lynzi

How Big Is The Diamond On Your Engagement/proposal Ring?

My engagement ring is 0.32 carat from Diamond Industries. My wedding ring is 0.5 carat from Lee Hwa and costs more as its platinum and custom made.

i heard that white gold is better than platinum b'cos white gold is harder than platinum. :bow: white gold doesn't go out of shape easily. :) what are the 4Cs for your 0.5 carat diamond? :bow:

platinum is harder.. its the other way round. Thats y platinum ring cost more :bow:

is it? :bow: i remember platinum cannot be resize and white gold can. but white gold will turn yellowish after sometimes. :)

i also forget who told me that platinum isn't as hard as white gold. some friends of mine. :bow:

is it? :D i remember platinum cannot be resize and white gold can. but white gold will turn yellowish after sometimes. :notti:

i also forget who told me that platinum isn't as hard as white gold. some friends of mine. :yamseng:

Agree with casolyn that platinum is harder, that's y rings with same specs of diamonds can have quite big difference in pricing between white gold bands and platinum bands...platinum won't turn yellowish unlike white gold...platinum is also heavier than white gold, when dropped onto the floor, it will have a nice "cling" sound...

Platinum can be re-sized too...:notti:

Agree with casolyn that platinum is harder, that's y rings with same specs of diamonds can have quite big difference in pricing between white gold bands and platinum bands...platinum won't turn yellowish unlike white gold...platinum is also heavier than white gold, when dropped onto the floor, it will have a nice "cling" sound...

Platinum can be re-sized too...:D

that time when we bought our wedding bands and the person from the jewellery shop told us that platinum will have some problems when want to re-size. that's why we chose white gold. :yamseng:

Platinum is a harder material than gold and it wont turn yellow after time like white gold because gold is actually yellow.. But it can also be resized and wont go out of shape so easily..

But as a personal preference, I choose white gold as its cheaper, can still be polished when yellow and still can be re-shaped easily.. Anyway, I dun do heavy labour or subject my ring to harsh conditions, so it will still last long..

Edited by white_affair

Platinum is a harder material than gold and it wont turn yellow after time like white gold because gold is actually yellow.. But it can also be resized and wont go out of shape so easily..

But as a personal preference, I choose white gold as its cheaper, can still be polished when yellow and still can be re-shaped easily.. Anyway, I dun do heavy labour or subject my ring to harsh conditions, so it will still last long..

i searched infor from website and some people said that platinum gets out of shape easily. i don't know which is which. :D anyway, some people like platinum b'cos it's more expensive than white gold. personally, i prefer white gold b'cos i feel no point paying so much just to get a platinum. i rather paying much to get a bigger diamond. :yamseng:

my jewellery shop always re-coat my white gold for me free b'cos i always buy from them. :notti:

i searched infor from website and some people said that platinum gets out of shape easily. i don't know which is which. :D anyway, some people like platinum b'cos it's more expensive than white gold. personally, i prefer white gold b'cos i feel no point paying so much just to get a platinum. i rather paying much to get a bigger diamond. :yamseng:

Wah you actually went to search on the web :notti: haha...

But I dun think ppl like platinum for the reason that it is more expensive than white gold but rather, it won't turn yellowish and that it's shinier and hardier than white gold....but ultimately it's a matter of personal preference and budget....my diamond ring is platinum but my wedding bands are white gold....see no point paying so much for plat rings too....:notti:

Wah you actually went to search on the web :bow: haha...

But I dun think ppl like platinum for the reason that it is more expensive than white gold but rather, it won't turn yellowish and that it's shinier and hardier than white gold....but ultimately it's a matter of personal preference and budget....my diamond ring is platinum but my wedding bands are white gold....see no point paying so much for plat rings too....:)

i'm very free nowadays b'cos i resigned liao and have been staying at home to rot therefore always surf infor from website. hahaha. :dancingqueen:

my 1 carat diamond ring is white gold so is my wedding band. whether platinum or white gold is fine. :P

Actually for the finishing, whether shiny or matt, it will look the same as white gold. eventually after scratched, matt also wear off, only thing white gold will turn light yellow. In fact polishing is not exp also..

For how hard platinum is, also depends on how pure it is .. there is PT1000, PT950 and PT900... PT1000 is the hardest..same as white gold but just oppo as the purer gold is, the softer it becomes... If you want fancy design for your rings, it will most prob be in white gold cos not easy to mould..

For me, I also choose white gold for the cost as maintenence is not difficult. Think my wedding bands will use white gold also.. :dancingqueen: Depends on individual lor.

Actually for the finishing, whether shiny or matt, it will look the same as white gold. eventually after scratched, matt also wear off, only thing white gold will turn light yellow. In fact polishing is not exp also..

For how hard platinum is, also depends on how pure it is .. there is PT1000, PT950 and PT900... PT1000 is the hardest..same as white gold but just oppo as the purer gold is, the softer it becomes... If you want fancy design for your rings, it will most prob be in white gold cos not easy to mould..

For me, I also choose white gold for the cost as maintenence is not difficult. Think my wedding bands will use white gold also.. :bow: Depends on individual lor.

my wedding band is matt white gold. but my diamond ring is polish white gold b'cos matt white gold isn't nice when set with diamond. anyway, re-coating is free for me. :dancingqueen:

Thats good if re-coating is free :bow: .. those shops like lee hwa and sk will charge... Your diamond ring is solitaire rite? If it is, matt not so nice.. Matt nicer for wedding bands..

I DUN think ppl these days look at carat ba...

Have u see celestier & destiny their size look smaller then Normal Diamond.

Edited by LadyLuck

Thats good if re-coating is free :bow: .. those shops like lee hwa and sk will charge... Your diamond ring is solitaire rite? If it is, matt not so nice.. Matt nicer for wedding bands..

i bought my solitaire diamond ring from sookee and usually they'll do free coating for me b'cos i'm their regular customer. :dancingqueen: ya, my diamond ring is solitaire. if set with matt white gold then not nice. i find that my matt white gold wedding band is nice although there're 8 tiny pieces of princess cut diamonds on it. :P