darkfear

Destination: Simei

haha thanks... i think we are both very glad we got jason who is very dedicated and efficient! reading all the other horror stories like ah soon or henry made us realize we are really very fortunate..

how come so long??? and yet you found an ID liao??? efficient sia!

No lah. This ID on my sig did up our flat 2+ years ago. This one is 2nd prop that we bought but cannot move it cos bought with tenancy. Will cost me a lot of $$ to kick them out, so no point, betterto wait till tenancy runs out.

Figured that at least we'll have good lead timeto source for ID / contractor to do up the place (maybetake up several part-timejobs to pay for reno :unsure: )

:rofl::rofl:

<--- me waitin for samgalz to appear...

**gets ready oil, salt and vinegar for samgalz to add**

lol and you can get a really big fan to fan the flames too right!!

I'm here....:lol:

Darkfear, u need me teach u how to write DIE??!! u shd never call a woman confused esp on the net.... tsk tsk :no:

Marsbars, make it dumbo senior ears!!! wahahahaha

Edited by samgalz

No lah. This ID on my sig did up our flat 2+ years ago. This one is 2nd prop that we bought but cannot move it cos bought with tenancy. Will cost me a lot of $$ to kick them out, so no point, betterto wait till tenancy runs out.

Figured that at least we'll have good lead timeto source for ID / contractor to do up the place (maybetake up several part-timejobs to pay for reno :unsure: )

ooooh.... eh so good can buy second prop so soon liao! :D no lah its good to buy with tenancy u get money oso mah!!

hahaha i would like to recommend my super renovator Jason! lolz... just relax first and decide on design.. budget can settle later!

Darkfear, u need me teach u how to write DIE??!! u shd never call a woman confused esp on the net.... tsk tsk :no:

wah lao... the fire too big liao tak boleh dahan!!!! :help:

ooooh.... eh so good can buy second prop so soon liao! :D no lah its good to buy with tenancy u get money oso mah!!

hahaha i would like to recommend my super renovator Jason! lolz... just relax first and decide on design.. budget can settle later!

We really had to scrimp and save for this over many years bro. Also with the MOP rules, we could not buy anything 2-3 years ago when prices were more attractive.

To put things in context, the unit we just bought was approx 200K+ cheaper back in 2007. That's life. The current HDB we have lived in since 2004. We only started looking in Aug last year (after fulfilling MOP) and settled on our dream unit at end of June this year. OTP signed in July and sale just completed...phew... talk about timing.

Oh, I've been watching Jason closely :D

Am likely to contact him in the next few weeks. Read he's not taking any projects in Oct / Nov. Good thing for me is my project only commences in late Apr next year :notti:

I've seen a few ID and received some outrageous quotations :furious:

I have an idea for design so may not need an ID. I would however be willing to engage a designer i.e. pure design and then get a solid contractor to implement and manage. So is Jason ID or contractor?

Edited by JCase

:rofl:

no wonder everybody on the forum calls you sammy jie! you are not to be trifled with! don't play play!

I have an idea for design so may not need an ID. I would however be willing to engage a designer i.e. pure design and then get a solid contractor to implement and manage. So is Jason ID or contractor?

To me, the difference between an ID and a contractor is just a piece of paper certification (got diploma or not). What's really important is what's inside the renovator's head - his ideas, his creativity and the ability to put himself in the shoes of the user to maximize the utility of the renovations. Take for example the pull-out ikea-style rack that he gave us FOC.. It came as a total surprise to us because it wasn't in the agreed quotation, but he just decided to go ahead and do it for us because he thought that it would make a perfect place to keep condiments (next to our breakfast space) :wub:

We've actually spoken to some quite reputable IDs before we came across Jason in the forum, and honestly, even as they were showing us all the certificates that they have (even their tilers and painters all got certs :P), we were not impressed much by their cookie-cutter ideas. But the moment we spoke to Jason (he agreed to come down to our HDB final inspection), we knew we had to engage him. That's how good he is! You need it see it for yourself!

And don't worry about the design part. This guy is bursting with great ideas. :bow:

We really had to scrimp and save for this over many years bro. Also with the MOP rules, we could not buy anything 2-3 years ago when prices were more attractive.

To put things in context, the unit we just bought was approx 200K+ cheaper back in 2007. That's life. The current HDB we have lived in since 2004. We only started looking in Aug last year (after fulfilling MOP) and settled on our dream unit at end of June this year. OTP signed in July and sale just completed...phew... talk about timing.

Oh, I've been watching Jason closely :D

Am likely to contact him in the next few weeks. Read he's not taking any projects in Oct / Nov. Good thing for me is my project only commences in late Apr next year :notti:

I've seen a few ID and received some outrageous quotations :furious:

yeah thats true.. stupid MOP rules creating so much problems for real houseowners who want to upgrade. I mean I know this rich auntie who lives in a bungalow but she buys a HDB flat just to rent out.. bloody rules have no brains and same for the people who formulated them :furious:

haha thats good to know and I'm sure if you observe all his past posts plus his present work, you will have an idea of what kind of contractor he is.

Outrageous quotations aside, I don't think those "IDs" can even compare with the ideas and designs that Jason came up with.. I've talked to about 6 so-called IDs and I'm totally unimpressed by them. Boring cookie-cutter ideas, impractical designs and totally weird suggestions were given by most of the IDs. Meeting Jason for the first time was an eyeopener as he improved on our original designs for the house, without sacrificing the functionality of each structure. As our reno progressed along, we were constantly surprised by his ideas and improvements, as pointed out by my wife marsbars.

Some people meet bad contractors, while many people are happy that their renovations passed without a hitch. For me, my satisfaction in acquiring Jason's services go beyond his coordination skills and workmanship. His ideas and value-added freebies just make our entire renovation process so super enjoyable. Although I'm happy that the reno for my house is finishing soon, I'm abit sad that the process is coming to an end because it is truly that enjoyable :P

Jason refuses to call himself an ID because he thinks he's not paper-qualified. Well to me thats bull lolz.. But anyways ID, contractor, or even some crap "reno consultant" you might have seen around, it's just a salutation. Ultimately, just work with who you think you're comfortable with. For me, I think I've just engaged the perfect renovation specialist :D

I LOVE MY HOUSE!!! :sport-smiley-004:

Like something straight from an Ikea catalogue:

photo1.jpg

Can't wait for the solid surface and glass backsplash to be up. :thumbs up:

hahaha yes dear it's like an ikea picture!!! wait... i think ikea's stuff not that nice LOL!!!! i love my house... SEE I TOLD YOU RED IS GOOD!!!!

btw... I'm arguing with wifey (although Jason and his two partners agree with me so I dunno why she still bothers arguing) about whether the tap should be on the left or the right. Middle cannot because the sink will pop out~

LEFT (DUMMMMMBBBBBB :P)

photo2.jpg

RIGHT (IT'S THE RIGHT WAY!!!!!)

photo3.jpg

We are both right handed btw :rolleyes:

btw... I'm arguing with wifey (although Jason and his two partners agree with me so I dunno why she still bothers arguing) about whether the tap should be on the left or the right. Middle cannot because the sink will pop out~

LEFT (DUMMMMMBBBBBB :P)

photo2.jpg

RIGHT (IT'S THE RIGHT WAY!!!!!)

photo3.jpg

We are both right handed btw :rolleyes:

put on right side cuz on the left the water might splash on the glass divider for the shower and hv waterspot

Edited by timtim

darkfear and marsbar, thanks for the feedback and ringing endorsement about Jason. From the pics the workmanship and final product looks top notch. I will seriously consider setting up a discussion with him. Ideas wise I have a few of my own (thanks to some handy mags :P that I've been buying). For me the toilets and kitchen are the most impt. I'm fussy as **** and hate my toilet floors to be wet, so shower screens is a must.

I just met with the ex-ID and she did propose some useful ideas, I have to say she has a good sense of aesthetics and elegance but jeebus, I need to work 2 more jobs to afford everything that she's suggesting :~

Now if I can get the best of all worlds... my design idea + his at a fair price then sweet.

Anyway I am meeting with my tenants on Sun nite and will take pics of the place. Will post in a blog if / when I figure out how to post. I'm low tech man.

Love the red laminates in your kitchen. We currently have white and red laminates in our flat's kitchen so maybe something different for the new place. I like the fact that Jason uses Blum hinges for the kitchen (well mentioned on his webby anyway).

Look fwd to see the final product of your home soon.

darkfear and marsbar, thanks for the feedback and ringing endorsement about Jason. From the pics the workmanship and final product looks top notch. I will seriously consider setting up a discussion with him. Ideas wise I have a few of my own (thanks to some handy mags :P that I've been buying). For me the toilets and kitchen are the most impt. I'm fussy as **** and hate my toilet floors to be wet, so shower screens is a must.

I just met with the ex-ID and she did propose some useful ideas, I have to say she has a good sense of aesthetics and elegance but jeebus, I need to work 2 more jobs to afford everything that she's suggesting :~

Now if I can get the best of all worlds... my design idea + his at a fair price then sweet.

Anyway I am meeting with my tenants on Sun nite and will take pics of the place. Will post in a blog if / when I figure out how to post. I'm low tech man.

Love the red laminates in your kitchen. We currently have white and red laminates in our flat's kitchen so maybe something different for the new place. I like the fact that Jason uses Blum hinges for the kitchen (well mentioned on his webby anyway).

Look fwd to see the final product of your home soon.

haha yeap same here i like the toilet dry where it's supposed to be dry... but unfortunately, we didn't do a kerb for common toilet cos didn't wanna spend on it so oh wellz.. yep for the house, we love the kitchen and mbr toilet the most! maybe cos these two places are the most completed haha.. once my living and entertainment room completed im sure i will love all of them as well!!

Well Jason's quote happened to be the most competitive one as well so hopefully he can meet your range as well :D

easy to post pix, just upload it unto photobucket and click the insert image shortcut then put in the weblink to the image ok liao!

yep love the burgundy too.. saw alot of nice red kitchens and decided i wanted one as well :D wife was initially opposed to it but gave in, and now she loves it as well haha~

oooooo i found a playstation 3 lobang i think not bad one might be buying soon!!!

-PS3 Slim 120gb Console (Piano Black)

-Standard accessories (Controller, power cable, VGA cable)

-Extra DS 6axis controller

-2 games (Resident Evil 5, MGS 4)

-Bought in May 10.. Online warranty not yet registered!

$380 nia!

I calculate aga aga.. Controller = $40, HDMI cable = $5, 2 Games $50. means the set going for less than $300! i think quite a good deal given the set is still under warranty! I'm also interested in those 2 games so just niceeeee

I will register the online warranty on the spot to see whether it's still valid or not :P yayyyyy

Edited by darkfear

oooooo i found a playstation 3 lobang i think not bad one might be buying soon!!!

-PS3 Slim 120gb Console (Piano Black)

-Standard accessories (Controller, power cable, VGA cable)

-Extra DS 6axis controller

-2 games (Resident Evil 5, MGS 4)

-Bought in May 10.. Online warranty not yet registered!

$380 nia!

I calculate aga aga.. Controller = $40, HDMI cable = $5, 2 Games $50. means the set going for less than $300! i think quite a good deal given the set is still under warranty! I'm also interested in those 2 games so just niceeeee

I will register the online warranty on the spot to see whether it's still valid or not :P yayyyyy

:furious:8|:angry2::no: