Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Hi Tension,

I got mine from Poh Joo@Jln Besar at $98 each, plus u need get an extra hose to connect to the shower tap pipe, the sales people will advise u accordingly, not to worry. My ID actually included the 2 instant heater installation in the cost already, so don't need pay extra. Did your ID quote you for this in the contract?

I think it's better to install a new one, since your old heater almost 4 yrs liao, remove and install quite troublesome also. If ID included the heater installation then he may charge you for the removal of the old one liao. Not worth.

Joven not bad, been using many years already... very happy with instant heaters that's why never crossed my mind to get those storage heater things. But of cos, you don't get hot water in all your taps loh!

meepok

yes, the installation is included in the contract, so I just need to buy and they will install.

BUT hor, the kitchen sink tap which I bought has a hot and cold mixer...:D how??

yesterday I was looking for wardrobe at tanjong katong complex, i happened to go into hoe kee to see their toilet accessories.

when i saw the 7 pcs accessories set cost only $75, I want to faint.

one toilet roll holder cost $18-$20, I bought mine at $36 (not made of gold).

they looked quite the same to me. just that my metal is harder...

yes, the installation is included in the contract, so I just need to buy and they will install.

BUT hor, the kitchen sink tap which I bought has a hot and cold mixer...:D how??

Hi Tension,

Good, then they will install the heater for you, incl the electrical wiring. They quote u for 1 or 2 heater installation? You going to install in both bathrooms or just 1 only??

As for your kitchen tap... will u be installing any other storage/instant heater besides this instant shower heater in the bathroom?? If not, that means you'll only have hot water when u bathe & normal temp/cold water for all other taps in kitchen, wash basin, etc.

In that case, you will not need a hot/cold tap for kitchen liao. Just a normal cheaper long neck tap will do fine. Can exchange?

meepok

Hi meowie,

"Press temperature"??? u mean like press button type? Sorry ah, I very suaku, all my life using knob ones loh... hahaha

I got mine from Poh Joo at Jln Besar (www.pohjoo.com/contacts.html)

U can look for this young lady Fei Fei, tell her you were recommended by the "always-ask-for-discount-tall-guy" and ask her for a good price. If she quote u less than $98, let me know... then I'll "pay her a visit" soon! :D

meepok

hehe.. i will go down tomorrow to buy... :bangwall:

will let u know soon!! hahaha

Hi Tension,

Good, then they will install the heater for you, incl the electrical wiring. They quote u for 1 or 2 heater installation? You going to install in both bathrooms or just 1 only??

As for your kitchen tap... will u be installing any other storage/instant heater besides this instant shower heater in the bathroom?? If not, that means you'll only have hot water when u bathe & normal temp/cold water for all other taps in kitchen, wash basin, etc.

In that case, you will not need a hot/cold tap for kitchen liao. Just a normal cheaper long neck tap will do fine. Can exchange?

meepok

i m installing for both.

i dun think i m installing other storage/instant heater anywhere else.

my kitchen tap (mixer) paid and install liao...but havent use, dun think they will allow exchange.

then in this case, should i buy something that connects all(the kitchen sink tap, and the 2 bathroom showers tap)? what is that I should buy?

siao liao. I thought i can just settle for instant heater.

the mixer tap cost me a freaking $185, to use like a cold tap like very wasted..

yesterday I was looking for wardrobe at tanjong katong complex, i happened to go into hoe kee to see their toilet accessories.

when i saw the 7 pcs accessories set cost only $75, I want to faint.

one toilet roll holder cost $18-$20, I bought mine at $36 (not made of gold).

they looked quite the same to me. just that my metal is harder...

Hi Tension,

I think could be of different material, cos they got chrome, stainless steel, etc... see until I blur also last time. If you get those whole set package will be costly, but then there may be some items which u don't need mah. IKEA selling some similar items as well, u may want take a look. I got my towel bars from IKEA, cheaper than if i were to get from these shops loh.

My toilet roll holder also $21 liao, then mirror $50, towel ring $21, glass shelf $38. IKEA selling toilet roll holder and towel ring much cheaper I think, but different material.

meepok

i m installing for both.

i dun think i m installing other storage/instant heater anywhere else.

my kitchen tap (mixer) paid and install liao...but havent use, dun think they will allow exchange.

then in this case, should i buy something that connects all(the kitchen sink tap, and the 2 bathroom showers tap)? what is that I should buy?

siao liao. I thought i can just settle for instant heater.

the mixer tap cost me a freaking $185, to use like a cold tap like very wasted..

Hi Tension,

I think u got to decide whether u need hot water for your other tap outlets besides for bathing loh. If u need then better to get those main storage or instant heater, usually installed in the kitchen. But then, sometimes have to wait for water to get hot before can bathe, or must wait for the cold water in tap to flow finish before the hot water comes thru, etc. Pros and cons for both.

For myself, all my life I've been so used to not having hot water in the normal taps, just hot water for bathing only. So the storage/instant heater thing never crossed my mind loh.

meepok

i went to ikea before, saw their towel accessories material, quite nice actually,

matt material kind but also heard that ikea things don't last long,

so didn't dare to buy.

only bought their bedsheets..the way they organised their furniture layout very fantastic. like 9m2 also can make it so cosy and put so many things.

Hi Tension,

I think could be of different material, cos they got chrome, stainless steel, etc... see until I blur also last time. If you get those whole set package will be costly, but then there may be some items which u don't need mah. IKEA selling some similar items as well, u may want take a look. I got my towel bars from IKEA, cheaper than if i were to get from these shops loh.

My toilet roll holder also $21 liao, then mirror $50, towel ring $21, glass shelf $38. IKEA selling toilet roll holder and towel ring much cheaper I think, but different material.

meepok

Hi Tension,

I think u got to decide whether u need hot water for your other tap outlets besides for bathing loh. If u need then better to get those main storage or instant heater, usually installed in the kitchen. But then, sometimes have to wait for water to get hot before can bathe, or must wait for the cold water in tap to flow finish before the hot water comes thru, etc. Pros and cons for both.

For myself, all my life I've been so used to not having hot water in the normal taps, just hot water for bathing only. So the storage/instant heater thing never crossed my mind loh.

meepok

in my old house, i dun have this prob as i dun have mixer in kitchen tap. I think I must been drowsy to say yes to my ID when he asked me if i need a mixer for my tap.. haiz.

I will ask the poh joo fei fei on sat for recommendations for my case.

meowie, keep us updated of ur good buys.

hehe.. i will go down tomorrow to buy... :yamseng:

will let u know soon!! hahaha

Hi Meowie,

hahaha ok ok... u can also bargain with her and frighten her! Wait she'll be scared of all bargain hunters from 79!

Since you're at Jln Besar, you can also ask around other shops if you want loh. Mine is a very basic model only, they have some mid-higher range heaters with more functions, bells & whistles, etc. But bear in mind that those may be bigger in size. I chose the model cos of the small size and of cos the low price!

good luck!

meepok

i went to ikea before, saw their towel accessories material, quite nice actually,

so didn't dare to buy.

only bought their bedsheets..the way they organised their furniture layout very fantastic. like 9m2 also can make it so cosy and put so many things.

:notti: cozy with alot of things means need to clean up like crazy :yamseng:

I dun really agree with the fact that ikea things are not lasting. This is a very sweeping statement.

If we buy the lower range of Ikea stuff and expect them to last as long as the upper range from ikea, that is very impractical. At least now they do have quite good items say the kitchen that comes with 25yr warranty on structure and dunno :dunno: what else. Some of their wardrobes comes with 10yr warranty also.

My colleague bought some ikea stuff years back and commented that the items lasted well cos she bought the more exdpensive range of items from Ikea.

:bath: i not from ikea hor =x

Hi Meowie,

hahaha ok ok... u can also bargain with her and frighten her! Wait she'll be scared of all bargain hunters from 79!

Since you're at Jln Besar, you can also ask around other shops if you want loh. Mine is a very basic model only, they have some mid-higher range heaters with more functions, bells & whistles, etc. But bear in mind that those may be bigger in size. I chose the model cos of the small size and of cos the low price!

good luck!

meepok

lol... small n cheap is good!! :yamseng:

so didn't dare to buy.

in my old house, i dun have this prob as i dun have mixer in kitchen tap. I think I must been drowsy to say yes to my ID when he asked me if i need a mixer for my tap.. haiz.

I will ask the poh joo fei fei on sat for recommendations for my case.

meowie, keep us updated of ur good buys.

Hi Tension,

Yeah heard of that before too... those towel bars supposed to be stainless steel loh, but dunno what grade. I didn't think too much, cheap only buy!

Even for chrome or some stainless steel items, they may discolor over time. Heard that u can clean n polish them with Cif, used to be known as Jif. Some kind of detergent cleaner thing.

U can ask Fei Fei to recommend u some other storage heaters if you're not getting the instant heater. Quite a friendly and nice PRC gal. They also sell those bathroom accessories stuff in case u wanna buy.

meepok

Edited by meepok

:notti: cozy with alot of things means need to clean up like crazy :yamseng:

I dun really agree with the fact that ikea things are not lasting. This is a very sweeping statement.

If we buy the lower range of Ikea stuff and expect them to last as long as the upper range from ikea, that is very impractical. At least now they do have quite good items say the kitchen that comes with 25yr warranty on structure and dunno :dunno: what else. Some of their wardrobes comes with 10yr warranty also.

My colleague bought some ikea stuff years back and commented that the items lasted well cos she bought the more exdpensive range of items from Ikea.

:bath: i not from ikea hor =x

I didn't take notice of the higher range/more expensive ikea stuff.

I only heard of the wood material not lasting.

but i am still a fan of ikea..always go there to drool ideas esp their wardrobe internal.

=)

i tried some of their mattress, quite soft, pricing also affordable, anyone bought their mattress before?

but i am still a fan of ikea..always go there to drool ideas esp their wardrobe internal.

=)

i tried some of their mattress, quite soft, pricing also affordable, anyone bought their mattress before?

ey... my feedback of their mattress is that their spring not so good... will sag in de... :yamseng:

think take mattress from those specialised in mattress brand safer... :dunno:

=)

tension, I brought ikea mattress 10 years ago, so far so good. I have no problem with it. :yamseng:

Babymaro2003

Hi Meepok,

Mine is a slim hood (dun expect to cook much la) so from sideways, it's like a box from da back & curves downwards towards the front. Has some 1cent-size holes/outlets on front top (uncovered by cabinet) but there's tis 1 larger hole on top (must look4 manual at new house). Am worried it's also another outlet cos I hv only allocated a couple of inches of space on top/within the cabinet.

As for yours, you can still open yr cabinet doors for max ventilation.

Anyway, many tks for yr pic & info. Cheers,

i think usually there will be a installation guide for the hood stating the measurements and the space needed to have for the hood...you should check...

Hi Tension,

I got mine from Poh Joo@Jln Besar at $98 each, plus u need get an extra hose to connect to the shower tap pipe, the sales people will advise u accordingly, not to worry. My ID actually included the 2 instant heater installation in the cost already, so don't need pay extra. Did your ID quote you for this in the contract?

I think it's better to install a new one, since your old heater almost 4 yrs liao, remove and install quite troublesome also. If ID included the heater installation then he may charge you for the removal of the old one liao. Not worth.

Joven not bad, been using many years already... very happy with instant heaters that's why never crossed my mind to get those storage heater things. But of cos, you don't get hot water in all your taps loh!

meepok

i also bought my 2 instant heaters at poh joo...i bought 1 707 and 1 alpha together with some toilet stuffs...

Hi Meowie,

Actually hor... my heater haven't connect electricity so can't bathe and tell u yet! :bath:

But I'm using a similar Joven heater in my current place and it seems hot enough leh... cos they got the temperature knob can control the hotness of the water mah... think even got a water flow knob to control the power of the water flow... on cold nites, I just turn the temp to max loh... and on hot days, I may even turn off the power!

I think depends on how hot u need the water to be... as long as not boiling hot can liao! 8|

meepok

My ID told me if I want to use instant heater, I will have to drill the walls of my bathroom which will be very ugly so he advised against it. In the end, I bought a storage heater of 15L. The shop said 15L is more than enough for 2 ppl and usually ppl dun bath consecutively. For those with big families, I think the next bigger size I saw is 30L

Anyone did grills for your kitchen windows for security reasons?

I did grills for all my windows. MIL said its safer if next time we have kids. Rather than make the whole place dirty next time, might as well do it at one go