Find Professionals    Deals    Get Quotations   Portfolios
Sign in to follow this  
lingling

Do Agents Give Referral Fee?

My relative from overseas wants me to help her friend who wants to buy a property. She asks me to help her look for one and she doesn't mind paying agent commission. I'm not a property agent and I believe I can only find the property through an agent, but will they want to pay me? How much will they pay me? I heard it would be more than 20% or 30% of their commission (should be 1% right) but one agent dealing in hdb flats who I tried calling for enquiries (I believe it makes no difference) told me I can only receive a standard amount of $100-$200. Anyone knows about this?

Edited by lingling

Looking for good contractors? Click here for your request
My relative from overseas wants me to help her friend wants to buy a property her and she asks me to help her look for one and she doesn't mind paying agent commission. I'm not a property agent and I believe I can only find the property through an agent, but will they want to pay me? How much will they pay me? I heard it would be more than 20% or 30% of their commission (should be 1% right) but one agent dealing in hdb flats who I tried calling for enquiries (I believe it makes no difference) told me I can only receive a standard amount of $100-$200. Anyone knows about this?

Well, that depends on different agents.

then again if the agent is really helping you and doing all the legwork, would it be too much for the person to earn his living?

its all guidelines anyway, but if any agent is going to give too much and they are doing all the work, i don't see why any would want to help you. its not meant to offend you, but to offer you another perspective.

cheers!