OnTheRoad

1 Roof, 3 Generations

Why don't you incorporate a cabinet below your basin in your MBR toilet? It'd be practical.

You don't intend to have a build-in oven?

Hi rain,

Prefer below to be open, don't want to monitor if there's leakage etc into the wood cabinets...I prefer to install cabinets on the wall that I can change & throw when it grows mouldy...it's a peculiarity of mine. Hehe.

Will put nice laundry bag/basket under the counter instd.

Initially didn't want to, we don't hv an oven now & only my mum cooks...but i just decided to get a basic one so I can play baking with my children...will hv full height cab after all. :)

U're very detailed hor, I didn't notice there's no full height in the 3d...

Edited by OnTheRoad

Why don't you incorporate a cabinet below your basin in your MBR toilet? It'd be practical.

You don't intend to have a build-in oven?

do take note of the trap below the basin of the MBR toilet, it will be expose if there isnt any cabinet, which will be an eyesore.

the 3d design didnt show the trap.. that why it look neat.

for the tv console, not sure if you will want a tainted glass doors for it rather than laminated doors.

its more of a pratical reason for me as you will be able to access the cable box, sounds system , dvd via remote without opening the cabinet door.

I do agree with Hin. The 3D drawing for the MBR toilet does not incorporate the trap or the pipes. You may consider to box up the exposed pipes as I see that you want your MBR toilet to look like classy hotel washrooms. Any exposed pipes will spoil the look.

Hmm..tks Aya & Hin, noted on the trap. Will ensure its a stainless steel one to keep the hotel look...:)

I checked the pipes but it's all covered by cement, so I guess there won't be exposed pipes?

For console, u mean remote control signals cant get thru plywood ah? Then don't make sense liao...But I refrain from using glass in my house for childproof reasons... Hmm, gotta think abt that one...

Good thing I posted here! Missed out all these details...thanks guys. :D

Did Reno to my old semi d in 4 weeks. You have 5 weeks no problem....Would recommend you to do termite ground treatment since there is old termite trails. Unless previous owner has done it in the last 5 years.

Never plant bamboo inside your compound unless you don't mind sweeping dried bamboo leaves everyday. Ok to plant it outside to screen the house.

If you like industrial look, your wet kitchen can be stainless steel cupboards and stands. Much cheaper than wood cabinets. You can get your stainless steel cabinets custom made at those factory/shops that supply to hawker stalls.

Don't forget to repaint or change new front gates. You will be surprise how new gates will rejuvenate the look of the house.

Edited by bys

Did Reno to my old semi d in 4 weeks. You have 5 weeks no problem....Would recommend you to do termite ground treatment since there is old termite trails. Unless previous owner has done it in the last 5 years.

Never plant bamboo inside your compound unless you don't mind sweeping dried bamboo leaves everyday. Ok to plant it outside to screen the house.

Don't forget to repaint or change new front gates. You will be surprise how new gates will rejuvenate the look of the house.

Hi bys,

wow 4 weeks for semi-d? did u do the foundation works - rewiring, repiping, reroofing?

i've already done the termite treatment with rentokil...they checked & confirmed its dead trails.

hmm...really ah? we were still thinking of keeping the gate, just cut out a side gate & install autogate mechanism...save money cos it seems roofing got surprise costs... hmm this part i'm abit disappointed with my IDs... now looking for recommended roof specialists to look at waterproofing... lemme know if u've contacts ya.

yesterday & today are low points in the reno journey so far... :help:

Hi bys,

wow 4 weeks for semi-d? did u do the foundation works - rewiring, repiping, reroofing?

i've already done the termite treatment with rentokil...they checked & confirmed its dead trails.

hmm...really ah? we were still thinking of keeping the gate, just cut out a side gate & install autogate mechanism...save money cos it seems roofing got surprise

costs... hmm this part i'm abit disappointed with my IDs... now looking for recommended roof specialists to look at

waterproofing... lemme know if u've contacts ya.

yesterday & today are low points in the reno journey so far... :help:

Only did rewiring whole house and major change to kitchen/utility room and all toilets and some extensions to rooms. There were 20 over workers in the house at 1 time.

Lucky never had any problem to the roof but did have leakage problem from a busted concealed toilet pipe.

Brochures that people throw in have their use. Changed our steel/wooden electric gate for less than 2k. Heard roof waterproof guys alot "tan jiak" have to just interview a few more.

Another advice do buy home insurance, cause landed house do have it's problems. Got to claim a bit of money back when the concealed pipe leaked.

Only did rewiring whole house and major change to kitchen/utility room and all toilets and some extensions to rooms. There were 20 over workers in the house at 1 time.

Lucky never had any problem to the roof but did have leakage problem from a busted concealed toilet pipe.

Brochures that people throw in have their use. Changed our steel/wooden electric gate for less than 2k. Heard roof waterproof guys alot "tan jiak" have to just interview a few more.

Another advice do buy home insurance, cause landed house do have it's problems. Got to claim a bit of money back when the concealed pipe leaked.

Tks for sharing. I was kept up lat night reading up to decide if we should change whole house copper piping. Now that's been overtaken by having to get 2nd opinions abt the roofing. Really very subjective this one.

Do u still hv the contact to change autogate (<2k?) can pm me if don't mind...

Think the insurance is good suggestion. Which company u took from, can share?

Tks for sharing. I was kept up lat night reading up to decide if we should change whole house copper piping. Now that's been overtaken by having to get 2nd opinions abt the roofing. Really very subjective this one.

Do u still hv the contact to change autogate (<2k?) can pm

me if don't mind...

Think the insurance is good suggestion. Which company u

took from, can share?

Husband watching soccer so wife still on Reno talk.

Sorry, Hubby just said was $2500. Partial wood cover only. (Top half).

Silver Builders: Wrought iron gates, steel gates, metal works and auto-gate systems. 540 Sims Avenue, #04-02B Sims Avenue Centre, Singapore

View/Print/Share full details

Tel: 6844 1701 / 9117 7222 / 9117 7333 

They will come round with different designs, the partial wooden gates are package price of about $2500. The full wooden covered gates are more expensive. Not that the workmanship is particularly good or super customer service. Just that their price was within my budget during then. Did call them once about the installation workmanship and they did attend to it promptly.

Don't think need to change piping lah cause so much pipe all concealed how to change all. As long as no sign of leakage ok already. Got leakage then claim insurance and do at the same time.

I did my main Reno within 4 weeks but did the trellis and decking after 1 year shifting in and gate 1 1/2 year after shifting in. Do all the important things first.

I have seen neighbors turn from Reno to A&A and A&A to rebuilding so must really prioritize.

Previously had NTUC cause it was cheap. Now thinking of changing to Chartis cause don't have to show evidence of

forceful entry in case of theft. Was thinking of changing cause read one of the forumer experience on high rise

spiderman thief cause we shifting to a condo.

Edited by bys

Husband watching soccer so wife still on Reno talk.

Sorry, Hubby just said was $2500. Partial wood cover only. (Top half).

Silver Builders: Wrought iron gates, steel gates, metal works and auto-gate systems. 540 Sims Avenue, #04-02B Sims Avenue Centre, Singapore

View/Print/Share full details

Tel: 6844 1701 / 9117 7222 / 9117 7333 

They will come round with different designs, the partial wooden gates are package price of about $2500. The full wooden covered gates are more expensive. Not that the workmanship is particularly good or super customer service. Just that their price was within my budget during then. Did call them once about the installation workmanship and they did attend to it promptly.

Don't think need to change piping lah cause so much pipe all concealed how to change all. As long as no sign of leakage ok already. Got leakage then claim insurance and do at the same time.

I did my main Reno within 4 weeks but did the trellis and decking after 1 year shifting in and gate 1 1/2 year after shifting in. Do all the important things first.

I have seen neighbors turn from Reno to A&A and A&A to rebuilding so must really prioritize.

Previously had NTUC cause it was cheap. Now thinking of changing to Chartis cause don't have to show evidence of

forceful entry in case of theft. Was thinking of changing cause read one of the forumer experience on high rise

spiderman thief cause we shifting to a condo.

Oh champions league ah? My husband cldnt stay awake for it...haha.

Oki I'll check out the gate, tk u! But haha u're right, I feel I'm just about short of doing A&A, having done so much hacking...we're saving the A&A part for reno round 2. :)

Isit home protection insurance? I never bought this bef...

Condo is nice, we will wanna move back to condo after my kids are grown up...which is 2-3 decades later. :)

Hey, congrats on your new place! Seldom get landed T-blogs here. :)

If you are willing to consider S/S kitchen, have a look at Dwell Kitchens mag (free!) here: Free! Dwell Presents 100 Kitchens We Love

It seems pretty common in the USA, and many of the featured kitchens look good.

Just curious what is the ballpark figure for a (i) reno, (ii) A&A & (iii) re-building for a landed place like yours?

Cos the floor plan/size looks to be a bit bigger than HDB EMs, but I'm guessing with additional stuff like roofing/porch, drainage, termite treatment etc the costs will add up to quite a bit more? How big is the build-up btw?

Hey, congrats on your new place! Seldom get landed T-blogs here. :)

If you are willing to consider S/S kitchen, have a look at Dwell Kitchens mag (free!) here: Free! Dwell Presents 100 Kitchens We Love

It seems pretty common in the USA, and many of the featured kitchens look good.

Just curious what is the ballpark figure for a (i) reno, (ii) A&A & (iii) re-building for a landed place like yours?

Cos the floor plan/size looks to be a bit bigger than HDB EMs, but I'm guessing with additional stuff like roofing/porch, drainage, termite treatment etc the costs will add up to quite a bit more? How big is the build-up btw?

Hi adidaem, tks. :) I've seen 2 blogs for landed 1 from here 1 from pte ppties thread...

Mine is a inter-terrace built in about 2500 sf. But ya, there's the land area to take care of as well. So definitely amount will be more than EM or penthouse typically cos of backyard & front yard. I wld say depends on extent of reno ba. Minimum 130k for old house i think? There are quite abit of unpredictability in old house reno....

For A&A, the engagement of PE, getting approvals from URA & BCA alone will bring up the figure by abt 10-20k...then it depends on what u wanna do. For rebuilding, depending on how many floors, built in area, what type of professionals engaged & what materials used, I wld think it's in excess of 1mio...?

I agree with Hin & bys, foundation works impt & must prioritise lor...budget must manage very well... So SS kitchen even if I want wld be low priority! :)

Edited by OnTheRoad

Hi adidaem, tks. :) I've seen 2 blogs for landed 1 from here 1 from pte ppties thread...

Mine is a inter-terrace built in about 2500 sf. But ya, there's the land area to take care of as well. So definitely amount will be more than EM or penthouse typically. I wld say in excess of 140k & depends on extent of reno ba. There are quite abit of unpredictability in old house reno...

For A&A, the engagement of PE, getting approvals from URA & BCA alone will bring up the figure...then it depends on what u wanna do. For rebuilding, depending on how many floors, built in area, what type of professionals engaged & what materials used, I wld think it's in excess of 1mio...?

Hope your reno goes smoothly! Yeah, I've heard of unexpected re-roofing works that really brings the costs up. But on the bright side, you can then install good insulation material/technology that keeps your house cool? Guess if you are planning to stay long-term, then best to overhaul rather than live with rectification works down the road...

You mean applications to URA/BCA is expensive? Didn't know that.

I've not really focused on inter-terraces makeovers, but here's one that I really like:

http://emrenoblog.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/inspirations-the-cambridge-road-inter-terrace/

The place belongs to the well known food blogger Chubby Hubby btw. Think his reno/re-build? must have cost a bomb...

Hope your reno goes smoothly! Yeah, I've heard of unexpected re-roofing works that really brings the costs up. But on the bright side, you can then install good insulation material/technology that keeps your house cool? Guess if you are planning to stay long-term, then best to overhaul rather than live with rectification works down the road...

You mean applications to URA/BCA is expensive? Didn't know that.

I've not really focused on inter-terraces makeovers, but here's one that I really like:

http://emrenoblog.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/inspirations-the-cambridge-road-inter-terrace/

The place belongs to the well known food blogger Chubby Hubby btw. Think his reno/re-build? must have cost a bomb...

Tks for ur encouragement...:) We're believing for things to turn out well. Sometimes its a matter of coming across the right people who can do quality work at reasonable price, worth recommending as & when I come across.

will check out the blog...maybe can copy some ideas from there...haha.

Hv a good wkend! :D