dapliew

Our New Home

Thanx melmeow, but how to have wireless access in level two leh? Paiseh.. if I sound stupid.. :P

level 2 i believe u might have weak signal or no signal and u mentioned ur wireless modem is inside tv console. U will need to do like what ong did lor...wired up the house...so long u have a wired point, u can "continue" the LAN connection... how to wire is the electrical job, but how many points u wana wired and where to wire (consealed cables or exposed trunking) are part of ur planning lor...Ong basically consealed all this network cables n points in his house i believe.

If I get a router and place it in master bedroom, then can my level two be wireless access? :dunno:

yup but if u never wired LAN...then ur first floor might end up no signal ? So if u wired...i am not sure how repeaters work.

Level 2 router -> LAN point (2 floor) ----xxxx---- > LAN point (1 floor) --> router(need configuration i think)/switch (to other network devices

so that ----xxxx---> very important.

Ong ya 2016.... still long long...

2016 is not long... Earliest 2017 and with now delays as given in newspaper reports, I think mine will be 2018!!! :jawdrop:

Which is why I am abstaining from the BBB virus that Ong and Kim are spreading (from what I read from Kim's blog)!!! Not that I do not buy at all - I think I have more Blurays from what I see from Ong's collection (and almost all from Amazon US and UK site, with a couple from my trip to HK). ;)

Edited by Alpc

But if he keeps buying... Overtake sooner or later!!! I stopped, as I need to start saving $$$! Only do as much as possible during the black friday sale. Which last year due to Borderlinx's change of address in between my purchases and the black friday sales, had cock up for the 1st time!!! I lost a number of BR super cheap deals because of it. :furious: But cannot blame anyone except self - forgot to check the address before hitting the order button!

Ong, I think I got what I need to know, for now. Going for my holiday to get out of this heat!!!

Edited by Alpc

Hi ongcs, would like to seek some advice from u. Paiseh if it sound stupid as wifey and I have zero knowledge to this home network.

We hope to have wireless access in our EM which is currently undergo renovation. We intend to use the (Singtel - MIO white colour modem) and place it at level one living area (inside TV console). During the rewiring of electrical points, ID also ask electrical to lay cat6 cables (not sure is it call LAN point) in our master bedroom and also the bedroom opposite the maste bedroom. Do I need to buy another router so that our level two can have wireless access? Understand that(Singtel - MIO white colour modem) also has a built-in router, correct? Any things to take note so that to ensure better signal?

Thanx in advance. :yamseng:

For EM, you need to have wide coverage for both levels. As such, you need 1 router each in Level 1 & 2, you should not save $$$ on that. Placement of router should be always in centralised location at each level ideally. You had mentioned the worst position for the modem aka Mio box to be located inside TV console, you had created 1 additional shield on it. Secondly, inside the console, you had also reduce the WIFI coverage further due to low level on AIR. Let me elaborate further, for WIFI to be effective, the lesser the interferences from objects/panels in wood/metal material, glasses, the better it is. As they will reflects WIFI signal off your intended zone. It should be placed at high location.

Good to know that your ID had suggested to wired your rooms located in level 2, likely that you need to access your laptops or desktops at both location. Wired connection for both rooms will ensure dedicated internet access. However, you did not mentioned the networking route on how the rooms are wired from to gain access?

Firstly, did your ID linked level 1 & 2 with LAN point using Cat6 cables as your modem is located at level 1, it should never ever be overlooked. If no, I got no idea how both rooms will have internet access. Please do not tell me that your ID had suggested Hot plug connection. Why? waste $$ wired your rooms. Secondly, did your ID suggested to wire your level 2's common walkway with LAN point? For this, it is optional, for your in depth information, I will placed the 2nd router in common walkway, in concealed ceiling or on shelf to provide equal quality WIFI coverage for both rooms.

Last, the Singtel Mio box has build-in router, but it is decent only, I will use it as modem soley, bridge it to a quality router for your case, due to your EM status. If your Mio has telephone access, can be a bit tricky to configure.

No offence intended on reply, just sharing my thoughts from your supplied information. I can advise further when you hit me again.

Ong ya 2016.... still long long...

Ok la, we can wait. Haha...

Thanks ongcs & dragonnite for sharing. Actually my network is done already (fibre and LAN), just pending Starhub's installation of modem cum router (i believe it's 2-in-1 model). My house is still under reno so can't really test now.

Back to your suggestions, I'm still not very sure what to do, so please pardon my somewhat ignorant questions. Does router need to be connected to modem? Cos thinking of putting router in study, one RJ45 port will connect to my laptop wired, and can switch on router's wifi to use in study and mbr, right? However, if router needs to be connected to modem here, then I dunno what to do liao :dunno:

My opennet point and starhub router/modem are right beside my main door, so it is some distance away from living room, plus they are cordoned off by a door, so I'd prefer not to use the starhub router for wifi in living room. Since i have a LAN point in living room, what device do you guys suggest I use if I only want wifi in living room (that is no need wired access)? My network contractor says I can use this device called wireless access point (IIRC)... Should I use this or router?

Yes, for WIFI & wired access to work, modem need to be connect to router, however, as you mentioned, yours is 2 in 1? You need to confirm on that, Reason being, your modem(2in1) will be located at DB box. The connection will be Modem(2in1)->LAN point in DB Box area->Study room LAN point->Router(you need to configure it as Access point instead of router mode) which Dragonnite had suggested.

You need to be sure that the router can be configured both as ROUTER or ACCESS POINT. Alternatively, like Dragonnite had mentioned, use Hot plug or Wifi Repeater, but it will not be effective on Wifi repeater, it will be input to electrical wall point, so still low on signal when providing the other room aka MBR.

Yes, concealed network cables will cut off any interferences.

You need to check with your ID how he/she wired as per my reply to you above.

2016 is not long... Earliest 2017 and with now delays as given in newspaper reports, I think mine will be 2018!!! :jawdrop:

Which is why I am abstaining from the BBB virus that Ong and Kim are spreading (from what I read from Kim's blog)!!! Not that I do not buy at all - I think I have more Blurays from what I see from Ong's collection (and almost all from Amazon US and UK site, with a couple from my trip to HK). ;)

haha...2016 refers to Melmeow's collection I think. Wah, heavy buyer here :dribble: :dribble: take picture & show me. Care & share motto continues. :thumbs up:

lol i got few blurays disc !! but i dun have bluray player hahahaha

Oei, when are you getting Oppo? :unsure:

But if he keeps buying... Overtake sooner or later!!! I stopped, as I need to start saving $$$! Only do as much as possible during the black friday sale. Which last year due to Borderlinx's change of address in between my purchases and the black friday sales, had cock up for the 1st time!!! I lost a number of BR super cheap deals because of it. :furious: But cannot blame anyone except self - forgot to check the address before hitting the order button!

Ong, I think I got what I need to know, for now. Going for my holiday to get out of this heat!!!

I stopped using Borderlinx because of that, using Hopshopgo & other forwarder. I had stopped buying BRs for the time being, still got quite a nos on back/pre order status :bleah:
Dont bother to look at Amazon US for this. I got ask before, will never works for us. Need to buy from UK. ;) Or buy from HK if you intends to travel there soon. :notti:

haha...2016 refers to Melmeow's collection I think. Wah, heavy buyer here :dribble: :dribble: take picture & show me. Care & share motto continues. :thumbs up:

Erm... Collection of keys (to the flat) right? (That's what I was talking about for mine)

Yeah, and I got another 120 DVDs before I started with BRs. So, it's all now stuff into a metal cabinet (that you usually see in office) - Will see how to take since it's stuffed into 2 shelves in that cabinet! Movie list is as follows :-

Transformers (2 Discs SE), The Godfather (Coppola Restoration), Casino Royale (2 Discs CE), The Dark Knight, Close Encounter of The Third Kind (30th Ann UE), Mamma Mia! The Movie, The Tudors: Complete Season 1 & 2, Band of Brothers, The Day The Earth Stood Still (3 Discs SE), The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (Criterion Col), Pride & Prejudice (US Version), Crimson Tide, Ratatouille, Indiana Jones & The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, Batman Begins (LE Giftset), Taken, Ghostbusters, 300: The Complete Experience, Grease, Hairspray, Iron Man (UE), Pride And Prejudice (UK Version), Highlander: Immortal Edition (LE SteelBook), The Good, The Bad and The Ugly, Sleeping Beauty (50th Ann), The Lakehouse, True Blood: First Season (HBO Series), 9 Songs, Battlestar Galactica: The Plan, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, Star Trek (2008) Limited Giftset, Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs, Dirty Dancing (20th Anniversary Edition), Flyboys, Amadeus (BR Book), Patton, South Pacific, The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian, Inglourious Basterds, G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra, Forrest Gump, Rent, Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel, Ghost in The Shell 2.0, Ghost in The Shell: Innocence, The Tudors: Season 3, Star Wars: The Clone War, JFK (BR Book), How The West Was Won (BR Book), Batman Anthology, Dune, ABBA: The Movie, Akira, Alvin and the Chipmunks, Appleseed Ex Machina, Jerry Maguire, Blade Runner (5-Disc Complete Collector's Edition), Sherlock Holmes, Spartacus: Blood and Sand - Complete Season 1, Evangelion: 1.11 You Are Not Alone, Star Wars: The Clone Wars Complete Season 1, Sound of Music (Limited Edition), The Bridge on the River Kwai, Back to the Future: 25th Anniversary Trilogy, Robotech: The Shadow Chronicles, Ice Age: The Meltdown, The Simpsons Movie, Coming to America (Special Collector's Edition), Apollo 13 (15th Anniversary Edition), Gone With the Wind (The Scarlett Edition), Ice Age, In the Line of Fire, A Few Good Men, Iron Man 2 (BR/DVD/DC), The A-Team (Extended Cut Version). The Day After Tomorrow, The Passion of Christ (Definitive Edition), Quantum of Solace, The King's Speech, Superman Anthology, The Ten Commandments (6 Discs Limited Edition), Star Wars: The Complete Saga, Evangelion: 2.22 You Can [Not] Advance, Much Ado About Nothing, Saturday Night Fever, Forbidden Planet, The Searchers, The Phantom of the Opera (Movie), West Side Story, Pride & Prejudice (2005), You've Got Mail, Tron:Legacy/Tron:The Original Classic (5 Disc Combo), Doctor Zhivago Anniversary Edition (BR Book), Tora! Tora! Tora, Eyes Wide Shut, Crazy, Stupid, Love, The Magnificent Seven Collection, The Terminator, Becoming Jane, Love Actually, Moulin Rouge, The Bodyguard, When Harry Met Sally, The Pacific, The Expendables, Country Strong.

Concerts and others list are shorter, but still...

Andrea Bocelli: Vivere Live In Tuscany, Planet Earth: Complete BBC Series, Hit Man: David Foster & Friends, Concert for Diana, Tsai Chin In Concert Hong Kong 2007 Karaoke, Blue Man Group: How to Be a Megastar Live!, Streisand: Live in Concert 2006, Earth, Tsai Chin: Concert Hall Series, Kenny G: An Evening of Rhythm Romance, Chris Botti: Live, Il Divo: Live in Barcelona, Manilow Live!, K.D. Lang: Live in London, Michael Buble: Caught in the Act, Michael Jackson: This Is It, Celine Dion: Live in Las ***, WWII in HD, Celine: Through The Eyes of The World, Ricky Martin: Live - Black and White Tour, Yanni Live: The Concert Event, Les Miserables: The 25th Anniversary Concert, Bee Gees: In Our Own Time, The Phantom of the Opera at the Royal Albert Hall, Adele: Live at Royal Albert Hall, Barbra Streisand: Live at the Village Vanguard, Michael Buble Meets Madison Sq Garden, Hit Man Returns: David Foster & Friends, Glee: Encore,Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition, Il Volo Takes Flight: Live From Detroit Opera House, Il Divo: Live in London

Oops... Now that I have listed it, I just realised it is a long list! :jawdrop: Overtaking my DVD collection pretty soon, 100+. But I think it's still not as much as some people in XP!!!

I stopped using Borderlinx because of that, using Hopshopgo & other forwarder. I had stopped buying BRs for the time being, still got quite a nos on back/pre order status :bleah:

Wanted to start an account in Comgateway, but did not find the time, or forgot all about it. I have about 17 BRs in my shopping cart!!! :bleah:

Thanks, ongcs! I'll go see what I can do based on yours and dragonnite advice.

No problem at all. I liked your t-blog, your t-blog name is catchy! :sport-smiley-004: Good to shop some stuffs from Amazon ya? :notti: may value add your home if any? :dunno:

Erm... Collection of keys (to the flat) right? (That's what I was talking about for mine)

Yeah, and I got another 120 DVDs before I started with BRs. So, it's all now stuff into a metal cabinet (that you usually see in office) - Will see how to take since it's stuffed into 2 shelves in that cabinet! Movie list is as follows :-

Transformers (2 Discs SE), The Godfather (Coppola Restoration), Casino Royale (2 Discs CE), The Dark Knight, Close Encounter of The Third Kind (30th Ann UE), Mamma Mia! The Movie, The Tudors: Complete Season 1 & 2, Band of Brothers, The Day The Earth Stood Still (3 Discs SE), The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (Criterion Col), Pride & Prejudice (US Version), Crimson Tide, Ratatouille, Indiana Jones & The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, Batman Begins (LE Giftset), Taken, Ghostbusters, 300: The Complete Experience, Grease, Hairspray, Iron Man (UE), Pride And Prejudice (UK Version), Highlander: Immortal Edition (LE SteelBook), The Good, The Bad and The Ugly, Sleeping Beauty (50th Ann), The Lakehouse, True Blood: First Season (HBO Series), 9 Songs, Battlestar Galactica: The Plan, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, Star Trek (2008) Limited Giftset, Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs, Dirty Dancing (20th Anniversary Edition), Flyboys, Amadeus (BR Book), Patton, South Pacific, The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian, Inglourious Basterds, G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra, Forrest Gump, Rent, Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel, Ghost in The Shell 2.0, Ghost in The Shell: Innocence, The Tudors: Season 3, Star Wars: The Clone War, JFK (BR Book), How The West Was Won (BR Book), Batman Anthology, Dune, ABBA: The Movie, Akira, Alvin and the Chipmunks, Appleseed Ex Machina, Jerry Maguire, Blade Runner (5-Disc Complete Collector's Edition), Sherlock Holmes, Spartacus: Blood and Sand - Complete Season 1, Evangelion: 1.11 You Are Not Alone, Star Wars: The Clone Wars Complete Season 1, Sound of Music (Limited Edition), The Bridge on the River Kwai, Back to the Future: 25th Anniversary Trilogy, Robotech: The Shadow Chronicles, Ice Age: The Meltdown, The Simpsons Movie, Coming to America (Special Collector's Edition), Apollo 13 (15th Anniversary Edition), Gone With the Wind (The Scarlett Edition), Ice Age, In the Line of Fire, A Few Good Men, Iron Man 2 (BR/DVD/DC), The A-Team (Extended Cut Version). The Day After Tomorrow, The Passion of Christ (Definitive Edition), Quantum of Solace, The King's Speech, Superman Anthology, The Ten Commandments (6 Discs Limited Edition), Star Wars: The Complete Saga, Evangelion: 2.22 You Can [Not] Advance, Much Ado About Nothing, Saturday Night Fever, Forbidden Planet, The Searchers, The Phantom of the Opera (Movie), West Side Story, Pride & Prejudice (2005), You've Got Mail, Tron:Legacy/Tron:The Original Classic (5 Disc Combo), Doctor Zhivago Anniversary Edition (BR Book), Tora! Tora! Tora, Eyes Wide Shut, Crazy, Stupid, Love, The Magnificent Seven Collection, The Terminator, Becoming Jane, Love Actually, Moulin Rouge, The Bodyguard, When Harry Met Sally, The Pacific, The Expendables, Country Strong.

Concerts and others list are shorter, but still...

Andrea Bocelli: Vivere Live In Tuscany, Planet Earth: Complete BBC Series, Hit Man: David Foster & Friends, Concert for Diana, Tsai Chin In Concert Hong Kong 2007 Karaoke, Blue Man Group: How to Be a Megastar Live!, Streisand: Live in Concert 2006, Earth, Tsai Chin: Concert Hall Series, Kenny G: An Evening of Rhythm Romance, Chris Botti: Live, Il Divo: Live in Barcelona, Manilow Live!, K.D. Lang: Live in London, Michael Buble: Caught in the Act, Michael Jackson: This Is It, Celine Dion: Live in Las ***, WWII in HD, Celine: Through The Eyes of The World, Ricky Martin: Live - Black and White Tour, Yanni Live: The Concert Event, Les Miserables: The 25th Anniversary Concert, Bee Gees: In Our Own Time, The Phantom of the Opera at the Royal Albert Hall, Adele: Live at Royal Albert Hall, Barbra Streisand: Live at the Village Vanguard, Michael Buble Meets Madison Sq Garden, Hit Man Returns: David Foster & Friends, Glee: Encore,Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition, Il Volo Takes Flight: Live From Detroit Opera House, Il Divo: Live in London

Oops... Now that I have listed it, I just realised it is a long list! :jawdrop: Overtaking my DVD collection pretty soon, 100+. But I think it's still not as much as some people in XP!!!

Wanted to start an account in Comgateway, but did not find the time, or forgot all about it. I have about 17 BRs in my shopping cart!!! :bleah:

I liked your concert & other sector. Blue Man group, II Divo! :dribble: :dribble: you got HT at home now? Check them out from your cart la :notti: :notti: