vermyapre

Electrical work cost??

Can some kind souls comment on this quote I got? Is it reasonable? market price?

(prices are for concealed wiring)

Supply and install new lighting point $28

Install downlight $5

Install ceiling fan with light $20

Install ceiling fan $15

Install pendant/hanging light $25

Install lights $5

Install 1x13A SSO $50

btw, for installing ceiling fan w lights, do I need to create 2 points, one for the fan and one for the light?

cuz there'll be 2 switches right? one to on the fan, and one to on the light?

Also, I'm not sure what you say when you want to change the light switches from 1 switch per box to 3 per box? anyone know what I mean?

Is the price already included in installation of the light point?

Can some kind souls comment on this quote I got? Is it reasonable? market price?

Install downlight $5

Install ceiling fan $15

Install lights $5

Install 1x13A SSO $50

btw, for installing ceiling fan w lights, do I need to create 2 points, one for the fan and one for the light?

Also, I'm not sure what you say when you want to change the light switches from 1 switch per box to 3 per box? anyone know what I mean?

The prices indicated are within market rates.

For installation of celiing fan w/lights, only one main switch is needed. The light controls are activated from a pull lever dangling from the centre of the fan.

For your second query, they are asking you whether you want to have a 3-gang rocker switch in a single box or 3 separate single rocker switch in 3 separate boxes. Electricians charge for anything additional unless they tell you otherwise.

The prices indicated are within market rates.

For installation of celiing fan w/lights, only one main switch is needed. The light controls are activated from a pull lever dangling from the centre of the fan.

For your second query, they are asking you whether you want to have a 3-gang rocker switch in a single box or 3 separate single rocker switch in 3 separate boxes. Electricians charge for anything additional unless they tell you otherwise.

But for my current fan+light, the controls are separate. Some fans come with remote control, is activation via the remote, and not the switch? Not really keen on the pull lever method cuz easy to get damage over time. Are all fan+light models like that?

Thanks for clearing up the part abt the switch. Oh, it's called rocker switch, issit? Now I know what to tell the electrician.

I just received my electrical quotation, seems expensive or maybe didn't expect it would be this much. Still shocked ...

NO Description Quantity Unit Price Amount

1 ( Living ) To relocate and labour lighting point 12 nos $18.00 $216.00

2 ( Living ) To supply and labour lighting point 1 nos $27.00 $27.00

3 ( Living ) To supply and labour 13amp double socket 1 nos $52.00 $52.00

4 ( Living ) To exchange of 2 gang switch 3 nos $20.00 $60.00

5 ( Living ) To exchange of 13amp single socket 3 nos $18.00 $54.00

6 ( Living ) To exchange of 13amp double socket 2 nos $20.00 $40.00

7 ( Living ) To exchange of Tel socket 1 nos $20.00 $20.00

8 ( Living ) To exchange of SCV socket 1 nos $22.00 $22.00

9 ( Living ) To installation of lighting 13 nos $10.00 $130.00

10 ( Balcony ) To installation of lighting 1 nos $10.00 $10.00

11 ( Balcony ) To relocate and labour 13amp double socket 1 nos $27.00 $27.00

12 ( Kitchen ) To supply and labour hob & hood point 1 nos $80.00 $80.00

13 ( Kitchen ) To connect of hob & hood point 1 nos $15.00 $15.00

14 ( Kitchen ) To relocate and labour 13amp single socket 1 nos $24.00 $24.00

15 ( Kitchen ) To installation of lighting 3 nos $10.00 $30.00

16 ( Kitchen ) To exchange of 2 gang switch 2 nos $20.00 $40.00

17 ( Kitchen ) To exchange of 13amp single socket c/w water proof 1 nos $45.00 $45.00

