adidaem

A Bright & Airy Executive Maisonette

Hi everyone!

After weeks of lurking and occasionally hijacking other threads (temporarily of course! http://www.renotalk.com/forum/public/style_emoticons/#EMO_DIR#/biggrin.gif ), I would like to start my own T-Blog chat since I've finally confirmed my 2nd appointment date! http://www.renotalk.com/forum/public/style_emoticons/#EMO_DIR#/sport-smiley-004.gif

1st June is the magical day... http://www.renotalk.com/forum/public/style_emoticons/#EMO_DIR#/dancingqueen.gif

The reno design is still being finalised with my IDs, but the brief we gave was for it to be a bright and airy apartment. For now, the design seems to involve lots of hacking, glass and other movable partitions. I'm guessing getting the HDB approval will take a while? http://www.renotalk.com/forum/public/style_emoticons/#EMO_DIR#/unsure.gif

Just a quick background: We took a while to look for an apartment we both liked, but this was the one that both my SO & I could imagine staying for the long haul... being an EM, it's spacious with decent sized bedrooms and hall. It also had a balcony that we could imagine having cosy gatherings with friends in.

The floorplan: It's a typical Gen 2 EM, but the rubbish chute is in the common area

floorplan1.jpg

The bright living room that sparked my interest in this apartment - I won't share too many pics of it's pre-reno state as I think not so nice - like infringing on my sellers' privacy but to give an idea:

http://emrenoblog.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/02-living-room.jpg

And finally, the view from the living room - it cliched the deal, as we both wanted an apartment with loads of privacy.

http://emrenoblog.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/99-view-from-1st-floor.jpg

Thanks for sharing my reno journey! http://www.renotalk.com/forum/public/style_emoticons/#EMO_DIR#/yamseng.gif

Update: Don't know what's wrong with Wordpress... the pics are just not showing. Hope it resolves itself later...

==========================================================

UPDATE: Here are my 'before & after' pics.

http://emrenoblog.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/before-after-preview.jpg

Click on links below to see more:

If you like what you see, do refer to my posts here and in my WP blog for information on my purchases and ID. I've really been very open about where I got my stuff from and even their dimensions. Plus it's only common courtesy to check thru the blogs 1st if the info has already been provided so that I (and other RT-bloggers) do not have to answer the same question 10-over times... if you feel offended at reading this, then don't read my blog. But I hope you enjoy the pics anyway. http://www.renotalk.com/forum/public/style_emoticons/#EMO_DIR#/yamseng.gif

My IDs are: Atelier M+A

If you like what you see, email them and they will call you back. Please don't expect them to give you contractor prices tho. Or ask them to quote for a "insert size" HDB flat without any discussion or seeing the floor plan yet. They are IDs, not contractors. I'm writing this cos I hear that they get weird requests from people who read my blog, which I find to be slightly embarrassing. http://www.renotalk.com/forum/public/style_emoticons/#EMO_DIR#/ohmy.gif

My contractor has requested not to be named, so I will not be providing his contact. He is actually a trained architect and providing ID services as well. So he only accepts 'project management' jobs like the one he did for my place from IDs he has worked/is friends with. He doesn't just do small carpentry jobs and I will not share my design for the TV console that I paid design fees to customize so PLS DO NOT ASK FOR MY CARPENTRY CONTACT OR TO COPY MY CONSOLE.

ALSO I WILL NOT SHARE MY TOTAL RENO COST OR QUOTATION, SO PLS DO NOT ASK! I have peppered this all over the thread and on my blog but I still get requests. If you want to know why you can read this: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=40600&view=findpost&p=725278

Hate to use caps but really get a lot of such queries...

Edited by adidaem

congrats on your new home! I saw your comments on my blog. we are still in the midst of doing my design. headache!!

all the best in your reno!! so what budget did you set for this reno??

Congrats! Eager to see your transformation. Nice place from what i see in the photo...surround by green. :) Emobebe

congrats on your new home! I saw your comments on my blog. we are still in the midst of doing my design. headache!!

I think she stated before in ely blog that she is spending 100k for Reno!! :)

Wow, this is a big sum if excluding furnishing...:)

Thanks for all the well wishes!

Hey joyous, hope you get your design finalised soon! You are so lucky to get a corner unit. :yamseng:

Wow, this is a big sum if excluding furnishing...:)

100K includes reno, fixtures, furnishings n major appliances. No choice cos is major overhaul and we have to buy nearly everything. Trying to be good and disciplined to save money but always get seduced by nice stuff... sigh... :bangwall:

Congrats! Eager to see your transformation. Nice place from what i see in the photo...surround by green. :) Emobebe

Thanks Emobebe, so far from our visits we love the location cos it's really quiet n peaceful.

Hi, just a quick update on some of the stuff I've bought so far (and blogged earlier in my wordpress blog):

I think I wrote quite a lot in my wordpress blog, so won't repeat again here.

From the short list above, you can sort of see what I mean by I get tempted right? Sigh, am a bad gal...

Btw... my nickname stands for:

All day I dream about (my) EM = Adidaem

Inspired by Adidas... all day I dream about sports...

Sis Adidaem .... I'm here to kaypoh :sport-smiley-004::rolleyes:

Hey bro, most welcome to pop by. You are welcome to 'hijack' my thread if you want too, to make up for all my little hijacks. :P:rolleyes::D

Hi, just a quick update on some of the stuff I've bought so far (and blogged earlier in my wordpress blog):

[*]Kitchen Hob: Rinnai RB-2CG

I think I wrote quite a lot in my wordpress blog, so won't repeat again here.

From the short list above, you can sort of see what I mean by I get tempted right? Sigh, am a bad gal...

Sis, I just realised we have the same hob.... just that 2CG no stock still next month or beyond , so no choice we bought 3CG... :yamseng:

Btw... my nickname stands for:

All day I dream about (my) EM = Adidaem

Inspired by Adidas... all day I dream about sports...

Hey bro, most welcome to pop by. You are welcome to 'hijack' my thread if you want too, to make up for all my little hijacks. :P:rolleyes::D

Oh, ok, I was thinking your nick sound like adidas.... and Sis, let's hijack each other's thread :sport-smiley-004:

Sis, I just realised we have the same hob.... just that 2CG no stock still next month or beyond , so no choice we bought 3CG... :yamseng:

Oh 2CG no stock? I bought 2CG instead of 3CG to 'save' some money. Ordered a few weeks ago in case the Japan nuclear problem affects stocks. Kiasu huh? :bleah:

Oh, ok, I was thinking your nick sound like adidas.... and Sis, let's hijack each other's thread :sport-smiley-004:

Ya, easy to remember and describes me... all day thinking abt my reno. :D