laiwh

Home@coral Spring

Since I'm quite free at the office now, just thought of starting this blog to keep track of my reno progress.

CS project is completing soon. Key distribution has started recently. For myself, I will probably get to touch the keys next year -- Q1 2011.

Have already started the design works with my ID. Will slowly upload the drawings that have been proposed both by ID and myself. Not yet finalized, but slowly and surely, we are getting there.

So to kickstart the blog, I'll start with the floor plan:

floorplan.jpg

Basically it's a 4-rm unit tucked at one corner of Sengkang. Floor area is about 92sqm (internal)

I'll try to upload the drawings and stuff later when I have a little more "privacy" :P

Edited by laiwh

Some initial drawings proposed by K

Living Room TV Area - CO and myself quite like the feature wall design, but feel that the TV console looks abit "out", probably because we told ID that we will by the console off the shelf outside. Might be thinking of doing a built-in console instead. Still considering

tv_kevin_411afernvale_b.jpg

Shoe Cabinet & Bomb Shelter Feature Wall - We like the design and colour scheme, but how come bomb shelter feature wall only covers one side of the bomb shelter wall? 8| Shoe Cabinet looks good too, but the pullout-satee looks very obvious leh. Must think of something else to camouflage it

shoe_kevin_411afernvale_b.jpg

MBR Wardrobe - Apart from the "pattern" or shade of the laminate, design looks good. Will discuss with K

mbr_kevin_411afernvale_b.jpg

MBR Toilet Vanity Cabinet - looks ok for the moment. CO still deciding how the shelvings should be done cos ultimately she'll be using it more often mah :P

mbath_kevin_411afernvale_b.jpg

Kitchen Cabinet - Design and colour scheme looks good. The "pattern" for the dark brown portion feels a bit old. Must discuss with K on other alternatives

kit_kevin_411afernvale_b1.jpg

Looking foward to the next revision of drawings :)

Edited by laiwh

Very tastefully decorated 3D drawing. Wish you a smooth reno journey. :)

Thanks bro :)

laiwh... your 3d drawing

they give u soft copy ah? so sharp

yup, they give me softcopy.

Too free today, so can continue with the blog.

Some shopping list off my head:

Electrics & Electronics

1. Aircon System3

2. Fridge

3. Washing Machine

4. TV -- CO please approve my 46" :bangwall:

5. Hifi -- Atlas

6. Ceiling Fan X 1

Furniture and others

1. Sofa

2. Tea table

3. TV console ?

4. Dining Table & chairs

5. Bed

6. Shelving for storeroom

7. PC desk & chair (might KIV till later)

That's all that I can think of now. I'll update this list when I think of anymore :D

15k? that is cheap.. can share ur renov?

Hi endlssorrow, my reno consists mainly of carpentry works -

- L Box + Ceiling **** room and MBR

- Feature wall at TV area

- feature wall at bomb shelter

- shoe cabinet

- 6ft MBR wardrobe

- 10ft (I think so, need to confirm) kitchen cabinet

- MBR toilet vanity cabinet

- MBR toilet shower screen

Basically these are what i can recall off my head. There are other nitty gritty items like haulage etc, i can't recall all those :)

Hi endlssorrow, my reno consists mainly of carpentry works -

- L Box + Ceiling **** room and MBR

- Feature wall at TV area

- feature wall at bomb shelter

- shoe cabinet

- 6ft MBR wardrobe

- 10ft (I think so, need to confirm) kitchen cabinet

- MBR toilet vanity cabinet

- MBR toilet shower screen

Basically these are what i can recall off my head. There are other nitty gritty items like haulage etc, i can't recall all those :)

thats real cheap!!! for all the work

i think my reno is quite minimal leh... wet work (eg. tiling of floor, tearing of wall etc) normally contributes to the bulk of a reno expense, but for my case, i don't have much wet work. Somemore my house so small, i think that's why the cost didn't add up to a lot

Hello Laiwh..we meet again...sian...i now headache over the cost of my reno...haiz...

Can you tell me if it's reasonable...with the inclusion of the stuff...doing all False ceiling except 2 bathrooms L-BOX (FOC) - Price 35K including GST

Hacking the masterbedroom door cos after putting shower screen too tight - so doing the new system with plastic slide door not those bifold with open v type.

