vermyapre

Electrical work cost??

Hi Umaisarah,

Please kindly let me have your Electrician contact no for Quote B.

Thank you.

Ouch! :(

Zippy - not sure how much you can bargain with the ID and the electrician on the total cost, but just to help you compare, here I give you two prices from two different sources when I was looking for an electrician. Quote A is from ID which is the Ouch price. Quote B is direct from an Electrician recommended to me by a forummer which is the Okay Lah price. Electrician say he give me special price, mbe he bluff me but anyway I take him at face value lah.

All prices are for concealed wiring

Quote A aka Ouch Price

Supply & Install lighting point - $43/point

Install light fittings - $12/point

Supply & install 1 x 13A SSO - $80/point

Supply & install 2 x 13A SSO - $90/point

Supply & install SCV point - $150/point

Supply & install heater point - $150/point

Supply & install 1 x 15A SSO - $150/point

Supply & install tel point - $75/point

Supply & install cooker hood point with heater switch - $85/point

Supply & install cooker hob with heater switch - $85/point

Install ceiling fan - $55/fan

Install wall fan - $35/fan

To connect water heater with new casing - $30 point

Install 2 way switch wiring - $45/point

To install DB board - TBA

Quote B aka Okay Lah Price

Supply & Install New Lighting Point - $28/point

Install Downlight - $6/point

Install Ceiling Fan w light - $20/fan

Install Ceiling Fan w/o light - $15/fan

Install pendant/hanging light - $25/light

Install lights - $5/light

Install 13A SSO - $50/point (he gv me same price for single or double)

Install new switches - $12-$15 depend on what type of switch

Dun hv prices for the other services cuz I dun need them.

I hv no idea what is this lighting loop, mbe its to do with 2-way switch wiring? You better ask, man.

Looks like you were quoted ID Electrician price. But even then, it is really on the high side. $90 for concealed switch?! what type of switches they give you? Made of gold is it??

Mbe you can go and complain to your ID for 'misrepresentation'.

On good faith, you had went ahead with the electrical works with him/her because you had trusted him when he said it will cost about $2K plus.

He should have been responsible enough to ask the electrician for a breakdown of the electrical works and alert you when the cost exceeded the $2K plus he had earlier told you. I dun think you can negotiate down to the direct electrician price, but at least you have my ID prices here to compare which I think is really quite high already. Eg, mbe you can negotiate for the SCV price to go down from $200 to $150. Or you can negotiate for lower prices for the big quantity items, like the lighting points and lighting loops whatever it is.

Btw, you have a lot of lighting points for a 958 sq ft house! My place is 143sqm and I think I hv only 43 lighting points at last count.

Hi Everyone,

Please advise is the price reasonable below that quoted from my ID:

Eletrical works including new socket and switch cover

Supply and lay SCV wiring point x 1 - $110

Supply and shift Tel point x 1 - $55

Supply and lay 2x13A double power point x 1 - $60

Supply and shift 1x13A single power point x 1 - $50

Supply and lay 1x13A single power point x 2 - $100

Supply labour to install owner ceiling fan x 1 (exposed casing at ceiling) - $65

Supply labour to install owner down light x 9 - $90

Supply and lay wiring for new light point x 3 - $90

Supply and lay Tel point x 1 - $55

Supply and lay 2x13A double power point x 2 - $120

Supply labour to install owner down light x 13 - $130

Supply and lay 1x13A single power point x 1 - $50

Supply labour to install owner ceiling fan x 1 (exposed casing at ceiling) - $65

Supply and shift switch x 1 - $55

Lay wiring for air-con point x 1 - $105

Lastly I've to + 7% GST on top on the price mentioned above.

Also I was told that I need to apply for approval from HDB? Can anyone advise?

Appreciate if any one can provide/recommend me a electrician that give good price and good job?

Hi Everyone,

Please advise is the price reasonable below that quoted from my ID:

Eletrical works including new socket and switch cover

Supply and shift Tel point x 1 - $55

Supply and shift 1x13A single power point x 1 - $50

Supply and lay 1x13A single power point x 2 - $100

Supply labour to install owner down light x 9 - $90

Supply and lay Tel point x 1 - $55

Supply and lay 2x13A double power point x 2 - $120

Supply labour to install owner down light x 13 - $130

Supply and lay 1x13A single power point x 1 - $50

Supply and shift switch x 1 - $55

Lay wiring for air-con point x 1 - $105

Lastly I've to + 7% GST on top on the price mentioned above.

Also I was told that I need to apply for approval from HDB? Can anyone advise?

Appreciate if any one can provide/recommend me a electrician that give good price and good job?

I am paying this

Electrical wiring

1) Living room -

To change position and supply new MCB board $350

4 down light wiring $128

4 down light installation $40

2 down light switches $60

1 ceiling fan wiring $32

1 ceiling fan switch $32

1 ceiling fan installation $50

1 ceiling light wiring $32

1 ceiling light switch $32

1 ceiling light installation $10

1 telephone point $40

1 scv point $90

2 double plugs $124

2) master bedroom-

1 aircon point $90

1 scv cable point $90

2 double plugs $120

1 toilet light wiring $32

1 toilet light switch $32

1 toilet light installation $10

1 ceiling fan wiring $32

1 ceiling fan switch $32

1 bedroom light wiring $32

1 bedroom light switch $32

1 bedroom light installation $10

3) Common room 1-

2 double plugs $120

1 ceiling fan wiring $32

1 ceiling fan switch $32

4) Common Room 2 -

2 double plugs $120

1 ceiling fan wiring $32

1 ceiling fan switch $32

5) Kitchen

2 kitchen lights wiring $64

2 kitchen light switch $64

2 kitchen light installation $20

1 single point $42

3 double points $180

1 gallon heater point $90

is it cheaper ????????If u want his contact e mail me at vinder79@yahoo.com.sg

I am paying this

Electrical wiring

1) Living room -

To change position and supply new MCB board $350

4 down light wiring $128

4 down light installation $40

2 down light switches $60

1 ceiling fan wiring $32

1 ceiling fan switch $32

1 ceiling light wiring $32

1 ceiling light switch $32

1 ceiling light installation $10

1 telephone point $40

1 scv point $90

2 double plugs $124

2) master bedroom-

1 aircon point $90

1 scv cable point $90

2 double plugs $120

1 ceiling fan wiring $32

1 ceiling fan switch $32

3) Common room 1-

2 double plugs $120

1 ceiling fan wiring $32

1 ceiling fan switch $32

4) Common Room 2 -

2 double plugs $120

1 ceiling fan wiring $32

1 ceiling fan switch $32

5) Kitchen

2 kitchen lights wiring $64

2 kitchen light switch $64

2 kitchen light installation $20

1 single point $42

3 double points $180

1 gallon heater point $90

is it cheaper ????????If u want his contact e mail me at vinder79@yahoo.com.sg

Market pricing.

He gave me disc via all switches prices.So happy.Hey if any one wants to use him call his assistant-Sonie- 90432723

Hi Guys,

What you think of my quotes

Lighting point $30.00

13A Single power point $45.00

13A double power point $55.00

TV point $90.00

Extend telephone point $15.00

Extend 13A Single power point $15.00

Reposition ceiling Lighting point $15.00

Oven, Cooker & Hood point $55.00

Install light $9.00

Door bell install $10.00

Hi ek7,

Can PM me your electrical guy No?

i'm also looking for electrician.. Anyone can recommend me with a good and cheap one urgently?

Try us , free quotation & let you know market price

Edited by vincent_hclee

Hi, Im looking for a good electrician and Im on a very tight budget.

Anyone can recommend?

Electrical works:

Install single 13A powerpoint x 11

Install double 13A powerpoint x 3

Change 13A single socket to double 13A powerpoint x 4

Change light switch x 4

Relocate/Change light switch x 4

Relocate/Change heater switch x 1

Install switch points for hood

Install switch points for built-in oven

Install lighting point x 1

Relocate lighting point x 1

Change lighting point to ceiling fan x 1

Install SCV point x 1

For those who engaged Eric, what switches did he give? MK Switches?

