Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

- now i noe y ur lift had stopped at 13th storey. :no:

- i rather take all e clothes, donate 2 salvation army. :bleah:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

COMEX 2008

- anybody wen 2 e comex 2008 oleady?

- any good bargain?

- m planning 2 get e Sony LCD tv & HTS.

- las time looked at V-series, look til V-series no more liao. Cum out V-4 Bravia Engine 2, stil, i havnt buy. :lol:

:jammin:

Hi Jacky

From experience, get the TV u eyeing at 9pm on Sun. That' when the price will drop until the lowest.

hey jackyyy... i went to comex...hoot a digital cam n a thumbdrive.....

Hey tension_zzz...,

- wat brand?

- mega pixel?

- lcd screen size?

- touch screen?

- free thumbdrive?

- Gye?

:unsure:

- m thinking of getin e Sony digital camera olso. W170 i think.

Hi Jacky

From experience, get the TV u eyeing at 9pm on Sun. That' when the price will drop until the lowest.

- k wil take note.

- gona go check out 1st then work e sum.

- if ok. sunday gota take action liao.

:rolleyes:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Emergency Lift Door Opening

- 2day met another childhood frnd, happen 2b living at e same blk. :yamseng:

- he olso was shocked/surprised wen he saw e Emergency Lift Door opened. :huh:

- he olso mentioned abt carpark theft, which he was a victim. Docs 4 claiming $$$ were being stolen! :wacko:

- in a 40 storey blks, lifts r divided in2 2 sections, 1 serving low-rise units, 1 serving high-rise units.

- s 40 storey hdb flats r consider kinda foremost & with many SERS ppl who r elderly living in it, i think it is best 4 e authorities 2 educate them on e usage of lifts in times of emergency & wat actions 2 take.

(1) such s in times wen 'crime' is takin place inside e lift while e lift is moving.

(2) such s in times wen there is a 'blackout'.

- During 'black-out' ->

(1) Is e lifts going 2 b 'grounded' automatically with its 'emergency power supply'? Or stop half-way somewhere?

(2) Does e person in e lift nid 2 activate e 'panic button / emergency button'? So dat e lift wil open at e nearest lift opening?

B it emergency or normal lift opening. Older types of lifts is 2 press e alarm bell & wait 4 rescue. S technology improves, dun tel mi we r stil using e old methods which applies only 2 low-rise flats. Wat if e lift is stucked at 40th storey, dun tel mi e lift technician gota climb 40 storey, open e lift door manually by a master key then can 'rescue' e trapped user!

(3) How 2 activate e 'Panic / Emergency Button'?

- i dun think many ppl noe abt dis function & how 2 use, not 2 mention e elderly folks & e aging SG population.

!! :dunno:

Room for rent?

- any1 got a rm 2 rent?

- m'sian lady, age 20+, working nearby, looking 4 a rm 2 rent.

- PM mi if hav. Then i arrange u & her discuss.

- btw, i dun get COM 1 hor.

Maid/Cleaner Service?

- standard house chores such as wash toilets, wash clothes, iron clothes, sweep & mop floor etc.

- foreign chinese lady looking at providing house chores services 2 bz professionals.

- PM mi if hav. Then i arrange u & her discuss.

- btw, i dun get COM 1 hor.

Edited by jaCKY777

COMEX 2008

- anybody wen 2 e comex 2008 oleady?

- any good bargain?

- m planning 2 get e Sony LCD tv & HTS.

- las time looked at V-series, look til V-series no more liao. Cum out V-4 Bravia Engine 2, stil, i havnt buy. :lol:

:jammin:

Hi Jacky,

Popped by Comex yesterday to get my LCD too. The offers for Sony bravia is not that fantastic, i feel. Freebies=$200 voucher + hdmi cable. It's still the most ex of the lot. Wat to do...value for $$ and brand.

But u can pop by to check out the XMM (xiao mei mei)...LOL. ;)

One new exhibiter I've seen is Mustafa! 1st time I see them there. Woah....they're also selling LCDs but mainly Samsung...

- m thinking of getin e Sony digital camera olso. W170 i think.

- k wil take note.

- gona go check out 1st then work e sum.

- if ok. sunday gota take action liao.

Can consider Canon IXUS 860. Advantage is 28mm Wide-angle lens. I don't owe one, so cannot really tell u first hand. Did some read up and found it favourable. Me now using Sony T10 (old model) and Canon G5 (old model).

Anyone thinking of buying photo printer (Sony) let me know, I have bought one on impulse, willing to sell at cost. Brand new, not use before.

Comex offer - $549 with SD 4GB & 8GB ram, SD card reader, case, digital kit bag, $30 NTUC shopping voucher.

Promoted as "the photographer’s IXUS" by Canon, the new Digital IXUS 860 IS is one of the more intriguing models in Canon's Autumn lineup of compact digital cameras. The new Canon IXUS 860 IS offers an 8 megapixel sensor and a wide-angle 3.8x zoom lens equivalent to 28-105mm, complete with optical image stabilisation to help ensure that your photos are shake-free. There's also a large 3 inch LCD screen with 230,000 pixels and an anti-glare, scratch-resistant coating. Canon's DIGIC III image processor, which is also used in its DSLR camera range, powers the IXUS 860 IS behind the scenes, and additionally provides the camera's Face Detection and Noise Reduction technologies. There's a new Red-Eye Correction feature on offer in Playback mode, a range of ISO speeds up to 1600 and a new ISO Auto Shift function to help avoid image blur whenever camera shake is predicted. So is the stylish Canon Digital IXUS 860 IS really a great compact camera

Can consider Canon IXUS 860. Advantage is 28mm Wide-angle lens. I don't owe one, so cannot really tell u first hand. Did some read up and found it favourable. Me now using Sony T10 (old model) and Canon G5 (old model).

- i dun like Canon camera leh.

- e Sony W170 olso wide angle lens.

Hey neighbours,

- 2day abt 6pm, anybody wen 2 e NTUC at Toa Payoh Central? (e old NTUC, behind Chung Hwa Free Clinic)

- LKY was e guest-of-honour. Bodyguards bodyguards everywher. :ph34r:

- other VIPs includes Ng Ser Miang...

- think its bcos, dat NTUC is e 1st oulet in SG wen NTUC was set-up 35yrs ago... :jawdrop:

- i dun like Canon camera leh.

- e Sony W170 olso wide angle lens.

Hey neighbours,

- 2day abt 6pm, anybody wen 2 e NTUC at Toa Payoh Central? (e old NTUC, behind Chung Hwa Free Clinic)

- LKY was e guest-of-honour. Bodyguards bodyguards everywher. :ph34r:

- other VIPs includes Ng Ser Miang...

- think its bcos, dat NTUC is e 1st oulet in SG wen NTUC was set-up 35yrs ago... :jawdrop:

Sure, if Sony W170 is wide angle as well, then shld be no problem. Anyway I olso using Sony now.

I did hear abt LKY visit from the NTUC staff a few days ago & u r rite, the outlet was opened by him. Think he wants to recall the fond days, knowing his days are numbered.

Edited by alister

knowing his days are numbered.

:lol::lol::lol:

- i was there. Wana see his grey hair.

- cant even see his face.

- jus like those VVVIP in movies.

- kana 'wrap' around by 'human shield'.

:wacko::wacko::wacko:

- aniway, time really flies pass fast.

:o

I did hear abt LKY visit from the NTUC staff a few days ago & u r rite, the outlet was opened by him. Think he wants to recall the fond days, knowing his days are numbered.

That's a good one! Thanks for brightening up the weekend!!

"You either die a hero or you live long enough to see yourself become the villain."

Dear Neighbors,

Thx2 all who responded. As mentioned, I merely facilitate tis meeting, which purpose is 2channel our residents' concerns, opinions & feedback to relevant authorities while they inform us of measures (2b)taken, updates & advice. :deal:

-> Looks like the no. of neighbors who wanna meet w authorities is v.small. I will inform of da final no. by 2359hrs tonite, 31 Aug to RC chair tmr & discuss if its feasible :dunno: to hv a meeting. Thx all!

- Proposed Meeting w Police &/ Town Council, 2b arranged by TPCZone2 RC

- Time: 3pm, Sat 6 Sept* OR, Sat 13 Sept*. Pls indicate BY 31 AUG 08 if u wish to hv dialogue w NPP* and/or Town Council*

- Agenda:

i) burglaries, suspicious characters@ fire escape stairs (info & preventive measures, advice)

ii) recommendations on unbecoming conduct of students/punks loiterin@SkyGdn..(graffiti, litterin, intimacy..)

iii) dangerous acts eg. sittin on railing, ball flyin over railing onto passersby/ vehicles below, water bombs...)

iv) any other (residents'/NPP/TC*) observations & comments

1. Hana79 - Blk C. NPP & TC. 6 Sep (13 Sep ok but earlier better)

2. Meepok & Babymaro2003 - Blk E. Sat 3pm

3. Khim & missy - Blk D. Sun 5pm

4. Stay79 & hubby - Blk E. Sat 3pm 13 Sep 3pm

5. Dracula & Wife - Blk E. NPP & TC. 6 Sep (my agenda will be mainly i & ii)

6. Meowie49 - Blk C. 6 Sep

Edited by Hana79

hi guys, my wife and i just moved into our apartment at 79b for a week+ when our cat went missing. she must've climbed out through the window, sneaked around and got lost. we live on the 2nd storey.

missingsmokyposter.jpg

hi guys, my wife and i just moved into our apartment at 79b for a week+ when our cat went missing. she must've climbed out through the window, sneaked around and got lost. we live on the 2nd storey.

missingsmokyposter.jpg

omg.. i hope you will find smoky soon :(

will help you keep a look out... :)

Hey guys,

- side-track, wana share wif u, my unlucky encounter 2day.

- s some of u may noe, i'm a biker riding a big cc sports bike.

- 2day my 'balls' shrunk 2 my throat, nearly buang.

- during lunch time, while i was riding along a 3 lane rd, it rains suddenly & was quite heavy.

- i carried on riding & intend 2 stop at e nearest petrol kiosk which i noe its abt 100m ahead.

- e rd was clear with only a lorry infront in e centre lane.

- e lorry brakes out of a sudden (can see frm e brake light) 4 no reason in e centre of e rd.

- s i was quite a distance behind, i was able 2 slow dn & filter 2 e left.

- while approaching e lorry's left side, i saw a bicycle wheel (big rim with tyre) rolling across e rd & 2wards e left side. Dropping anytime s its not rolling vertically.

- it was too sudden, i was stunned.

- s e rd is wet, i cant brake hard. i noe my BT020 (Bridgestone tyre model) sure 2 skid.

- s e rd is wet, i dun dare 2 swirl away frm e bicycle wheel, s i got no confidence on e BT020 (Bridgestone tyre model).

- WTF. e wheel then dropped exactly in front of my direction.

- i hold-on my handle bar tightly, bend dn my body (like racing style).

- 'bombom', i go over e bicycle wheel.

- my front wheel 'jump' a fair bit, back wheel neber kana.

- while landing, i hold-on e handle bar even more tightly, s my bike was wobbling.

- then my bike went straight & i was slowed dn.

- i turned bak & see. i only saw e lorry & e 'banquo' bicycle wheel (lying on e rd).

- then i turned in2 petrol kiosk. 2 take shelter, 2 check my bike & 2 calm myself dn.

- after checking, only found a 'small hole' in my front tyre. Lucky neber burst.

- i was 'WALAOA, SIBEI HENG AHH', neber buang. All other parts of e bike r ok & myself is ok.

- parked my bike at e kiosk, walk out 2 e rd 2 check again. e lorry was gone, e bicycle wheel was gone.

- then i try 2 recall. WTFH, e bicycle wheel mus hav dropped frm dat lorry.

- e lorry looks like a 'garung guni' lorry.

- if not, i cant think of how a bicycle wheel is rolling on e tarmac rd out of nowhere?

- 7th month jus over. Really scare e wits out of mi.

- Thank God. All is fine.

:pray: :pray: :pray:

Edited by jaCKY777

omg.. i hope you will find smoky soon :(

will help you keep a look out... :)

hey meowie, thanks a lot.

we are in luck. smoky came back home last night... through the front door. she was mewing outside at close to midnight. i just got back home from work.

maybe she tried mewing outside in the afternoon too but we weren't home. whatever it is, we were so happy that she got back in one piece.

now, we keep her in and keep the windows closed. only the top part is open. once our blinds are fixed, we can keep the windows open like before.

hey meowie, thanks a lot.

we are in luck. smoky came back home last night... through the front door. she was mewing outside at close to midnight. i just got back home from work.

maybe she tried mewing outside in the afternoon too but we weren't home. whatever it is, we were so happy that she got back in one piece.

now, we keep her in and keep the windows closed. only the top part is open. once our blinds are fixed, we can keep the windows open like before.

Ronin,

Congratz.... :yamseng:

So glad that you managed to find smoky... Smoky so intelligent... hehe know how to come home wor... :good::good:

Hey guys,

- side-track, wana share wif u, my unlucky encounter 2day.

- s some of u may noe, i'm a biker riding a big cc sports bike.

- 2day my 'balls' shrunk 2 my throat, nearly buang.

- 7th month jus over. Really scare e wits out of mi.

- Thank God. All is fine.

:pray: :pray: :pray:

Ride safe ah. Bikers are always the least advantage when on the road in terms of safety.

Glad u r safe and sound... next time overtake better slow down and down chiong ah. If you go at a reasonable speed, even if it was raining lions and tigers u would be able to brake in time. Once is enough for you to be careful of such lorrys or vehicles doing emergency brakings.

Ronin,

Congratz.... :yamseng:

So glad that you managed to find smoky... Smoky so intelligent... hehe know how to come home wor... :good::good:

Actually cats have better road navigations and memories then dogs leh. They can remember the way home just by visiting once or twice, but dogs need a few more times and some still cannot remember the way home. Hehe... :notti:

Anyway i am more of a cat lover, but my wife dun like..... so too bad ah.... only can see no touch... :unsure:

Persian Cats and Golden Retrievers best! :dancingqueen: