Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Seems like it's getting to be a hot spot for suicide jumpers now. My advice is to avoid walking in the open area directly below corridors or common access area. Better to walk under shelter nowadays. Those with pets, try not to bring them near these few "crime scene" hot spots too since they have an acute sense of the unknown.

On a side note, anyone noticed the lights have been out of order in the open area of the 12th level sky garden between 79E & 79D & 79C for the past few weeks ?? Shot an email to the BTPTC but doesn't seem like they are taking any action for the past few days.

:unsure: like dat ah... dunno whether i shd get a place there liao!!! :(

It's extremely dangerous at night to walk past that area, even though it's not enclosed but there are walls for shady characters to hide behind. Will shoot them another email again after I've confirmed that the lights are still out. Maybe not enough funds to replace the lights after losing a "small percent" of their sinking funds to the Lehman Brothers???

nah all the sinking funds of TCs are not affected by the downturn as stated in the Straights Times recently.. can't remember which day.. :)

Read from the Chinese evening papers that it was a 26 y/o Indian lady. Had an argument with her b/f over the phone and told him she was going to jump. Don't think she was a resident here though. He rushed down but arrived too late. She jumped from the 40th floor. Landed on the covered walking linking the function hall.

There was this Indian guy walking pass below at that very moment. Had his whole body/shirt splattered with blood and brain matter. The impact was so great that the 2nd level units just above the walkway had their external wall and windows splattered as well.

Seems like it's getting to be a hot spot for suicide jumpers now. My advice is to avoid walking in the open area directly below corridors or common access area. Better to walk under shelter nowadays. Those with pets, try not to bring them near these few "crime scene" hot spots too since they have an acute sense of the unknown.

On a side note, anyone noticed the lights have been out of order in the open area of the 12th level sky garden between 79E & 79D & 79C for the past few weeks ?? Shot an email to the BTPTC but doesn't seem like they are taking any action for the past few days.

It's extremely dangerous at night to walk past that area, even though it's not enclosed but there are walls for shady characters to hide behind. Will shoot them another email again after I've confirmed that the lights are still out. Maybe not enough funds to replace the lights after losing a "small percent" of their sinking funds to the Lehman Brothers???

- not sure abt e lights at 12th sty.

- previously, e common corridor lights used 2b lighten up both tubes wen ON at 7pm, than after few min. OFF 1 tube. e 2 tubes wil alternate everynow & then.

- recent & currently, both tubes r lighten up at 7pm.

- e linkway got 'break' anot?

- e adjacent unit near e 'landing' spot, muz had been d-a-m-n sway.

- imagine their windows r opened during dat 'landing' time, e blood & 'parts' might hav splashed in2 e unit.

- nitemare & damage 4ever, nobody can compensate?

:o

- 'Convenience' 4 oneself, 'Inconvenience' 4 others.

:no:

Read from the Chinese evening papers that it was a 26 y/o Indian lady. Had an argument with her b/f over the phone and told him she was going to jump. Don't think she was a resident here though. He rushed down but arrived too late. She jumped from the 40th floor. Landed on the covered walking linking the function hall.

There was this Indian guy walking pass below at that very moment. Had his whole body/shirt splattered with blood and brain matter. The impact was so great that the 2nd level units just above the walkway had their external wall and windows splattered as well.

As i expected. This is what happens when HDB choose to ignore the advise of residents who are obviously more street wise than their many scholars in HDB...

If they had contemplated and integrated a card access system / gated system to restrict non-residents from accessing the sky gardens, we wouldn't see so many suicides in such a short time frame of less than a year... :furious:

2 suicides in barely one month.... WTF........What's the use of installing CCTVs. Compile and use the footage for "Faces of Death - Singapore" izit :dancingqueen:

HDB - Wake up your idea lah..... your scholars and planners all sleeping izit.......

Since your highly paid planners came up with such "cock designs", Maybe you guys wanna open up a floor at HDB Hub as an alternatives for would be suicidal folks to utilize... and share the limelight and problems we face..... :yamseng:

Edited by Pooh_75

Hmmm.....when the jump happened?

By introducing card access, meaning the resident had to pay extra for it. Which I think why they didn't want to implement it.

But what wondering me is that how come the lift don't have CCTV in-built on it. All upgraded housing already installed with it. Don't tell me, we will have an upgrading to pay some extra $$$ for the HDB?

Edited by yhw22

As i expected. This is what happens when HDB choose to ignore the advise of residents who are obviously more street wise than their many scholars in HDB...

If they had contemplated and integrated a card access system / gated system to restrict non-residents from accessing the sky gardens, we wouldn't see so many suicides in such a short time frame of less than a year... :furious:

2 suicides in barely one month.... WTF........What's the use of installing CCTVs. Compile and use the footage for "Faces of Death - Singapore" izit :dancingqueen:

HDB - Wake up your idea lah..... your scholars and planners all sleeping izit.......

Since your highly paid planners came up with such "cock designs", Maybe you guys wanna open up a floor at HDB Hub as an alternatives for would be suicidal folks to utilize... and share the limelight and problems we face..... :yamseng:

I think have to wait long long for HDB to install card access for HDB flats man! Look at the MRT, only now then they intend to have the station stop indicator onboard the trains! When the HK MTR already had theirs donkey years ago! Sinkieland gahmen scholars only good at copying nia.

I think also hard to stop these Jumpers from jumping from our flats if they'd already made up their minds. The recent 2 cases jumped from the 12th storey sky garden and 40th floor corridor respectively. Don't know why they picked our blocks also when there are quite a few blocks around us with similar height and surroundings.

They will tell you already installed CCTV at the sky garden liao. What more do you want?? I suspect the CCTV is not relaying "live" video feed to the relevant people. Looks like a storage HDD CCTV to me, meaning the people will come and copy out the video feed once a while or when something happens. So for now, it only acts as a deterrent to would-be troublemakers, like a speed camera.

So I foresee it will take a few more decades before they "copy" the card access concept from the HK public housing & implement it in their pigeon holes. Meanwhile, stay tuned for more freefall victims to drop by.

:unsure: like dat ah... dunno whether i shd get a place there liao!!! :(

nah all the sinking funds of TCs are not affected by the downturn as stated in the Straights Times recently.. can't remember which day.. :)

I think the fengshui here is still good. Heard from some old fortune teller that they tore down the old "bad fengshui" 79 and rebuilt the new 79 as a "five fingers" open palm entity. Lucky not 3 fingers like the Marina Sands IR! Which now is in limbo and may have only 1 finger ready. Hopefully not the middle one!

LOL don't believe all that you read from the State Times, ranked 154th by the World Free Press and is run by ex-ISD agents.

- not sure abt e lights at 12th sty.

- previously, e common corridor lights used 2b lighten up both tubes wen ON at 7pm, than after few min. OFF 1 tube. e 2 tubes wil alternate everynow & then.

- recent & currently, both tubes r lighten up at 7pm.

- e linkway got 'break' anot?

- e adjacent unit near e 'landing' spot, muz had been d-a-m-n sway.

- imagine their windows r opened during dat 'landing' time, e blood & 'parts' might hav splashed in2 e unit.

- nitemare & damage 4ever, nobody can compensate?

:o

- 'Convenience' 4 oneself, 'Inconvenience' 4 others.

:no:

Never mind, I will check it out again when I pass by again.

The linkway never break lah. But the 2 adjacent units kena decorated by blood spray loh. But pity the Indian who was passing by below and had a blood shower!

Hmmm.....when the jump happened?

By introducing card access, meaning the resident had to pay extra for it. Which I think why they didn't want to implement it.

But what wondering me is that how come the lift don't have CCTV in-built on it. All upgraded housing already installed with it. Don't tell me, we will have an upgrading to pay some extra $$$ for the HDB?

The victim jumped around 5pm+

I think they have enough money to even install CCTV for every floor, let alone CCTV in the lifts! But that will leave them with less funds to play the stock market!

Some flats over at Lorong 8 has got CCTV installed in lifts with the "live-feed" TV monitor on the ground floor for all to see.

We are destined to be bled dry by this gahmen anyway. Upgrade or no upgrade. Be prepared for more increases now that ABC Learning is going kaput and the Marina Sands IR is in limbo awaiting the gahmen to $$bail$$ them out.

I think have to wait long long for HDB to install card access for HDB flats man! Look at the MRT, only now then they intend to have the station stop indicator onboard the trains! When the HK MTR already had theirs donkey years ago! Sinkieland gahmen scholars only good at copying nia.

I think also hard to stop these Jumpers from jumping from our flats if they'd already made up their minds. The recent 2 cases jumped from the 12th storey sky garden and 40th floor corridor respectively. Don't know why they picked our blocks also when there are quite a few blocks around us with similar height and surroundings.

They will tell you already installed CCTV at the sky garden liao. What more do you want?? I suspect the CCTV is not relaying "live" video feed to the relevant people. Looks like a storage HDD CCTV to me, meaning the people will come and copy out the video feed once a while or when something happens. So for now, it only acts as a deterrent to would-be troublemakers, like a speed camera.

So I foresee it will take a few more decades before they "copy" the card access concept from the HK public housing & implement it in their pigeon holes. Meanwhile, stay tuned for more freefall victims to drop by.

Coming New Attraction - Pinnacle at Duxton - Book your "Jumps" Now

Attractive package for first 10 "Jumpers" in 2010.

1) Enjoy Unrestricted access to HDB's first 50 storey flat in CBD.....

2) Soak in the sights.....Birds eye view of Singapore first IR in Sentosa before you leap.

3) Guaranteed crowd puller to witness the aftermath of your "Jump"

4) Free handling and transport provided courtesy of Singapore Police Force and authorized undertaker

5) Free clean up service provided by HDB and Town Council

6) Free relatives or next of kin notification by Police via Singapore's largest Telco, Singtel

For more information and recommendations for good places to "Jump". Please contact your nearest HDB branch office.

:notti::dancingqueen::notti::sport-smiley-004::good:

Edited by CUTEBABY

I think the fengshui here is still good. Heard from some old fortune teller that they tore down the old "bad fengshui" 79 and rebuilt the new 79 as a "five fingers" open palm entity. Lucky not 3 fingers like the Marina Sands IR! Which now is in limbo and may have only 1 finger ready. Hopefully not the middle one!

LOL don't believe all that you read from the State Times, ranked 154th by the World Free Press and is run by ex-ISD agents.

Thanks meepok and rest of guys for all these news feeds. Thou not really active in this forum but i've been regularly browsing this thread and updated myself with the happenings at 79. Drove pass the suicidal site that fateful evening and saw police hoarding then, my hubby and i were exclaiming "not again"! Hopefully the authorities out there can step up more patrolling and take into consideration our genuine feedback and make this Central Horizon and safe haven for us all.

Sidetrack a bit. I've 12 sachets of Pediasure Chocolate to giveaway. Expiry 17 Jan 09. Daddies and mummies out there, if u'll like to have them, pls PM me, can arrange to pass to u at 79. cheers.

I think the fengshui here is still good. Heard from some old fortune teller that they tore down the old "bad fengshui" 79 and rebuilt the new 79 as a "five fingers" open palm entity.

- mayb its believable 2 a certain xtent.

- everytime i meet up wif my frnds' parents, they wil say 'who' & 'who' jus kena 4D by betting on their unit no.

:jawdrop:

Lucky not 3 fingers like the Marina Sands IR! Which now is in limbo and may have only 1 finger ready. Hopefully not the middle one!

:lol::lol::lol:

- if it really happens, i think 'grandfather' wil step in & assist.

- many, in fact thousands of ppl r depending on e 'works' 4 their livelihood & further thousands r waitin 4 e timely completion & operation.

- they r waiting 4 a 'rewarding' & 'prospecting' job at e IR.

- how rewarding e future jobs await, i do not hav e exact figures.

- jus noe dat e jobs available 4 now is aiming at retired ppl, older citizens ...

- had checked out e recruitment exercise recently, e mthly gross is abt $1k.

- how 2 work? Cant even pay my flat installment!

:huh::(:bangwall:

- mayb its believable 2 a certain xtent.

- everytime i meet up wif my frnds' parents, they wil say 'who' & 'who' jus kena 4D by betting on their unit no.

:jawdrop:

:lol::lol::lol:

- if it really happens, i think 'grandfather' wil step in & assist.

- many, in fact thousands of ppl r depending on e 'works' 4 their livelihood & further thousands r waitin 4 e timely completion & operation.

- they r waiting 4 a 'rewarding' & 'prospecting' job at e IR.

- how rewarding e future jobs await, i do not hav e exact figures.

- jus noe dat e jobs available 4 now is aiming at retired ppl, older citizens ...

- had checked out e recruitment exercise recently, e mthly gross is abt $1k.

- how 2 work? Cant even pay my flat installment!

:huh::(:bangwall:

I am also waiting to kena 4D leh...

Grandfather??? Old man is sprouting nonsense these days, taking over the job of his useless son also *shakes head*. Old man said in 2007 that Sinkieland is in Golden Period you forgot meh?? Now LL take back his words. Golden Period for them only I think. Goreng Period for the common folks.

First they will give the jobs to these senior folks, then down the road, they will be replaced by foreign imported "talents". Standard Operating Procedure of the gahmen. Believe with 3 pinches of salt.

LOL! Donkey years ago, Grandfather also said that casinos will be built in Sinkieland over his dead body leh. So if the prophecy is true, means grandfather's time will be coming soon? 2009? 2010? Better go put my champagne in the fridge liao!

Coming New Attraction - Pinnacle at Duxton - Book your "Jumps" Now

Attractive package for first 10 "Jumpers" in 2010.

1) Enjoy Unrestricted access to HDB's first 50 storey flat in CBD.....

2) Soak in the sights.....Birds eye view of Singapore first IR in Sentosa before you leap.

3) Guaranteed crowd puller to witness the aftermath of your "Jump"

4) Free handling and transport provided courtesy of Singapore Police Force and authorized undertaker

5) Free clean up service provided by HDB and Town Council

6) Free relatives or next of kin notification by Police via Singapore's largest Telco, Singtel

For more information and recommendations for good places to "Jump". Please contact your nearest HDB branch office.

:notti::dancingqueen::notti::sport-smiley-004::good:

I think the Pinnacle may have a different set of environmental features. Cos it's supposedly more "atas" and high class/upmarket. May even have security card access for the sky gardens? After learning the lesson from central horizon, don't you think these gahmen scholars will think of a way to prevent the same thing from happening at Pinnacle???

Otherwise, a drop from the 50th storey will be very very messy indeed.

Thanks meepok and rest of guys for all these news feeds. Thou not really active in this forum but i've been regularly browsing this thread and updated myself with the happenings at 79. Drove pass the suicidal site that fateful evening and saw police hoarding then, my hubby and i were exclaiming "not again"! Hopefully the authorities out there can step up more patrolling and take into consideration our genuine feedback and make this Central Horizon and safe haven for us all.

I think all these jumpers are part and parcel of having sky scraping flats in Sinkieland. I doubt the police or authorities can do much to prevent these suicides from happening. Even if they have CCTVs installed, it will be too late by the time help is here. Probably hundred of suicides per month in Sinkieland, but how many gets reported??

Heard from a contractor that there were already jumping cases before Central Horizon was opened to us. It was during the almost-completed days, with all the hoardings and fencing still up. Someone managed sneaked up to a high floor and jumped. Don't think it was reported in the news.

The other alternative is probably to fence up or increase the height of the barricades at the sky garden. Or maybe fence up the common corridor area on the higher floors, or all floors for that matter. So that the only way these jumpers want to fly down, is to ring the doorbell of any units and request to borrow their window for a free-fall. Currently, only the lower floors have this birdy-type gate on the corridor ledge. For preventing burglars/people from climbing up & accessing the lower units i suppose.

sinming091108zq0.jpg

- how u scan e newspaper img huh, esp bigger than A3 size?

- unless its only a small clip.

- for any barricade overlooking a drop/fall, e min. railing ht. s stated in e Building Regulation Act, used 2b 900mm frm e floor finished (including kerb) to e top of e railing.

- s buildings get higher & higher, e Architects & Designers had increased e ht. to 1100mm.

- our common corridor's & staircase landings, 2 wat i observed, e railings shd b 1100mm high. Save enuf 4 anybody.

- if 1 were 2 observe carefully, e typical lev staircase landing, e effective opening frm e top of e railing 2 e underside of e beam above is abt 1.2m - 1.5m.

- but at e 40th sty staircase landings, e railings seems 2b lower. In fact, e railing ht is stil e same. Jus dat e effective opening is bigger interms of ht.

- s there is no more continuation of e staircase flight, e beam above e opening wil b directly under e Roof Slab over 40th sty, not under e half-landing which is abt 1.35m above 40th sty flr lev.

- e last flight of stairs is halfway below 40th sty. With a big opening, & adequate runway distance, wat wil happen if 1 were 2 run dn frm e last flight of stairs?

- ez or not ez 2 go over e railings? u decide.

- its a Design Flaw in many highrise buildings.

- i think 'they' employ mi b their Architect or Designer, wld b a better choice.

:jawdrop::notti::dancingqueen:

Edited by jaCKY777