Before I confirmed with him, he said will be using MK.

When he finished most of the electrical work and I went back to see, he gave Feng Yip swithces (the rocker switches with a flower logo at the bottom right). He's not honest, he tot I dun know tat switch is from Feng Yip.

I used Eric for my past renovation too.. Yah, not honest guy. Alot of the Power sockets became faulty after just 2 years. Worst, during the reno period, his schedule was never on thing. Tough to coordinate with this fella. Beware fellas.

Hi Umaisarah,

can you please pm me the contact details of your electrician?

Ouch! :(

Zippy - not sure how much you can bargain with the ID and the electrician on the total cost, but just to help you compare, here I give you two prices from two different sources when I was looking for an electrician. Quote A is from ID which is the Ouch price. Quote B is direct from an Electrician recommended to me by a forummer which is the Okay Lah price. Electrician say he give me special price, mbe he bluff me but anyway I take him at face value lah.

All prices are for concealed wiring

Quote A aka Ouch Price

Supply & Install lighting point - $43/point

Install light fittings - $12/point

Supply & install 1 x 13A SSO - $80/point

Supply & install 2 x 13A SSO - $90/point

Supply & install SCV point - $150/point

Supply & install heater point - $150/point

Supply & install 1 x 15A SSO - $150/point

Supply & install tel point - $75/point

Supply & install cooker hood point with heater switch - $85/point

Supply & install cooker hob with heater switch - $85/point

Install ceiling fan - $55/fan

Install wall fan - $35/fan

To connect water heater with new casing - $30 point

Install 2 way switch wiring - $45/point

To install DB board - TBA

Quote B aka Okay Lah Price

Supply & Install New Lighting Point - $28/point

Install Downlight - $6/point

Install Ceiling Fan w light - $20/fan

Install Ceiling Fan w/o light - $15/fan

Install pendant/hanging light - $25/light

Install lights - $5/light

Install 13A SSO - $50/point (he gv me same price for single or double)

Install new switches - $12-$15 depend on what type of switch

Dun hv prices for the other services cuz I dun need them.

I hv no idea what is this lighting loop, mbe its to do with 2-way switch wiring? You better ask, man.

Looks like you were quoted ID Electrician price. But even then, it is really on the high side. $90 for concealed switch?! what type of switches they give you? Made of gold is it??

Mbe you can go and complain to your ID for 'misrepresentation'.

On good faith, you had went ahead with the electrical works with him/her because you had trusted him when he said it will cost about $2K plus.

He should have been responsible enough to ask the electrician for a breakdown of the electrical works and alert you when the cost exceeded the $2K plus he had earlier told you. I dun think you can negotiate down to the direct electrician price, but at least you have my ID prices here to compare which I think is really quite high already. Eg, mbe you can negotiate for the SCV price to go down from $200 to $150. Or you can negotiate for lower prices for the big quantity items, like the lighting points and lighting loops whatever it is.

Btw, you have a lot of lighting points for a 958 sq ft house! My place is 143sqm and I think I hv only 43 lighting points at last count.

Need advice, if below quote consider reasonable or on a high side. thks.

Lighting Pt x 14 = $48 ea

Tel pt x 1 = $80 ea

Double socket(13A)x5 = $95 ea

Speaker = $180 (1 set)

Ceiling Light x 12 = $12 ea

SCV pt x 1 = $110

Need advice, if below quote consider reasonable or on a high side. thks.

Lighting Pt x 14 = $48 ea

Tel pt x 1 = $80 ea

Double socket(13A)x5 = $95 ea

Speaker = $180 (1 set)

Ceiling Light x 12 = $12 ea

SCV pt x 1 = $110

For HDB

Lighting PT = $35

Tel = $40

Double socket =$50

speaker 1 set = $140

install light =$10