zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

The popiah stall at level one also sell in package. $50 for about 40 rolls. Order 1 day in advance, they will prepare all the ingredients in seperate boxes. We just had a popiah party recently.

Oh, heard from the news yesterday that MND is converting the old queenstown polyclinic to temp foreign workers domitary.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../393886/1/.html

Yes, both stalls do sell packages. Just that IF the one at level 1 is closed, you may still proceed to the one at level 2. We had already ordered from them twice.

As for the dorm thingy, many future potential social and security issues would need or have to look into them. :furious:

hmm...don't think they will waste their hard-earned money on that...

They will most probably buy their beer from the nearby NTUC, wonder to all the nearby shelters, void decks, parks (along dawson) and the worst case will be loittering ard at our neigbhourhood. Think the COP thingy need to be in place before they shift in, esp now with the NTPS opening next year, "more light and place" for them to "rest & relax". In future, depends on situation, better to escort your wives back if they are working OTs beyond certain timing ....

Looks like I've picked the right place to live in, thks for the warm welcome ppl. Skyspectrum, I think I'm going to like u a lot, you seem quite the makan guru...will try out those teochew places along farrer rd.

Yah, quite a lot of changes going to come to queenstown, seems that a lot construction will come abt that area. Even as I was renovating, quite a few MPs came by to visit the area right?

yes indeed. Both my wife and I love food too. Just that we are controlling for two reasons - health and size. haha. Cant eat too much unless balanced with disciplined regular exercise. I just passed my IPPT for this window and will last me till next Sep. Yeah! Well ..... we can always organize group makan session and try different food at different places .... you have definitely chose the rite place to stay. Where were you/your wife staying previously?

I remember our PM mentions that there will be a revamp at the big plot of land. I suspect this is part of the revamp to turn that area into a mini fusion town of all races and cultures, so you can see alot of chinese, ang mo, ah neh and singaporeans there. :good:

Your nick "richman" .... maybe you shd bid for that land .... then develop into a land of different makan/eateries place, e.g. Nonya, cantonese, hainanese, teochew, indian, malay, etc... like dat, we can still exchange culture values rite? hehehee :sport-smiley-004:

Not that I am resistance to the idea of foreign workers domitaries in our neighbourhood but perhaps we as residents could also be informed/consulted earlier of this development.

drawing from the experience of the serangoon garden 'fiasco', they don't dare to inform early liao...

Hmm...will the foreign workers march to Ridout Tea Garden Mcdonalds for their lunch/dinner? :D

probably they will use the pond as a pool to relax, use the number of trees there to dance and use the grass patch to snooze n drink "Kingfisher"

Yes, both stalls do sell packages. Just that IF the one at level 1 is closed, you may still proceed to the one at level 2. We had already ordered from them twice.

As for the dorm thingy, many future potential social and security issues would need or have to look into them. :furious:

They will most probably buy their beer from the nearby NTUC, wonder to all the nearby shelters, void decks, parks (along dawson) and the worst case will be loittering ard at our neigbhourhood. Think the COP thingy need to be in place before they shift in, esp now with the NTPS opening next year, "more light and place" for them to "rest & relax". In future, depends on situation, better to escort your wives back if they are working OTs beyond certain timing ....

yes indeed. Both my wife and I love food too. Just that we are controlling for two reasons - health and size. haha. Cant eat too much unless balanced with disciplined regular exercise. I just passed my IPPT for this window and will last me till next Sep. Yeah! Well ..... we can always organize group makan session and try different food at different places .... you have definitely chose the rite place to stay. Where were you/your wife staying previously?

Your nick "richman" .... maybe you shd bid for that land .... then develop into a land of different makan/eateries place, e.g. Nonya, cantonese, hainanese, teochew, indian, malay, etc... like dat, we can still exchange culture values rite? hehehee :sport-smiley-004:

how i wish i am rich enough to do that..... :bangwall: than there will no "potential terrorist" in the neighbourhood... :sport-smiley-004:

drawing from the experience of the serangoon garden 'fiasco', they don't dare to inform early liao...

I think you are extremely right...tiam tiam and name 10 sites.... :P

we can always organize group makan session and try different food at different places .... you have definitely chose the rite place to stay. Where were you/your wife staying previously?

Sure... we were staying in the Jurong Area, but when it comes to makan,we go everywhere. No money to drive, so we're public transport ppl...sad to say that std has dropped over the years.

Ic .... like dat we share the same interest ..... travel for food .... yesh ... good food ... I used to take NEL to Kovan cos there are many nice local delicacies in the HC, e.g. ba chor mee, chicken rice, laksa, etc..

Also enjoy gg to Lau Pa Sat for satay and BBQ fish. Yummy ....

How abt the frog porridge and beef noodles along Geylang Road .... they are fabulous too. Now waiting for the durian season .... i meant the cheap and good kind. :P

Ic .... like dat we share the same interest ..... travel for food .... yesh ... good food ... I used to take NEL to Kovan cos there are many nice local delicacies in the HC, e.g. ba chor mee, chicken rice, laksa, etc..

Also enjoy gg to Lau Pa Sat for satay and BBQ fish. Yummy ....

How abt the frog porridge and beef noodles along Geylang Road .... they are fabulous too. Now waiting for the durian season .... i meant the cheap and good kind. :P

Good good, actually u can just take bus 51 down south bouna vista road and have a good time at sakuraya fish mart at village centre, fresh sashimi at reasonable prices. The cooked food there so-so only though. Then head over to next door, allenbakes has very good cheesecakes, american style.

When come over, I will prob chio chio u guys for dinner then...

Saw this giant poster about some new mega supermart at Fusionpolis not far from us, anyone been there yet? How's the place. Seems a bit out of the way if one doesn't drive.

Good good, actually u can just take bus 51 down south bouna vista road and have a good time at sakuraya fish mart at village centre, fresh sashimi at reasonable prices. The cooked food there so-so only though. Then head over to next door, allenbakes has very good cheesecakes, american style.

Saw this giant poster about some new mega supermart at Fusionpolis not far from us, anyone been there yet? How's the place. Seems a bit out of the way if one doesn't drive.

Oh? There's a supermart to be opened in fusionopolis? Yeap, it's not exactly very convenient. Biopolis was still within our walking distance..Fusionopolis is quite further down. I went there to visit my colleagues for a few times already. Nothing much up yet.

Sounds like fun, I also want to join in. :sport-smiley-003:

its actually an upmarket supermarket-Jasons

http://www.coldstorage.com.sg/corporate/promotions-3.aspx

Speaking of upmarket supermarket, does anyone knows where can I buy those rock SALT, not rock sugar, at cheap prices?

I 'hiao' lor, go buy those nice nice pepper and salt grinders, but go sheng siong and common supermarkets only got powder pepper/salt. If go upmarket supermarket very expensive...haiz...how ah?? :P

Edited by zirhk3355

spot on, there have been a thief on the prowl of late, i had an expensive pair of ASICS men running shoes outside the house for many months, placed outside on a shoe rack intentionally as the sole is abit worn for my running....actually meant to tempt these IDIOT5.....finally a week or two ago, the IDIOT struck.

so for others, beware of your precious footware before it is too late...it is the season for sharing now ;)

OMG.. shoe also steal. wonder would that idiot get foot rot or etc... maybe shd let him "try" the army boots i had worn. he'll probably get foot rot as i had foot rot back in my active days. :D

Hi guys and gals,

I just got round to painting one of my smaller walls with my sis, and have quite a fair bit of spare paint left.

The colors are

MESA (bought from the Toto Paint Shop downstairs near the chicken rice stall)

2596A (Light Green)

2518A (Yellow)

Nippon Paint Vinilex 5000 Low Odour

5034 (Chestnut)

Nippon Paint Website

About more than 7.8 of the paint is left, if anyone is interested, I'm willing to let go at 5 sgd per can.

I bought them at 12sgd each for mesa and for nippon is 14 sgd.

Thought it would be a waste of resources if I let it lay there. Still fresh, just bought over the weekend.

Will post pics of the paint colors and my wall tmr, currently no internet connection at home.

Wow, shoe thieves huh... must watch out then.

btw anyone know where I can buy decent foldable bicycle?

Edited by yster