Find Professionals    Deals    Get Quotations   Portfolios
Sign in to follow this  
druid

Doing Without Home Construction Loan

Hi, firstly I would like to thank all the contributors of this forum. The knowledge I gained from reading the posts has been invaluable. I am a newbie and this is my first post.

1. I am considering of buying an old inter-terrace ($1mil) and do a rebuild ($300k).

2. I plan to sell my HDB flat. I should be able to get $500k (cpf + cash) for it.

3. Hence, I will have cash for the 20% house downpayment; and for rebuild cost.

4. So I just need a $800k loan for the bank.

5. But the problem is the bank told me that I cannot tear-down a house to rebuild. This is because the house will have no collateral value when demolished (for rebuild). So in order to proceed with the plan, I will have to take on mortgage and construction loan (which, from what I understand, can be tedious and constraining).

6. I hope somebody can advise me how one can take a home loan and do a rebuild. Thanks.

Join 46,923 satisfied homeowners who used renotalk quotation service to find interior designers. Get an estimated quotation

I hope somebody can advise me how one can take a home loan and do a rebuild. Thanks.

Are you sure you can still find old inter-terrace at $1 million. Even if you are able to find one at this price, I doubt that $300K is enough budget for rebuilding a house.

You can take both housing and construction loan. Some banks are more conservative and others can be more liberal. If you need help, let me introduce you to a contact of mine who may be able to assist you. PM me if you need help.

i didn't know that bank would restrict you from rebuilding after you secured the loan - can you not tell them that you are rebuilding?

however, i think there are 2 other important points to consider:

1) whether 300k is sufficient for rebuilding