dsman

D A5s Man's Bordello

Hi Everyone

Decided to start a reno t-blog for me and my wife to monitor our own progress.

We bought a 26-year old EM at Dakota, and back in 1983, it was one of the first 2 EM estates rolled out by HDB.

As such, the layout, especially the positions of the beams, would not have been acceptable in new flats these days.

Currently, I am too tall for the flat. haha

Anyway, with my wife's family staying next block, and dakota mrt station right underneath us, we paid through our noses to be near the upcoming sports hub and leisure park.

here's the floorplan.

floorplan.jpg

The second half of this year has been a roller coaster ride for me n my better half, and it has shown no signs of abating.

The calendar of events below is for our reference, and hopefully, it serves as guide for other couples like us who are planning to get married and live in a newly renovated house immediately after.

Calendar of Events (will be updated periodically)

30 May - Saw ad in newspaper. Viewed house with wife n mother in law.

31 May – Made an offer for the flat. Accepted. Paid deposit.

5 June – Submitted appeal letter for HLE and CPF grant to HDB.

10 June – Purchased floorplan.

19 June – Appeal successful…but need to resubmit HLE application.

22 June – Submitted new HLE application.

23 June – Booked air tickets for honeymoon.

26 June – Received HLE approval letter.

28 June –Signed OTP. Took pictures of the house.

29 June – Began search for ID/contractor.

2 July – Sent email to Jason for the first time with enquiry on renovation.

6 July – Jason called to set up appointment.

15 July – Submitted ROMM online application

19 July – Sent email to HDB regarding intent to purchase recess area

20 July – HDB replied. Referred to branch office regarding purchase of recess area.

22 July – Met Jason for the first time. Spent more time chitchatting than talking abt the house.

23 July – Sent email to Jason confirming previous night discussion.

26 July – Jason replied email. Submitted excel quotation to him.

29 July – Received email from HDB. Advised to get sellers to sign a document.

3 August – Submitted documents with Sellers’ signatures to HDB.

10 August – Received first quotation from Jason. Very reasonable.

1 September – Confirmed with Jason. Met red-devil and his beautiful wife for the first time.

11 September – First appointment.

18 September – Received letter from HDB approving purchase of recess area.

26 September – Checked out red-devil’s nest with my wifey. We like what we saw.

8 October – Went to Branch office to make payment for recess area using CPF.

15 October – Jason viewed flat for the first time, accompanied by red_devil and his wife.

17 October – Select tiles.

15 November: Handed keys to Jason.

16 November – 2nd Appointment. Start of reno.

26 November: Visited Summer Trading to buy toilet accessories

10 December – Takeover flat from Jason with all wet works, lightings and 2nd floor renovation done.

11 December – Marriage solemnization ceremony in the flat.

12 December – wedding reception

14 December – Handover flat back to Jason. Set off for honeymoon.

24 December – Return home.

4th January – Tentative Final takeover of flat.

Edited by dsman

Things already bought

1) Sony LCD TV

2) Black L-shaped sofa

3) Bed frame and mattress

4) Curtains

5) Pillows and bolster

6) Bed sheets

7) Toilet Accessories

To do/buy list

2) Air Con

3) Lightings

4) Fridge

5) Washing machine

6) Clock

7) Wall Mini Radio

8) Wireless Internet Connectivity

9) SCV/MIO subscription/telephone wiring for MIO

Edited by dsman

Current state of the house

DSCF8612.jpg

the beam that i will be knocking my head against when going down the stairs

DSCF8610.jpg

blue staircase and marble flooring

DSCF8602.jpg

mbr toilet

Welcome to T-blog...

Wah...You are really a good planner... Are you working as a Project Manager/ Planner by Profession?

I always envy people who stay in EM...but for me no luck to get my dream block (strictly only Block 714 and 974 in Jurong West) either the price with crazy COV or unit facing no good... well finally decided to move on by doing a makeover of my 4 roomy...

Back to blog... what is your budget for the reno or no budget constriant (sky is the limit) :P

I think EM need min. 30K for reno ba...

Please keep us updated with more photos...and feel free to visit my T-blog... :thumbs up:

So if according to your plan, You already selected your tiles?

btw...why you call Red Devil but your avator is Blue Creature hah.... :P

Juz joking no offence hor...

Presume you are the Man-U Fans lah... :dancingqueen:

But me...Liverpool supporter :notti:

I think the existing condition of the house still quite good especially the flooring...maybe you should check the ceiling for any leakage or falling concrete since it is more than 20 years house...

14 December – Handover flat back to Jason. Set off for honeymoon.

Bro finally decide to setup your brothel ? :notti: :notti: :notti: hahahaha

eh what's the floor area of your house ?

anyway you help Jason renovate his house ah ?thats why you wants to handover the flat to him hahahaha :P

Things already bought

1) Sony LCD TV

2) Black L-shaped sofa

3) Bed frame and mattress

4) Curtains

5) Pillows and bolster

6) Bed sheets

To do/buy list

1) Toilet stuff

2) Air Con

3) Lightings

4) Fridge

5) Washing machine

6) Clock

7) Wall Mini Radio

8) Wireless Internet Connectivity

9) SCV/MIO subscription

Bro how much and where you bought your LCD TV ?

And which model ah ?

Edited by coffee_o

DSCF5582.jpg

Wah bro why your staircase like this ? will you knock your head if you walk pass it ?

any chance where it can "shift" the direction ? or remove the concrete to make it "hollow" ?

Anyway envy leh both flooring looks good leh can just polish and reuse leh

Edited by coffee_o

I think the existing condition of the house still quite good especially the flooring...maybe you should check the ceiling for any leakage or falling concrete since it is more than 20 years house...

Bro sala liao the red devil hor is another guy with the crazy stephen chow avatar de hahahaha

think dsman is hotspur fans leh

Oh btw I'm a manu supporter too hahahahaha :D

Wow indeed a lot of things to plan...

Luckily for me and my hubby we already got our ROM out of the way, but still need to plan for banquet and photoshoot. But all these we have to push it to next year cos we know this year we are going to be super busy with the planning of the new house, esp since we are not hiring an ID.

The parquet flooring looks great! :dribble:

mememe.. red devil is me! I was there with his contractor to view his flat.. :P

Bro sala liao the red devil hor is another guy with the crazy stephen chow avatar de hahahaha

think dsman is hotspur fans leh

Oh btw I'm a manu supporter too hahahahaha :D

ooi.. Kopi...u called me "another guy with the crazy stephen chow"...."xiao lang" kill people don't need go jail one hor.... u better careful..

But..I foregive u :bleah: since u are also a man-u fan...