I think price is far too steep but I kind of like their works...ummmmm

(A) GENERAL WORK (BASE ON PROPOSED LAYOUT PLAN)

1 Miscelleous Work :

a. Clear of debris internally & Chemical washing for whole unit before carpentry installation

subsequently till completion.

b. General cleaning after touch up work / carpentry work.

c. Laying of corrugated sheet flooring protection.

d. Dismantling of Solid Surface in Master bathroom

(B) KITCHEN

1 Construct cement mortar plinth with homogeneous tiles finishing :

a. Fridge (on all sides)

b. Washing Machine (on all sides)

c. Kitchen cabinet (on one sides only)

© MASTER BATHROOM

1 Construct Shower curb with tiles finishing on all surfaces.

2 Construct & install custom-made 10mm thk frameless tempered glass shower screen - H1800mm.

a. Fix Panel

b. Swing Door Panel

c. Selected stainless steel handle. FOC

d. U-channel embeded for fix glass panel

(D) COMMON BATHROOM

2 Construct & install custom-made 10mm thk frameless tempered glass shower screen- H1800mm.

a. Fix Panel & Swing Door Panel

b. Selected stainless steel handle. FOC

c. U-channel embeded for fix glass panel

(E) PLUMBING WORK

1 Change existing expose water inlet pipe to copper pipe at the kitchen & two bathrooms with control

valve.

2 To supply labour for fixing :

a. Basin (Master bathroom)

b. Basin mixer/ tap (Master bathroom)

c. Kitchen Sink

d. Kitchen mixer/ tap

e. Washing Machine tap

f. Bathroom accessories F.O.C

(F) DOOR/ FRAME & GLASS

1 10mm thk clear tempered glass

a. Between Kitchen & Living Hall (Swing Glass Door)

(G) CEILING & DRY WALL

1 To supply & furnish oil base sealer & under coat Paint for Plaster board before the finishing coat.

a. False Ceiling Design ****, Dining Hall & Passageway

b. 3 bedrooms

(H) WINDOW & GRILLE (Price do not include = KIV, PLEASE QUOTE SEPARATELY)

1 Aluminium sliding windows at :

a. Service Balcony KIV

2 Aluminium sliding windows grilles at :

a. Service Balcony KIV

(I) PAINTING & CEILING FINISHING $ 1,400.00

1 To supply & furnish whole unit interior wall & ceiling with ICI Dulux / Nippon emulsion matt paint

include :

a. Plastic sheet protection included

b. Final Touch up work after carpentry work. included

(A) DESIGN/ CONSTRUCT & INSTALL CARPENTRY WORK AT KITCHEN

Material : Selected High Quality laminate with 4 side Laminate Internal in White Melamine

finishes Carcass in 15mm thick Chemical Treated Solid Plywood.

1 KITCHEN CABINET :

Wall Units : 3900mm } Based on proposed floor plan

Base Units : 4800mm } Based on proposed floor plan

Total Length : 29 ft run Special Price at S$120.00 / ft run

2 Arcylic Machine Press Edging Import from Germany.

3 Supply & Install of accessories :

a. Spray Colour Paint tempered glass wall panel L3900mm x H700mm

b. Stainless Steel 2 tier dish rack L800mm

c. 4 nos of Slow Flap Stay machanisms

d. 1 no. of single layer Cutlery Tray F.O.C

4 CRESTO ACRYLIC/ POLYSTER SOLID SURFACE MATERIAL ON KITCHEN WORKTOP :

Surface Width : 600mm

Backsplash : 60mm

Front Profile : 25mm chamfer or square.

Total Length : 4800mm 16' x S$90.00/ ft run Promotion Price

Includes : Sink & cooker hole opening, drilling of tap / mixer hole.

Warrantee : 10 Years

(B) DESIGN/ CONSTRUCT & INSTALL CARPENTRY WORK **** AND DINING HALL

Material : High Quality Laminate finishing for all exposed area.

Internal in White Melamine finishes

Carcass in 15mm thick Chemical Treated Solid Plywood.

1 BUILT-IN FULL HEIGHT SHOE CABINET CUM STORAGE AT ENTRANCE FOYER :

Dimension : L900mm X H2600mm X D400mm

Inner Fitting : Functional adj shelves

2 FEATURE WALL PARTITION DESIGN AT TV AREA :

Dimension : L3600mm X H2100mm X T200mm

Material : Solid Plywood with MEDIUM DENSITY FIBRE BOARD finishing for all exposed

area.

