bepgof

Ge 2011 Talk

PAP thought he is everyone's "ah gong". Ah gong can lecture ppls, can treathen not to give you rice to eat, can do anything he wishes to do.

i wished that Hougang NUS student had made his point on "can I don't pay tax?" more obvious. it is a very valid point. Why should residents in opposition wards be treated unfair though they also pay tax?

SINGAPORE : He has been called the Workers' Party's 'secret weapon', but corporate lawyer Chen Show Mao said the true weapon would be the votes of Singaporeans during Polling Day.

He wants to help build a strong opposition to provide checks and balances on the government.

Mr Chen made a public appearance at a walkabout in the single ward of Joo Chiat on Sunday.

Moving from coffeeshops to cafes, the Workers' Party eagerly showed off its much-talked about candidate - Chen Show Mao - to residents in the suburban neighbourhood of Siglap.

Even though he has lived abroad for some 30 years, Mr Chen had little trouble connecting with the residents.

Based in China, the Taiwan-born lawyer plans to relocate to Singapore.

The 50-year-old took up citizenship in 1986 and has degrees from Harvard, Oxford and Stanford Universities.

Mr Chen said he disagreed with Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's comments that Singapore should pool its best political talents into one team.

Mr Lee had likened this to how countries only fielded their best team to compete in the World Cup.

Mr Chen said: "The team that we are sending to the World Cup is the national team. It is the team that wears red and white, it is not the team that wears white and white. The government certainly has a big part to play on Team Singapore, but they are not all of Singapore.

"We feel that to have the best kind of policy, it is no good to put all of our talent, however limited they may be, into one team and have the rest just watch them warm up, because this team is not going to be able to play matches and improve."

Mr Chen said a team only improves and sharpens its skills if it plays against strong opposing teams.

When asked if the Workers' Party planned to unveil another 'secret weapon', Mr Chen said this is in the hands of Singaporeans.

He said: "The votes of Singaporeans will become the Workers' Party secret weapon...our greatest secret weapon."

The Workers' Party's secretary-general, Low Thia Khiang, also took issue with the role of the People's Association, saying he will disband it if the Workers' Party comes to power.

Mr Low said the ruling People's Action Party (PAP) uses the PA to do its outreach work to residents.

He said: "We will first of all remove the PA, because the PA is basically part of the PAP's grassroots mechanism. We would want to see a more level-playing field in political competition and I am sure as a party, you have to reach out to the ground rather than depend on a mechanism which is funded by the government in the name of grassroots."

The Workers' Party has been busy working the ground and meeting residents from constituencies like Nee Soon, Moulmein-Kallang, Hougang and now Joo Chiat. This is a strong indication that they plan to field over 20 candidates to contest these areas in the coming General Election.

- CNA/ms

A sudden appearance of "secret weapon" is not a good thing, especially just returned from "oversea". Should have more public exposure, as much as possible . He should contect in GRC, together with heavy heavy weight figures in a more WP-pro constituency, eg Aljunied or East Coast.

Goh CT from NOL, pulled Lim BH from NOL, now Lim is retired, Parliament will be filled with ppls mostly from NTUC & MINDEF, why like that? Quite worrying should real emergency breakout, what will be their finall decision and action? Bye bye singapore? Should have more ppl background like Teo SL, from private sector.

A sudden appearance of "secret weapon" is not a good thing, especially just returned from "oversea". Should have more public exposure, as much as possible . He should contect in GRC, together with heavy heavy weight figures in a more WP-pro constituency, eg Aljunied or East Coast.

Goh CT from NOL, pulled Lim BH from NOL, now Lim is retired, Parliament will be filled with ppls mostly from NTUC & MINDEF, why like that? Quite worrying should real emergency breakout, what will be their finall decision and action? Bye bye singapore? Should have more ppl background like Teo SL, from private sector.

PAP loves pulling people from MINDEF & NTUC, they are deemed to be more obedient.

Employees from civil sector are drilled by management to be too black and white, and follow red tape. After some time, one will deteriorate in critical thinking skill after too many years in civil sector.

