dapliew

Our New Home

Beebee.... second Ong's advise!! Get this!!

ASUS RT-AC66U Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router

41vOOyzq5lL._SL160_.jpg

Then u get another 3 of this to replace the exiting antenna. :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

Asus Omni Antenna

31kdp9JUW6L._SY300_.jpg

360 degree Coverage Extension Stronger signal increases wireless coverage to hard-to-reach areas!!!

eh kim, i thot u said bee's house too small to lose signal ? :notti: :notti:

u want her to provide wireless signal to her whole development ah ? :rofl:

Ya.. maybe when I am tap onto her network while eating the Lor 9 beef hor fun :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

All talking about wireless... I think I am the only one who prefer to use cables and not wireless! :unsure:

Wireless still good for small gadgets

:rofl: good for bee, can makan and surf net at her nearby street.

Ya.. maybe when I am tap onto her network while eating the Lor 9 beef hor fun :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

Bo jio us go and eat :bleah: really nice?

1 more trend I noticed (it was 2 but I forgot what's the 2nd one zz )... Most, if not all have cove lighting - be it living, bedroom or both.

1st thing I can think of is the cleaning - How much cleaning will we need to do!

beejeebee, amazon prices :notti: :notti:

kim/ong's router - USD99

rt-n66u - USD170

rt-ac66u - USD194

Wahahahaha :rofl:

What's the difference between the 2nd and 3rd models?

Wahahahaha :rofl:

What's the difference between the 2nd and 3rd models?

Not sure... Just little difference.. get the best one la..

Beebee.... second Ong's advise!! Get this!!

ASUS RT-AC66U Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router

41vOOyzq5lL._SL160_.jpg

Then u get another 3 of this to replace the exiting antenna. :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

Asus Omni Antenna

31kdp9JUW6L._SY300_.jpg

360 degree Coverage Extension Stronger signal increases wireless coverage to hard-to-reach areas!!!

Lol, posion bee even further :dancingqueen:

Ya lor Kim... You are going all out to poison me hor

Even you and Ong are not using that lor! :bleah:

dragon is right. Mine is too small to even lose signal. I think I just need a normal TP-LINK router la :rolleyes:

Ya lor Kim... You are going all out to poison me hor

Even you and Ong are not using that lor! :bleah:

dragon is right. Mine is too small to even lose signal. I think I just need a normal TP-LINK router la :rolleyes:

eh, i wouldn't go as far as TP-LINK lah... :P

the difference ah ... both also got 3 antennas leh ... :dancingqueen::dancingqueen:

seriously,

AC66U - up to 1.75Gbps cos supports an additional 802.11ac standard

N66U - up to 900Mbps

eh, i wouldn't go as far as TP-LINK lah... :P

the difference ah ... both also got 3 antennas leh ... :dancingqueen::dancingqueen:

seriously,

N66U - up to 900Mbps

If say my internet speed is 100mpbs, does it matter if I get AC66U or N66U?

I'm a bit confused on this part whenever I'm choosing routers.

Cos if my speed is 100mbps, it will never up to 900mbps so what's the point of getting such a high speed one? :dunno:

got difference if u're streaming video within your network...won't help much during downloads, yes...

Ahhhh... Now that's much clearer. Thanks dragon :dancingqueen:

Now, considering I'm planning to get a NAS for movies and music streaming. It will be good a get a high speed one, I suppose :good:

Hihi, thanks for your kind explanation and illustration.

Well, I am thinking of the following for mine:::

a) Opennet Termination Point (TP) @ Living Room Console (with 2 free power sockets allocated) ->

b) Opennet Fibre Box ->

c) Gigabit Router ->

d) Gigabit Switch (8 ports) ->

d) Network Patch Panel (4 points) -> MBR @ 1 port / Bedroom @ 1 port / Study @ 2 ports + Gigabit Switch (8 ports).

In the event when I plan to expand the network in the rooms, I will add switches to the rooms.

I am presently receiving quote of 120 per cat6 point, with 10 bucks for per wall panel in my rooms and 50 bucks for the network patch panel in my living room. Gigabit switch is around 60 per piece. So total damage est 690.

Ongcs,may I ask doing network cabling is different from electrical wiring isit? So I will need to engage some1 to install my network isit? very chim...I am really nook in this. Thanks!

Yes, they are different from start. You can engage your ID/contractor to wire up your new house. You need to research & plan what you want to achieve by having networking in your new place.

Quick start, have a read on my T-Blog. I did covered a fair write-up on the gadgets I had installed. :yamseng:

seriously,

N66U - up to 900Mbps

Good for me to have this :dribble:

Do not mixed up internet speed vs router. What you had signed up on the internet package was the download speed offered to you. Taking (N66U - up to 900Mbps) as example, which mean it is capable to handle such transfer size & load in this router. Likewise for (AC66U - up to 1.75Gbps cos supports an additional 802.11ac standard) the capability is even better. Also, it supports the new standard 802.11AC, future proof but not neccessary unless all your equipments are 802.11AC capable too.

Ahhhh... Now that's much clearer. Thanks dragon :dancingqueen:

Now, considering I'm planning to get a NAS for movies and music streaming. It will be good a get a high speed one, I suppose :good:

For your situation, no need to buy AC66U or N66U, overkill. Just buy what Kim & I are using, well enough for your unit coverage. :dancingqueen:

PS: so that I can poison other stuffs to you mah