tristesse

Mansionette Owner

Wow. Adidaem. U are really good to do such a thorough study and analysis. ",)

Thanks but I didn't actually do any study/analysis on the blowers, features, etc unlike some of the other owners in RT who did (e.g. http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=51576). Anyway for BTU requirement we just went to the aircon specialist we engaged with the floor plan and got them to compute for us. Only thing is that I was discouraged (by the ac guy) from installing aircon in the kitchen, much to my hubby's relief.

AC installation its best to go to a reputable shop that has folks who know what they are doing rather than just clinching a sale. It is best if they are willing to send someone down to take a look onsite and assess what you need then give recommendations. Poor installation can be a nightmare, a friend of mine nearly had to take down his false ceiling! Jap brands should be pretty ok, I was only advised to stay away from korean brands. My L1 is completely open and we have an 18k and 12k unit, enough to make the place cool. L2 IIRC was 12k, 9k and 9k BTU.

It's really nice to see so many EM owners here sharing info.

I'm so looking forward to Reno my EM when the current tenant lease expires in 2yrs time! Hehe :)

Meanwhile, will stay on and follow through to get more info and updates.

Cheers to all

AC installation its best to go to a reputable shop that has folks who know what they are doing rather than just clinching a sale. It is best if they are willing to send someone down to take a look onsite and assess what you need then give recommendations. Poor installation can be a nightmare, a friend of mine nearly had to take down his false ceiling! Jap brands should be pretty ok, I was only advised to stay away from korean brands. My L1 is completely open and we have an 18k and 12k unit, enough to make the place cool. L2 IIRC was 12k, 9k and 9k BTU.

Yep... and they work with IDs/contractors so they are usually more willing to make more than 1 trip to do the piping and blower installation separately. This is really important if you plan to conceal ugly ac trunkings. I tried going to G*** C*** and some other big electrical stores but the sales people just pushed the usual 9k BTU x 3 or 4. Such a turn-off. Don't even think they know how to calculate BTU requirements.

My ac specialist made at least 4 trips - 1 for initial assessment (and discussion with ID re: blower placement), 1 for piping installation, 1 for blower installation, and 1 more for rectification of not so aligned bracket (tho no one else thought the non-alignment is obvious since you have to look up and be anal about straight lines like me). Don't think my aircon price was the cheapest, but for the service/time provided think was well worth the extra $.

It's really nice to see so many EM owners here sharing info.

I'm so looking forward to Reno my EM when the current tenant lease expires in 2yrs time! Hehe :)

Meanwhile, will stay on and follow through to get more info and updates.

Cheers to all

But your new condo unit will also be ready in 2 years? You planning to move to your condo or back to EM?

So nice to have 3 properties. I keep telling my hubby I need a new house so that I can shop for more furnitures. :rolleyes:

But your new condo unit will also be ready in 2 years? You planning to move to your condo or back to EM?

So nice to have 3 properties. I keep telling my hubby I need a new house so that I can shop for more furnitures. :rolleyes:

Or you can refurnish your current place every year. :D A lot cheaper than buying another property.

But if I do that I won't have $ to buy another property... or retire earlier... hmm... needs vs wants. :rolleyes:

Mabbe I can convince my sis to get a new place instead and help her to shop... haha! Evil sister me...

Yeap... New place only ready in 2yrs time and current EM is tenanted out.

But planning to reno the entire EM n do thorough make-over when lease is over... That will be after my new place ready lor.

Abit kiasu to start looking for ideas now but just wanna slowly see n check around for new nice nice ideas. :rolleyes:

Just to share my thoughts.....

I personally still find my EM small....wish it could have been bigger especially downstairs.

1. The utility room is too small to be a guest room :(

2. The store created under the stairs is too small n inconvenient to put or get the things I want. I had to create another storeroom, but it "eats" into my living hall space. :(

3. There is no service yard for laundry. I could only create a small one to put a washing machine n a small basin. Very "squeezy" :(

4. Kitchen is too small for a wet n dry area :(

Edited by potatoes

Hi everyone, I've been lurking around and reading all your t-blogs the past few weeks and we've finally signed to buy an EM at serangoon north. I believe there are a few of you who are active here who'll be my neighbours soon. My layout is the smallest of all with stairs protruding in the middle, small service balcony and corridor unit. But we had an extremely good price so wont complain. Currently looking at contractors and ids. Limited budget due to high cash outlay so must reno in 2 phases. Second phase maybe in 6-8 months after moving in.

Would like to ask you all what should be prioritized aside from hacking and tiling kitchen cabinets etc.

- window changing is it messy?

- aircon can leave for phase 2?

- laminate flooring upstairs can hold

- major bathroom overhaul upstairs can do later?

- ceiling lighting and false ceiling?

Hope to get some input. Thanks

Hi everyone, I've been lurking around and reading all your t-blogs the past few weeks and we've finally signed to buy an EM at serangoon north. I believe there are a few of you who are active here who'll be my neighbours soon. My layout is the smallest of all with stairs protruding in the middle, small service balcony and corridor unit. But we had an extremely good price so wont complain. Currently looking at contractors and ids. Limited budget due to high cash outlay so must reno in 2 phases. Second phase maybe in 6-8 months after moving in.

Would like to ask you all what should be prioritized aside from hacking and tiling kitchen cabinets etc.

- window changing is it messy?

- aircon can leave for phase 2?

- laminate flooring upstairs can hold

- major bathroom overhaul upstairs can do later?

- ceiling lighting and false ceiling?

Hope to get some input. Thanks

Congratulations - are you going to be my neighbour? There's quite a few EM clusters in Serangoon North, along Ave 1, 2, and 4. I noticed some housing agent activity last two weeks in the block facing the park, is that what you bought? Anyway, to answer your query:

1. Window changing can be done even if you're living in it - with enough planning and manpower it can be done in a day. Your most critical windows are only the corridor facing ones. If its a Gen 1 EM, most of the windows are set back and shouldn't get exposed to rain so much.

2. No, aircon involves going through walls and wiring. Recommend doing it together. Its $4,000 for a system 4, maybe high $2,000 for a system 3.

3. If its parquet, it can be repaired/refurbished.

4. If you don't wish to be living amongst a construction site, get it done before you move in.

5. No. You might be better off living in its as-is condition and save up enough money to do it up properly. If you look at the in-progress renovation pictures you will get an idea how messy and disturbing it can be to live amongst it even if you could isolate between upstairs and downstairs - the construction materials, the dust, the smells and also service interruptions. Not to mention security of your belongings while the doors need to be wide open for renovation work.

Hope it helps.

Anybody know why we are not allow to extend level 2 'lobang' balcony area? like building extension balcony as level 1? just feel that 2nd level balcony area is wasted...

2nd question, any lobang for 'transparent roof' for balcony? cost?

Edited by chrislam

Anybody know why we are not allow to extend level 2 'lobang' balcony area? like building extension balcony as level 1? just feel that 2nd level balcony area is wasted...

Hi chrislam, ok to build roofing at level 1 balcony. if u want to build another livable area on top of that,it will be a big NO, NO with the authorities. Cost wise will cost very much too...imagine need to build a support structure from master bed room after hacking the side wall...my ID did suggest using the side wall to build structures to support bamboo sticks to hang clothes though, provided that we do not mind our maid going into the master bed room so casually. in the end, my wife and me said NO.

my two cents. :rolleyes:

Congratulations - are you going to be my neighbour? There's quite a few EM clusters in Serangoon North, along Ave 1, 2, and 4. I noticed some housing agent activity last two weeks in the block facing the park, is that what you bought? Anyway, to answer your query:

1. Window changing can be done even if you're living in it - with enough planning and manpower it can be done in a day. Your most critical windows are only the corridor facing ones. If its a Gen 1 EM, most of the windows are set back and shouldn't get exposed to rain so much.

2. No, aircon involves going through walls and wiring. Recommend doing it together. Its $4,000 for a system 4, maybe high $2,000 for a system 3.

3. If its parquet, it can be repaired/refurbished.

4. If you don't wish to be living amongst a construction site, get it done before you move in.

5. No. You might be better off living in its as-is condition and save up enough money to do it up properly. If you look at the in-progress renovation pictures you will get an idea how messy and disturbing it can be to live amongst it even if you could isolate between upstairs and downstairs - the construction materials, the dust, the smells and also service interruptions. Not to mention security of your belongings while the doors need to be wide open for renovation work.

Hope it helps.

Thanks so much Cleong for your input...will take into consideration your advice when doing my planning. Our place is in ave 3 actually. Near the industrial area. Not very familiar with the area yet but I believe there's a KOpitiam opening there. The park facing blk 123 was wAy too ex for us.

1. Because HDB says so?

Examples of Renovation Work Not Allowed:

Extending floor area by covering over void areas (e.g. covering over void areas within maisonette flats)

Source: http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10324p.nsf/w/HomeRenoNotAllow?OpenDocument

Many many things cannot be done simply cos HDB says so. Do familiarise yourself with the do's and don'ts so you don't contravene any major rule. HDB can force you to dismantle the illegal structure or make good whatever wall you whacked without permission.

2. DVader just did a skylight. The contact and cost is in his t-blog.

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=53985&view=findpost&p=760000