18 ( Kitchen ) To exchange of 13amp double socket 2 nos $20.00 $40.00

19 ( C/Toilet ) To installation of lighting 1 nos $10.00 $10.00

20 ( C/Toilet ) To supply and labour 2 way heater point 1 nos $160.00 $160.00

21 ( C/Toilet ) To connect of heater point 1 nos $15.00 $15.00

22 ( M/Toilet ) To installation of lighting 1 nos $10.00 $10.00

23 ( M/Toilet ) To supply and labour 2 way heater point 1 nos $160.00 $160.00

24 ( M/Toilet ) To connect of heater point 1 nos $15.00 $15.00

25 ( M/Toilet ) To exchange of 1 gang switch 1 nos $16.00 $16.00

26 ( M/Room) To relocate and labour lighting point 1 nos $18.00 $18.00

27 ( M/Room) To supply and labour lighting point 1 nos $27.00 $27.00

28 ( M/Room) To exchange of 1 gang switch 1 nos $16.00 $16.00

29 ( M/Room) To exchange of 13amp double socket 1 nos $20.00 $20.00

30 ( M/Room) To relocate and labour 13amp single socket 2 nos $24.00 $48.00

31 ( M/Room) To installation of lighting 2 nos $10.00 $20.00

32 ( Room2 ) To installation of lighting 1 nos $10.00 $10.00

33 ( Room2 ) To exchange of 1 gang switch 1 nos $16.00 $16.00

34 ( Room2 ) To exchange of 13amp single socket 1 nos $18.00 $18.00

35 ( Room3 ) To installation of lighting 1 nos $10.00 $10.00

36 ( Room3 ) To relocate and labour 13amp double socket 1 nos $27.00 $27.00

37 ( Room3 ) To exchange of 13amp single socket 1 nos $18.00 $18.00

38 ( Room3 ) To exchange of 1 gang switch 1 nos $16.00 $16.00

39 ( walk way) To installation of lighting 1 nos $10.00 $10.00

Total is $1592 and that excludes lighting

i was quoted by my id for Cat 6 ethernet wiring at $75 per point. is that a decent price?

thanks in advance

I just received my electrical quotation, seems expensive or maybe didn't expect it would be this much. Still shocked ...

NO Description Quantity Unit Price Amount

1 ( Living ) To relocate and labour lighting point 12 nos $18.00 $216.00

2 ( Living ) To supply and labour lighting point 1 nos $27.00 $27.00

3 ( Living ) To supply and labour 13amp double socket 1 nos $52.00 $52.00

4 ( Living ) To exchange of 2 gang switch 3 nos $20.00 $60.00

5 ( Living ) To exchange of 13amp single socket 3 nos $18.00 $54.00

6 ( Living ) To exchange of 13amp double socket 2 nos $20.00 $40.00

7 ( Living ) To exchange of Tel socket 1 nos $20.00 $20.00

8 ( Living ) To exchange of SCV socket 1 nos $22.00 $22.00

9 ( Living ) To installation of lighting 13 nos $10.00 $130.00

10 ( Balcony ) To installation of lighting 1 nos $10.00 $10.00

11 ( Balcony ) To relocate and labour 13amp double socket 1 nos $27.00 $27.00

12 ( Kitchen ) To supply and labour hob & hood point 1 nos $80.00 $80.00

13 ( Kitchen ) To connect of hob & hood point 1 nos $15.00 $15.00

14 ( Kitchen ) To relocate and labour 13amp single socket 1 nos $24.00 $24.00

15 ( Kitchen ) To installation of lighting 3 nos $10.00 $30.00

16 ( Kitchen ) To exchange of 2 gang switch 2 nos $20.00 $40.00

17 ( Kitchen ) To exchange of 13amp single socket c/w water proof 1 nos $45.00 $45.00

18 ( Kitchen ) To exchange of 13amp double socket 2 nos $20.00 $40.00

19 ( C/Toilet ) To installation of lighting 1 nos $10.00 $10.00

20 ( C/Toilet ) To supply and labour 2 way heater point 1 nos $160.00 $160.00

21 ( C/Toilet ) To connect of heater point 1 nos $15.00 $15.00

22 ( M/Toilet ) To installation of lighting 1 nos $10.00 $10.00

23 ( M/Toilet ) To supply and labour 2 way heater point 1 nos $160.00 $160.00

24 ( M/Toilet ) To connect of heater point 1 nos $15.00 $15.00

25 ( M/Toilet ) To exchange of 1 gang switch 1 nos $16.00 $16.00

26 ( M/Room) To relocate and labour lighting point 1 nos $18.00 $18.00

27 ( M/Room) To supply and labour lighting point 1 nos $27.00 $27.00

28 ( M/Room) To exchange of 1 gang switch 1 nos $16.00 $16.00

29 ( M/Room) To exchange of 13amp double socket 1 nos $20.00 $20.00

30 ( M/Room) To relocate and labour 13amp single socket 2 nos $24.00 $48.00

31 ( M/Room) To installation of lighting 2 nos $10.00 $20.00

32 ( Room2 ) To installation of lighting 1 nos $10.00 $10.00

33 ( Room2 ) To exchange of 1 gang switch 1 nos $16.00 $16.00

34 ( Room2 ) To exchange of 13amp single socket 1 nos $18.00 $18.00

35 ( Room3 ) To installation of lighting 1 nos $10.00 $10.00

36 ( Room3 ) To relocate and labour 13amp double socket 1 nos $27.00 $27.00

37 ( Room3 ) To exchange of 13amp single socket 1 nos $18.00 $18.00

38 ( Room3 ) To exchange of 1 gang switch 1 nos $16.00 $16.00

39 ( walk way) To installation of lighting 1 nos $10.00 $10.00

Total is $1592 and that excludes lighting

Hi, Can u pm me ur electrician contact.. urs is much cheaper than mine

i need help on accessing my quotation and its critical bec this quotation was given to me after they did all the work, originally my ID was telling me that it will cost 2kplus for the works so i went ahead without breaking down the details...

