smurfy

Opinion On This Quotation

A Professional Services

1 Design & site co-ordination

2 Space planning layout plan

3 Perspective drawings on all carpentry works

4 Consultation on selection of lights, furnitures & accessories

B Wet Works

1 Supply labour to hack existing kitchen & 2 bath rooms flooring tiles. $ 950.00

Inclusive of removing kitchen cabinet, bedroom 3 cabinet & toilet fixture.

2 Supply & lay ceramic tiles for kitchen & 2 bathrooms flooring. $ 2,200.00

3 Supply & do water-proofing for kitchen & 2 bathrooms flooring. $ 150.00

4 Supply & construct 50mm cabinet, washing machine & fridge base @ kitchen. $ 450.00

Sub total : $ 3,750.00

C Miscellaneous

1 To supply & lay cardboard protection for the whole house. $ 150.00

2 Clearing of debris from site after renovation. $ 400.00

3 Clean up whole unit with chemical $ 200.00

Sub total : $ 750.00

D Painting Works

1 Supply & paint 02 coats of ICI Pentalite Emusion paint for whole house wall and ceilings. $ 1,100.00

Inclusive of patching up of damage ceiling.

2 Supply & paint ICI Glossy paint for whole house pipings, doors and door frames. $ 350.00

Sub total : $ 1,450.00

E Plumbing Works

1 To supply labour to install kitshen sink, hoob & hob. $ 300.00

2 To supply labour to install 2 nos. of W.C. & basin. $ 450.00

3 To supply do alteration in coming water supply copper piping for effected area. $ 300.00

4 To supply labour to install 2 nos. of instant heater. $ 120.00

Sub total : $ 1,170.00

F Glass / Aluminium Works

1 To supply & install bronze colour aluminium sliding grilles for the whole house base on 4ft height. $ 800.00

2 Supply & install 03 panels 5mm thk laminated glass sliding shower screen @ common toilet. $ 580.00

3 Supply & install 10 mm thk temper glass swing doors shower screen @ master bedroom. $ 550.00

Sub total : $ 1,930.00

G Plaster ceiling works

1 Design & fabricate false ceiling cum light holder **** / dining hall. $ 1,350.00

2 Design & fabricate false ceiling at bedroom passage way & foyer area. $ 380.00

sub total : $ 1 ,730.00

H Custom Made Build-in Furniture

1 Design & fabricate top & bottom kitchen cabinet in laminated finish c/w ABS triming swing doors. $ 4,440.00

Max. 37ft L.

2 Design & fabricate solid surface counter top for the above cabinet. Max. 15ft L. $ 1,200.00

sub total : $ 5 ,640.00

Living / Dining Hall

1 Design & fabricate full height feature door cum box-up house hold shelter panelling in tinted grey mirror

as per proposed. Max. 1200mm L $ 1,100.00

2 Design & fabricate low settee in fabric & laminated finish divider @ foyer area. Max. 1200mm L $ 1,200.00

3 Design & fabricate full height T.V. feature with player storage in laminated finish as per proposed.

( Max. 2400mm L ) $ 2,400.00

sub total : $ 4 ,700.00

Master Bedroom

1 Design & fabricate low chest drawers in laminate finish as per proposed area.Max. 2100mm L $ 1,050.00

2 Design & fabricate 02 nos. of full height divider beam in laminate finish as per proposed area. $ 600.00

3 Design & fabricate storage head board display cabinet in laminated finish as per proposed. $ 1,680.00

4 Design & fabricate vanity cabinet with mirror & side storage in laminate finish @ master toilet. $ 1,200.00

5 Supply & install soild surface top for above vanity. Exclude basin & mixer tap. ( Max. 1500mm L ) $ 375.00

sub total : $ 4 ,905.00

Contact Amount : $ 2 6,025.00

A Professional Services

B Wet Works

1 Supply labour to hack existing kitchen & 2 bath rooms flooring tiles. $ 950.00

Inclusive of removing kitchen cabinet, bedroom 3 cabinet & toilet fixture.

2 Supply & lay ceramic tiles for kitchen & 2 bathrooms flooring. $ 2,200.00

3 Supply & do water-proofing for kitchen & 2 bathrooms flooring. $ 150.00

4 Supply & construct 50mm cabinet, washing machine & fridge base @ kitchen. $ 450.00

Sub total : $ 3,750.00

C Miscellaneous

1 To supply & lay cardboard protection for the whole house. $ 150.00

2 Clearing of debris from site after renovation. $ 400.00

3 Clean up whole unit with chemical $ 200.00

Sub total : $ 750.00

D Painting Works

1 Supply & paint 02 coats of ICI Pentalite Emusion paint for whole house wall and ceilings. $ 1,100.00

2 Supply & paint ICI Glossy paint for whole house pipings, doors and door frames. $ 350.00

E Plumbing Works

2 To supply labour to install 2 nos. of W.C. & basin. $ 450.00

3 To supply do alteration in coming water supply copper piping for effected area. $ 300.00

4 To supply labour to install 2 nos. of instant heater. $ 120.00

Sub total : $ 1,170.00

1 To supply & install bronze colour aluminium sliding grilles for the whole house base on 4ft height. $ 800.00

2 Supply & install 03 panels 5mm thk laminated glass sliding shower screen @ common toilet. $ 580.00

3 Supply & install 10 mm thk temper glass swing doors shower screen @ master bedroom. $ 550.00

Sub total : $ 1,930.00

G Plaster ceiling works

1 Design & fabricate false ceiling cum light holder **** / dining hall. $ 1,350.00

2 Design & fabricate false ceiling at bedroom passage way & foyer area. $ 380.00

sub total : $ 1 ,730.00

1 Design & fabricate top & bottom kitchen cabinet in laminated finish c/w ABS triming swing doors. $ 4,440.00

Max. 37ft L.

2 Design & fabricate solid surface counter top for the above cabinet. Max. 15ft L. $ 1,200.00

sub total : $ 5 ,640.00

Living / Dining Hall

1 Design & fabricate full height feature door cum box-up house hold shelter panelling in tinted grey mirror

as per proposed. Max. 1200mm L $ 1,100.00

2 Design & fabricate low settee in fabric & laminated finish divider @ foyer area. Max. 1200mm L $ 1,200.00

3 Design & fabricate full height T.V. feature with player storage in laminated finish as per proposed.

sub total : $ 4 ,700.00

Master Bedroom

1 Design & fabricate low chest drawers in laminate finish as per proposed area.Max. 2100mm L $ 1,050.00

2 Design & fabricate 02 nos. of full height divider beam in laminate finish as per proposed area. $ 600.00

3 Design & fabricate storage head board display cabinet in laminated finish as per proposed. $ 1,680.00

4 Design & fabricate vanity cabinet with mirror & side storage in laminate finish @ master toilet. $ 1,200.00

5 Supply & install soild surface top for above vanity. Exclude basin & mixer tap. ( Max. 1500mm L ) $ 375.00

sub total : $ 4 ,905.00

Contact Amount : $ 2 6,025.00

Labour to install hob, hood, sink, basin, heater shld be foc one.

Master toilet cabinet & mirror is too expensive! Shld be below $800.

So is the storage headboard & Clearing of debris. Ridiculous price!

The rest not too sure.

You are keeping the existing wall tiles in your kitchen and 2 toilets? Isf not, the hacking and installation of wall tiles in these 2 areas are not in your quote.

And also how many rooms is this?

Painting is under one cost usually, how come he break into 2 and combine them for a bigger amount? You might as well get Nippon Paint to do it. For that price, you can get Odourless range ($60 per can)

For carpentry, what does all that Max. XXXXmm L mean??

If it's smaller, do you get discount? If it's bigger, how is the extras calculated?

I can't really comment on the price for some of the proposed carpentry, not sure what's the design like to warrant that amount, like a storage head board display cabinet ($1680??) or the vanity cabinet with mirror ($1200??)

h4happy,cwongst, lawry

thanks for ur comments. never actually noticed all these small FOC items until u guys have mentioned... actually prior to this quotation, i got another 2 quotation.. and they oso included fees for these items.. that's why i tot it is normal..

as mentioned, i am pressed for timeline.. nov 2nd getting my keys and nov 27th my landlord having his 2nd appt for this flat. so i gotta get everything going real fast... and this reno/contractor firm comes under the recommendation of another "net-friend" whom i know for one year plus... and when compared to the other 2 quotations, i tot he's a safer choice... until i chanced onto this forum.

have to go ahead now lor.. no time to look for another quotation.... met up with him last nite.. and makes further changes to his proposal.. will copy n paste the quotation when i see the revised quotation on this friday, make the first payment.. and go n choose tiles...haiz.. everything chop chop.. :rolleyes:

any kind souls to advise what r the the things to look out for in wall tiles, floor tiles,kitchen accessories, toilet accessories? time is not on my side n i got a 8 mths old bb seeking my attention the moment i reach home :bangwall:

the painting cost is spilt into 2 because one is general painting of walls for whole house, the other is for the timber doors, pipings n such.

as other commenters, supplying labour to fix up bathroom accessories should be free and if not, also not this expensive. The carpentry is also very expensive, constitutes almost 2/3 of reno price. And yes hard pressed for time = higher probability of dissatisfaction. Good luckz!

please check how much is the price of the tiles he quoted u... for tiles at wat cost? if not u will see additional cost for your tiles as they will only limit u to certain lousy range

your quote is way too high..

ya, your carpentry very expensive. your kitchen alone cost a bomb! look out for payment terms, and read the fine print. Whatever he quoted you verbally, make sure he put it down in black and white in the re-quote. and best dun let him know you are pressed for time.

Hi SMU

If you feel that it is too high or feel uncomfortable, then it is better to go for other id/contractors rather than headache on the way.

Hi smurfy,

renovation price will start to increase so it will be best to find more quotes. Dont get the cheapest nor the most expensive. Get the middle range ones.

Why i say that as in, cheapest will be the material /labour and other misc costs.

Expensive as in earn too much hidden cost.

last but not least is u urself are to be comfortable with the ID or contractor.

One thing to let you know is that nothing is free in this world. As in free air-con, hod and hoob etcetc... they are all add into the cost.

Hope it helps.

i have made alot of comparison..here is my info,hope can help u

B3 Supply & do water-proofing for kitchen & 2 bathrooms flooring. $ 150.00

C1 To supply & lay cardboard protection for the whole house. $ 150.00

C2 Clearing of debris from site after renovation. $ 400.00

C3 Clean up whole unit with chemical $ 200.00

These should be FOC

E1 To supply labour to install kitshen sink, hoob & hob. $ 300.00

Too expensive.. normal price is $100+

Kitchen cabinet

Price still ok cos they give u long kitchen.. if ur kitchen is short, the price is too exp for u already

Master Bedroom

Too exp, the highest price i heard of is only $720 come with mirror and sink. Those without sink and mirror is about $400+ only

The rest of the items still ok

These should be FOC

Kitchen cabinet

Price still ok cos they give u long kitchen.. if ur kitchen is short, the price is too exp for u already

Master Bedroom

Too exp, the highest price i heard of is only $720 come with mirror and sink. Those without sink and mirror is about $400+ only

Wah you engage LAWRENCE FROM BAROQUE to do up your house? Driving a mazda 6 gold colour. 5008?Good luck to you. He owes my friend some $800 for a year already. Just before completing his house, HE HAS THE CHEEK TO BORROW MONEY FROM MY FRIEND AND GAVE SOME STORIES LIKE "My child is in the ICU and i need some money for his medical fees, i will deduct the money from the last 10%. Is this under table? Is he going back to his office and tell his boss that the owner deducted some money from the contract sum? And still have not paid it back since augaust last year. My friend said he heard from his sub-cons all borrowed money after a job is completed and never returns. Beware he maybe a bankrupt and will have several implications on your house later. My friend is a owner and his house was did up by him, untill today the touch up for the painting was not done despite calling him almost every week. Luckily he did not give him the last 10%. The house he brought you to view is his boss's house, Jason, 5room at seng kang. Of course he will bring you to see a palace, will he bring you go and see his usual works?

please check how much is the price of the tiles he quoted u... for tiles at wat cost? if not u will see additional cost for your tiles as they will only limit u to certain lousy range

your quote is way too high..

he brought us to this shop... .quite alot of other customers. and other ids contractors ard.. . so dun think is too "fishy" lor..

the kitchen floor tiles, i chose one that is $3.40 0r $3.80 .. the toilet wall tiles, i chose the $2.80 or $3 ..

cannot remember exactly..

Hi smurfy,

renovation price will start to increase so it will be best to find more quotes. Dont get the cheapest nor the most expensive. Get the middle range ones.

Why i say that as in, cheapest will be the material /labour and other misc costs.

Expensive as in earn too much hidden cost.

last but not least is u urself are to be comfortable with the ID or contractor.

One thing to let you know is that nothing is free in this world. As in free air-con, hod and hoob etcetc... they are all add into the cost.

Hope it helps.

actually we do knw he is more pricer.. but hb thinks if he is able to deliver and the workmanship is there.. shldn't be a issue. better than squeeze him dry n he gave us poor materials and does the job badly.

These should be FOC

Kitchen cabinet

Master Bedroom

thanks for helping me compare :yamseng: the kitchen is short.. then the vanity top, we are doing away with it coz some changes in the toilet design oredi.. n he had make the items: chemical washing, protective covering for whole house FOC during the next few meetups on his own initiative..

