Bengologist

Let's Go Punggol!

23rd June 2013 - Official House Moving Day (Continue...) PART II

After I filled my ever-expanding tummy with those marvelious hawker food, I left the table to join my sister to unpack our belongings into the wardrobes. While I was in my room gleefully singing and dancing to some Jay Chou songs and folding clothes into my brand new 7 feet wardrobe, I heard a loud "BANG" and immediately dashed out of the room to find out what's going on. Upon witnessing what had happened, I instantly felt a jolt of pain to my heart.

MY CRYSTAL CHANDELIER IN THE PASSAGEWAY HAD FALLEN AND SHATTERED INTO PIECES! WAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! :~ :~ :~ :~ :~

I was rooted to the spot but was alert to do a quick glance at the surrounding to ensure that nobody was hurt in the process. My aunt immediately grabbed a broom and helped to sweep the glass pieces into an empty box while I straight away took out my mobile phone and gave my ID a call. My anger rose to the ceiling :jail: when he refused to pick up my calls even after I left 3 missed calls on his phone. Without hesitation, I whatsapp him the details of the incident, along with the photos, and told him to question the electricians why the chandelier wasn't properly fixed up and hence resulted in this mishap. I even let him understand that due to this incident, the tiles underneath the lighting set had several dent marks.

He replied within 2 minutes, offering his words of sympathy by saying,"This shouldn't happen. I am sorry about that but I believe they did put the screw to the ceiling. Looking at the picture, the concrete ceiling is not strong enough to support the weigh of the chandelier. We have fixed up many hanging lights from our past experiences and none has fallen. I will get my electricians to go up and check for you. Please do not throw away the lighting set."

He subsequently sent another message to my mobile, saying,"I have checked with the electricians. They told me that they are very sure that they have tighten the screw and the plug. It might be loose again when you pull them during the crystal installation. They will be going up to your place to check on Wednesday and provide you with a more complete answer."

I almost died of high blood pressure :curse: when I saw the two messages and immediately replied in a extremely annoying manner,"There's no way I had pulled out the circuit board when I install the crystals. You guys can argue all you want that the screws and plugs were tightly fixed on the ceiling but if you all know that the installation is not able to support the weight of the chandelier, then why not insert more screws or screw it deeper into the ceiling to ensure there is a greater support! I need a better explanation than this!"

Well, they will be coming up on Wednesday (which is 5pm today) to examine the damaged chandelier and the ceiling but I'm definitely sure they will come up with a million excuses to shirk responsibility.

Here are the pictures of the unfortunate incident :-

1) My heart broke when I saw this :(
20130623_162319_zpsb8e48a70.jpg

2) :~:~:~:~:~
20130623_162638_zps4054550f.jpg

3) Only dangling electrical wires remained on this empty ceiling :(
20130623_162647_zps346191b5.jpg

Wah the dining set from beds.sg rite? Looks good, it's the table shakey? Looks like can buy from them when I replace mine

Ya, it was purchased from fortytwo.sg (they have rebranded themselves from beds.sg). I'm pretty satisfied with this table set. It cost around SGD 730.00. You can also consider it. :)

It's less than $300. However, if you did not opt for remote controller, it will be wayyyyyyyyyy cheaper. I guess you can negotiate with Eric on the price. Not very convenient for me to reveal the full amount. :huh:

Anyway it's confirmed cheaper than market rate, like how he always highlight in his thread "hope u'll save some bucks n buy me KOPI". Try to PM him. :)

Yes, thanks! I realised i msg him before.. thanks!!! I will contact him . cheers

As for the glass shelf, it was my idea to place it 1.7m from the ground so that my sister and my mom won't knock against the glass when they are showering. As for my dad and myself, I guess we have no choice :dunno: , unless we can place it 2m from the ground. Lucky the corner of the glass shelf ain't sharp, otherwise I would have bleed a couple of times during showering :bath: cause my head has been constantly colliding with it. Hahahaha! :D

Aiyo! 小心头! Still find having a glass shelf for showering stuff at ur head level a bit 奇怪 lor! At that height, how r ur mom & sis (i suppose shorter) gonna reach the stuff? Anyway! Mayb next time can consider a corner shelf like mine? Swee bo? Hee hee! (but i dun hv the luxury of a shower screen like urs lor :bleah:) By the way, this is ur MBR or common bathroom?

CT1_zpsd417b925.jpg

Poor Fragile Beng, I can feel ur 玻璃心 shattering into pieces like the glass chandalier :(:~

But at least thank god no one was underneath it when it fell or got hurt!

Ok, see wat ur they hv got to say ba.. please ask them to do a check on the one above the dining table too to be safe lor!

Not sure if they will compensate u for the chandelier.. Any replacement plan for now? Still going for glass? :unsure:

Glad that ur other deliveries r ok, and they look nice! :)

What/how do u intend to do to open an extra grommet(s) on ur TV console? One thing i realised, the stuff many furniture shops sell are 3rd party (many are from overseas too), so the shop that sells them oso can't do anything to it. For example, my experience with the coffee table i bou from a sofa maker - except their own sofas, all the other stuff (dining table, dining chairs, coffee table) they sold are 3rd party. No wonder the delivery of the sofa and coffee table were by different groups of people at different timing..

Edited by jus4fun

Aiyo! 小心头! Still find having a glass shelf for showering stuff at ur head level a bit 奇怪 lor! At that height, how r ur mom & sis (i suppose shorter) gonna reach the stuff? Anyway! Mayb next time can consider a corner shelf like mine? Swee bo? Hee hee! (but i dun hv the luxury of a shower screen like urs lor :bleah:) By the way, this is ur MBR or common bathroom?

CT1_zpsd417b925.jpg

Haha.. I wanted to do like lawrenceke, recycle the extra granite materials from the kitchen top and make them into corner shelves like yours. :P

However, my ID told me that there will be extra cost incurred because the workers need to cut out the exact sizes, trim the edges and smoothen all the surfaces before they can install it. I did not want to incur additional cost :bleah: , so I withdraw the idea. Hahaha! :lol:

Haha.. I wanted to do like lawrenceke, recycle the extra granite materials from the kitchen top and make them into corner shelves like yours. :P

However, my ID told me that there will be extra cost incurred because the workers need to cut out the exact sizes, trim the edges and smoothen all the surfaces before they can install it. I did not want to incur additional cost :bleah: , so I withdraw the idea. Hahaha! :lol:

my corner black glass shelves bou off the shelf de.. no need extra labor cost.. haha! :)

Poor Fragile Beng, I can feel ur 玻璃心 shattering into pieces like the glass chandalier :(:~

But at least thank god no one was underneath it when it fell or got hurt!

Ok, see wat ur they hv got to say ba.. please ask them to do a check on the one above the dining table too to be safe lor!

Not sure if they will compensate u for the chandelier.. Any replacement plan for now? Still going for glass? :unsure:

Glad that ur other deliveries r ok, and they look nice! :)

What/how do u intend to do to open an extra grommet(s) on ur TV console? One thing i realised, the stuff many furniture shops sell are 3rd party (many are from overseas too), so the shop that sells them oso can't do anything to it. For example, my experience with the coffee table i bou from a sofa maker - except their own sofas, all the other stuff (dining table, dining chairs, coffee table) they sold are 3rd party. No wonder the delivery of the sofa and coffee table were by different groups of people at different timing..

Yaaaa. I guess everyone in Punggol can hear my heart shattering sound on Sunday. :~

I'm so lucky I saw your post in time so I managed to call my mom now to inform the ID and his electricians to check on the hanging light above my dining table. Whewwwww... Thanks bud! :bow:

Anyway the electrician boss told me that he will compensate an exact similar model to me, plus installation, at no cost. He said that he's apologetic over the incident and glad that nobody is injured when the chandelier collapsed. I told him to make sure the lighting set are tightly screwed to the ceiling and ensure that there are sufficient support for the weight of the chandelier. My ID told me that they will fix the lighting set for me either tomorrow or on Friday, and will replace the dented tiles after the passageway chandelier is fixed up. I'm grateful that despite the messages my ID sent earlier, they are taking full responsibility of the unfortunate event. Shall give him a thumbs-up for this. :good:

As for my TV console, I'm thinking of liaising with the carpenter to see if he can assist me with drilling the holes because he should have the equipment. If there's additional cost involved, I guess I will have no choice but to pay him for the services. Can't possibly allow all the wires to appear all over my console, that will be too ugly. :unsure:

wah fragile beng, felt sorry for ur fallen chandelier, lucky no one was hurt, looks so nice on the earlier post wor :jawdrop:

glad ur ID takes full responsibility for the issue, guess the cons of TB-ing is no ready replacement at a very short notice huh

on the otherhand, i just met up with ryan, ur blinds specialist earlier :thumbs up:

Awwww fragile beng, ouch for the pretty chandelier! But thank god no one was hurt and great that your ID and electrician will pay and make good everything. Don't be sad, passage way will be nice again and even better after this!

ouch! beng, was about to say that your chandelier is beautiful then saw your post on the incident, luckily no one is injured.

Ya, must ask them ensure that the replacement set is secure properly, so dangerous!

luckily your ID and electrician take responsibility for it, if not really very heart pain.

wah fragile beng, felt sorry for ur fallen chandelier, lucky no one was hurt, looks so nice on the earlier post wor :jawdrop:

glad ur ID takes full responsibility for the issue, guess the cons of TB-ing is no ready replacement at a very short notice huh

on the otherhand, i just met up with ryan, ur blinds specialist earlier :thumbs up:

Ya, I really become fragile beng when I saw the broken pieces of the fallen chandelier. The heartache was even stronger when I recalled how much time (2+hours) and sweat I dripped to get all the crystals to be installed on the chandelier. :(

The electrician boss say he got ready stock available for replacement, hopefully it's not a 2nd hand model. :unsure:

Ohhhhh, you met up with Ryan. How was it? Was he as friendly & helpful as what I have mentioned? Did you sign with him? :lol:

Edited by Bengologist