@ MsBunny

I have the design in my mind so most likely going for contractor. The famous Mr K is a must to meet.... I think ID is good as they can coordinate all works.

Btw, love your bathroom! The type I wanted but I will have to hack the basin....

@varying

Thanks for the info! At least can agar agar.

MsBunny - I think the shorter lease is offered to Singapore citizens who are aged 55 or above only. With these changes, the pool of people eligible for the short-lease flats will be larger than those eligible for studio apartments.

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10296p.nsf/PressReleases/0FA9E359E68FFE2348257EA600232A7A?OpenDocument

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10297p.nsf/ImageView/CORPORATE_PR19082015_Annex%20A/$file/Annex+A.pdf

@2Roomer

"In addition, elderly citizens aged 55 and above can choose to buy a 2-room Flexi flat on short lease as a monetisation option, regardless of whether they have enjoyed housing subsidies previously or own a private residential property. This includes elderly who are not eligible to buy a 99-year 2-room Flexi flat, viz. first-timer singles earning more than $5,000, second-timer singles, households who have enjoyed two housing subsidies, and private property owners1. The purchase and ownership conditions are set out in Annex A (PDF 24KB)."

This sounded to me like a lot of others besides the elderly can opt for shorter leases...?

But the Annex does say otherwise... I'm confused lol.

Edited by MsBunny

i am getting 2 room BTO in punggol and will be ready in 2 yrs time.

how about u guys?

Welcome our new member! :dancingqueen:

Please read page 1. LOL! :jammin:

@ 2roomer & MsBunny

Soon Singaporean with foreign spouse without kids can also apply for 2 room BTO. 2 room BTO getting crowded, it will be more tough for singles who's still trying to ballot for a flat. T_T

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/specialreports/parliament/videos/singaporeans-with-foreign/855438.html

this scheme has been implementing for sometime and it is just tat ppl dun know about it.

now 2 room is very competitive. i ballot for 4 times before getting current one. Phew....

this scheme has been implementing for sometime and it is just tat ppl dun know about it.

now 2 room is very competitive. i ballot for 4 times before getting current one. Phew....

I ballot 6 times to get mine... T_T

managed to get 1 is good liao. so many pple out there still trying their luck on every bto or those single parent families not able to get a roof.

Tat why have to keep trying....

Hi Pauline! Welcome to the club. :)

Thanks! My kitchen is a little small after all the cabinets were put in (a bit kiasee cuz I worry about storage space so I maxed out whatever space I could utilise) And yes, it's a 2-room but 56m2.

@BunniBoi

Yeah, 2-room flats seems to be highly over subscribed. Which was why I decided to not bother trying. I have the worst luck like ever! My friends once joked that they should queue behind me in slot machines at the casino cuz I'd clear all the 'sueh-ness' away lol.

Hi Pauline! Welcome to the club. :)

Thanks! My kitchen is a little small after all the cabinets were put in (a bit kiasee cuz I worry about storage space so I maxed out whatever space I could utilise) And yes, it's a 2-room but 56m2.

@BunniBoi

Yeah, 2-room flats seems to be highly over subscribed. Which was why I decided to not bother trying. I have the worst luck like ever! My friends once joked that they should queue behind me in slot machines at the casino cuz I'd clear all the 'sueh-ness' away lol.

Hahaa...I also will be kiasu de...will max out every single space I have for storage....

ya lor....very difficult to get a 2 room bto now....am lucky to get it before my salary hit the max ceiling....

Ur fren very bad.....tease u like tat.....lol.

MsBunny - Certain parts of the press release got me confused too! Taking note of the placement of the "viz" in the statement, the 4 categories of new applicants sited should only refer to the elderly who were previously not eligible for studio apartments.

HDB knows there wiil be concerns about the increased pool of eligible applications, that's why they are assuring us that there will be adequate supply in the next 5 years.

Currently SAs are located at the town centre. Since 2 room flats and SAs are now the same, I wonder if singles will be allowed to apply for BTO in mature estates?

Has anyone seen this new blog? http://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/72213-2-room-bto-themeless-with-philips-hue-lighting/

Thanks 2 roomer! hasnt been reading the tblogs for awhile. finally got another 2-roomer starting a Tblog.

Hope to learn from the threadstarter. :good: