Property: Northoaks

Area: 1249 SQF

Bedrooms: 3

TOP: Dec 2000

Floorplan: Type C

floorplantypec.jpg

Quotation:

1) To supply and install design wall to wall low hanging TV console table and wall features insert with stainless steel trimming **** Hall : $6,500

2) To supply and install 8mm thick white base glass insert to TV wall features :$1,200

3) To Supply, re-locate and install power points, TV points and TV wall features side lightning points and T5 lights: $1,200

4) To supply and install wall to wall low seater cabinets below living window: $3,500

Dining Room

5) To supply and install full height mirror at dining: $2,800

6) To supply and install capentry backing for full height mirror: $1,200

Study (Actually Bedroom 3)

7) To supply and install full height book shelves cabinet at study room: $3,600

8) To supply and install design study table at study room[actually bedroom 3 from floorplan]: $3,600

9) To supply, additional and install power points and telephone point for new study table located at study room: $900

Misc

10) To supply and install 4 nos of ceiling lights for 3 bedrooms X $350: $1,400

11) To supply and install one ceiling fan c/w lighting **** hall: $750

12) To supply and install one hanging light at dining hall: $900

13) To supply and install double panels wrought iron main gate: $1,300

14) To supply and paints ICI emulsion paints for whole house ceiling and walls: $2,500

15) To repolish existing marble flooring ****, dining, passage wall and store room, inclusive revanish wooden skirting: $1,200

16) Chemical washing for kitchen,yard,maid room, maid toilet, common toilet and master bedroom toilets existing floor tiles: $350

Personally, i like the design of the wall feature and Study tables... but i think its too steep... can anyone kind soul advice on this quotation?

I will really appreciate all help

I personally think that your TV console is way too expensive but again I could be wrong, it depends on the material use.

I had just replied 2 other forumers on my quote...since yours is condo too the height is 2.9m

Im going to type in word for word from my quote here:

1) Master Bedroom

- Custom make 8.5 ft (L) full height wardrobe with sliding door + finishes with solid plywood, selected laminate, mirror and ABD trimming door

- Custom make 1 set of suspended king size bed frame with storage compartment, side table, bed head and finishes with solid plywood, selected laminate, cushion and lighting point

- Supply and install 1 13A x 2 double socket

- Supply granite top 10ft(L) at bay window

- False ceiling + cove lighting

- Install 1 light point at planter

- Change toilet bowl

2) Bedroom 1

- Custom make 6ft (L) wardrobe with sliding door (specs same as above wardrobe)

- Custom make 6ft (L) study table with drawers

- 3 units of suspended books cabinet 6ft (L)

- Supply 2 13A x 2 double socket

- Supply granite top 6ft (L)

- Supply labor to install 1 light fitting

3) Bedroom 2

4) Living and dining area

- Custom make 5 nos shelving inside DB box

- Custom make 14ft (L) designer TV console finishes with solid plywood, selected laminate, colored glass panel and ABS trimming door

- Designer area using gypsum board, finishes with plaster and paint

- False ceiling + light box + cove lighting for living and dining area

- Wall mirror feature for dining area

5) Others

- Indoor and outdoor painting

- Chemical washing

- Polish existing granite flooring

- Revarnish + lacquer for all doors, pacquet floor + skirting

- Paint all doors

- Replace existing switch cover

- Construct base for fridge and washing machine

Total cost: Appro. $15, 000

+ Other additional work that we are doing comes up to about $20k

Edited by kohnlee

Wow, sounds very expensive to me.

My suspended TV console costs $120 per foot while full height cabinet at $200 per foot. Based on your price of $3,600, my study table would be 30 feet long while the full height book shelves would be 18 feet long.

Don't be a radish and let people chop chop =)

Go check other ID firms. But you might have to do it fast as my ID was telling me recent surge of businesses resulted in shortage of renovation workers. Moreover, CNY coming and our Malaysian workers all going back hometown for reunion.

I personally think that your TV console is way too expensive but again I could be wrong, it depends on the material use.

I had just replied 2 other forumers on my quote...since yours is condo too the height is 2.9m

Im going to type in word for word from my quote here:

1) Master Bedroom

- Custom make 8.5 ft (L) full height wardrobe with sliding door + finishes with solid plywood, selected laminate, mirror and ABD trimming door

- Custom make 1 set of suspended king size bed frame with storage compartment, side table, bed head and finishes with solid plywood, selected laminate, cushion and lighting point

- Supply and install 1 13A x 2 double socket

- Supply granite top 10ft(L) at bay window

- False ceiling + cove lighting

- Install 1 light point at planter

- Change toilet bowl

2) Bedroom 1

- Custom make 6ft (L) study table with drawers

- 3 units of suspended books cabinet 6ft (L)

- Supply 2 13A x 2 double socket

3) Bedroom 2

4) Living and dining area

- Custom make 5 nos shelving inside DB box

- Custom make 14ft (L) designer TV console finishes with solid plywood, selected laminate, colored glass panel and ABS trimming door

- Designer area using gypsum board, finishes with plaster and paint

- False ceiling + light box + cove lighting for living and dining area

- Wall mirror feature for dining area

5) Others

- Indoor and outdoor painting

- Chemical washing

- Polish existing granite flooring

- Revarnish + lacquer for all doors, pacquet floor + skirting

- Paint all doors

- Replace existing switch cover

- Construct base for fridge and washing machine

Total cost: Appro. $15, 000

Hi Zhiz and Newbie,

I have similar experience with my ID, quoting 15k to rework two bathrooms only. Rest of flat quite new.

Can you please pass me your ID contacts so that i can get a few more quotes.

Regards

To be honest the study table from top to bottom does not look to worth that kind of money.. but out of courtesy i keep this to myself.

This is already the 4th contractor i approached... as budget is tight.. at most $20K, the moment most ID heard my budget they turn unfriendly and uninterested in my business.

This time round i kept mum about my budget and this is what i get...

Got my keys on 22nd september, after 2 months and yet unable to find a contractor... the house seating there for 2 months liao... Maintainence fees at $220 per month like down the drain...

so really hoping any kind souls out here can help me...

Just pm u : )

Edited by doremon2009

Basically what kind of help you need? Recommend ID or go thru the quote..

To be frank, for a quote like this.. how much u can lower than...

well to me.. no need to argue on the price vs design.. if the price of the designer is if we cant afford.. we walk away..

the design is his pride.. he wan such a high price, than let him be.

Why dun you take our ID's contact and ask for quote. Cuz i see your quote u not doing anything major.. except just enhancement to make it look better right?

OMG, i just saw the book shelves also cost $3600....speechless

Than I total up the quotation, you are going to pay $32900 for this amount of work (did i count wrong??)

that is about the amount im paying for my HDB 5rm (123sqm) ley

Paying $220 for maintainence fee is better than rushing thru to get a expensive ID.

I understand how u feel.

I would like to recommend my ID to u...

Edited by kohnlee

Hi Zhiz and Newbie,

I have similar experience with my ID, quoting 15k to rework two bathrooms only. Rest of flat quite new.

Can you please pass me your ID contacts so that i can get a few more quotes.

Regards

hee hee...i do not know how to PM

I understand how u feel.

I would like to recommend my ID to u...

Its A N D Interior Design.

If u go onto Punggol Forum, a lot of new houses there used them.

A friend refer me to them.

How to PM?

Sorry I'm new to this :)

Maybe you can show us reno pic of your place?

Too many phantom members these days advertising own services

Quotation:

1) To supply and install design wall to wall low hanging TV console table and wall features insert with stainless steel trimming **** Hall : $6,500

The Length is 10ft and about 6 ft tall...

2) To supply and install 8mm thick white base glass insert to TV wall features :$1,200

the glass covers about 20% of the feature wall listed above

3) To Supply, re-locate and install power points, TV points and TV wall features side lightning points and T5 lights: $1,200

That is a bit too ex. Same sentiments... my colleague was telling me... usually about $400

4) To supply and install wall to wall low seater cabinets below living window: $3,500

Material wasnt stated... but the length is about 6 feet and the height is tall enough for an adult to sit... about knee height

Dining Room

5) To supply and install full height mirror at dining: $2,800

4feet long 6 feet tall

6) To supply and install capentry backing for full height mirror: $1,200

??? Personally I feel this should be already included in item 5. he says carpentry and mirror different thing so must pay two price

Study (Actually Bedroom 3)

7) To supply and install full height book shelves cabinet at study room: $3,600

8) To supply and install design study table below study room: $3,600

9) To supply, additional and install power points and telephone point for new study table located at study room: $900

Misc

10) To supply and install 4 nos of ceiling lights for 3 bedrooms X $350: $1,400

11) To supply and install one ceiling fan c/w lighting **** hall: $750

12) To supply and install one hanging light at dining hall: $900

13) To supply and isntall doubel panels wrought iron main gate: $1,300

14) To supply and paints ICI emulsion paints for whole house ceiling and walls: $2,500

15) To repolish existing marble flooring ****, dining, passage wall and store room, inclusive revanish wooden skirting: $1,200

16) Chemical washing for kitchen,yard,maid room, maid toilet, common toilet and master bedroom toilets existing floor tiles: $350

Personally, i like the design of the wall feature and Study tables... but i think its too steep... can anyone kind soul advice on this quotation?

I will really appreciate all help

Everything is expensive. Just pick a few, item 1- ID charging you 650 pfr, my god, contractor the most half the price or around 400 plus range. Install ceiling light, ID supply per light 350, installation only about $8 to $15, meaning your light is about $330 plus, have u see the light and does it really worth that much? Same for item 11 to 12. Item 13, WI gate supply install only 500 plus.

I think it is your location, your ID see your one big carrot. If u like the design, can u buy their design and get contractor to do it?

Edited by chronograph

Maybe you can show us reno pic of your place?

Too many phantom members these days advertising own services

Understand your concern.

Its still in the process of renovating...not completed yet...we are taking slightly longer time cos my husband is often overseas.

On top of that, our ID gave us some very good designs to ponder over...wah!! Difficult to choose...maybe should do a poll here or something :)

Have seen their workmanship at this condo, 'Chiltern park'.

My blog www.kohnlee.blogspot.com....is trying to squeeze in time to update the progress of my renovation in the blog...

Edited by kohnlee

Understand your concern.

Its still in the process of renovating...not completed yet...we are taking slightly longer time cos my husband is often overseas.

On top of that, our ID gave us some very good designs to ponder over...wah!! Difficult to choose...maybe should do a poll here or something :)

Have seen their workmanship at this condo, 'Chiltern park'.

My blog www.kohnlee.blogspot.com....is trying to squeeze in time to update the progress of my renovation in the blog...

Website of ID www.interior.sg

We ask for 3 quotations.

A & D

IBridge

Ciseern

We chose A & D.

I have PDF drawings of ID's design which I will be posting on blog too...but need to copyright it cos other people's work :)

Thanks for sharing your blog :)

U are welcome :)

We are also taking along time with our renovation, given the fact that we got our keys in late Sep... then eventually confirm ID one month later.

But I have to say , our ID had been really patient with us.

We got another contractor who specialise in flooring to do outdoor decking for balcony and planter.

Actually our ID did quote us but he was the one who advise us that if we want to save some money, it will be better to get outdoor flooring contractor to work on the outdoor decking cos it will be cheaper.

I will try to update the blog asap...haiz

So that u can take a look at the sketches he came up with.

i talk to the ID regarding the quotation and he says things like:

the material used for the study table is much better... the shelves will not sink for a long time.... cheap wood will of course cost cheaper but not durable... blah blah

then he go on to say the feature wall design better than outside...that's why more expensive...

i ask him about the iron gate..he says the price i get outside is not carbonized one... the one he is buying for me, he will go and carbonized...

then i ask him the chemical washing usually give for free... then he says chemical needs money to buy where got free...

i talk and talk to him hoping he can back down... but he keep insisting the quotation is fair given the better material...

he says he can quote a lower price but the material he used will definately be lower as well...

quality or price.. he asked me to choose...

headache ahh...

the material used for the study table is much better... the shelves will not sink for a long time.... cheap wood will of course cost cheaper but not durable... blah blah

then he go on to say the feature wall design better than outside...that's why more expensive...

i ask him about the iron gate..he says the price i get outside is not carbonized one... the one he is buying for me, he will go and carbonized...

then i ask him the chemical washing usually give for free... then he says chemical needs money to buy where got free...

i talk and talk to him hoping he can back down... but he keep insisting the quotation is fair given the better material...

he says he can quote a lower price but the material he used will definately be lower as well...

headache ahh...

Every ID/contractor say the same thing but if you comfortable with overpaying so much despite warning from members....cos its your money.

he says he can quote a lower price but the material he used will definitely be lower as well...

headache ahh...

As far as I know, wood for cabinets, etc...there are 3 types...

1) Plywood (almost every contractor use this cos harder, better and stronger)

2) Compressed wood (minority of them maybe uses this...but not so good not durable)

3) Gypsum board (its commonly use for false ceiling, wall, etc...not suitable at all for cabinet and wardrobe...too flimsy)

My ID had taught us how to tell the differences between the 3.

Hence Im quite sure that your ID provides u with plywood which a lot of contractor are using.

Its the laminating finishing that is different, depending on preferences.

So I dont see why they are charging u higher when everyone else are also using the same type of wood.

Unless there is a 4th type of super duper wood that my ID did not show us.

Zhiz is right, u are the decision maker :)

Unless there is a 4th type of super duper wood that my ID did not show us.

Zhiz is right, u are the decision maker :)

I think I can get teak or rosewood and its still not that expensive :)