NATURAL SCULPTURE STONE EFFECT

3 LOW TV. CONSOLE :

With Laminated Ledge Design

Dimension : L2700mm X H550mm X D600mm

Fitting : CD compartment, Drawer with single extension runners.

With Tempered Black glass doors

4 DOOR PANEL AND DRY WALL PARTITION TO CAMOUFLAGE HOUSDEHOLD SHELTER

ENTRANCE :

With Tinted Mirror Door only

Dimension : L1200mm X D150mm X H2500mm.

© DESIGN/ CONSTRUCT & INSTALL CARPENTRY AT MASTER BEDROOM

Design : Modern Living Concept.

Material : Plywood with High Quality Laminate finishing for all exposed area.

1 BUILT-IN WALK IN WARDROBE :

With Sliding Doors

Dimension : L3000mm X H2500mm X D600mm

Inner Fitting : Functional adj shelves & drawer with single extension runners.

Special non rust Oval shape Rails & Support

ADDITIONAL & UPGRADING

a. Internal top hung Sliding system for wooden door panels

b. Partition wall for walk in wardrobe & TV Feature

c. 1 pc of frameless mirror mounted

2 PLATFORM BED BASE WITH LAMINATE FINISHES (DO NOT INCLUDE - KIV)

Dimension : L3000mm X D3000mm X H100mm

(D) DESIGN/ CONSTRUCT & INSTALL CARPENTRY WORK AT 2 BATHROOMS

Material : Plywood with High Quality Laminate finishing with 4 side laminate.

Internal in White Melamine finishes.

1 VANITY CABINET in Master & Common Bathrooms:

Dimension : L1500mm X D600mm X H750mm

L900mm X D600mm X H750mm

ADDITIONAL & UPGRADING

a. Full Length wall mounted frameless clear mirror.

Cabinet with storage in Master bathroom

b. Full Length wall mounted frameless clear mirror.

in Common Bathroom

2 CRESTO ACRYLIC/ POLYESTER SOLID SURFACE MATERIAL ON VANITY TOP :

Total Length : L1500mm 5" x S$85.00 / ft run

L900mm 3" x S$85.00 / ft run

Includes : Sink hole opening, drilling of tap / mixer hole.

(E) DESIGN/ CONSTRUCT & INSTALL FURNITURE AT 2 BEDROOMS

1 BUILT-IN WARDROBE :

Dimension : L1500mm X H2500mm X D600mm X 2 nos

ADDITIONAL & UPGRADING

a. 1 pc clear mirror

b. Laminated Ledge Study Table at Bedroom 2

Edited by Blackhawk_wife

Hello Laiwh..we meet again...sian...i now headache over the cost of my reno...haiz...

Can you tell me if it's reasonable...with the inclusion of the stuff...doing all False ceiling except 2 bathrooms L-BOX (FOC) - Price 35K including GST

Hacking the masterbedroom door cos after putting shower screen too tight - so doing the new system with plastic slide door not those bifold with open v type.

I think price is far too steep but I kind of like their works...ummmmm

(A) GENERAL WORK (BASE ON PROPOSED LAYOUT PLAN)

1 Miscelleous Work :

a. Clear of debris internally & Chemical washing for whole unit before carpentry installation

subsequently till completion.

b. General cleaning after touch up work / carpentry work.

c. Laying of corrugated sheet flooring protection.

d. Dismantling of Solid Surface in Master bathroom

(B) KITCHEN

1 Construct cement mortar plinth with homogeneous tiles finishing :

a. Fridge (on all sides)

b. Washing Machine (on all sides)

c. Kitchen cabinet (on one sides only)

© MASTER BATHROOM

2 Construct & install custom-made 10mm thk frameless tempered glass shower screen - H1800mm.

a. Fix Panel

b. Swing Door Panel

c. Selected stainless steel handle. FOC

d. U-channel embeded for fix glass panel

(D) COMMON BATHROOM

2 Construct & install custom-made 10mm thk frameless tempered glass shower screen- H1800mm.

a. Fix Panel & Swing Door Panel

b. Selected stainless steel handle. FOC

c. U-channel embeded for fix glass panel

(E) PLUMBING WORK

1 Change existing expose water inlet pipe to copper pipe at the kitchen & two bathrooms with control

valve.

2 To supply labour for fixing :

a. Basin (Master bathroom)

b. Basin mixer/ tap (Master bathroom)

c. Kitchen Sink

d. Kitchen mixer/ tap

e. Washing Machine tap

f. Bathroom accessories F.O.C

(F) DOOR/ FRAME & GLASS

1 10mm thk clear tempered glass

a. Between Kitchen & Living Hall (Swing Glass Door)

(G) CEILING & DRY WALL

1 To supply & furnish oil base sealer & under coat Paint for Plaster board before the finishing coat.

a. False Ceiling Design ****, Dining Hall & Passageway

b. 3 bedrooms

(H) WINDOW & GRILLE (Price do not include = KIV, PLEASE QUOTE SEPARATELY)

1 Aluminium sliding windows at :

a. Service Balcony KIV

2 Aluminium sliding windows grilles at :

a. Service Balcony KIV

(I) PAINTING & CEILING FINISHING $ 1,400.00

1 To supply & furnish whole unit interior wall & ceiling with ICI Dulux / Nippon emulsion matt paint

include :

a. Plastic sheet protection included

b. Final Touch up work after carpentry work. included

(A) DESIGN/ CONSTRUCT & INSTALL CARPENTRY WORK AT KITCHEN

Material : Selected High Quality laminate with 4 side Laminate Internal in White Melamine

finishes Carcass in 15mm thick Chemical Treated Solid Plywood.

1 KITCHEN CABINET :

Wall Units : 3900mm } Based on proposed floor plan

Base Units : 4800mm } Based on proposed floor plan

Total Length : 29 ft run Special Price at S$120.00 / ft run

2 Arcylic Machine Press Edging Import from Germany.

3 Supply & Install of accessories :

a. Spray Colour Paint tempered glass wall panel L3900mm x H700mm

b. Stainless Steel 2 tier dish rack L800mm

c. 4 nos of Slow Flap Stay machanisms

d. 1 no. of single layer Cutlery Tray F.O.C

4 CRESTO ACRYLIC/ POLYSTER SOLID SURFACE MATERIAL ON KITCHEN WORKTOP :

Total Length : 4800mm 16' x S$90.00/ ft run Promotion Price

Includes : Sink & cooker hole opening, drilling of tap / mixer hole.

Warrantee : 10 Years

(B) DESIGN/ CONSTRUCT & INSTALL CARPENTRY WORK **** AND DINING HALL

Material : High Quality Laminate finishing for all exposed area.

1 BUILT-IN FULL HEIGHT SHOE CABINET CUM STORAGE AT ENTRANCE FOYER :

Dimension : L900mm X H2600mm X D400mm

Inner Fitting : Functional adj shelves

2 FEATURE WALL PARTITION DESIGN AT TV AREA :

Dimension : L3600mm X H2100mm X T200mm

Material : Solid Plywood with MEDIUM DENSITY FIBRE BOARD finishing for all exposed

area.

NATURAL SCULPTURE STONE EFFECT

3 LOW TV. CONSOLE :

With Laminated Ledge Design

Dimension : L2700mm X H550mm X D600mm

Fitting : CD compartment, Drawer with single extension runners.

With Tempered Black glass doors

4 DOOR PANEL AND DRY WALL PARTITION TO CAMOUFLAGE HOUSDEHOLD SHELTER

ENTRANCE :

With Tinted Mirror Door only

Dimension : L1200mm X D150mm X H2500mm.

© DESIGN/ CONSTRUCT & INSTALL CARPENTRY AT MASTER BEDROOM

Design : Modern Living Concept.

1 BUILT-IN WALK IN WARDROBE :

With Sliding Doors

Dimension : L3000mm X H2500mm X D600mm

ADDITIONAL & UPGRADING

a. Internal top hung Sliding system for wooden door panels

b. Partition wall for walk in wardrobe & TV Feature

c. 1 pc of frameless mirror mounted

2 PLATFORM BED BASE WITH LAMINATE FINISHES (DO NOT INCLUDE - KIV)

Dimension : L3000mm X D3000mm X H100mm

(D) DESIGN/ CONSTRUCT & INSTALL CARPENTRY WORK AT 2 BATHROOMS

Material : Plywood with High Quality Laminate finishing with 4 side laminate.

Internal in White Melamine finishes.

1 VANITY CABINET in Master & Common Bathrooms:

Dimension : L1500mm X D600mm X H750mm

L900mm X D600mm X H750mm

ADDITIONAL & UPGRADING

a. Full Length wall mounted frameless clear mirror.

