zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

Thanks for the invitation. But seems like you guys know each other so well already. I haven't even moved in...feel paiseh leh. Let me check with my hubby, will confirm with you if we coming. :dancingqueen:

Yeah there is always a starting point mah; its hard to take the first step, in fact when we started, the group didn't know one another also!

Most of us known each other for like less than a few months... :)

Haha...you bet! I'm just crazy about a country-style home, cos it's more warm, inviting and cosy. But the reno's not gonna be cheap as there are not many places specialising in country style reno and furnishings in Singapore.

Have you moved in already? I'm residing at Blk 91. How about u?

Hi, I'm residing at Blk 91 as well, below 20flr. Urself? U r right. Not many designers can do country style, unless they have previously done so for foreigners and some locals. And they come at a premium price. I bet you are cash rich to request for this.

Thanks for the invitation. But seems like you guys know each other so well already. I haven't even moved in...feel paiseh leh. Let me check with my hubby, will confirm with you if we coming. :(

I also dun know a lot of the people, no shy no shy...

Haha...you bet! I'm just crazy about a country-style home, cos it's more warm, inviting and cosy. But the reno's not gonna be cheap as there are not many places specialising in country style reno and furnishings in Singapore.

Have you moved in already? I'm residing at Blk 91. How about u?

Can't believe that I missed this.

If you had not confirmed your country-style, do check out a shop at Thomson Plaza, 2nd floor near KFC. I saw that it really got authentic country-style kitchens. Duno the name or tel though, you got to find out.

My parents' place also look abit like country-style, with the brown floor tiles, faded wall tiles and rosewood cabinets. If you want I can ask them for the contacts for your consideration... :(

Hi, I'm residing at Blk 91 as well, below 20flr. Urself? U r right. Not many designers can do country style, unless they have previously done so for foreigners and some locals. And they come at a premium price. I bet you are cash rich to request for this.

Which unit are you at? My unit is above 20 floor.

!! Not cash rich lah, it's more like managing my dreams/expectations vs budget. For this reason, we won't be engaging an ID. Will be getting our own sub-contractors to do the major works, then DIY the rest. :bangwall::dancingqueen:

There's no turning back for us, cos have already bought the living and bedroom furniture. So die die must stick to my country theme.

Which unit are you at? My unit is above 20 floor.

!! Not cash rich lah, it's more like managing my dreams/expectations vs budget. For this reason, we won't be engaging an ID. Will be getting our own sub-contractors to do the major works, then DIY the rest. :bangwall::dancingqueen:

There's no turning back for us, cos have already bought the living and bedroom furniture. So die die must stick to my country theme.

Cool. Must invite me to your house once the renovation works are done.

My is 314. Urs?

Can't believe that I missed this.

If you had not confirmed your country-style, do check out a shop at Thomson Plaza, 2nd floor near KFC. I saw that it really got authentic country-style kitchens. Duno the name or tel though, you got to find out.

My parents' place also look abit like country-style, with the brown floor tiles, faded wall tiles and rosewood cabinets. If you want I can ask them for the contacts for your consideration... :dancingqueen:

Thanks. You must be referring to Forest in Thomson Plaza. They specialise in carpentry work but everything costs a bomb! Have not been to the shop yet but have seen their website at http://www.forestwood.com.sg/. Everything looks so gorgeous but as mentioned, everything premium comes at a price. !! I will be going down to another shop specialising in country kitchen at Anchor Point, which is near our place.

My parents place also looks quite country...all thanks to me! When they reno their place a few years back, I convinced my mum that the kitchen must look cosy, so she'll feel more at ease cooking for us! :bangwall: But I won't be going to her carpenter, cos workmanship is not very good.

Hey, if you could get some contacts from your parents, it will be much appreciated! :furious:

Have anyone noticed the new ERP that is going to be implemented at Commonwealth Ave and Queensway from Nov 2008?

http://www.lta.gov.sg/images/Annex%20D_ERP...tries_clred.pdf

As I am working along Leng Kee road, and my wife got to fetch her friends from tiong bahru every morning... time to pay more $$$$ to the garment liao !!

Sigh, it's just gonna get worse! Think LTA gonna install another 30 new ERP gantries or something? Maybe we shd all work together and set up a Tanglin xxx Pte Ltd to work from home, so no need to drive to work le! :dancingqueen:

Have anyone noticed the new ERP that is going to be implemented at Commonwealth Ave and Queensway from Nov 2008?

http://www.lta.gov.sg/images/Annex%20D_ERP...tries_clred.pdf

As I am working along Leng Kee road, and my wife got to fetch her friends from tiong bahru every morning... time to pay more $$$$ to the garment liao !!

Sigh, it's just gonna get worse! Think LTA gonna install another 30 new ERP gantries or something? Maybe we shd all work together and set up a Tanglin xxx Pte Ltd to work from home, so no need to drive to work le! :dancingqueen:

Thing will get worse for the next couple of years.....

Our road will be like the photo below

Singapore2010.jpg

Sigh, it's just gonna get worse! Think LTA gonna install another 30 new ERP gantries or something? Maybe we shd all work together and set up a Tanglin xxx Pte Ltd to work from home, so no need to drive to work le! :dribble:

With the new gantry up at our area, we will need to seek alternative routes. Think they are limiting the inflow of cars into Farrer Road - PIE. One gantry at Ikea area and the other located near Queenstown MRT. Alternative route will be via Margaret Drive - Tanglin Road (turn right towards Redhill). Eventully, ERP will cause jams at other areas, which then garment has reasons to put up more at those places, egg & chicken issue. Sian! Best to own a bicycle next time, environmental friendly and economical. Just that our small house doesnt allow us to "parK' our bicycles inside. If left outside, locks can be broken and bike ganna stolen.

Guess, government wants us to use public transportation, but look at the cramped, in fact, overcramped MRT every morning and evening. Its so PACKED!! Time to relook at the whole model, study the economics and statistics.

Agreed. We shd form a Tanglin Estate Pte Ltd. You be the CFO and I be the COO. Anyway wish to be nominated as CEO and DyCEO?

Sigh, it's just gonna get worse! Think LTA gonna install another 30 new ERP gantries or something? Maybe we shd all work together and set up a Tanglin xxx Pte Ltd to work from home, so no need to drive to work le! :dribble:

That's a **** good idea!! So this Tanglin xxx pte ltd is not dealing with XXX stuff right?:notti: Or maybe I should just consider working in Sengsong or sell char quay teow in koufu..

Thing will get worse for the next couple of years.....

Our road will be like the photo below

Singapore2010.jpg

haha... so thats how you keep all the cars in the carpark. Actually do you guys really think there are so many cars using commonwealth ave? or is it that there are too many traffic lights (there are 3 traffic lights from Commonwealth MRT to Queenstown MRT)... or maybe they should just bulit underpass for pedestrian or flyover for cars.

Anyone have alternative route from tanglin halt to lengkee road and bypass all the gantries at AYE, commonwealth ave, alexandra road and bukitmerah without burning even more fuel? Margaret drive is a good option but need to u-turn at holland road and then u-turn at redhill... this may cost more then the ERP itself :P

Edited by vineyard

That's a **** good idea!! So this Tanglin xxx pte ltd is not dealing with XXX stuff right?:dribble: Or maybe I should just consider working in Sengsong or sell char quay teow in koufu..

haha... so thats how you keep all the cars in the carpark. Actually do you guys really think there are so many cars using commonwealth ave? or is it that there are too many traffic lights (there are 3 traffic lights from Commonwealth MRT to Queenstown MRT)... or maybe they should just bulit underpass for pedestrian or flyover for cars.

Anyone have alternative route from tanglin halt to lengkee road and bypass all the gantries at AYE, commonwealth ave, alexandra road and bukitmerah without burning even more fuel? Margaret drive is a good option but need to u-turn at holland road and then u-turn at redhill... this may cost more then the ERP itself :notti:

To access Margaret Drive, come out from our MSCP, turn left at the T-junction (beside the church/mosque). Keep right and then turn right at the X-junction (dont go down to the tunnel towards Farrer), after turned right, keep left and turn left on the 1st left turn. U will be able to access Margaret Drive via thir route without having to pay ERP. Keep driving straight after you hit a T-junction @ Tanglin Road. Turn right to access Redhill/Leng Kee.

What other alternatives?