Hi SMU

If you feel that it is too high or feel uncomfortable, then it is better to go for other id/contractors rather than headache on the way.

kekeke thanks.. he had helped me to remove some doubts.. so now is better oredi.. feel more comfortable

Wah you engage LAWRENCE FROM BAROQUE to do up your house? Driving a mazda 6 gold colour. 5008?Good luck to you. He owes my friend some $800 for a year already. Just before completing his house, HE HAS THE CHEEK TO BORROW MONEY FROM MY FRIEND AND GAVE SOME STORIES LIKE "My child is in the ICU and i need some money for his medical fees, i will deduct the money from the last 10%. Is this under table? Is he going back to his office and tell his boss that the owner deducted some money from the contract sum? And still have not paid it back since augaust last year. My friend said he heard from his sub-cons all borrowed money after a job is completed and never returns. Beware he maybe a bankrupt and will have several implications on your house later. My friend is a owner and his house was did up by him, untill today the touch up for the painting was not done despite calling him almost every week. Luckily he did not give him the last 10%. The house he brought you to view is his boss's house, Jason, 5room at seng kang. Of course he will bring you to see a palace, will he bring you go and see his usual works?

thanks for the feedback.. my id/contractor not from baroque.. mine's doing his own business.. a one-man op.. i was shown to an EA in sengkang :)

yo.. thanks for all the comments.. i really appreciate it 8|

met up with the id another day and some changes he made to the proposal remove my doubts on him..

this is his final quotation.. err no, never bargain with him

A Professional Services

B Wet Works

1 Supply labour to hack existing kitchen & 2 bath rooms flooring tiles. $ 850.00

Inclusive of removing kitchen cabinet & toilet fixture.

2 Supply labour to hack existing master bathroom walls tiles. $ 600.00

3 Supply labour to hack 1 nos. of new entrance at master bathroom. $ 150.00

4 Supply labour & materials to seal of existing master bathroom entrance using 75mm hollow block. $ 360.00

5 Supply & lay ceramic tiles for kitchen & 2 bathrooms flooring. $ 2,200.00

6 Supply & do water-proofing for kitchen & 2 bathrooms flooring. $ 150.00

7 Supply & construct 50mm cabinet, washing machine & fridge base @ kitchen. $ 450.00

8 Supply & lay ceramic tiles for master bathroom walls. $ 1,500.00

9 Hack & create an opening between dining & kitchen wall. With design mosic tiles @ the sides. $ 480.00

Sub total : $ 6,740.00

C Miscellaneous

1 To supply & lay cardboard protection for the whole house. F.O.C.

2 Clearing of debris from site after renovation. $ 650.00

3 Supply labour & materials to grain & vainshes existing 3 bedrooms parquet flooring. $ 850.00

3 Clean up whole unit with chemical F.O.C.

Sub total : $ 1,500.00

D Painting Works

E Plumbing Works

2 To supply labour to install 2 nos. of W.C. & basin. $ 340.00

3 To supply do alteration in coming water supply copper piping for effected area. $ 200.00

4 To supply re-run consel copper hot & cold water pipings for whole master bathroom. $ 850.00

Sub total : $ 1,690.00

2 Supply & install 10 mm thk temper frosted glass swing doors @ master bedroom entrance. $ 560.00

Sub total : $ 1,910.00

G Plaster ceiling works

1 Design & fabricate partitional gysum board box-up panelling behind master bedroom head board.. $ 600.00

sub total : $ 600.00

1 Design & fabricate bottom kitchen cabinet in laminated finish c/w ABS triming swing doors.

Max. 24ft L. $ 2,880.00

2 Design & fabricate top kitchen cabinet in laminated finish c/w ABS triming swing doors.

Above sink & stove area. Max. 10ft L. $ 1,200.00

3 Design & fabricate solid surface counter top for the above cabinet. Max. 17ft L. $ 1,360.00

4 Design & fabricate solid surface counter top @ opening between dining & kitchen wall. Max. 4ft L. $ 400.00

sub total : $ 5 ,840.00

Living / Dining Hall

1 Design & fabricate full height partition dividert in laminated finish divider @ foyer area. Max. 3ft L $ 520.00

2 Design & fabricate full height T.V. feature with player storage in laminated finish as per proposed.

sub total : $ 2 ,920.00

Master Bedroom

1 Design & fabricate writing desk with drawers drawers in laminate finish as per proposed area. $ 1,050.00

Max. 2100mm L

2 Supply & install 1 nos. of 3ft * 3ft custom made mirror with polishes edges @ master bathroom. F.O.C.

sub total : $ 1 ,050.00

Contact Amount : $ 2 3,700.00