Heads up for the high ceiling :)

Hi berry surprise, i m glad that u remembered me and my Buddha feature!! lolz Just make sure that no water seepage. U need a specialise to check the seepage thingy, no tom, dick and harry can do the job. Btw are u the second owner of this hse? Just like an average car, if too many owners own it before, got to beware.

Edited by blackcar

Wow...sound like you had a good catch.... :good:

just curious, what does your agent done or how he assured you your worries will not be worried...especiallly on the waterproofing issues :huh:

Hi berry surprise, i m glad that u remembered me and my Buddha feature!! lolz Just make sure that no water seepage. U need a specialise to check the seepage thingy, no tom, dick and harry can do the job. Btw are u the second owner of this hse? Just like an average car, if too many owners own it before, got to beware.

Hi there, thanks for writing back. Strangely enough, my agent says the HDB inspector will go inspect the house after we exercise the option and before our 1st appt. My concerns are illegal renovation and waterproofing of ceiling, he told me the officer will check on that day. To me, these are all bull****. So what happens if there are such problems, he say we can hound the HDB/town councils for foc repairs. I dissed him and said we are not going to operate in loanshark style. Besides, the owner claim that the lift upgrading will be soon as he had talked to the town councils people.

I check and recheck and there are no ongoing plans yet, just a deadline by 2014.

anyway, i already told him to find out more.

Truthfully speaking, the owners are 3rd or 4th time owner themselves despite already staying there for the past 8 yrs. To me, the house is still in movable conditions so I wont say there will be no problems waiting to surface after we get this flat.

In any case, we will go ahead with this purchase because in the current situation, others are asking extremely high cash and valuation are somewhat higher than 300k. In addition, the benefit of doubt towards lower housing prices is not really realistic. Even if I do ballot for BTO@Dawson, no doubt the price per se will be higher, say towards 300-350k for a 4/5rooms, I also have to be lucky in order to get balloted.

What I have in mind is that I will bring a contractor with me when I go for final viewing.

So what do you think?

Edited by berry_surprise

Hi there, thanks for writing back. Strangely enough, my agent says the HDB inspector will go inspect the house after we exercise the option and before our 1st appt. My concerns are illegal renovation and waterproofing of ceiling, he told me the officer will check on that day. To me, these are all bull****. So what happens if there are such problems, he say we can hound the HDB/town councils for foc repairs. I dissed him and said we are not going to operate in loanshark style. Besides, the owner claim that the lift upgrading will be soon as he had talked to the town councils people.

I check and recheck and there are no ongoing plans yet, just a deadline by 2014.

anyway, i already told him to find out more.

Truthfully speaking, the owners are 3rd or 4th time owner themselves despite already staying there for the past 8 yrs. To me, the house is still in movable conditions so I wont say there will be no problems waiting to surface after we get this flat.

In any case, we will go ahead with this purchase because in the current situation, others are asking extremely high cash and valuation are somewhat higher than 300k. In addition, the benefit of doubt towards lower housing prices is not really realistic. Even if I do ballot for BTO@Dawson, no doubt the price per se will be higher, say towards 300-350k for a 4/5rooms, I also have to be lucky in order to get balloted.

What I have in mind is that I will bring a contractor with me when I go for final viewing.

So what do you think?

Yes is true that before the 1st appt HDB inspector will go check and inspect for illegal renovations etc. If found any renovation illegal, the owner will be held responsible, not you. Yes, there is a check, the question is how thorough rite? Sure u can hunt down the inspector in the event there is a leak. They will come and do it for u FOC every 2 year or so, is that what you want? After shifting in, they come and starts to hack and repair the ceiling for you, the whole hse will be messy. This happens to my fren, he finally give up and move out despite having a nice view of the sea.

Since you had already decided to buy this place, try to remedy the problem as much as possible if any. All the best ya. Hope to see yr blog.

Yes is true that before the 1st appt HDB inspector will go check and inspect for illegal renovations etc. If found any renovation illegal, the owner will be held responsible, not you. Yes, there is a check, the question is how thorough rite? Sure u can hunt down the inspector in the event there is a leak. They will come and do it for u FOC every 2 year or so, is that what you want? After shifting in, they come and starts to hack and repair the ceiling for you, the whole hse will be messy. This happens to my fren, he finally give up and move out despite having a nice view of the sea.

Since you had already decided to buy this place, try to remedy the problem as much as possible if any. All the best ya. Hope to see yr blog.

Thanks for your advice, I will note it down. :)

well .. that's the risk when you buy resales (esp more if it is those really old ones) .. the state of the house may cause a concern so if it is within budget .. might as well get it over and done with during your renovation process .. if not will be heartache when hdb starts coming in to do their touch ups later on ..

The factor here is timing. I have to monitor the progress. Thanks for your tips.

Bb ave 4 = Bukit batok ave 4?

yes.