edsonchan

Reference Check: Gek Jin Contractors Pte Ltd

Dear All,

I am almost into committing myself to use Gek Jin Contractors to for my renovation for my 74 sq ft 4 room resale flat.

They are licensed with HDB and their quotation of 18k including GST includes below,

- Supply and lay heavy duty ceramic or homogeneous tile

- Supply and construct 10ft Cabinet Base

- Supply and construct fridge, washing machine base with tiles

- Supply and install 1 set stainless steel bin chute cover

- Supply and conceal outlet pipe for sink, washing machine

- Supply and install 10ft top and bottom kitchen cabinet

- Supply and install solid wood table

- Supply and install stainless steelpipe for kitchen, sink, washing machine

- Supply and do chemical washing

- Design kitchen cabinets and layout

- Supply and install 1 set cloth hanger

Toilet

- Supply and lay heavy duty ceramic and homogeneous tiles

- Supply and install toilet bowl

- Supply and install wash basin with tap

- Supply and install instant heater

- Supply and install toilet accessories (7items)

- Supply and install toilet door

- Supply and install Stainless steel pipe

- Supply and install bidet spray

- Supply and install wash basin inlet, outlet pipe

Living and bedrooms

- Supply and lay 600x600 homogeneous tiles for living, dining and storeroom

- Supply and lay homogeneous skirting for living, dining and storeroom

- Supply and lay laminate flooring for bedrooms

- Supply and lay laminate skirting for bedrooms

- Supply labour to alter bedrooms doors, main door

- Supply labour to alter main gate

- Supply and install simple cornice **** room

- Supply and install simple cornice at dining room

The above they quoted me as a package of $9888

Other services to make out the total of $18,000

1. Supply and lay kitchen 2 toilet wall tiles up to ceiling height

2. Supply and install toilet hung window (change of a small window in my bathroom)

3. Supply and seal up toilet 2 side door top (cos there is an opening between the toilet and my kitchen)

4. Supply and construct shower kerb at bathroom

5. Supply and install 1 set 10mm tempered glass shower screen

6. Supply and install whole house rewiring and DB box (4SCV points, 14lights, 1 ceiling fan, 15 power points, Heater)

7. All hacking of living room floor and kitchen tiles

8. L box around living room ceiling for lights

Hope I can get some advices.

Edited by edsonchan

Dear All,

I am almost into committing myself to use Gek Jin Contractors to for my renovation for my 74 sq ft 4 room resale flat.

They are licensed with HDB and their quotation of 18k including GST includes below,

Toilet

Living and bedrooms

2. Supply and install toilet hung window (change of a small window in my bathroom)

3. Supply and seal up toilet 2 side door top (cos there is an opening between the toilet and my kitchen)

6. Supply and install whole house rewiring and DB box (4SCV points, 14lights, 1 ceiling fan, 15 power points, Heater)

Do you have the breakdown for each item?

Im also sourcing for contractors.. Maybe we can share the quotes to make comparison

Do you have the breakdown for each item?

Im also sourcing for contractors.. Maybe we can share the quotes to make comparison

The first 30 items is quoted to me in a package of $9888. Then the following

1. Supply and lay kitchen 2 toilet wall tiles up to ceiling height $4100

2. Supply and install toilet hung window $180

3. Supply and seal up toilet 2 side door top $500

4. Supply and construct shower kerb at bathroom $60

5. Supply and install 1 set 10mm tempered glass shower screen $380

6. Supply and install whole house rewiring and DB box $1900

7. All hacking of living room floor and kitchen tiles $1200

8. L box around living room ceiling for lights $400

Then after calculation should be $18608 he round down the price to $18000

Edited by edsonchan

Hi guys, I think before you all jump into any contracts, do a search on the company reputation 1st. This is what i saw in SBF, click on the link below

SBF review on gek Jin

Yea, I have seen the reviews.. It seems that they are OK... not fantastic.. Need supervision on their work..

But their price really seems attractive...

Just wanna see if there are any other people who tried their services before.

If u are OK with the review and have to supervise their work regularly, I have no comment liao. All the best.

You sound very skeptical about this contractor.. you tried them before??

This is my first house and I have totally no experience. Just have a tight budget for a simple renovation because I am not getting a loan for that.

Can I ask, if I am using other contractor or ID with good reviews, means that I don't need to supervise?

You sound very skeptical about this contractor.. you tried them before??

First of all, I've never tried their service before. So I can't comment on their workmanship and standard of practice.

From my past experience of with contractor, during my final quotation period. Their way of thinking is very practical, looking in a more simpler method for them. They would prefer that the existing layout to remain unchanged. One way or the other, they dun have to crack their brain for design.

If you dun believe, you could get a few different contractor ask them for advice for your kitchen cabinet. their answer is almost the same, keep the layout dun change lah. They would let u see their sample and u choose from there.

If not, they would say whatever u prefer. BUT they won't think a step further in term of nice anot or is there alternative. Anyway they are not the one staying there.

This is my first house and I have totally no experience. Just have a tight budget for a simple renovation because I am not getting a loan for that.

This is my first house also and I'm having a tight budget just like u.

Can I ask, if I am using other contractor or ID with good reviews, means that I don't need to supervise?

NOPE, even the best ID in the world also need to supervise once a while. Unless u can trust stranger(ID/contractor) 100%, at least for me i can't. But it would be tedious if u gotta liaise with the sub-con yourself and manage you work. Everything u need to decide on your own, choosing tiles color/pattern co-ordination of color. All that you have to come up on your own. Who do u think is a better choice (contractor or ID) in terms of matching color, co-ordinate tiles colors/pattern? I'm not a person with creative ideas, so i need someone who could give me some advice.

Of course, there are good contractor out there too.

I understand that you are having budget constraint but Follow what your heart tells you.

Dear All,

Just my points of view on this quotation.To me is very hard for others to comment or advise u with such a quotation. Or maybe u can give us more details on the quotation itself.

How do u know it heavy duty or not?Which brand, from where?Sqft?

Repositioning or enlarging bin chute opening not allowed by HDB, so u got to be sure that they dont overdo it.

Do u know what its mean? Conceal into the wall? U sure?

Post-form table top cheapest alternative.

Cost not more than $40.

Toilet(1 or 2)

Which brand? Got anti-slam cover not?

Which brand? Got 5yrs or 10yrs warranty?

U only got 7 items only? What are the charges for extra items?

Bi-fold, plastic or ????

Some tiles if use chemical washing will damage the tiles and the grout lines, got to be careful on it.

Living and bedrooms

Supreme? Prego?

What alternation they do?

Sorry, I'm too lazy and tired to go items by items, there are so many unsure items. It really hard to compare apple with orange, services, workmanship, materials,etc...Piece of advise, see long term, double works will only cost more. If u feel comfortable with them and do have the time to supervise on it, just follow what your heart tell u. All the best.(Sorry alan26 used your phrase) :P

Thanks for all the advice.

For the benefit of others, some your questions in red has been asked and answered.

How do u know it heavy duty or not?Which brand, from where?Sqft?

I get to choose my tiles from Soon Bee Huat. They should be quite reputable right? I will check out how much per square feet are the tiles that I am entitled to.

Repositioning or enlarging bin chute opening not allowed by HDB, so u got to be sure that they dont overdo it.

Thanks for the advice

Do u know what its mean? Conceal into the wall? U sure?

I also dunno what it means. Will check! Thanks

Post-form table top cheapest alternative.

Yeah, he told me it is post form top... can tell me what else is better? Heard that Solid Surface top will leave marks if hot items is left there. Is that true??

Rest of the questions as below.

- They are supplying Matrix Anti Slam Toilet bowl

- Heater. I ask for a free upgrade to tank heater. He say ok.. not sure which brand yet but he say it cost about $180. Wll check tomorrow. I will ask about the warranty as well

- I will buy any other items if I want

- Toilet doors are Bi-fold, normal ones I guess

- Laminated Flooring - Which is better? Prego or Supreme?

- I will be buying new doors, therefore no need to alter

Hi Im also going to use Gek Jin. Their quotes is rely reasonable but like you say they require close supervision. Hope everything will turn out well:)

Who is your Contractor?

Hi Im also going to use Gek Jin. Their quotes is rely reasonable but like you say they require close supervision. Hope everything will turn out well:)

Who is your Contractor?

Gary.. I think there is another one call David.

Hi Edsonchan,

May I know if your reno have started with Gek Jin? How is it? I am also sourcing around for contractors, please share your views.

Thanks!!

Hi Edsonchan,

May I know if your reno have started with Gek Jin? How is it? I am also sourcing around for contractors, please share your views.

Thanks!!

It has started but just with the hacking... I must say although he dont gives any "ID" type of advices.. he knows his stuff well so far