hongss

Town Council Monthly Charges

confirm it's different coz the TCs are given the power to decide on the S&CC

it depends on the cleaner they hire, blah blah blah to come to the S&CC

remember recently there was an article on a TC that charges the most expensive S&CC due to the cleaning company they contracted and did a good job at that...

I just paid my 3 months conservancy fees Sep - Nov 07 on the day I colelcted my keys... They have enclosed a GIRO form for further deduction from Dec 07 onwards, so when should I submit the GIRO form? Isit too early to submit in this month... scared they deduct double.

dun think they'll double-deduct

they will only send the deduction notification when your account is due

giro takes quite sometime to be approved so better submit it soon :fire:

I heard tat different areas' conservancy charges varies. Is tis true? So far my friends staying at Yishun, CCK, Bukit Panjang and Yishun area paying $60.50/mth for their 5 rooms. Then how come my 5 room in Bukit Batok is paying $62?

Isn't there a standard? I feel tis is unfair man! Same 5 room and mine's sq area is smaller than CCK, Woodlands and Yishun, how come I pay more leh?

Have been paying $77 for conservancy, EA woodlands.

confirm it's different coz the TCs are given the power to decide on the S&CC

it depends on the cleaner they hire, blah blah blah to come to the S&CC

remember recently there was an article on a TC that charges the most expensive S&CC due to the cleaning company they contracted and did a good job at that...

Oic...so it is like tat! That means the cleaning company in my estate is more expensive la...Bt does tat makes a difference?

Hmm....come to tink of it, my estate is indeed clean la...

Have been paying $77 for conservancy, EA woodlands.

EA more expensive!

Aren't conservancy charges based on the surrounding area, outside the flat, number of bins outside, etc. rather than on floor space?

S&CC is not charged on floor space, it is charged on flat type

even if your 4-rm flat is bigger than the 5-rm in the same estate, your S&CC is still cheaper :sport-smiley-003:

those factors you mentioned is also taken into consideration

thus the difference in S&CC between estates :)

IRAS just informed me over the phone that this is valid for owner occupied properties

are you sure? coz i've gotten an email reply saying that it's not applicable :sport-smiley-004:

are you sure? coz i've gotten an email reply saying that it's not applicable :(

Yes. I called the hotline to check.

Also, below, as taken off their website

However, you may claim for refund of tax for the vacant period if:

1. your property is continuously vacant for at least 30 days or 1 calendar month; and

2. your property is :-

a) intended for letting and no tenant could be found even though reasonable efforts to obtain a tenant have been made; or

b) undergoing repairs (repairs do not include renovations, alterations, improvements and additions) to make it fit for occupation.

Edited by l_club23

yes i know

so for 1 cannot coz we paying owner-occupied tax-rate

and 2 also cannot coz renovation not counted.

the email reply was that the building has to be certified unsafe for human occupation then can claim

so even if it's under going major upgrading also cannot :rolleyes:

coz i tried to claim 'vacant' due to hdb rectification but they say cannot :(