boringal

My Little 3 Room Flat

Hi Guys...

Quite new here.. been browsing history and digging history abt what to do and note for reno and purchasing of appliances.. and my gawd.. so many things to note.. zzzz :o

Anyways.. i have this quote from my supplier.. although i have cfm to use their service.. i still would like to list down and and ask you guys whether if this is ex anot..

Demolish & wet work

Hack existing wall & floor tiles for kitchen + sand supply. $700.00

Supply & construct a low-height wall behind sink area to prevent spilling. $350.00

Supply & lay design non-slip homo floor tiles for kitchen. $950.00

Supply & lay full-height design porcelin wall tiles for kitchen. $2,750.00

Supply & construct bases for cabinet, fridge & cabinet. $285.00

Hack existing wall & floor tiles for common toilet + sand supply. $400.00

Supply & lay design non-slip ceramic/homo floor tiles for common toilet. $330.00

Supply & lay full-height design ceramic wall tiles for common toilet. $1,250.00

Hack existing wall & floor tiles for master toilet + sand supply. $400.00

Supply & lay design non-slip ceramic/homo floor tiles for master toilet. $330.00

Supply & lay full-height design ceramic wall tiles for master toilet. $1,250.00

Supply & lay water-proof membrane for kitchen & 2 toilets. $300.00

Supply & lay pre-pack cement for 2 toilets. $280.00

Supply & lay homo floor tiles for main staircase. $200.00

Plumbing work

Supply & install stainless steel piping for whole house include dismanlte existing. $550.00

Supply & install 2 set of instant heater with 2 way tap for common & master toilet. $380.00

Supply & convert existing squatting bowl to sitting bowl for common toilet. $50.00

Supply & install 2 set toilet bowl with slow-close cover. $640.00

Supply & install 2 set wash basin with taps for common & master toilets. $300.00

Supply & install outlet pipe for sink & washing machine. $180.00

Supply & install outlet for 2 washbasin for 2 toilets. $60.00

Supply & install stainless steel sink bowl with taps for kitchen.(Double) $250.00

Aluminium Work & gate

Supply & install 2 set aluminium bi-fold door for common & master toilet. $380.00

Supply & install aluminium sliding window for living,2 bedrooms & kitchen. $1,400.00

Supply & install 2set louvre window for 2 toilets. $350.00

Supply & install aluminium sliding grills for living,2 bedrooms & kitchen. $890.00

Supply & install wrought iron main gate for main entrance. $450.00

Wooden Doors

Supply & install 3 classic hollow painted room door for 2 bedrooms & store. $450.00

PAGE 1

Electrical(Rewiring) $2,000.00

10 light point + light installation

10 double socket

5 single socket

1 tel point

2 SCV point

1 Aircon point

2 heater point

Circuit Breaker

PUB testing

Wall & Ceiling Work

Supply & do smooth plaster on internal surface at ceiling & wall for whole house. $1,450.00

Supply & paint whole house using ICI or NIPPON paint include internal wall & ceiling,pipe $900.00

& sewage,door & frame,gate.

Carpentry Work

Kitchen:Design & build a solid plywood laminate finish bottom kitchen cabinet est $1,560.00

13ft inlcude:

:4 pull-out drawers

:1 cutlery tray

:Designer handle

:Supply & install solid surface table top for kitchen cabinet with front & back $975.00

profile est 13ft.

Master Room:Design & build a full-height laminate finish casement $2,070.00

door wardrobe with internal shelving & drawers est 9ft.

Misc

Supply material & labour to regrind/polish existing flooring for living,2 bedrooms & store. $720.00

Supply haulages & debris clearing services during & after renovation. $450.00

Supply & acidwashing/general washing for whole house before handover. $250.00

Supply & install 1 stainless steel rubbish chute for kitchen. $150.00

TOTAL ESTIMATE COST IS 26k...

I have limited budget to do my flat as I am da only income earner.. so only can make do with whatever and do up da minimal stuffs..

Although i see all other member's post here their hse reno so nice.. i think mine will be like :(

somemore the flat i bought is so original in its condition and old..

Hi Guys...

Quite new here.. been browsing history and digging history abt what to do and note for reno and purchasing of appliances.. and my gawd.. so many things to note.. zzzz :o

Anyways.. i have this quote from my supplier.. although i have cfm to use their service.. i still would like to list down and and ask you guys whether if this is ex anot..

Demolish & wet work

Hack existing wall & floor tiles for kitchen + sand supply. $700.00

Supply & construct a low-height wall behind sink area to prevent spilling. $350.00

Supply & lay design non-slip homo floor tiles for kitchen. $950.00

Supply & lay full-height design porcelin wall tiles for kitchen. $2,750.00

Supply & construct bases for cabinet, fridge & cabinet. $285.00

Hack existing wall & floor tiles for common toilet + sand supply. $400.00

Supply & lay design non-slip ceramic/homo floor tiles for common toilet. $330.00

Supply & lay full-height design ceramic wall tiles for common toilet. $1,250.00

Hack existing wall & floor tiles for master toilet + sand supply. $400.00

Supply & lay design non-slip ceramic/homo floor tiles for master toilet. $330.00

Supply & lay full-height design ceramic wall tiles for master toilet. $1,250.00

Supply & lay water-proof membrane for kitchen & 2 toilets. $300.00

Supply & lay pre-pack cement for 2 toilets. $280.00

Supply & lay homo floor tiles for main staircase. $200.00

Plumbing work

Supply & install stainless steel piping for whole house include dismanlte existing. $550.00

Supply & install 2 set of instant heater with 2 way tap for common & master toilet. $380.00

Supply & convert existing squatting bowl to sitting bowl for common toilet. $50.00

Supply & install 2 set toilet bowl with slow-close cover. $640.00

Supply & install 2 set wash basin with taps for common & master toilets. $300.00

Supply & install outlet pipe for sink & washing machine. $180.00

Supply & install outlet for 2 washbasin for 2 toilets. $60.00

Supply & install stainless steel sink bowl with taps for kitchen.(Double) $250.00

Aluminium Work & gate

Supply & install 2 set aluminium bi-fold door for common & master toilet. $380.00

Supply & install aluminium sliding window for living,2 bedrooms & kitchen. $1,400.00

Supply & install 2set louvre window for 2 toilets. $350.00

Supply & install aluminium sliding grills for living,2 bedrooms & kitchen. $890.00

Supply & install wrought iron main gate for main entrance. $450.00

Wooden Doors

Supply & install 3 classic hollow painted room door for 2 bedrooms & store. $450.00

PAGE 1

Electrical(Rewiring) $2,000.00

10 light point + light installation

10 double socket

5 single socket

1 tel point

2 SCV point

1 Aircon point

2 heater point

Circuit Breaker

PUB testing

Wall & Ceiling Work

Supply & do smooth plaster on internal surface at ceiling & wall for whole house. $1,450.00

Supply & paint whole house using ICI or NIPPON paint include internal wall & ceiling,pipe $900.00

& sewage,door & frame,gate.

Carpentry Work

Kitchen:Design & build a solid plywood laminate finish bottom kitchen cabinet est $1,560.00

13ft inlcude:

:4 pull-out drawers

:1 cutlery tray

:Designer handle

:Supply & install solid surface table top for kitchen cabinet with front & back $975.00

profile est 13ft.

Master Room:Design & build a full-height laminate finish casement $2,070.00

door wardrobe with internal shelving & drawers est 9ft.

Misc

Supply material & labour to regrind/polish existing flooring for living,2 bedrooms & store. $720.00

Supply haulages & debris clearing services during & after renovation. $450.00

Supply & acidwashing/general washing for whole house before handover. $250.00

Supply & install 1 stainless steel rubbish chute for kitchen. $150.00

TOTAL ESTIMATE COST IS 26k...

I have limited budget to do my flat as I am da only income earner.. so only can make do with whatever and do up da minimal stuffs..

Although i see all other member's post here their hse reno so nice.. i think mine will be like :(

somemore the flat i bought is so original in its condition and old..

Its possible to save $ by sourcing for some quotes yourself. Things like windows, doors, electrical, painting etc.

Mine is a 3NG, the quotes i got:

Painting for 3 room - range from $700 to $800 (whole house, including kitchen walls)

Sliding windows for whole house except bedroom (casement) + bi-fold door = $1,100

Solid main door = $450

Bedroom door (hollow) = $210 each (urs is cheaper!)

To save more, you may consider having no kitchen wall tiles, or overlaying of tiles instead. Also, its better not to have fridge base if you dun flood ur kitchen while washing.

Normally the quote is not comprehensive and can expect it to increase as the works go along... :)

Its possible to save $ by sourcing for some quotes yourself. Things like windows, doors, electrical, painting etc.

Mine is a 3NG, the quotes i got:

Painting for 3 room - range from $700 to $800 (whole house, including kitchen walls)

Sliding windows for whole house except bedroom (casement) + bi-fold door = $1,100

Solid main door = $450

Bedroom door (hollow) = $210 each (urs is cheaper!)

To save more, you may consider having no kitchen wall tiles, or overlaying of tiles instead. Also, its better not to have fridge base if you dun flood ur kitchen while washing.

Normally the quote is not comprehensive and can expect it to increase as the works go along... :)

Mine is a 3A...

i did tot of no kitchen wall tiles but i love to cook ....

hi boringal, welcome to RT!

since you've already signed the contract, no point asking for comments now..spare yourself the heartache right? ;)

my place is also a 3-rm and i also have a limited budget..haha it seems everybody has that in common. anyway, enjoy the journey and remember to post up pictures!

hi boringal, welcome to RT!

since you've already signed the contract, no point asking for comments now..spare yourself the heartache right? ;)

my place is also a 3-rm and i also have a limited budget..haha it seems everybody has that in common. anyway, enjoy the journey and remember to post up pictures!

learn from my mistakes lor.. i mean i told my contracter if i manage to find someone who can do cheaper for some items i will not ask him to do it..

so thought of sharing my quote and see what others think...

I do have some pics.. but aint clear hence going to take some clear ones before reno and post..

oh you mean can simply remove items from the contract as you go along one ah? have you placed deposit yet?

ya no penalty meh?

oh you mean can simply remove items from the contract as you go along one ah? have you placed deposit yet?

place deposit liao.. i made it upfront to him abt some items i am particular abt..

ya no penalty meh?

some got penalty, some give freekick, some even give corner kick... :P

depend on the contractor/ID we engaged lor...if the fella is all abt the $$ then cham lor..

if got heart and understanding abit ho sei la...:good:

dun worry la boringal..u must not compare other ppl house reno with urs. :drunk:

impt thing is u and family happy to live there mah. sometimes things easy on the eyes but behind it, maintenance is a hassle, debt to service reno loan can be stressful etc etc. :unsure:

Go within ur means! Jia you! :yamseng:

depend on the contractor/ID we engaged lor...if the fella is all abt the $$ then cham lor..

dun worry la boringal..u must not compare other ppl house reno with urs. :drunk:

impt thing is u and family happy to live there mah. sometimes things easy on the eyes but behind it, maintenance is a hassle, debt to service reno loan can be stressful etc etc. :unsure:

Can always do progressive renovation. :)

if got heart and understanding abit ho sei la... :good:

Other than that, a yellow or red card will be flashed. :D

For mine, I can debit any item during the reno and I actually remove some items to save cost. keke :P

Boringal, u may want to consider not to do some items, and u still need to set aside some $ for others like bathrm accessories, lightings, electronic etc.

I think u can skip plastering if your wall are quite acceptable unless it has alot of "pimples" and u cant stand them.

Your electrical work are on a high side as well. Do consider outsource or dont do rewiring if your house is not that old. ;)

Anyway, u should enjoy the whole process instead of worrying! I also overstretched my budget, yet I'm enjoying. haha :yamseng:

Edited by Angteko

yea.. most impt thing is i guess i happy can already

Other than that, a yellow or red card will be flashed. :D

For mine, I can debit any item during the reno and I actually remove some items to save cost. keke :P

Boringal, u may want to consider not to do some items, and u still need to set aside some $ for others like bathrm accessories, lightings, electronic etc.

I think u can skip plastering if your wall are quite acceptable unless it has alot of "pimples" and u cant stand them.

Your electrical work are on a high side as well. Do consider outsource or dont do rewiring if your house is not that old. ;)

Anyway, u should enjoy the whole process instead of worrying! I also overstretched my budget, yet I'm enjoying. haha :yamseng:

i am actually reusing back alot of old stuffs.. like fridge.. washing machine.. i already gotten my tv and aircon.. now my contractor say i only need to get is hob n hood and lightings..

plastering i think i must do leh.. coz hor.. very ugly.. zzz da flat very original in da condition.. so rewiring oso need to be done.. i actually complain to da ID saying why da electrical works so ex.. he say is around this range.. and i did tot outsourcing.. but then i tot it would be better to have all in one service as i heard of bad coordination if you have a couple of diff ppl doing reno for your hse...

i try to limit my budget coz i cant afford to spend too much as used up all da savings to buy the hse due to taking bank loan plus da COV :(

now i am getting abit worried abt the toilet pipings as seems that it leaked before :curse:

i am actually reusing back alot of old stuffs.. like fridge.. washing machine.. i already gotten my tv and aircon.. now my contractor say i only need to get is hob n hood and lightings..

plastering i think i must do leh.. coz hor.. very ugly.. zzz da flat very original in da condition.. so rewiring oso need to be done.. i actually complain to da ID saying why da electrical works so ex.. he say is around this range.. and i did tot outsourcing.. but then i tot it would be better to have all in one service as i heard of bad coordination if you have a couple of diff ppl doing reno for your hse...

i try to limit my budget coz i cant afford to spend too much as used up all da savings to buy the hse due to taking bank loan plus da COV :(

now i am getting abit worried abt the toilet pipings as seems that it leaked before :curse:

for outsourcing, can try if you know people who do it well

if not leave it to ID/contractor to take care, if not coordinating the schedule etc very troublesome

although getting the best deal is important, the most important thing in reno is to have responsible ID/contractor who get complete decent job in agreed time frame

everything else is secondary

just my thoughts