During emergency cases, you see them crafting out long-winded procedures with boliao documentations, and noone dares to give approval and sign on them! By then, precious time is wasted and civilians suffer on the street.

I think he is much more better than that Dr who converted to Singaporean 3 yrs ago.

Wondering, is it due to PAP invite him for tea. That's why he converted.

At least "Secret weapon" do NS. This DR say, he has save alot of baby. That is same as doing NS. :furious:

So, next time, all Dr can use this as excuse. I save life. NO NS for me. B'coz that Dr say so

I think he is much more better than that Dr who converted to Singaporean 3 yrs ago.

Wondering, is it due to PAP invite him for tea. That's why he converted.

At least "Secret weapon" do NS. This DR say, he has save alot of baby. That is same as doing NS. :furious:

So, next time, all Dr can use this as excuse. I save life. NO NS for me. B'coz that Dr say so

This DR received good pay for saving babies!

Compare to the pay of NS man, 'one is heaven, one is ground'.

At next GE, we may get Pinoy MP liao haha.

no surprise.

Singapore is practising Parachute politics

New PAP candidates

Dr Janil Puthucheary , a paediatrician at KK Children and Women Hospital, came to Singapore in 2001 but only became a citizen in 2008.

Foo Mee Har, 45, the global head of premier banking at Standard Chartered Bank, also became a citizen in 2008.

Born in Malaysia, has made Singapore home since 1989

What do you think: WP chief will contest in SMC or GRC, why? Where the "secret weapon" will go to?

Correct! 100%. Goh CT has done quite some to improve liao. LKY time worse still - want come, don't want here you go.

Politic is like that, so many policies are actually in place(They proundly say " we have", when ppls ask how they help ppls) BUT make procedures so complicated till ppls half way give up "voluntarily" - Elites always use this tactic without fail ! The only way to deal with "elites" is not to authorise them anything by using your rights, then they will be L L. Looked at Mah BT, before contesting, got wind here & there but when lost to Chiam ST, he L L and kept quite and toned down a lot.

PAP loves pulling people from MINDEF & NTUC, they are deemed to be more obedient.

Employees from civil sector are drilled by management to be too black and white, and follow red tape. After some time, one will deteriorate in critical thinking skill after too many years in civil sector.

During emergency cases, you see them crafting out long-winded procedures with boliao documentations, and noone dares to give approval and sign on them! By then, precious time is wasted and civilians suffer on the street.

What do you think: WP chief will contest in SMC or GRC, why? Where the "secret weapon" will go to?

Chinese new paper say.. WP has another "secret weapon"

Now opposition can tell kiasi folks "Better buy opposition insurance if you don't want nuclear plant built at your doorstep".

I don't want to buy for opposition insurance.

I only want to buy for opposition voice.

Voice that can say NO to 26% increment to S$4.2 million.

When they start to increase President pay, next will be those ministers.

How many of us get 26% increment on the same job w/o jumping company?

Provided the secret weapon aim at right target and trigger at right timing, otherwise it is just another "white elephant".

What Lau TK siad is correct: opposition must "get" a GRC, then PAP will scare and really open their ears listen to commoners. MIL told me recently saw Lee YS with "grassroot" leaders at bedok hawker center sitting on chair & ordered food. One of the "leader" put a "tissue" round Lee's under cheek, wow lau carry the ball till like that, these "leaders" should be shot dead.

Chinese new paper say.. WP has another "secret weapon"

Correct lah, should form, run and properly maintain some town councils first then talk about selling insurance to the commoners.

I don't want to buy for opposition insurance.

I only want to buy for opposition voice.

Voice that can say NO to 26% increment to S$4.2 million.

When they start to increase President pay, next will be those ministers.

How many of us get 26% increment on the same job w/o jumping company?

Singapore how big? 17km north to south, 34km east to west. No matter where the plant built, once leak, all kena, including neighbouring countries. Lee talked abt this at wrong time.

Now opposition can tell kiasi folks "Better buy opposition insurance if you don't want nuclear plant built at your doorstep".