Cabinet with storage in Master bathroom

b. Full Length wall mounted frameless clear mirror.

in Common Bathroom

2 CRESTO ACRYLIC/ POLYESTER SOLID SURFACE MATERIAL ON VANITY TOP :

Total Length : L1500mm 5" x S$85.00 / ft run

L900mm 3" x S$85.00 / ft run

Includes : Sink hole opening, drilling of tap / mixer hole.

(E) DESIGN/ CONSTRUCT & INSTALL FURNITURE AT 2 BEDROOMS

1 BUILT-IN WARDROBE :

Dimension : L1500mm X H2500mm X D600mm X 2 nos

ADDITIONAL & UPGRADING

a. 1 pc clear mirror

b. Laminated Ledge Study Table at Bedroom 2

Hey Cat, hehe...nice to see you here. :) I can't say whether the price is reasonable or not because I think it's subjective and relative to the deepness of your pocket and also the material used (i'm quite noob in area of materials used). What I did was try to spot the difference of what you plan to do in your reno vs mine

These are the differences and I think that's where the costs add up:

- homogeneous tiles for fridge, washing machine and kitchen cabinet (mine is ceramic cos since they going to be covered by the fridge etc, no point using such nice tiles mah :P )

- you have shower screen in both toilets. me only have shower screen in mbr toilet

- Glass door at kitchen entrance. me no door at kitchen entrance

- you have false ceilings in living room and all your 3 bedrooms?

- kitchen cabinet - how come your kitchen cabinet can go up to 29ft? mine is only 20ft leh... maybe i double check with my ID. If can go up to 29ft, I also wan :P

- your tv feature wall is 3600mm = 12ft?

- WIW in MBR - i gave up the idea cos no space and save budget :P

- you mentioned " plywood with High Quality laminate finishing for all exposed area" in MBR. you going to put laminate board on all your MBR walls?

- platform bed -- another nice-to-have killer for me which i gave the idea up due to budget

- vanity cabinet - I only have vanity cabinet in mbr toilet

- you have carpentry works in your 2 bedrooms, me not touching the 2 bedrooms except for painting :)

- mbr toilet door to be changed - me don't have this item, but i'm considering after reading the sneak previews

cheers :)

Laiwh

Here is my reply.

- homogeneous tiles for fridge, washing machine and kitchen cabinet (mine is ceramic cos since they going to be covered by the fridge etc, no point using such nice tiles mah :P )

> I guess that ID work and this cost is only about 100 bucks ba!

- you have shower screen in both toilets. me only have shower screen in mbr toilet > Yup I have both shower screen and me hacking the existing sink to do new vanity sets for both toilets

- Glass door at kitchen entrance. me no door at kitchen entrance

- you have false ceilings in living room and all your 3 bedrooms? Yes all threee to make it condo look a like..haha

- kitchen cabinet - how come your kitchen cabinet can go up to 29ft? mine is only 20ft leh... > Yeah 29 ft depending where you postion your fridge. at current it's bassed at near kitchen entrance wheich I dun like, if I placed at the ugly pipes poles there ( see my FB Pic..i took on my own unit) than it will be 25ft approx as below will be longer I think.

- your tv feature wall is 3600mm = 12ft? >Yes that is correct about there.

- WIW in MBR - it's called WIW BUT MINE IS with sliding door and repositioning with the ID doesnt look crampy at all _ I dun even need put platform now.

- you mentioned " plywood with High Quality laminate finishing for all exposed area" in MBR. you going to put laminate board on all your MBR walls? > No but I have a feature waal erected due to the repositioning of the sliding wardrobes..haha...so all the plywood are laminate..

- platform bed -- another nice-to-have killer for me which i gave the idea up due to budget > I would scrap this idea after he reposition no need platform wooh.

- vanity cabinet - I only have vanity cabinet in mbr toilet

- you have carpentry works in your 2 bedrooms, me not touching the 2 bedrooms except for painting > Painting sure have la but I doing yes wardrobe for 2 other bedrooms as well.

- mbr toilet door to be changed > you have to change if not your shower screen erected opening of main toilet door is a problem. I have seen the unit (Indian on tenth floor) he done up shower screen very small! Best you do no choice I doing the new bifold sliding door.

Meanwhile,

Bought

My sealy mattress

aircon system 4 mitsubitshi

sofa set

Planning

Fridge

Nepresso machine

slow cooker

rice cooker

steam oven

Looks like we all getting poor!