StaleBread

Home Is Where The Food Is

Sorry, would you know whether YES sell KDK stand fans as well? or only ceiling fans?

The fans were not laid out (since they are distributor), but think can call and ask.

But I do not see a great selection of standing fan on KDK (Malaysia) site....

Edited by StaleBread

Congrats! I got my 3bedder as sub sale and had no idea how the place looked like so I had to imagine what it would be like based on the floor plan. It's good to start conceptualising your reno earlier so once TOP is obtained, you can start reno right away. Is your unit at Waterbank?

Yes. Waterbank. :yamseng:

The fans were not laid out (since they are distributor), but think can call and ask.

But I do not see a great selection of standing fan on KDK (Malaysia) site....

Thanks for your info! guess will check with them.

We wanted to get a digital lock for our door

Our choice is Samsung SHS-1321 (rim-lock)

samsung-shs-1320.jpg

Because

1) We decided that it's SHS-3421 (deadbolt lock) cousin is a bit of an overkill for us

2) We like SHS-1321's auto lock feature that SHS-3421 do not have

3) We did look at other brands like Gateman and Yale but non of their models impressed us.

Locally, Interlock seem to have the best deal, at S$299 (including installation)

The lock can also be ordered off qoo10 at less then S$130.

Note however that

1) I have checked with a few locksmith but unable to find a better rate then Interlock at $160 + $50 (transport).

Note their disclaimers.

So guess it may only be worth it if you are prepared to DIY the installation (see below for DIY video)

2) Your door may not be compatible with the lock you wanted to install.

That is why Interlock provides a "Pay only if it fits" guarantee.

We are however going to try and visualize the lock on our door based on what we see in the installation video below, and make a call from there.

We are still weighing our options

Edited by StaleBread

We have gotten an ID to help us with the following

- Propose colors and lighting for the whole place

- Design and build a feature wall and TV console

- Design and install false ceiling for living room and master bedroom

- Remove the toilet bowl from the 3rd toilet, and overlay it into a powder room

- Install glass work between to and bottom kitchen cabinet

For electrical works, we are asking the lighting shop to do, so that they can cover all things electrical.

(will provide more details at a later date)

We have Johnny from Plush Living to do the ID for us.

This is based on the good things about him and the company we heard from this forum.

We have met a few IDs, but none showed us the attention Johnny gave us, properly because we have very little things we want done (as compared to a HDB).

Hoping it goes well. :thumbs up:

An inventory of the major pieces of furniture we need to make space for in the respective room

Living / Dining hall

- L-Shape sofa (296x??x??) New

- Coffee Table

- Carpet (120x170) - Honey / Ivory.S

- Dining Table (6 seater) (150x90xH76)

8640907267_fdbe94c5f4_n.jpg

Master Bedroom

- King size bed (180x200xH110)

8642008834_31acd0e527_n.jpg

- Ikea Cabinet (160x50xH86)

8642074400_3e8ebac264_n.jpg

- Lounge chair (100X100 ??) Pending

Bedroom 1

- Single Bed (95x200xH105)

8640965345_11e9e9f7a4_n.jpg

Bedroom 2

- Piano (150x62xH120)

8642018540_b3e19aae25_n.jpg

- Ottoman (90x70xH45) (seen in the above with dining table

Edited by StaleBread

An inventory of the major pieces of furniture we need to make space for in the respective room

Master Bedroom

- King size bed (180x200xH110)

8642008834_31acd0e527_n.jpg

BTW, We have gotten a new mattress for our King size bed, because the missus find the one we have too hot to sleep on.

This is a King size 8" Latex with memory foam padding we got from Nova at S$1.6K 4yrs ago, and in good condition.

PM me a price if anybody interested, or we are giving it to the next owner.

(Got to arrange for your own logistic thought... :sport-smiley-003:)

Edited by StaleBread

Since we do not have hanging lights in the living room, we wanted a more "outstanding" one for the dining room, but not over the top.

I like this one (0.9m x 0.9m) we saw in Lightcraft@Jalan Sultan, but may be a little over our budget, or a little small to be "outstanding"

8642223084_2fc562d4a2_n.jpg8642127234_46f5b420a8_n.jpg

This 3 lights pendant we saw at Jurong East St 33 (can't remember if it was Chelsea Lighting or Pan Tech Light) seem to be more suitable, But I am concern that we do not have the actual dimension, which makes it difficult to visualize it on top of our dining table.

8642133556_a793179904.jpg

There is still a few shops in Geylang we wanted to drop by, but they do not seem to have a lot of selection, and I doubt they have anything that we can use.

Another alternative is to try the shops at Johor Bahru (esp Johor Jaya area).

But without a car to drive into JB means that we cannot do alot of shop hoping.

And it's a long way to go to return empty handled.

Having said that Top Lamp do have some very interesting selections.

My favorite, this 83x35 chrome based ceiling light

8641191251_18d5a3d602_n.jpg

Edited by StaleBread

Still waiting for TOP..., but made some progress with lights
We have decided to get this (from Pan Tech Light @ Jurong East)
As mentioned before, we wanted a more "outstanding" one for the dining room, but not over the top. So crystal sounds like a good idea
The places we visited (ranked according to how fruitful it was for us)
1) Jurong East
- Chelsea Lighting
This is a 2-shop area stuff to the brim with lights. :sport-smiley-004:
Definitely a must go, esp if you stay in the west. And the price is good as well
We will be going back again, looking a pendant for our balcony
- Pan Tech Light
There not much of a selection but we found the light we wanted there. :dunno:
Price is good. Should drop by if you are visiting Chelsea anyway (this is just 2 shops away)
2) Jalan Sultan
Lightcraft is the only shop over there, but it is worth visiting. :good:
There is a lot of lights with ***** to see and the staff do not follow you around so that you can walk around at a leisure pace.
3) Geylang
We are just sweeping through to make sure we did not miss anything.
So the review maybe a bit "rushed"
- Vlux : Alot of good crystal lights. But a bit ex
- Lights Advance : Good selection of Crystal lights at a good price. Can go check out the swarovski ones.

