bepgof

Ge 2011 Talk

George Yeo: ""Even those who are anti-PAP, who are critical, when they travel they feel so proud of being Singaporeans... When they come home, the moment they get the SIA boarding pass, there's a flutter in their hearts...yes, I'm on my way home."

I am proud to be a singaporean. It doesn't mean that i am proud of your PAP. It's dangerous that he actually associated our country, Singapore = PAP.

PAP MPs only know how to scold Singaporeans, calling us daft, not hungry enough etc. Why they never go and scold Temasek Holding directors like H* Ching, GIC directors and town councils for losing hundreds billions of taxpayers' money?

PAP should give some due credits to Singaporeans for the success of SIA etc lor. If Singaporeans don't pay them so much tax, they got the money to build Changi Airport and set up SIA?

No doubt PAP has put Singapore on near top of the world. However, too many policies set are one-way, irreguardless as to education (Tony Tan has said before : 2 Uni are enough for singapore), cpf, public/pte housing, commercial & industrial pty, gst %, immigration, foreign labourer, coe quota, "merit system", casino, NEA, PUB, URA...etc etc.

- Only "elites" are good at making these decisions? Even the "wiseman" LKY has even almost implementing to let university parents' children to have "privilege" to go into top primary schools, ideas scrapped after some strong objections. This was the original version of "elite concept"- only elites produce elites and elites enjoy at the expenses of commoners. Why Edu Minister last minute pull brake not to reduce Chinese's weightage in PSLE? What will happen after GE, let's see.

- Why insist to let a 27yr old to go into parliament through GRC system? Bring PAP any good? Think! Why at this time!.The next round will be a 17 yr old liao.

PAP is also commercialising canteens of primary schools and secondary schools by putting them out for tenders. Soon, each canteen stall owner will have to pay $4000 rent per month; 1 plate of mee will be selling at $4 to kids.

In old system, each canteen stall owner only pays ~$20 rent per month directly to the school management. Therefore they are able to sell cheap cheap food to kids.

Why don't they spare even 7 year old kids? :rolleyes:

No doubt PAP has put Singapore on near top of the world. However, too many policies set are one-way, irreguardless as to education (Tony Tan has said before : 2 Uni are enough for singapore), cpf, public/pte housing, commercial & industrial pty, gst %, immigration, foreign labourer, coe quota, "merit system", casino, NEA, PUB, URA...etc etc.

- Only "elites" are good at making these decisions? Even the "wiseman" LKY has even almost implementing to let university parents' children to have "privilege" to go into top primary schools, ideas scrapped after some strong objections. This was the original version of "elite concept"- only elites produce elites and elites enjoy at the expenses of commoners. Why Edu Minister last minute pull brake not to reduce Chinese's weightage in PSLE? What will happen after GE, let's see.

- Why insist to let a 27yr old to go into parliament through GRC system? Bring PAP any good? Think! Why at this time!.The next round will be a 17 yr old liao.

PM Lee's son will be 28 years old at the next GE. Is TPL a 'lamb' to test test the public's reaction? ;)

making way for 3rd Generation of FamiLEE :rolleyes:

PM Lee's son will be 28 years old at the next GE. Is TPL a 'lamb' to test test the public's reaction? ;)

WOW

forgotten.

We share the same mind

Which son?

That Dear Uncle Teo? :D

WOW

forgotten.

We share the same mind

Which son?

That Dear Uncle Teo? :D

High Five! :D

Side-track, I saw you wrote [The MP famous quote "sacking Singaporean elderly workers and replacing them with foreigners in his constituency" ] at the other thread. Now father has dragged son to join in the million-dollar party leh, his son is one of 6 MPs for my GRC. Some opposition, please come to my GRC, I don't want walk-over!

my side confirm + crop + crop got opposition come.

Hope this round their % goes up better than 2006 GE. Best take over.

This round, my side 2 MP retired. The one who say [every time I look at my CPF statement, I feel I'm rich] took over the seat.

I will make sure he know I don't feel rich when I look at my CPF statement. :curse:

my side confirm + crop + crop got opposition come.

Hope this round their % goes up better than 2006 GE. Best take over.

This round, my side 2 MP retired. The one who say [every time I look at my CPF statement, I feel I'm rich] took over the seat.

I will make sure he know I don't feel rich when I look at my CPF statement. :curse:

Haha I know who...

LS_ : Better, betterer, betterest!

No opposition is coming to my GRC :( My vote is very itchy.

See the way PM replied to a NUS student: http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporesc...231901-526.html

High Five! :D

Side-track, I saw you wrote [The MP famous quote "sacking Singaporean elderly workers and replacing them with foreigners in his constituency" ] at the other thread. Now father has dragged son to join in the million-dollar party leh, his son is one of 6 MPs for my Sembawang GRC. Some opposition, please come to my GRC, I don't want walk-over!

BTW, this MP. No one like him.

His eye looking at the sky one.

I think he is the one that say sth which offend the temple at his area. Until don't know is ah Goh or Ah Lee come and settle for him.

This news only appear in chinese zaobao.

Strait time, no news no report at all

http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/03/08/10...comment-page-3/

10 most unforgettable quotes from PAP MPs during parliament

10. Dr Vivian Balakrishnan (Holland-Bukit Timah GRC) on why he has ordered the removal of homeless Singaporeans camping out in the public (forcefully):

“I have taken such an active stand to make sure we do not have people camping out on beaches, or parks or void decks, even though these may be safe and indeed, sometimes even pleasant areas for adults. These are not good and safe areas for children. And so I have insisted that (to) anyone with children. The children must be put in a proper home; they must continue to go to school. They must continue to get access to good food, good hygiene”

9. Jessica Tan (East Coast GRC) expressing her worries that the hike in foreign worker levy will turn away foreigners:

“The hike in the foreign worker levy which if not calibrate, will send the wrong signal to companies looking to invest in Singapore or to foreign talents that the country is not open.”

8. Josephine Teo (Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC) rejecting WP MP Low Thia Kiang’s suggestion to scrap the foreign worker levy:

“”I can speak on behalf of the union leaders that we totally and firmly reject Mr Low’s disastrous suggestion that we remove the foreign worker levy as it will harm our workers’ interest.”

7. Seah Kian Peng (Marine Parade GRC) asking the PAP to spend more taxpayers’ monies to help the new citizens feel welcomed in Singapore:

“We have not done any large scale survey, we do not know their problems but we have already gone ahead and decided that the funds will go towards organizing activities…..What we ought to do is first – find out what new Singaporeans need, and then target funding at helping them meet these needs.”

==> Then how about local breed Singaporean need?

6. Teo Chee Hean (Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC) on the ruling party’s renewed focus on productivity which has declined consecutively for the last three years and being caught napping during a speech made by DPM Wong Kan Seng:

““We are now a more developed economy – further up the productivity curve. We have made progress, but those ahead of us have also progressed and moved up as well. And those behind us have made rapid advances and are catching up with us.”

5. Koo Tsai Kee (Tanjong Pagar GRC) trying to lick the boots of his superior, Teo Chee Hean:

“The SAF, despite its manpower constraints, has been able to face up to a widening range of security threats in recent years under Defence Minister Teo….And I am not saying this because he’s my boss.”

4. Baey Yam Keng (Tanjong Pagar GRC) who told the media a few days ago that he planned to raise issues concerning his residents in Parliament

“Food is an important part of our rich cultural heritage – one which has been and will always been an attraction to locals and foreigners alike……The Food Museum could delve into aspects of local cuisine, such as ‘why Hong Kong noodles did not originate from Hong Kong’, and ‘why our Hainanese chicken rice is different from that found in Hainan Island’” .

3. Mah Bow Tan (Tampines GRC) who appeared lost after being grilled by fellow PAP MP Inderjit Singh:

“PRs make up only one in five resale flat buyers and have minimal impact on resale prices.”

2. Ong Ah Heng (Yishun Central) in an impassioned speech to defend foreign workers:

“I know of one family who complain the cleaners in their precinct are lazy and too old. They don’t want local workers who are old, they want young foreign workers. To satisfy the demand, I changed the local workers to foreign workers. Foreign workers are not a burden to us. Their presence here is not negative. Without foreign workers, things will be worse.”

And the quote of the year so far goes to Lim Swee Say for revealing the truth about the PAP MPs – that they are deaf to all feedback and criticisms.

1. Lim Swee Say (Holland-Bukit Timah GRC) to Low Thia Kiang for bruising his ego:

“We never give up……. We are deaf to all these criticisms…..So instead of telling us that low-wage workers are having problems, why not be part of the solution?”

We can’t really blame them for being deaf when they have been taught all along to sing in tune with their piper master PAP’s octogenarian leader Lee Kuan Yew:

“To be the prime minister, you don’t have to know every instrument, but you got to recognise, ah, he’s a good violinist, he’ll be the first violinist, he’ll be the double bass. He will play the viola, he will have the trumpet, he will do the drums. Then you coordinate them and then you have great music. And if you already have a great orchestra, you can put a dummy there and you still got great music.”

[source: Channel News Asia, 5 March 2008]

Singaporeans, do you still see any value in voting for the PAP in the next election? This are the kind of MPs you will get raising your concerns in Parliament! And don’t forget you are paying them $13,000 monthly to sprout such highfalutin stuff!

Remember the PAP election slogan of 2006 – “Staying together, Moving ahead”? The PAP MPs are indeed staying together and moving ahead without us! While the pay of the PAP ministers, ministers of states and parliamentary secretaries are expected to increase by 8.8 percent this year, will you even dream of a pay rise?

When your PAP MP put up a “wayang” house visit to your home in the next few months before the election and pretend to “listen” to you, don’t forget this gentle reminder from Lim Swee Say:

“We are DEAF to all criticisms!”

BTW, this MP. No one like him.

His eye looking at the sky one.

I think he is the one that say sth which offend the temple at his area. Until don't know is ah Goh or Ah Lee come and settle for him.

This news only appear in chinese zaobao.

Strait time, no news no report at all

What happen after he offended the temple? I am curious to know.

I also read TR often hehe.

What happen after he offended the temple? I am curious to know.

I think tio cover up.

Newspaper didn't follow up later.

3rd May 06 - Lunchtime Election Rally

"Right now we have Low Thia Khiang, Chiam See Tong, Steve Chia. We can deal with them. Suppose you had 10, 15, 20 opposition members in Parliament. Instead of spending my time thinking what is the right policy for Singapore, I'm going to spend all my time thinking what's the right way to fix them, to buy my supporters votes, how can I solve this week's problem and forget about next year's challenges?"

Lee Hsien Loong

http://singabloodypore.civiblog.org/blog/_.../4/1931906.html

======================

Buy votes??? WOW!!!

wow, you all have really good memories to dig out these old old newspaper reports~ :D

just noticed that i have never heard of many of the MPs in that top 10 quotes... all those unknown names are from big GRCs.... :rolleyes: