tristesse

Mansionette Owner

hi stargaze,

can share with us on your on-going reno?

how is your contractor / ID? how much you spent on reno?

any pix to share?

Chrono PMed you my contractor contacts. MY reno is still on going. I started reno at mid March.

Thanks! Will be good if u can post some pics to show!

Yesterday i was browsing IMM level 3 with my wife! A few IDs attended to me but was only impressed by one!

I can tell he is a contractor even before he introduced himself.....cos his hand felt like sand paper! I was impressed not because he is a contractor but he actually help to save my cost, give good advices and ideas to salvage thing that i felt need to change! 45 mins of discussion already save me 3.5k! However, it is still too early to finalise anything....will wait for his quote and see his work before deciding!

hi Chrono,

can share?

now i am really having a hard-time.....cos my hb was telling me to save cost and not to dismantle the false ceiling and no need re-wire,...he says remain all current wiring and false ceiling......sure will save alot!

means, we only need to buy new lights and change lor.

can anyone advise me here? is it advisable to keep those and remain as it is?

hi Chrono,

can share?

now i am really having a hard-time.....cos my hb was telling me to save cost and not to dismantle the false ceiling and no need re-wire,...he says remain all current wiring and false ceiling......sure will save alot!

means, we only need to buy new lights and change lor.

can anyone advise me here? is it advisable to keep those and remain as it is?

PMed you!

Your hb is right about the false ceiling, just need to add new points and buy new lights!

hi chrono,

got your PM and replied you.

ya, was thinking to salvage as much as we can....but, for the pipings, dun think i wan to save lor,....better change lor.

cos i worry abt long terms problems....eg. leakage, etc etc

can anyone recommend a good id with good workmanship....i am particular over carpentary work....

my email addy....germaine_m_tan@yahoo.com

Thanks in advance!

Jessie,

You manage to shortlist any ID as yet?

did u re-do all the 3 toilets?

i've got reno cost abt $55K leh. tat is not all.

in the midst of reno. abt to complete by mid may.

Edited by armstrong

virgo,....i hv not shortlist any contractor / id yet.

will be going to meet up with chrono's id guy.

let's hope to see what he can offer me and whether he can work within my budget or not.

i got my revised floor plan today.

Will bring to show Roger (GPlan) then see how he proposed.

Will update here once decided.

hi stargaze,

can share with us on your on-going reno?

how is your contractor / ID? how much you spent on reno?

any pix to share?

Hello Jessie

my reno is a major overhaul. just some of the works i cam remember.

hacking

hack all 3 toilets floor and wall tile, kitchen floor, 2nd level floor

hack all existing build in cabinets

remove all cornises

remove all exsiting wiring

remove most of windows and grill

hack kitchen wall to link to dining.

mansony work

plaster smooth rock stone wall for whole house

re-tile kitchen floor, homo

re-tile all 3 toilet floor and wall

overlay plaster kitchen wall tiles

overlay balcony with pebble wash

awning roof for balcony

cement screed 2nd floor for german laminates

covert another bedroom to master bedroom by hacking and reconstruct new wall

polish existing marble floor

hack and rebuild wall to re position toilet door

carpentry

laminate 2nd level and stairs

kitchen cabinet top and bottom

glass partition between kitchen and dining

solid wood platform at foyer (resort style)

shoe cabinet

walk in wardrobe

tv ledge for master bedroom

study table and cabinet

display cabinet ****

solid wood platform at balcony

half height storage cabinet at dining

half height wall mirror at dining

gysum board as tv feature wall

Misc

painting whole house

rewiring whole house

re pipe the whole house

balcony casement windows

false ceiling at foyer and living and balcony

all for less than 55K

The apartment is around 20 years old and most of the tiles and fixtures are original HDB items hence need to replace most of them. My ID is more of a contractor. There is no fancy 3D drawing only simple drawing for the carpentry. He would recommend what i should do based on my ideas.

I not sure if i got a good rate for the reno works.

Hello Jessie

my reno is a major overhaul. just some of the works i cam remember.

hacking

hack all 3 toilets floor and wall tile, kitchen floor, 2nd level floor

hack all existing build in cabinets

remove all cornises

remove all exsiting wiring

remove most of windows and grill

hack kitchen wall to link to dining.

mansony work

plaster smooth rock stone wall for whole house

re-tile kitchen floor, homo

re-tile all 3 toilet floor and wall

overlay plaster kitchen wall tiles

overlay balcony with pebble wash

awning roof for balcony

cement screed 2nd floor for german laminates

covert another bedroom to master bedroom by hacking and reconstruct new wall

polish existing marble floor

hack and rebuild wall to re position toilet door

carpentry

laminate 2nd level and stairs

kitchen cabinet top and bottom

glass partition between kitchen and dining

solid wood platform at foyer (resort style)

shoe cabinet

walk in wardrobe

tv ledge for master bedroom

study table and cabinet

display cabinet ****

solid wood platform at balcony

half height storage cabinet at dining

half height wall mirror at dining

gysum board as tv feature wall

Misc

painting whole house

rewiring whole house

re pipe the whole house

balcony casement windows

false ceiling at foyer and living and balcony

all for less than 55K

wow....can share with us ur quote? i intend to do an overhaul and was quoted $130k.....