- DK Lighting : Selection was ok only, but definitely cheaper. They got a lot review on renotalk. Best to check them out before making a trip down

- No 1 Lightings : One of the shops that's known for its good price, but I dun see a lot of selection.

4) Balestier Road
- Chan Huat Lighting House (www.chanhuat.com.sg)
This one got quite a bit of selection, and at a reasonable price
And if you cannot see anything you like at 391 Balestier, can go further down to 441 for more choices
- Extreme Lighting
Selection was ok, but we dropped by because we are walking down Balestier
This was where we first saw the light above, but Pan Tech offered a much better deal.
- LC lighting centre (@Shaw Plaza)
They took up almost half of 2nd level at Shaw Plaza. So worth dropping by.
And its on the way. And its out of the sun (for a while...)
But we did see a light that we like, and marked down for consideration
- lightings.com.sg (@ balestier)
They are carrying only Philips Products in this branch.
So you can give this a miss if you are hunting for a dining hall light
- Lite Vault
We wanted to check that out because we heard (from here) that their price quite good.
Cannot find. Maybe moved away from 279 Balestier Rd #01-03
- Arco Holdings
They moved from 302 Jalan Besar to 429 Balestier
Did not have alot of selection (we got back here after visiting Jalan Beser, so maybe already tired)
5) Joo Chiat
Brilliant Source was the only light shop there, and it is a small shop
So unless you see something you wanted a closer look on their website (www.brilliantsourcelighting.com), its not worth making a trip down
6) Jalan Besar
We visited Indoor Lite, i-Lite and lightings.com.sg.
Only lightings.com.sg have a wider selection, but you can see their selection from their website
So not a very fruitful trip for us.
Edited by StaleBread

Hi there! Thank you for writing such a long post about the lightings. I'm sourcing for lightings for my new house and I find your posts very helpful! :good:

Still waiting for TOP..., but made some progress with lights
We have decided to get this (from Pan Tech Light @ Jurong East)
As mentioned before, we wanted a more "outstanding" one for the dining room, but not over the top. So crystal sounds like a good idea
The places we visited (ranked according to how fruitful it was for us)
1) Jurong East
- Chelsea Lighting
This is a 2-shop area stuff to the brim with lights. :sport-smiley-004:
Definitely a must go, esp if you stay in the west. And the price is good as well
We will be going back again, looking a pendant for our balcony
- Pan Tech Light
There not much of a selection but we found the light we wanted there. :dunno:
Price is good. Should drop by if you are visiting Chelsea anyway (this is just 2 shops away)
2) Jalan Sultan
Lightcraft is the only shop over there, but it is worth visiting. :good:
There is a lot of lights with ***** to see and the staff do not follow you around so that you can walk around at a leisure pace.
3) Geylang
We are just sweeping through to make sure we did not miss anything.
So the review maybe a bit "rushed"
- Vlux : Alot of good crystal lights. But a bit ex
- Lights Advance : Good selection of Crystal lights at a good price. Can go check out the swarovski ones.

- DK Lighting : Selection was ok only, but definitely cheaper. They got a lot review on renotalk. Best to check them out before making a trip down

- No 1 Lightings : One of the shops that's known for its good price, but I dun see a lot of selection.

4) Balestier Road
- Chan Huat Lighting House (www.chanhuat.com.sg)
This one got quite a bit of selection, and at a reasonable price
And if you cannot see anything you like at 391 Balestier, can go further down to 441 for more choices
- Extreme Lighting
Selection was ok, but we dropped by because we are walking down Balestier
This was where we first saw the light above, but Pan Tech offered a much better deal.
- LC lighting centre (@Shaw Plaza)
They took up almost half of 2nd level at Shaw Plaza. So worth dropping by.
And its on the way. And its out of the sun (for a while...)
But we did see a light that we like, and marked down for consideration
- lightings.com.sg (@ balestier)
They are carrying only Philips Products in this branch.
So you can give this a miss if you are hunting for a dining hall light
- Lite Vault
We wanted to check that out because we heard (from here) that their price quite good.
Cannot find. Maybe moved away from 279 Balestier Rd #01-03
- Arco Holdings
They moved from 302 Jalan Besar to 429 Balestier
Did not have alot of selection (we got back here after visiting Jalan Beser, so maybe already tired)
5) Joo Chiat
Brilliant Source was the only light shop there, and it is a small shop
So unless you see something you wanted a closer look on their website (www.brilliantsourcelighting.com), its not worth making a trip down
6) Jalan Besar
We visited Indoor Lite, i-Lite and lightings.com.sg.
Only lightings.com.sg have a wider selection, but you can see their selection from their website
So not a very fruitful trip for us.

Hi, cool lights! Mind sharing the price? Does it come in 3 aligned? thanks!

Thanks HL85. Price is S$319

We got it as a 3-aligned.

Lamp size is around 12x22cm (based on a rough measurement with a ruler)

Hi there! Thank you for writing such a long post about the lightings. I'm sourcing for lightings for my new house and I find your posts very helpful! :good:

Thanks Bengologist

Good luck on your "hunting" trip :jammin: