eR1c

My New Home

Hiya to all,

this is my first post after about 1.5 month of lurking around the forum looking for information and ideas. :lol:

My new place is at Blk 801, Woodlands St 81, just infront of the Republic Polytechnic Campus.

Its about 10mins walk to Causeway Point. Previously living in Kim Tian Rd (near Tiong Bahru). Got this place as resale and with my mum.

Right now, it is in the 2nd week of renovation and there's 3 more weeks to go. Decide to post the photos here for sharing. I also got my own blog at http://blog.er1clim.com. :P

Some photos of my new house before renovation. Quite rundown and the previous owner didn't do upkeep.

LivingRoom1Small.jpg

LivingRoom3Small.jpg

LivingRoom4Small.jpg

LivingRoom2Small.jpg

Balcony

LivingRoom5Small.jpg

Dining Area

DinningArea1Small.jpg

Kitchen1Small.jpg

Kitchen2Small.jpg

Kitchen3Small.jpg

Kitchen4Small.jpg

Master Bedroom

MBR1Small.jpg

MBR2Small.jpg

MBR3Small.jpg

MBR4Small.jpg

MBR5Small.jpg

MBR6Small.jpg

Master Bedroom Toilet

MBRToilet1Small.jpg

Mum's Bedroom

MumRoom1Small.jpg

MumRoom2Small.jpg

MumRoom3Small.jpg

MumRoom4Small.jpg

My Study Room to be

StudyRoom1Small.jpg

StudyRoom2Small.jpg

StudyRoom3Small.jpg

StudyRoom4Small.jpg

StudyRoom5Small.jpg

StudyRoom6Small.jpg

Oh, and this is the Floor Plan that i bought from HDB.

NewHouseFloorPlanSmall.jpg

After i have sign my option to purchase for the house, i was oredi searching for Renovation Company to do up my place. Basically, i needed a complete overhaul of my place. Hacking away all the existing tiles, redo all the electrical wiring, redo both the toilets, repaint... etc. Much more extensive then getting a new house from HDB. Well, at least becoz of this, i got the house cheaper lor. :dribble: And another good point is that i can do the house to wat i like.

Also, as the previous owner is no staying there, they allowed me to start my renovation after the 1st Appointment is approved in principle. Of coz, i need to sign the indemnity form lor.

Was intro to my renovation company, B&E Concept, by my agent, who was also my poly fren. Got the quotation from the managing director, Bobby, and i must said, they are quite efficient and quick in it. When i got the quotation, i was like 'wah!' so expensive ar!' So, decide to scout around for more quotation, including one from my brother's fren.

After going to IMM and talk to a few ID company there, as well as, the quotation from my brother's fren, i found that B&E Concept's quotation was the lowest among them. Of course, this is partly becoz the managing director, Bobby, was my fren's fren, so i got a much better price from them. In the end, i decide to engage them, mainly becoz i find them efficient and professional in handling things.

For my renovation, i oredi have ideas for most of the things that i wanted to do, just that i do not know is it feasible to do and the cost in doing it. My initial quotation from them is $44K. But after going thru the quotation with Bobby and discussing with him, i decide to cut down some of the unnecessary items, which is mainly carpentry stuffs in the living room, and replace them with those off the shelf carpentry. Decide to keep the living room simple and maybe, next time got money, then can do the extra stuffs.

After cutting down the stuffs, the reno is $40.5K liao.

Quotation for Renovation by B&E Concept Pte Ltd - $40,500.

A. Demolishing Work ($3500)

* To hack & clear balcony, living, store & 3 bedroom flooring

* Remove & dispose main door, 3 bedroom doors & store door

* Remove & make good balcony L-shape sliding door

* Remove & dispose living cornice & ceiling panel

* To hack & make good kitchen entrance wall

* To hack & clear 2 kitchen wall tiles, floor tiles & sink support

* To hack & clear 2 toilet wall tiles, floor tiles, wc, basin, door & frame

B. Tiling Work ($12000)

* Supply & lay balcony pebble wash floor with - $800

* Supply & lay 60x60 polished homogeneous floor tiles ****, store & 3 bedroom with 60mm skirting - $5000

* Supply & lay ceramic wall tiles 30x30 at kitchen expose area only - $1800

* Supply & lay approved waterproofing system to slab of balcony, kitchen & 2 toilets - $400

* Supply & lay homogeneous floor tiles 60x60 at kitchen - $800

* Construct sink low wall with tiles finish - $350

* Construct cabinet base with 50mm skirting - $200

* Construct fridge & washing machine base with tiles finish - $200

* Supply & install stainless steel rubbish chute - $150

* Supply & lay ceramic wall tiles 30x30 at 2 toilets - $1600

* Supply & lay homogeneous floor tiles 30x30 at 2 toilets - $700

C. Plumbing & Electrical Work ($3250)

* Supply & install living, kitchen & 2 toilets stainless steel piping - $550

* Labour to install 1 kitchen sink, outlet piping, 2 wc, 2 spray point, 2 basin, all tap - $400

* Labour to install 2 toilets instant heater - $100

* Labour to install kitchen & 2 toilet accessories - FOC

* Whole unit re-wiring. Include designer switch - $2000

* Electrical submission - $200

D. Ceiling, Plastering & Painting Work ($4900)

* Supply & install false ceiling & L-box **** room & passageway - $900

* Supply & install L-box at master room - $200

* Supply & install simple cornice at balcony & 3 bedroom - $500

* Conseal 2 nos recess wall with partition at master room & room 2 - $200

* Conseal 4 nos top vent 2 sided - $100

* Whole unit plastering with PVC trim - $1800

* Whole unit ICI painting - $1200

E. Metal Work & Aluminium Work ($4650)

* Supply & install wrought iron main gate. Include galvanise & designer unit no - $ 400

