luckable

Our 3rm Flat @ Chong Pang

Hi guys.. We just bought a 3rm ( 1982, 67sqm ) Repossessed Flat ( $130k) from HDB.. :notti::notti::notti: Now waiting for the AHG den hope to get the keys in Nov.. :drunk: Looking for ID now.. The flat condition is quite jialat so we will redo the whole hse.. So far the quotations all is around $34k for Reno, abit over my budget.. The max i can do is $30k.. Pls give me some suggestions.. Thanks.. Below r the flr plan and the pics.. :yamseng:

3rmflrplanbb4.jpg

Below is Chong Pang hawker centre.. :dancingqueen:

dsc00246re7.jpg

Living room so small !! :bleah

dsc00254ij2.jpg

Kitchen..

dsc00251rl7.jpg

So Ugly !! :bleah

dsc00252lf6.jpg

Edited by luckable

spam chop :dancingqueen:

$130k is a really good deal

especially the location is so good

$30k is not little for a 3-rm flat

maybe you want to consider contractors coz those so-called IDs don't have very good ideas anyway :dunno:

spam chop :dancingqueen:

$130k is a really good deal

especially the location is so good

$30k is not little for a 3-rm flat

maybe you want to consider contractors coz those so-called IDs don't have very good ideas anyway :dunno:

we did consider contractor before but we have to time to inspect contracter when they work...and my sis say if you dun keep an eye on the contracter...at the end of the day there'll be full of surprise for u!

ha!

Spam Chop!!! :yamseng::dancingqueen:

Is yours a corner unit?

nah, ours is not corner unit. there's only 4 units on the storey. ours is nearer to the stairs... :sport-smiley-018:

actually the only difference between ID and contractor is

- ID provides design, contractor don't

i used a main contractor for my basic renovation

won't say it went without hassle, but i didn't keep an eye on him

i only went down to my new place to take photo

didn't bother checking workmanship or whatsoever

ID firms also full of surprises

i've seen cases here and i've heard cases personally :furious:

actually the only difference between ID and contractor is

- ID provides design, contractor don't

i used a main contractor for my basic renovation

won't say it went without hassle, but i didn't keep an eye on him

i only went down to my new place to take photo

didn't bother checking workmanship or whatsoever

ID firms also full of surprises

i've seen cases here and i've heard cases personally :furious:

haha. agree dat. ID can oso give u surprises. so dun be surprise at de end of de day if u dun supervise 8|

btw, nice location, but maybe not so nice when u olways get caught in de jam when going n coming hm :dancingqueen:

Yup. IDs either have their own contractors or sub-contract out to people to do. If you come up with own designs can save a few thousand ba.

But great bargain le!

mm but think you have to do flooring and walls liao but then a 3-room shouldn't be 30k reno ba even if do floor and wall tiles + cabinets... :P

Yup. IDs either have their own contractors or sub-contract out to people to do. If you come up with own designs can save a few thousand ba.

But great bargain le!

mm but think you have to do flooring and walls liao but then a 3-room shouldn't be 30k reno ba even if do floor and wall tiles + cabinets... :P

so far we only got a quotation from *****, which is $34K not including window grilles, window, electrical work, haulage & main gate but the proposed design includes false ceiling for living room, dining room, 2 toilets & kitchen and plenty of sliding glass, which cost A LOT!

good design but too pricey, dun think can afford it.

waiting for some more quotations from other ID. :unsure:

mmm then they really ... well I think if your budget is about $30k then must aim for quotations to be abt $25k. 5k is for additions after signing of contract. It happens.

I've seen "packages" from many places which include all these hacking and tiling of kitchen and bathroom ... for about $20k - $25k...

Ya sliding glass more ex... and false ceiling... well I wouldn't do ba. false ceiling can make a place look very small depending on where you do it.

Good luck with getting more quotes!

a small 3 room flat & spend so much on reno...

anyway IMO if ur really sure u b staying in the 3 room flats for long time then dun mind investing..

coz remind me of my cousin case..thot dun 1 any kids..bought resale 3room.spend a bomb renovating...

4 kids & 7 years later..no space in the house...have to upgrade.

34k for 3rm reno think its quite high.

usually for 1st quotation, they always quote very high, try to slash the price at least 5-8k.

And find more ID firms to compare.

I spent reno my 4rms flats is much less then 34K. But maybe I never do any hacking so abit cheap. :notti:

Yes, if you have design, think you look for contractor is more worth it.

But if you do not have any design in mind, then maybe you can consult an ID firm.

HAPPY RENO! :yamseng:

Edited by blurer23

great locations with great price!!!!!!!!!!!

good deal leh!!!!!

yes, i agree that 34k for a 3room reno,..is really too high.

try to flip thru mag and get ideas,.....and go to contractor, can really save quite alot leh!

i am also using a contractor,....and give him my designs......and he's also quite good as advising me save on this or that and also gives me good advises on certain designs. :)

so far i m very happy with his service and also find his ideas quite good. :)