mamapea

White Laminate For Kitchen Cabinets

Hi everyone,

Wondering if anyone has done white kitchen? I'm planning white kitchen cabinets with black granite top and black homogeneous floor tiles. I thot that it would look modern yet has a classic look as well. Also will match the HDB wall tiles which is greyish. But a lot of pple advising me not to take white. The white glossy laminate looks very nice but I was told hard to maintain & the non-glossy type might absorb the oil and turn yellow in time. And also if spills like curry or chili or something then can stain easily.

I'm very keen on the white cabinets. I cook everyday (housewife mah... got to cook for hubby & kids). But I also got maid to help me clean.

How?

Anyone done their's in white to advice how easy it is to maintain & which laminates u chose.

THANKS!:P

what a coincidence! I'm also doing my top/bottom kitchen cabinets in glossy white and black granite top too :) the only difference is I dun cook. I use microwave only :)

What brand laminates are u using? My contractor recommended TAK.

Ya lor... if dont cook then white is not a problem. I wish I had a bigger kitchen then can seperate a wet & dry area. Unfortunately, I have a small triangle kitchen!

Hihi,

White kitchen is nice.... Go ahead since you have a maid to help you to clean up

everyday. My mom has a white kitchen too and i have to say that it does make the

kitchen look really "big".

Hihi,

White kitchen is nice.... Go ahead since you have a maid to help you to clean up

everyday. My mom has a white kitchen too and i have to say that it does make the

kitchen look really "big".

Is her white glossy white or matt??

What is TAK?

A kind of laminating surface?

Is that expensive?

Plse advice and thks.

it's a very popular brand of laminate surface

think 90% of forummers here uses this brand

know as TAK LamiTak, can do a search for it

my kitchen is white glossy with blue pearl countertop

can check out my blog under kitchen category to have a look :)

mamapea: I'm using Formica, ColorCore 0949C White Gloss. my wardrobe also using this laminate.

for white , it isimportant to put together samples and compare. cos diff brand have different shades of white, when u compare them side by side, the difference is obvious.

Happy: TAK -> www.tak.com.sg

Edited by jt88

can check out my blog under kitchen category to have a look :wub:

Hi APPLE

Which page can I see your cabinet? I check until 25 pages still checking...

I will take note of TAK LAMITAK

Edited by h4happy

can check out my blog under kitchen category to have a look :wub:

Hey applefreak.... Do u cook a lot?

Is it easy to maintain the glossy white?

for white , it is important to put together samples and compare. cos diff brand have different shades of white, when u compare them side by side, the difference is obvious.

Yah... I know what u mean. There are so many shades of white esp for the matt ones.

Hi APPLE

Which page can I see your cabinet? I check until 25 pages still checking...

I will take note of TAK LAMITAK

hi check out my blog which is the first link of my signature

click on the 'kitchen' category on the right

can't remember which page of my t-blog liao :dribble:

we cook almost everyday but so far so good

i have no problem with it not being in showroom condition so just wipe off the black black fingerprints can liao :lol::dribble:

will try to take a pix tonight of my cabinets after a month's cooking :wub:

Hi APPLE

Yes I saw your cabinet!

I will go for this, white and black or white and light blue or white and light green or white and light yellow....

APPLE, so TAK is a glossy laminated materials that comes with many many colours?

I visited few contractors and so far they just say laminated with abs trimming....also saw many display (laminated cards), lots of them.

I went to my neighbour unit, their cabinet is non glossy and the surface got tiny lines, I dont know what type of laminate is that.

TAK is a brand of laminates

if you see my bedroom wardrobe, the laminate is also TAK

check out gendon's blog too, her home has a lot of TAK laminates

there are laminates of varying colour, glossy or matt, textured or smooth.

so many that i was totally lost, that's why went for white glossy :yamseng::P

me also have white kitchen cabinets and white granite top ... piano glossy white. Was initially worried about how it will turn out (every relative seemed to advise that white got cleaning problems) but when finished overall effect was very good. As for maintenance, i guess i will have to check back one year later ... lolz