After all is done... im face with a whooping 4.5K bill and my ID told me because it due to concealed work. I need to negotiate with them now and i really need inputs. i cant believe that my condo of 958sqft can have such a bill and so far i have never seen anything call lighting loop in any of forum's other quotes, am i cheated?

thanks alot.

master bathroom

lighting point 1X$45

lighting loop 1x$30

conceal switch 1x$90

master bedroom

lighting point 3x$45

lighting loop 6x$30

conceal switch 1x$90

2 way switch 3x$30

Conceal 13amp 1 socket 2x$110

Conceal telephone plug 1X$110

Conceal 13 ampx2 socket 1x$130

Conceal SCV point 1x$200

Living hall

Lighting point 4x$45

Lighting loop 20x$30

Conceal switch 1x$90

Conceal 13ampx1 socket 1x$110

Common Bathroom

Lighting point 1x$45

Lighting Loop 1x$30

Bedroom 2

Lighting point 3x$45

lighting loop 2x$30

Conceal switch 1x$90

Conceal 13 ampx 1 socket 1x$110

Conceal 13 ampx2 socket 2x$130

Conceal SCV 2x$200

Conceal Telephone Plug 1x$110

Kichen

Lighting point 1x$45

Lighting loop 4x$40

Whole Unit Installation 59lights total 7$05

total wiring plus installation $4450

Ouch! :(

Zippy - not sure how much you can bargain with the ID and the electrician on the total cost, but just to help you compare, here I give you two prices from two different sources when I was looking for an electrician. Quote A is from ID which is the Ouch price. Quote B is direct from an Electrician recommended to me by a forummer which is the Okay Lah price. Electrician say he give me special price, mbe he bluff me but anyway I take him at face value lah.

All prices are for concealed wiring

Quote A aka Ouch Price

Supply & Install lighting point - $43/point

Install light fittings - $12/point

Supply & install 1 x 13A SSO - $80/point

Supply & install 2 x 13A SSO - $90/point

Supply & install SCV point - $150/point

Supply & install heater point - $150/point

Supply & install 1 x 15A SSO - $150/point

Supply & install tel point - $75/point

Supply & install cooker hood point with heater switch - $85/point

Supply & install cooker hob with heater switch - $85/point

Install ceiling fan - $55/fan

Install wall fan - $35/fan

To connect water heater with new casing - $30 point

Install 2 way switch wiring - $45/point

To install DB board - TBA

Quote B aka Okay Lah Price

Supply & Install New Lighting Point - $28/point

Install Downlight - $6/point

Install Ceiling Fan w light - $20/fan

Install Ceiling Fan w/o light - $15/fan

Install pendant/hanging light - $25/light

Install lights - $5/light

Install 13A SSO - $50/point (he gv me same price for single or double)

Install new switches - $12-$15 depend on what type of switch

Dun hv prices for the other services cuz I dun need them.

I hv no idea what is this lighting loop, mbe its to do with 2-way switch wiring? You better ask, man.

Looks like you were quoted ID Electrician price. But even then, it is really on the high side. $90 for concealed switch?! what type of switches they give you? Made of gold is it??

Mbe you can go and complain to your ID for 'misrepresentation'.

On good faith, you had went ahead with the electrical works with him/her because you had trusted him when he said it will cost about $2K plus.

He should have been responsible enough to ask the electrician for a breakdown of the electrical works and alert you when the cost exceeded the $2K plus he had earlier told you. I dun think you can negotiate down to the direct electrician price, but at least you have my ID prices here to compare which I think is really quite high already. Eg, mbe you can negotiate for the SCV price to go down from $200 to $150. Or you can negotiate for lower prices for the big quantity items, like the lighting points and lighting loops whatever it is.

Btw, you have a lot of lighting points for a 958 sq ft house! My place is 143sqm and I think I hv only 43 lighting points at last count.

