ultraj26

Home For 2 +2 - Holland Drive to SA

have been reading and definitely learning alot from this wonderful forum.

just thought its my chance to contribute by posting some pics and experience to share with fellow forumers.

floor plan

5262193199_ee2321c7c7.jpg

simple drawing of light pts and L-box i wanted to explain to my contractor

5262802208_f4dd4f7578.jpg

collected key Nov

reno started 15 Nov

Short summary of my choosing ID/contractor experience :

My original plan was to engage my colleague(not a very close one) who claims he was a contractor before and he will have all the contacts to workers to do up my house which will easily save $5-8k.

Before confirming my colleague i went to 2 ID firms (A t L i v i n g & In Plan) where i emailed them my floor plan for them to roughly design my house before meeting up.

1st appt : explain to them what i want and make 2nd appt for quotation

2nd appt: discover quotation really expensive and many cost still not covered (really might cost about 10k more than my colleague)

dropped the idea of looking for ID as i don't need their fanciful ideas/designs, i just need a cozy home with simply what i wanted ONLY.

Lastly we met a contractor, Jason (Inner View) recommended by my godsis, telling us how detailed and responsible he is, we decided to make appt to get a quote from him.

experience with Jason :

really experienced contractor, looking at floor plan he points out possible issues with beams/pipings etc which may cause problem to my design.

he told me he believe in explaining all the possible problems beforehand rather than over-promise customers, or just to confirm the deal, simply promising everything can be done.

he will even advise me on things which might be faulty or not practical after a few years.

why Jason over colleague:

realise cost will just be about 3-4k more than colleague.

after understanding my colleague, realise he will be basically calling pple to come work i need to spend alot of time monitoring site. also viewing his own house we weren't really impress by his workmanship of workers he employ.

remember reading through many reno-blogs where many pple regret trying to be their "own contractor". i just had a strong feeling i will add on to that list.

Conclusion:

We decided to leave our dream home to someone strongly recommended by a close friend who had 1st hand experience with and we are comfortable with.

Jason Lim (take note not the boss, apparently boss also call jason lol)

Innerview :)

to be continued...

Edited by ultraj26

same estate...

so you collected a month ago.. should be more than halfway thru the reno right

hello hello, yah saw your reno blog too! just collected dec right?

mine installing carpentry now.

Shopping list :

Poh Joo - Chen Yang (helpful and patient)

hob , hood , heater , basin , sink taps, spray guns

we were served by another girl once while Chen Yang was busy, she is very helpul as well. definitely recommended to all.

pricing and sevice, thumbs up!

shops we surveyed - GR link / Poh seng / Sim Siang Choon / Hoe Kee

Cellini - Ramesh (suntec branch)

bed , mattress , slide sofa , bean bag , mini roll around coffee table

went to many furniture shops like Mondi , IFC , Furniture mall , Casa Italy etc..

wanted to check out calypso but changed our mind, find slide sofa more comfortable.

experience with Ramesh, not pushy, explained to us pro and cons of our selection, even give us simple advise on other furnishings like curtains and electronics.

Zen Traditions - Jeffrey (sign at expo, he's from Thomson branch)

dining table , 2 benches , 2 dining chairs , divider

no complains, very willing to help when i called him to give me dimensions of different items i bought

lightings.com.sg - balestier branch

all lights, really good prices they offer.

brought contractor along, he also say very cheap

Monday 13/12 - start of carpentry

installed 2 big platforms in 1 day!

half of living rm and big area of masterbed room. they are covered by protective sheets, will post pics of them when the sheets are gone.

Tuesday 14/12 - no work

met Jason to finalise pole system and wardrobe design.

Wednesday 15/12 - start building wardrobe (BR 3) and kitchen cabinet

surprise to see wardrobe already up.

5263416113_6f4e234726.jpg

5263417511_99f7628d79.jpg

didn't expect to take any pics, so phone low batt and never bring cam.

will take more detailed pics of laminate and design in the day tomorrow ;)

kitchen cabinet also progressing well :):):)

5263411195_4fc8320a74.jpg

My renovation so far has been really smooth.

Kudos to Jason. Problems i brought up are almost rectified immediately. He is definitely contactable.

He calls me more often then i need to call him :D updating me of progress.

Really can't think of anything to complain about.

example:

me : jason ah, the wall like not plaster smooth leh for masterbed room door

jason : huh! that day i check tiler do swee swee leh, don't worry i go check, maybe painter never do properly

the next time i went to see, the wall smooth liao. :good: :good: :good:

tomorrow pole system should be up, got from Alumix.

update again tmrw...

to be continued... again...

Wednesday 15/12 - start building wardrobe (BR 3) and kitchen cabinet

surprise to see wardrobe already up.

5263416113_6f4e234726.jpg

5263417511_99f7628d79.jpg

kitchen cabinet also progressing well :):):)

5263411195_4fc8320a74.jpg

Nice, is the laminate from edl? Black and gray Hugo? Same as mine kitchen cabinet, easily to maintain.

Edited by yeo99

hello hello, yah saw your reno blog too! just collected dec right?

mine installing carpentry now.

hi ultraj26,

welcome to RT & Holland. Are you at 18A or 18B? Me and bobztoise same blk...yrs is a 4rm unit?

Cheers,

oinkoink

Nice, is the laminate from edl? Black and gray Hugo? Same as mine kitchen cabinet, easily to maintain.

the laminate acc to jason is new series, i 1st to use from his co. you refering to wardrobe right?

its black with shiny silver patches and white with shiny silver patches

comes in matt and gloss finish

the body i chose is matt black, the casement doors are glossy white. brand i think is freedom or something, you really want to know i can ask jason. took using my hp so not doing the laminate justice, we really love the wardrobe. :)

Edited by ultraj26

Hi, very nice passage way track lights u have. Where u got it? Is it from Ikea? Btw how much is it. :)

the track lights from lightings.com.sg lor. think abt less than $100. go home check reciept let you know. but went to bendemeer branch no track lights and the chandelier design but balestier got. think different branch carry different items and they will tell you all branches same ...

hi ultraj26,

welcome to RT & Holland. Are you at 18A or 18B? Me and bobztoise same blk...yrs is a 4rm unit?

Cheers,

oinkoink

hello! we are at A. you all? mine is 4 rm