* Supply & install aluminium sliding window at balcony, living, 3 bedroom & kitchen c/w top hung panel - $2400

* Suuply & install aluminium adjustable lourve window at 2 toilet - $400

* Supply & install aluminium grille at balcony, living, 3 bedroom & kitchen - $800

* Supply & install 10mm frosted glass swing door at master toilet - $450

* Supply & install common toiles aluminium Bi-fold door - $200

F. Wood Work ($10900)

* Supply & install solid nyatoh main door - $450

* Supply & install 3 nos solid nyatoh door - $600

* Storeroom entrance feature wall laminate finish - $400

* Master room sliding door wardrobe 8ft in laminate finish - $1750

* Room 2 wardrobe 8ft laminate finish - $1600

* To design & install kitchen entrance top show case cabinet & table top in laminate finish - $800

* To design & install kitchen cabinet 48ft in laminate finish as propose include 1 set of drawer, stainless steel dish rack & spoon tray - $4400

* Supply & install solid surface top 18ft - $900

G. Others ($1300)

* Hualage of material, sand & clear debris after work - $1000

* HDB Submission (Exclude HDB debris charge if any) - FOC

* Consultation Fee - FOC

* Acid wash & window cleaning - $300

* Mitsubishi inverter aircon system 3x9k with stainless steel bracket - FOC

Edited by eR1c

finally my turn to be first SPAM CHOP! :thumbs up:

wa, yr place condition is very terok oso. i like! coz then can do complete makeovers. i love seeing transformations.

i see yr floor plan so good, not many beams which can do more in terms of changing room locations. i think older units there's lesser structural and ceiling beams. maybe coz building not so high.

more pictures soon!

finally my turn to be first SPAM CHOP! :lol:

wa, yr place condition is very terok oso. i like! coz then can do complete makeovers. i love seeing transformations.

i see yr floor plan so good, not many beams which can do more in terms of changing room locations. i think older units there's lesser structural and ceiling beams. maybe coz building not so high.

more pictures soon!

Yup, very terok and worn down.

bad points - need to do alot of things, more money spent, more extensive

good points - dunnid to think of wat to keep and how to blend in the existing design, the sales value drop and can be further push down and i save money from there. i can do the things i like.

i like the house becoz, quite squarish and easy to design. The kitchen is long and wide, which my mother likes.

Got the perspective and other drawing a few days after i got the quotation.

The Layout Plan

LayoutPlanSmall.jpg

The Ceiling Plan

The grey color is where the false ceiling and L-box are.

The lighting points have some changes to the plan...

CeilingPlanSmall.jpg

Perspective Drawing of Dinning Area.

I would be hacking away the kitchen wall and create a bar top there.

DinningSmall.jpg

Perspective Drawing of Kitchen.

Doing a L Shape design to hide the washing machine, and the rubbish chute will be hidden in a cabinet door.

KitchenSmall.jpg

Perspective Drawing of Master Bedroom.

MBRSmall.jpg

The renovation schedules from my renovation company.

Date / Description of Work Done

15/06 - 19/06 ----- Hacking & Haulage work

20/06 - 29/06 ----- Tiling work & window Work

28/06 - 30/06 ----- Plastering Work

30/06 --------------- Meet onsite for electrical marking. Delivery of sanitary wares

02/07 - 04/07 ----- Electrical, Plumbing & Air-con work

05/07 - 06/07 ----- Ceiling work

07/07 - 08/07 ----- Painting work

09/07 --------------- Acid wash

10/07 --------------- Delivery of light fittings

10/07 - 14/07 ----- Install cabinet & balance items

16/07 - 20/07 ----- Touch up & Final washing

21/07 --------------- Handover

wah total destruction man :jawdrop:

congratulations on getting your nest and looking forward to more pix

i got no pix to post coz renovation haven't start :notti:

wah total destruction man :jawdrop:

congratulations on getting your nest and looking forward to more pix

i got no pix to post coz renovation haven't start :notti:

I am in a rush to start the renovation, becoz need to shift in by Lunar 7th Month, which will be starting on the 13th Aug (Mon)

The shifting date are oredi fixed on 9th Aug and can only reach my new house after 11am.

I am lucky in getting this new house becoz the owner oredi not staying there liao, so can start renovation earlier.

Some photos before the tiling start. The floor is lay with cement and also the toilets and kitchen is lay with a waterproofing membrane.

BeforeTiling02Small.jpg

BeforeTiling04Small.jpg

BeforeTiling05Small.jpg

The roll of cupboard paper to put on top of the tiles after it has been laid to protect it.

BeforeTiling03Small.jpg

The kitchen was not hacked down initially, coz need to wait for approval from HDB.

BeforeTiling01Small.jpg

Few days later, the wall was gone. yeah!

KitchenWalls01Small.jpg

KitchenWalls02Small.jpg

The cements and the tiles..

MaterialsSmall.jpg

Nice BIG and SQ layout, you might need lots of light (which I saw in the plan) for your living & dinning area, as I see no windows, only external light source is from your main door

Oh windows, there's lot of it... the whole stretch beside the living room is windows... about 3.8m

balcony also got windows, about 2.3m :sport-smiley-018: