kenmura

Home Sweet Home

Haiz, don't be discouraged. You still have a long road ahead and a lovely companion to share the journey. Need to think of her and your parents. :notti: Every difficulty is just a passing phase. You'll grow and be stronger...and someday, you'll look back at the memories and smile. :lol:

Sorry Friend make use of ur space here, Odie's side too crowded :)

I have selected a few option for this week IT Exhibition.

1) Dell Inspiron E1505

2) HP Pavilion DV6000T

3) Sony Vio VGN C25G

4) Apple Macbook

5) Toshiba (Too many model blur liao, But I heard alot of good comment on it)

Any comment on my selection cos me nt veri familiar with Laptop. :bangwall:

Haiz, don't be discouraged. You still have a long road ahead and a lovely companion to share the journey. Need to think of her and your parents. :) Every difficulty is just a passing phase. You'll grow and be stronger...and someday, you'll look back at the memories and smile. :bangwall:

nah i'm not discouraged mate

just tired.

*yawn*

and stressed too!

1) Dell Inspiron E1505

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=2827

* Intel Core Duo Processor T2500 at 2.0 GHz per core.

* 15.4" Ultrasharp SXGA+ display with TrueLife

* 512MB DDR2 533MHz RAM in dual channel mode

* Integrated Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950

* 100GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive

* 8X DVD +/- dual layer recorder

* 53 watt-hour 6-cell battery

Pros:

* Top-Notch computing performance in non-3D applications

* Awesome for multi-taskers

* Very respectable battery life

* Quiet under normal use

* Mostly cool running

* Good keyboard

* Surprisingly good speakers

Cons:

* Build quality could be improved some.

* Not available with high end graphics (yet?), must get spendier XPS line for that.

* Best of three available screens is not that great.

* No non-glossy option for high resolution or expanded viewing angle.

2) HP Pavilion DV6000T

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?...view=HP+dv6000t

* Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo T7400 (2.16 GHz/4MB L2 Cache)

* Hard Drive: 100 GB SATA @ 5400RPM

* Screen: 15.4" WXGA BrightView Widescreen (1280 x 800)

* Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce Go 7400, 128 MB Dedicated + 128 MB Shared

* RAM: 1GB DDR2 SDRAM @667 MHz (2 x 512MB)

* Optical Drive: Super Multi 8X DVD+/-RW w/Double Layer

* Battery: 6-cell lithium ion

* Wireless: Intel PRO/Wireless 3945 802.11 a/b/g

* Weight: 6.09 lbs.

* Dimensions: 1.0” - 1.69” (H) x 14.05” (W) x 10.12” (D)

* HP Imprint Finish + Microphone + Webcam

* Ports/Slots: 1 IEEE 1394 (FireWire); 3 Universal Serial Bus (USB 2.0); 5-in-1 memory card reader; VGA monitor out port; S-Video out; RJ-45 Ethernet LAN; RJ-11 modem; ExpressCard 54mm; IR receiver; Expansion Port 3; headphone/speaker jack with SPDIF; microphone

Pros:

* Excellent performance

* Above average looks

* A fine LCD

* Dedicated graphics processing

* Comfortable keyboard

* Stays reasonably cool and quiet

* No obvious build weaknesses

Cons:

* No high resolution options

* Glossy chassis requires a lot of wiping to keep fingerprint-free

* Battery life is around 2 hours

* Some screen rippling when LCD cover is firmly pressed

3) Sony Vaio VGN C25G

Intel Core 2 Duo M Processor T5500 (1.66 GHz)

WINDOWS VISTA Home Premium

13.3" WXGA (CB LCD)

Intel® 945PM Express Chipset

80 GB

1 GB DDR2 SDRAM

DVD±RW Drive

4) Apple Macbook

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=3370

Bro, since you picked some real gems for laptops so far, I went straight for what I consider to be the best apple laptop, the apple macbook core 2 duo

* 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

* 1GB memory

* 80GB hard drive

* Double-layer SuperDrive

Pros:

* Good overall build

* High quality iSight camera

* Excellent sound card

* OS X >> Windows XP (with the exception of gaming)

* A performance increase is always nice

Cons:

* Standard delivery method is on a cart pulled by a mule. (Very slow, for those of you who don’t get it)

* Rosetta

* No PC card slot

* No memory card reader

* Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950

5) Toshiba

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=3543

Like you said bro, too many good Toshiba ones to choose from. I also don't know your budget to be frank. But since this is a wish list, I put in my favourite Toshiba laptop - Toshiba Satellite P105-S6217. COMES WITH FREAKING HARMAN/KARDON BUILT IN SPEAKERS CAN?? *faint*

* Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T5500

* Memory: 2GB PC-4200 DDR2 Memory

* Hard Drive: 200GB Serial ATA Hard Drive

* Screen: 17.0-inch Widescreen TruBrite LCD 1440 x 900 resolution

* TV Tuner: Toshiba USB HDTV Tuner -

* Graphics: nVidia GeForce Go 7300 with 128MB SDRAM

* Communications: Toshiba V.92 Software Modem Intel PRO Network Connection 10/100/1000 Base-TX Ethernet Integrated Wireless LAN Network Connection 3945ABG 802.11a/b/g

* Ports:

o 4 USB 2.0 ports

o 1 FireWire (also known as IEEE 1394 or i.Link)

o 1 VGA monitor port

o 1 S-Video out

o 1 PCMCIA (or PC Card) slot (Type II, PCMCIA R2.01, PC Card16, CardBus)

o 1 ExpressCard/54 Slot (also supports ExpressCard/34)

o 5-in-1 memory card reader (Secure Digital, MultiMedia, Memory Stick, Memory Stick PRO, xD Picture Card)

o 1 headphone jack, 1 microphone jack

o 1 S/PDIF digital audio output (for connecting to a home theater receiver)

* Dimensions: Width 15.5 x Depth 10.8 x Height 1.41 inch Weight - 7.1 pounds

Pros

* Nice design with the Blue Onyx lid, looks thinner than it actually is with the sloping front

* Speakers provide quality sound

* Very sturdy body and no flexing to the case

* Flexible options and configurations to fit anyone's budget and requirements

* Quality display, glossy finish and bold colors will appeal to those seeking multimedia laptop

Cons

* Fan has weird behavior, will kick in and out quickly and can get annoying

* Battery life of only 1 hour is poor

* A ton of junk software pre-installed slows the system down

* Keyboard has some flex issues and odd sized buttons on the right side

Bro, you made my life a bit difficult cause I really don't know what your budget is and what the hot deals at the IT show are cause maybe one of the models you selected might be going for a song at the IT show. But I wouldn't know. I also can't pick based on looks or personal preference cause that's subjective.

However, assuming no budget and also assuming that they're all cheaper now cause of the IT show, it's pretty obvious that I would go for the Toshiba. :)

Edited by kenmura

:P cantona7 say until like that :P ....

the guys didnt show up yet to talk on their IT gadgets.. :(

glad kenmura can help u abit :(

hee hee kenmura u used to have a company what company is that?

so after ur studies wat are u doing to do?

yeah its tiring processing.. i had sleepless nights due to reno/rom and adjusting a new life..

still have a long road like homeowner had mentioned.. some more u had not gone through a lot of stuff..

even u budget for 20k for the reno, dont forget u still have to get electrician, aircon, buying of lights, accessories for ur bathroom, kitchen stuff fridge, hod/hood, basin, taps, plates, bowls, cooking stuff.. etc.. the list goes on.. its a major cost in most couple life and even after the reno more things to come...

young man dont be so tired... u have a long way ahead... :P

sound like i am very old... like real!! !! but i also think i have age already...

Wow thks Bro for analysis for me. :(

My budget jus around $2.5K only :P

Not sure the toshiba can meet my budget, but still got alot of option left. !!

Will go down to the exhibition tis Sat, hopefully can find something I like.

Don take the Stress too hard, most impt must share with us wife, there the beauty of reno the hse. :P

Sorry Friend make use of ur space here, Odie's side too crowded !!

I have selected a few option for this week IT Exhibition.

Any comment on my selection cos me nt veri familiar with Laptop. :P

1) Dell Inspiron E1505 BUY THIS

2) HP Pavilion DV6000T BUY THIS if you like expensive outlook but cheapo internal parts

3) Sony Vio VGN C25G BUY THIS only if you belong those who WANTS pretty don wan life

4) Apple Macbook BUY THIS only if have buddies who can repair it for free

5) Toshiba BUY THIS

2) HP Pavilion DV6000T BUY THIS if you like expensive outlook but cheapo internal parts

3) Sony Vio VGN C25G BUY THIS only if you belong those who WANTS pretty don wan life

5) Toshiba BUY THIS

Oh... but I thought NUS students get a discount on the apple macbook? Dunno how many % off plus free 3 years international warranty.

NUS used to tied up with toshiba. now apple?

warranty covers only the hardware.

100% of all computer problems, 99% were caused by smartalec humans. 1% is due to hardware failure.

sigh...

i feel as if i've aged 10 years in the past couple of months.

Apart from the stress generated by the whole house and renovation thing, there's also the stress from the ROM, the AD next year, not to mention the financial burden. Don't get me wrong - this financial burden will be greatly eased in a couple of months, something I'm extremely confident of. But at the moment, it's stressful.

So stressful in fact that I couldn't sleep at all last night. Logged onto this forum in the middle of the night, trying to gleam more ideas. But the more I read, the more stressed I got. I'm also concurrently talking to the hotels on our shortlist because our AD next year happens to fall on a popular and supposedly auspicious date, which means if I want everything perfect for my FW, I have to book at least a year in advance... then after that, today still gotta go for lectures in sch...

Did I mention the stress from school too? Got papers piling up that are due pretty soon... Thank God I sold off my company a couple of months back. If not, I can really prepare to hang myself sia... :sport-smiley-004:

Me same same... financial stress for reno now, and stress for next yr's AD and ROM. *sweat

financial stress? borrow from bank

AD and ROM stress? employ wedding planner

haha no more stress liao... hehe

financial stress? borrow from bank

AD and ROM stress? employ wedding planner

haha no more stress liao... hehe

Bank : more stress with interest rates... *heart attack*

Wedding Planner : more stress if wedding planner dont do a good job *heart attack*

:sport-smiley-004: anyway kidding sunboi80 :sport-smiley-004: hee hee

5) Toshiba BUY THIS

rofl

nice and succint summary.

cantona7, i think as of now the toshiba seems to be a good deal...

even if you can't get the high end one, you can also go for a slightly lower end one which will fit nicely into your budget. 2.5K will get you a v gd lappie, don't need to worry. My advice to you is to take 2 days to do your shopping - one day at the IT fair and then after that go down to Sim Lim to see if they can better that offer. From there, you can make the best choice! :sport-smiley-004:

hee hee kenmura u used to have a company what company is that?

so after ur studies wat are u doing to do?

I set up my own company when I was 21. We were a one stop mini advertising company, doing events, graphic design, videography, photography and even had our own in house modelling agency. sold it off a couple of months ago so that's now history.

after my studies? :sport-smiley-004: got jobs to recommend? :sport-smiley-004:

NUS used to tied up with toshiba. now apple?

warranty covers only the hardware.

100% of all computer problems, 99% were caused by smartalec humans. 1% is due to hardware failure.

NUS ties up with a lot of companies if I'm not wrong...

we get discounts on most of the lappies. But only one time. Not for multiple purchases

Bank : more stress with interest rates... *heart attack*

Wedding Planner : more stress if wedding planner dont do a good job *heart attack*

:sport-smiley-004: anyway kidding sunboi80 :sport-smiley-004: hee hee

Bank loan: slowly pay lor, dun think of the interest rates then will b ok hehe

Wedding planner dun do good job then dun pay them haha....

haiz...reno is always scary/tiresome...just need to look on the bright side....

frankly i don even WHERE is the bright side...just keep telling myself.