Edited by Umaisarah

hey thanks for your post... can someone enlighten me on the lighting loop part. thank thank

Ouch! :(

Zippy - not sure how much you can bargain with the ID and the electrician on the total cost, but just to help you compare, here I give you two prices from two different sources when I was looking for an electrician. Quote A is from ID which is the Ouch price. Quote B is direct from an Electrician recommended to me by a forummer which is the Okay Lah price. Electrician say he give me special price, mbe he bluff me but anyway I take him at face value lah.

All prices are for concealed wiring

Quote A aka Ouch Price

Supply & Install lighting point - $43/point

Install light fittings - $12/point

Supply & install 1 x 13A SSO - $80/point

Supply & install 2 x 13A SSO - $90/point

Supply & install SCV point - $150/point

Supply & install heater point - $150/point

Supply & install 1 x 15A SSO - $150/point

Supply & install tel point - $75/point

Supply & install cooker hood point with heater switch - $85/point

Supply & install cooker hob with heater switch - $85/point

Install ceiling fan - $55/fan

Install wall fan - $35/fan

To connect water heater with new casing - $30 point

Install 2 way switch wiring - $45/point

To install DB board - TBA

Quote B aka Okay Lah Price

Supply & Install New Lighting Point - $28/point

Install Downlight - $6/point

Install Ceiling Fan w light - $20/fan

Install Ceiling Fan w/o light - $15/fan

Install pendant/hanging light - $25/light

Install lights - $5/light

Install 13A SSO - $50/point (he gv me same price for single or double)

Install new switches - $12-$15 depend on what type of switch

Dun hv prices for the other services cuz I dun need them.

I hv no idea what is this lighting loop, mbe its to do with 2-way switch wiring? You better ask, man.

Looks like you were quoted ID Electrician price. But even then, it is really on the high side. $90 for concealed switch?! what type of switches they give you? Made of gold is it??

Mbe you can go and complain to your ID for 'misrepresentation'.

On good faith, you had went ahead with the electrical works with him/her because you had trusted him when he said it will cost about $2K plus.

He should have been responsible enough to ask the electrician for a breakdown of the electrical works and alert you when the cost exceeded the $2K plus he had earlier told you. I dun think you can negotiate down to the direct electrician price, but at least you have my ID prices here to compare which I think is really quite high already. Eg, mbe you can negotiate for the SCV price to go down from $200 to $150. Or you can negotiate for lower prices for the big quantity items, like the lighting points and lighting loops whatever it is.

Btw, you have a lot of lighting points for a 958 sq ft house! My place is 143sqm and I think I hv only 43 lighting points at last count.

Install downlight $5

Install ceiling fan $15

Install lights $5

Install 1x13A SSO $50

Hi, Currently I am doing renovation, the electrician quote me install one light for $25, D/L light for $30.

I think it's too expensive.

can PM me electrician contact?

Hi, Currently I am doing renovation, the electrician quote me install one light for $25, D/L light for $30.

I think it's too expensive.

can PM me electrician contact?

Hi Polly. Just one question, does the installation include installing the light point?

because from what I found out, there are 2 costs, first is to install the lighting point, then its to install the light itself.

$25 for installing the light alone is expensive, but if it includes the lighting point too, then it's quite reasonable leh.

You may want to check with the electrician.

Anyway, hv PMed you an electrician contact you may want to try. I'm using him, but hvn't actually started work yet, so can't really vouch for his workmanship. Right now, I'm chasing him for some quotes but it's still early days so I'll give him another chance. I hv Ah Keong's number but he nvr responded to me so dun noe if it's the rt nbr or not.

Hi Polly. Just one question, does the installation include installing the light point?

because from what I found out, there are 2 costs, first is to install the lighting point, then its to install the light itself.

$25 for installing the light alone is expensive, but if it includes the lighting point too, then it's quite reasonable leh.

You may want to check with the electrician.

Anyway, hv PMed you an electrician contact you may want to try. I'm using him, but hvn't actually started work yet, so can't really vouch for his workmanship. Right now, I'm chasing him for some quotes but it's still early days so I'll give him another chance. I hv Ah Keong's number but he nvr responded to me so dun noe if it's the rt nbr or not.

Hi, Umaisarah, The $25 is for installing the light only.

I already received the number, thank you very much.

Can help to review if I am overcharge by my ID for rewiring the whole house ?

And are there any items are being missed out?

Lump sum ($2100)

SCV point - 1

Tel point - 2

Aircon point - 1

Heater point - 2

Main DB - 1

Door bell point - 1

13Amp power points - 22

(1 no of double socket = 2 points)

Installation of ceiling lights

To add

Double socket point - $60