mrspiglet

B&b's First Home

Still very new to this forum. Hope everyone can share w me your experiences in renovation!

My house hunting story is amazing, i found my flat in 2 days of flat hunting, viewing a total of only 7 houses. Basically the piglets are lazy to go house after house and we set pretty strict requirements.. like max valuation tt we r willing to pay, low COV, want lift landing, don't want weird shaped houses, don't want low level, want to be near my mum. we are fussy, but thankfully my agent was efficient and filter thru all my requirements before bringing us to view the flat. We both like the flat the moment we saw it.

So finally.. i'm still gonna remain an easterner that's 3 bustops away from my mum...

here's my house layout to start off:

OriginalFloorplanCropped.jpg

Edited by mrspiglet

*WELCOME* !!! I saw in another thread that you said you would start a T-blog once you scanned in your floorplan!! WHOOOPEE

NIce nice layout!!! With service balcony somemore!!

haha you were fussy but you found in 2 days!

mY family was fussy but we took MONTHS, YEARS... :)

Looking forward to more pics!

morn everyone thks for all the warm welcome!! so glad that there are so many friendly people here to share w me!

pics still long to come. my 1st appt is only in Jan.. so i'm eagerly waiting... and waiting...

selection for ID w my limited budget is a headache!

pinkpetter: been procrastinating with the scanning. Today may go IMM to walk walk, so better scan in last night to print out. i saw ur t-blog too, quickly reveal ur ID leh.

and also..... ^5 to easterner! i love the east!

last weekend spoke to 3 IDs that we met during the Home Fair at expo the prev wkend.

1) U*ique Desig* - Worst of the lot. Actually i already 'heard' of their reputation before we went, but they were the very 1st ID firm at the fair and since they offer to advise on 'space planning' FOC, so we just listened. We were not v pleased w the quotation and pricing, still wanted to hardsell to us and asking us to place a non-refundable deposit of $1.5k 'just to see six 3D drawings'. We haven even get to see the revised quotation!

2) Me*age Desig* - Nvm heard of them b4 on forums. Price was the cheapest, but not inclusive of built-in wardrobe, ask me to take from other contractors specialising in wardrobes. They are v smart, cos if include in, confirm will exceed the budget i gave them.

3) I*ner Room - Most comfortable with this firm. Heard that they are subsidary of Rezt and Relax. But pricing still a little higher than my budget. They are willing to accommodate some minor add-ons without additional charge. Still waiting for their revised quotation.

Welcome and congrats on getting your new place so quickly. Very lucky ah you!

Shop around for a couple more IDs to compare price and also service. You must pick an ID who is more or less on the same wavelength as you for easier communication, of course, pricing must also be compatible.

All the best for your reno and looking forward to more posts. :)

morn everyone thks for all the warm welcome!! so glad that there are so many friendly people here to share w me!

pics still long to come. my 1st appt is only in Jan.. so i'm eagerly waiting... and waiting...

selection for ID w my limited budget is a headache!

pinkpetter: been procrastinating with the scanning. Today may go IMM to walk walk, so better scan in last night to print out. i saw ur t-blog too, quickly reveal ur ID leh.

and also..... ^5 to easterner! i love the east!

hihi!! haha I will tell you my contractor one but after i see his work la. I dun wan to intro him to people and his work not up to standard ma. :) Although I think he is good la. Just that he SUPER busy. :) But your reno after Chinese New Year so shouldn't be a problem. :)

YES I LOVE THE EAST TOO! Been living here for a good 15 years... :)

actually i was thinking its a bit too fast to find a house within 2 days of viewing. So scary until i cant sleep the whole night after we signed the OTP to place an offer to the seller!

pinkpetter: i've been in the east since i was born. 1st house in the east, current house also east.. already stay in current house for 18yrs!

btw..some pics taken during our 2nd viewing:

we found the living room too big, now dunno what to do w it after partitioning it at by a half wall tv console below the beam..

Hall.jpg

My mum and his dad insisted we keep this freak looking thing.. saying its 'very gd one..material very solid'.. i almost fainted.

Kitchen1.jpg

Cabinets.. well maintained but it has to go... i dun like green

Kitchen2.jpg

The toilet.. horrendous sight. Has to go too.

MBRToilet1.jpg

Edited by mrspiglet

haha got people think that the living room is too big one meh? lol so cute le you all. lol

YA older people all like that.. my parents will also think the solid thing good! One option is to ask your contractor to COVER over the solid base with newer laminates and stuff! I think there was a forummer who did that. hehe

WAH your toilet floor tiles........ *speechless*

Got... me n FH lor. Haha! Just now over dinner he still saying dunno how, scare budget too tight cannot buy dinning table 1st, then living room very empty will be ugly.

My mum also say build the new kitchen cabinet over the solid thing. But the base stretches all the way to the service balcony as the washing machine base. So its not here not there, we decided just heck it.. tear the whole thing away lah. Jokingly told my mum if she like i'll try to ask them to keep it and shift it to put in her house instead. :dancingqueen:

Toilet ah.. wait till u see those tiles behind the door. Lagi worse.

Hey I just realised yours is BROKEN MARBLE flooring!!! Then you just OVERLAY the whole thing... overlay over broken marble much safer than over tiles... can save hacking costs if your budget really tight... you can ask IDs about this.

The person who did this house... really quality stuff.. just very outdated.

Furniture slowly buy. dun worry. at first a bit empty never mind..

ya.. whole house is broken marble... even the storeroom. suspect the 1st owner was a typical chinese going for quality stuff... thou all in the 90's fashion. 2nd owner didn't even officially shift in... tts y u see the house is so empty.

Not gonna touch the living/bedroom floor.. still quite ok to go w our minimalist deco. So will only be doing polishing. Save $$ more impt... the $ for flooring can buy me my bed liao! :notti: