FrOzE

Wanna Buy Air-con Soon... Need Some Advice

I'm gonna buy a System 3 soon..

Experienced ppls, can u recommend me a brand to get?

Hopefully it's made in Japan....

Dunno if should get invertor or non-invertor...

Most of the time only will have 1 air-con on...

Occasionally 2 (maybe during hot season)..

Air-con will be on usually from 8pm~8am...

Roughly how much will the monthly electrical bill be..

Now its abt 100+++

I'm gonna buy a System 3 soon..

Experienced ppls, can u recommend me a brand to get?

Hopefully it's made in Japan....

Dunno if should get invertor or non-invertor...

Most of the time only will have 1 air-con on...

Occasionally 2 (maybe during hot season)..

Air-con will be on usually from 8pm~8am...

Roughly how much will the monthly electrical bill be..

Now its abt 100+++

get inverter then because u are only using 1 or 2 unit at the same time. Inverter is the best in this usage pattern.

and get Toshiba because it's made in japan. and local agent is Carrier company itself.

so can never go wrong with Toshiba.

pls dun buy Mit.... stupid ppl paying for Jack Neo's advert.

and once the removable cleaning parts break or spoilt, the whole unit cannot be used. it will cost hundred of $$ to replace that part.

get inverter then because u are only using 1 or 2 unit at the same time. Inverter is the best in this usage pattern.

and get Toshiba because it's made in japan. and local agent is Carrier company itself.

so can never go wrong with Toshiba.

pls dun buy Mit.... stupid ppl paying for Jack Neo's advert.

and once the removable cleaning parts break or spoilt, the whole unit cannot be used. it will cost hundred of $$ to replace that part.

So u recommend inverter? I thought ppls would suggest non-inverter...

How much is a Toshiba System 3 Inverter system?

your usage pattern it's better to have invertor.

www.coolserve.com.sg to check price.

Coolserve price are fixed ya?

Cannot bargain??

I realised those below 3k ones are all 5.8k ~6k BTU.. issit that enuff???

So u recommend inverter? I thought ppls would suggest non-inverter...

How much is a Toshiba System 3 Inverter system?

i can tell you that air con prices are all about the same in the market.

u wont get alot cheaper from certain shops.

the most, u can bargain 100-200 bucks off. price is somehow controlled.

mine is toshiba, 2 x 12BTU and 1 x 9BTU costs me $2900, using class 1.

dun bother about the what ppl say about the black rubber tubes. For Toshiba, they use what Carrier company is providing, which is good enough.

no need to crack yr head and bother about it.

Donut: So where did you get your Toshiba? I was quoted 1 x 12K BTU and 2 x 9K BTU for $3200+ with steel bracket and so-called upgraded materials.

dun bother about the what ppl say about the black rubber tubes. For Toshiba, they use what Carrier company is providing, which is good enough.

I would like to know where u got ur air-con unit from too...

I think i will get Toshiba inverter... :P

2900... wooot... gonna burn 1 big hole..

Somemore i need to buy new mattress.. wah... sian

I'm considering in getting a Toshiba sys 3 invertor too but i'm still not very sure of the caculation for the BTU. Can please help? Sorry i very noob in Aircon.

Well for my hse measurement is (according what is written on my floorplan)

HDB 3-rms

1)Living Rm + Kitchen

11000(Length) 3200(Breadth)

2)Masterbed Rm

4500(Length) 2900(Breadth)

3)Study Rm

4200(Length) 2900(Breadth)

What BTU is enough for me? Normally i think only on 1 or 2 aircon together don't think so will on all at 1 go.

What Insulator to use? thinkness?

What grade copper pipe?

What price usaully? (need to remove current single aircon at MBR)

Really hope you could help me. Thanx!

Peter

Calculation of the cooling load of a room can be very rather tedious - HVAC is a branch of applied engineering.

The methods of cooling load calculation used in air-

conditioning are:

o Manual method;

o Estimation method;

o Software method.

ITE conducts a Post-Nitec course on, amongst other specialisation, Advanced Air-Conditioning Cooling Load Design.

Locally, air-con installers just rely on a simplest formula of length x width of room to be cooled, in feet x 65.

Daikin doesn't bother to reply to consumer enquiries on cooling capacity required. And their air-con system is the most expensive.

Donut: So where did you get your Toshiba? I was quoted 1 x 12K BTU and 2 x 9K BTU for $3200+ with steel bracket and so-called upgraded materials.

my lobang is from my contractor. he just asked me to source the outside price first and tell him. then he just get his own lobang to quote slightly cheaper price.

pls note that i bought the air con in somewhere in March 08. Price may cost more now. i dunno.

I did called up Hong Tai and a couple more air con shops that are supposed to be highly recommended and went down to Gain City. all price are about the same.

only 100-200 bucks difference.

and i dun need the steel bracket.

and Toshiba is cold and quiet. I dunno why some ppl here say its noisy. which part is noisy?

when the compressor is working. i open my window that is above the compressor and i cant even hear any sound from it. i thought it stopped working.

Go for Toshiba!!! Local agent is Carrier company. Will never go wrong with Toshiba. and its made in japan.

some other 'famous' brands are made in thailand, malaysia and whatever places.

even Gain City encourage Toshiba. even told me not to get Mit.

Calculation of the cooling load of a room can be very rather tedious - HVAC is a branch of applied engineering.

The methods of cooling load calculation used in air-

conditioning are:

o Manual method;

o Estimation method;

o Software method.

ITE conducts a Post-Nitec course on, amongst other specialisation, Advanced Air-Conditioning Cooling Load Design.

Locally, air-con installers just rely on a simplest formula of length x width of room to be cooled, in feet x 65.

Daikin doesn't bother to reply to consumer enquiries on cooling capacity required. And their air-con system is the most expensive.

BTU Calculation

Agree with you, DSA. Thanks for the link too(*bookmarked*). I think Tom'd be most the one who would try out the tool when I show him. :)

Tom's the one who worked out what we need for our 2x3rm HDB unit. Many a times when we went shopping for aircons to compare prices, I would overhear him highlighting to the salesmen that they do not have the accurate way of calculating the BTU; exposed wall on one side, window panels to consider into the equation, etc.

Installation

We have engaged our friend who runs an aircon servicing and installation small business. He has been taking care of the aircon servicing for years and thus when we needed new aircons installed, we engaged him. Trouble with him is that he's not good with calculating the required BTU.

Price

Anyhow, the frustrating part is not of the running of trunking or bad workmanship but it was the challenge to find a quote for aircons without installation.

We compared the pricing given by our friend as a guide for the aircons with the general aircon shops in Singapore and found that there is a huge difference!

We will be getting:

- 3A28VA [26 + 13 + 10]

- 3A28VA [13 + 10]

but we will have them installed in the following configuration:

- right window condenser [26 + 10]

- left window condenser [13 + 13 +10]

Now, the price for the aircon without installation - $5698

Our friend will bring us to get the aircons at about $4200.

Edited by kastlekonfusion

I believe you do know the cooling capacity calculator is based on the Australian climate context which is different from Singapore's hot & humid climate so the resulting cooling capacity calculated is highly likely to differ.

North East Refrigeration Parts Pte Ltd do sell air-con systems and they provide installation for projects, not retail customers.

BTU Calculation

Agree with you, DSA. Thanks for the link too(*bookmarked*). I think Tom'd be most the one who would try out the tool when I show him. :)

Tom's the one who worked out what we need for our 2x3rm HDB unit. Many a times when we went shopping for aircons to compare prices, I would overhear him highlighting to the salesmen that they do not have the accurate way of calculating the BTU; exposed wall on one side, window panels to consider into the equation, etc.

Installation

We have engaged our friend who runs an aircon servicing and installation small business. He has been taking care of the aircon servicing for years and thus when we needed new aircons installed, we engaged him. Trouble with him is that he's not good with calculating the required BTU.

Price

Anyhow, the frustrating part is not of the running of trunking or bad workmanship but it was the challenge to find a quote for aircons without installation.

We compared the pricing given by our friend as a guide for the aircons with the general aircon shops in Singapore and found that there is a huge difference!

We will be getting:

- 3A28VA [26 + 13 + 10]

- 3A28VA [13 + 10]

but we will have them installed in the following configuration:

- right window condenser [26 + 10]

- left window condenser [13 + 13 +10]

Now, the price for the aircon without installation - $5698

Our friend will bring us to get the aircons at about $4200.

Wah... that's a lot of diff...

Can recommend ur lobang?

Indeed! A good thousand odd difference! We spoke to many sales persons at the aircon shops and superstores. They are rather reluctant to quote for just the aircons as most probably earn from the installation.

Anyway, we will be arranging to buy the aircon systems with my friend, Nelson, later.

Would you want Nelson's contact number or where we will be buying the aircons from?

Wah... that's a lot of diff...

Can recommend ur lobang?

DSA ... not KKF lah. KK can liao. At other forums, we are known as KK for short; so much so that after all this years, they still calls me KK when we meet in person. :lol:

Anyway, this is a plan that I did so Nelson can see how we would like the job done and as you can see, it's a HDB flat:-

080622reno_plan%20-%20aircon.jpg

Edited by kastlekonfusion